Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open March 1 - November 30

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email This Campground

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 03, 2018
Very friendly staff, quite Place
Jul 03, 2018
The deluxe cabin was clean, spacious, and in some ways better than my own house! The kids loved the rec room, and the pool was much larger than those in many KOAs. The staff was very helpful when I inquired about different routes and excursions in the area. The store is well-stocked. The only problem was the bathroom door in the cabin wouldn't stay closed and didn't have a lock. We improvised.
Jul 03, 2018
Great venue. Nice spacious spaces. Swimming pool very clean and comfortable. Bathrooms always clean.
Jul 03, 2018
Slot #22 has a tree in the way of being a pull thru. We were there with a 22ft trailer, lucky the people ahead of us had left as we had to snake our way out thru that sight. We love trees and would hate to see it removed, suggest that the sight only be for smaller trailer. Restrooms were nice and clean. People walking around smoking was annoying and the barking dogs. It is a Clean Campground!!
Jul 03, 2018
We stayed 2 nights. Clean showers & toilets. Nicely shaded and spacious spots. Definitely would stay again.
Jul 03, 2018
Loved this KOA. Very close to everything you wanna seen in the Black Hills. We’ll be back. View of the sunrise was amazing.
Jul 03, 2018
I am thankful for the set-up help and great breakfast.
Jul 03, 2018
Nice, clean campground. Loved your breakfast!
Jul 02, 2018
Very comfortable. Staff was quite helpfull
Jul 02, 2018
Very nice very well kept park but
Jul 02, 2018
Campground was well kept and customer service top notch. We had breakfast one day and it was just like going to a local restaurant. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
Friendly staff, clean bathrooms.
Jul 02, 2018
Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Even have a sweet girl who will walk your dog while you are away.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 02, 2018
I liked their breakfasts. Also, we walked by some really nice tent spots with electricity. I thought that was pretty neat. We were staying in an RV, but it sure would be nice for the tenters.
Jul 02, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Great place to see wind cave NP,and not that far from Mt Rushmore! Facility we're clean and pool was nice!
Jul 01, 2018
NO Air Dryer in Restroom! Never before at a KOA. Parking space at tent sites eroded. need to be near level.
Jun 30, 2018
The staff were nice, breakfast was great, and pool was fun. The downfall to this place was the small restroom that is suppose to accommodate the entire campground. I would say there was a line to use the restroom 4 out of the 5 times that you go to use it. This was also the case for the showers....there just wasn't enough for all of the campers with this one facility.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Nice facility. My only complaint is the sites are too close together!
Jun 30, 2018
First place in 14 years to have timbers ready for manual leveling of our motor home, and a knowledgeable person Terry that helped during the process. Sites seem to be in the process of being leveled with new gravel but we really appreciated the thoughtfulness. Nice dog area, places to walk them. All around a good stay
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 29, 2018
The owners and the staff were so nice and helpful. The place is clean and very well maintained. We particularly liked being able to get breakfast right in the campground. Thank you for a great stay!
Jun 29, 2018
Cabin was outstanding. Air conditioning, tv, refrigerator were all bonuses that might spoil us.
Jun 29, 2018
We had never stayed at a KOA before. This was out first trip. The camp hosts were very nice and kept things very organized. Very helpful with maps and suggestions of what to do while traveling with our dogs. The facilities were clean and the camp sights were clean. We enjoyed the stay!
Jun 29, 2018
Stayed four days and enjoyed it very much! Clean facility and very friendly and helpful staff!
Jun 29, 2018
Very good facilities, convenient to a lot of places in the area that we wanted to see. The staff was particularly helpful.. Thanks. We will roost there again if we get the chance to go back to the Black Hills.
Jun 28, 2018
Fun town. Great place to stay. Convenient to many activities. Mt. Rushmore, wind caves, mammoth site and wounded knee. Eat at Wooley’s and visit Evan’s plunge.
Jun 28, 2018
It was wonderful! the hosts Todd and Suzanne were so very accommodating and are the sweetest people! It was me and 4 grandkids and we had a "Grandparent's BBQ" in the picnic pavilion, which they reserved for our evening. Wish we could have stayed longer. They kids enjoyed the pool so much!
Jun 28, 2018
Noisy from road. Door latches need work. Very hard to open. Otherwise very nice. Appreciated the fan and air. Clean
Jun 28, 2018
Absolutely a great time. Had tow vehicle issues and they bent over backwards to make certain we were taken care of. New owner and they work daily to improve their facility. Looking forward to going back.
Jun 28, 2018
It was great !
Jun 27, 2018
Loved all the trees that provided much needed shade! Helpful and friendly staff. Pool, Mini-Golf, and game room were a hit with my kids!
Jun 27, 2018
Very nice campground with several amenities: laundry, showers, goofy golf, lots of playground equipment for the kids, free wifi, swimming pool and nice general store. Hosts were very nice and accomodating, very clean campground. Individual spots weren't very level, but they had blocks for guests to use to level out their campers, and the sites are very close to each other.
Jun 27, 2018
We enjoyed our stay, great location. The only issue is the amount of mud generated during the rain. They are working on putting in more gravel so when that’s done, it will be even better.
Jun 27, 2018
No toilet paper , no wifi, had to wait for door plate to be fixed before could get key at 4, lights not very bright inside. People nice and breakfast was good.
Jun 27, 2018
Great place to stay.
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Great place to stay. Will stay again if in this area.
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Cozy cabin. Very friendly staff. Let us use the microwave to heat up some leftovers.
Jun 25, 2018
I enjoyed the cabin clean and plenty of room. I did encounter a problem with the gas grill it does not heat up enough to grill a steak or any type of meat. It is real good at heating up vegetable's however. BTW I will probably be back next year to collect on my beer.....
Jun 25, 2018
VERY ENJOYABLE!!!!
Jun 25, 2018
Friendly staff, no problems encountered that they didn’t handle. Good location for the sights around we wanted to visit. I would definitely stay again.
Jun 25, 2018
campsites were a bit crowded. staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were kept clean.
Jun 25, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award