Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 16, 2017
We came for a 1 night stay-over on our road trip. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable the bathrooms/shower were nice and clean. The staff was very helpful and full of information about the South Dakota tourism, it was nice.
Oct 12, 2017
We had the most pleasant weekend stay at the Hot Springs KOA in a comfortable and roomy deluxe cabin. We found it a perfect location head towards Mt. Rushmore. On the way, and through Custer Park, we saw so much wildlife. Do stop to check out Hot Springs town. Lovely. KOA front desk staff were very helpful. Thank you!
Oct 08, 2017
Cabin was cozy & very very clean. Don't bother trying to rent in future cuz it's mine from now on! Thank you!
Oct 03, 2017
Great off the leash area for dogs. All the employees were very nice and helpful. Thanks!
Sep 27, 2017
We stayed in a cabin. Nice location, friendly staff. Clean showers and bathrooms. Spotty wifi
Sep 23, 2017
Perfect
Sep 20, 2017
Hosts were lovely and very helpful. Will be coming back next year!
Sep 20, 2017
The cabin was very clean and cozy and the staff was so helpful and friendly. Staying at a KOA surpasses any hotel!
Sep 20, 2017
Comfortable sleeping. Quiet and clean. However, there was a slight urine smell - just an FYI. I was going to mention at checkout, but we had to leave before 8am. We would definatly use them again if in the Hot Springs / southern Black Hills area again.
Sep 20, 2017
The Sauna, and the Jacuzzi were not working; therefore, I called the desk and the technician showed up in the room named "SPA," after 25 minutes decided that the water needed to get heated to 80F. the "SPA" area waswith a nice view of the woods was a non working Jacuzzi, moreover, one of the locked doors was the "SAUNA,"

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! You are reviewing the wrong campground. Thank you for staying with us!
Sep 19, 2017
I stayed in a 5 person cabin. It was prefect. It had heat and ac. Some have fridges, tvs etc... so It would be nice if they were more detailed online. Everything was clean, quiet and well kept. Friendly staff. Didnt like having to walk to the bathroom at night but if that's my only complaint, thats pretty darn good. Pool was closed after labor day, which is a norm so I can't say anything about t
Sep 18, 2017
The facilities are very nice and the staff was wonderful.
Sep 18, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Hot Springs KOA. The cabins were clean and bug free and the staff was friendly! We have stayed at a number of KOAs and think it would be nice if this facility offered free breakfast (primarily pancakes) and trash pickup (like others do). My only real criticism would be the water pressure in the showers; I felt like I was taking a shower under a hose.
Sep 18, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff and cabin was awesome! Will be back!
Sep 13, 2017
Stayed in cabin (had it's own bathroom). Cabin was clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful and informative regarding info for the area. Had very minor issue with kitchen sink, and staff were there in 2 minutes of less ! Fixed and no problems. Would certainly stay there again. Gas BBQ was very handy and used it everynight (stayed 4 nights). Did not use the pool.
Sep 13, 2017
I didn't appreciate all the barking dogs. The dust from the road was awful especially when using the grill that the lid almost fell off when you opened it, I think some updates are needed.
Sep 11, 2017
Couldn't find adjustment for mini fridge in our cabin and milk froze
Sep 06, 2017
It was a wonderful stay. Very nice place. We'll be back for sure!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
stayed 3 nights, cabin was in great condition, ac worked well, only downfall was its location on the outskirts of the campground. made us feel a bit isolated but overall a great time camping
Sep 05, 2017
we stayed just one night, the staff was friendly and welcoming, the campground was very well run and organized, our cabin was clean and close to the restrooms. The showers were clean and everything worked well. Nice place, nice folks, amazing breakfast! We'll be back.
Aug 28, 2017
The campground was a great place to spend a few days. We splurged on one of the deluxe cabins for the three days, which was a really great option with our road tired 5 year old. We really liked the campground, the hosts were fantastic and all the employees super nice.
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Our stay was excellent. Cabin was very nice. Staff was incredibly friendly.
Aug 21, 2017
I booked this for my MC ride to Strugis (area). Excellent service from the staff, Nice clean room, great location close to Custer State Park. I would stay there again.
Aug 19, 2017
I would highly recommend staying at this KOA. The facility was very clean and well taken care of . The cabins were spaced to where you felt like you have space to call your own. If you are traveling with pets, there is a young girl named Zoe who will walk your dogs or will even watch them while you go off on an adventure . When I come back in the area I will always stay at this KOA .
Aug 17, 2017
Mattress on bed is pretty old. We flipped it and it slept ok. Bath lock didn't work. Wife got locked in and I managed to jiggle it open. WiFi is very very very slow.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay. The cabin you stayed in is brand new and the mattress is too. Thanks for clarifying with us on the phone that you were reviewing the wrong campground.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Everything was amazing, the cabin was very clean and well constructed, and the staff owners were wonderful and helpful. The only criticism is the wifi is really slow and basically non-existent away from the office, but the owners know it and have new equipment coming.
Aug 11, 2017
It was a little far to go see all the sites. It's was very nice. I planned our trip late. The bathroom was clean but not shiny need to pay attention to details i.e. The lid to the trash can, doors to toilet.
Aug 09, 2017
Stay was pleasant. Only complaint was the trash can was not emptied on our second day when it was left on porch of cabin. The first day when it was left on porch it was emptied. The remainder of our stay after that we did it ourselves except for the last day.
Aug 07, 2017
I loved the campground and our deluxe cabin we rented was perfect. Thank you for an amazing experience!!!
Aug 07, 2017
Very friendly people. Nice location and facilities.
Aug 06, 2017
Campgrounds were very clean, and pool was large. Staff very friendly and helpful. Issues are there are only one set of bathrooms that are closed for 2 hours daily for cleaning, leaving no alternate choice. Laundry room only had 2 working washers that were being used by staff for towels. Wet towels were left in the laundry for hours, not allowing others to use them.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! Thank you for staying with us. Bathrooms can always be used during cleaning if you just alert the staff. We ordered two new washers immediately upon them breaking down. Please notify staff if there is laundry in your way. The front desk is right next to the laundry room.
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Great campground. Everything you could want with friendly service. Breakfast available if you don't want to cook.
Jul 31, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was clean and comfy. The staff was helpful and friendly! My kids enjoyed swimming in the pool
Jul 30, 2017
Folks that run it are very friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome.
Jul 26, 2017
Workers were friendly. Restrooms were ok. Not great though for the price.
Jul 25, 2017
place of cabins, the cars runs near .
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Wonderful location to explore Custer, Black Hills, etc. Staff and owners are super sweet. Clean surroundings. Loved the picnic table under the gorgeous pine trees at night...super relaxing.
Jul 20, 2017
we've never stayed here before. Very nice people, they stayed open past hours for us to finish our game of mini golf. they had lots of other activities at the campground for everyone to enjoy. They also were good with recommending where to eat and good sights to see.
Jul 12, 2017
We enjoyed our camping cabin while we explored the Badlands.
Jul 12, 2017
Friendly staff, good and reasonably priced breakfast. It was unfortunate that they were under a burn ban, but they allowed campers to utilize their grill.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
Small cabin in a pine forest. Great location, and feel.
Jul 10, 2017
I loaded up all the stuff and my 32 inch TV took it straight to the cabin which was very clean was a little disappointed that we couldn't have an open fire at the time not the KOAs fault at all but was very happy with my stay and how I was treated at my arrival. Zoe I think her name was gave me my key and told me everything that I needed to know overall I was very pleased with my stay Thank you
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy