Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2017
Loved the breakfast served. Very clean and great bathrooms. Pretty location.
Aug 04, 2017
Aug 04, 2017
Nice clean park with friendly people.
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Happy to visit.
Aug 02, 2017
Great campground. Everything you could want with friendly service. Breakfast available if you don't want to cook.
Aug 02, 2017
It was a good, average KOA.
Aug 02, 2017
Easy access, clean facility, friendly staff, great breakfast, roads not friendly for large units towing.
Aug 02, 2017
Well maintained and quiet
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
The original reservation required us to stay our first night in one spot, then move to a second spot on the following day. After you folks reworked the schedule we stay put for both nights. Thanks so much for that as we wanted to take the Wind Cave tour and having to move the trailer could have made that very difficult. Good Job and many thanks.
Jul 31, 2017
Great place. Stayed 10 nights for our western South Dakota visit. Friendly, helpful staff, clean and well kept.
Jul 31, 2017
enjoyed the pool and pancake breakfast
Jul 31, 2017
The cabin we stayed in was clean and comfy. The staff was helpful and friendly! My kids enjoyed swimming in the pool
Jul 31, 2017
First time here but not the last. We had our grandkids with us and there was many things to do to keep them busy.
Jul 31, 2017
Fabulous pool! We loved that we could order a delicious, inexpensive and filling pizza delivered to our site! Breakfast was also a nice option! Friendly staff and nice little store!
Jul 31, 2017
The location is good and the people are friendly. Just make sure that if you need a pull through site you are not too long. I had a 40 foot motorhome towing a 10 foot trailer and barely cleared the road on either end. This site was not in my opinion suitable for a large unit towing. Never had this concern at other KOA campgrounds.
Jul 31, 2017
Awesome!
Jul 31, 2017
Great campground for family. Owners are very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely stay again.
Jul 30, 2017
Folks that run it are very friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome.
Jul 30, 2017
We tent camped 5 nights. KOA had clean bathrooms, tent pad was in shade, camp was full, and all visitors were respectful of quiet hours. A 2.5 hour drive to Badlands, but close to Custer State Park. Breakfast, coffee, pizzas available daily. Hosts and staff are fantastic! Add an hour to any advertised travel times in summer due to traffic in Hot Springs area. I would recommend this KOA.
Jul 30, 2017
Great area, affordable and a clean facilities.
Jul 30, 2017
no advance notice of where campground was on Rte79
Jul 29, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2017
Very nice would stay there again
Jul 29, 2017
We arrived around 7 PM without reservations. Host advised only 1 full service site available and nothing with only pwr and water which we asked for. Upon walking around campground that night we noticed several vacant sites, several of which were still vacant in AM. We felt that we had been had, but W/o a reservation we probably got what we deserved.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We would never, ever mislead or overcharge a camper. You were informed correctly. Sometimes paid reservations are a no-show or arrive late and leave early. We cannot give away a reserved site, not knowing if that camper will or will not arrive. If you feel you were charged unfairly, it is best to speak to the manager or owner at the time and we could have explained the situation.
Jul 28, 2017
Probably the worst KOA we have ever stayed with. Built on a hill, made it very difficult to level. I had to pull the trailer over a tree stump to get parked. I love trees, but the small skagley trees that populated the grounds made it even more difficult to get into our campsite. We were not impressed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We work extremely hard to make every camper's experience an outstanding one. We have expert staff guide you to your site and level your RV. We are always available for any extra assistance. We love our gorgeous trees :) and our gorgeous campground.
Jul 27, 2017
The staff was so helpful. Personally escort you to your site and are willing to help you get settled, get boards to help you get level if needed anything you need. Would stay here again.
Jul 27, 2017
Had good time, nice location and staff very friendly and helpful, will recommend. 😀
Jul 27, 2017
Real nice and clean. Great people working there especially Gary and Suzanne.
Jul 26, 2017
Clean nice and peaceful great staff Susan and Tod are great
Jul 26, 2017
Workers were friendly. Restrooms were ok. Not great though for the price.
Jul 26, 2017
Very nice staff Difficult to walk rutted washed out areas Dumpster overflowing

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! We have the dumpsters emptied three times per week. I haven't heard or seen any issues with rutted, washed out areas. We'll see if we can find the areas you are referring to.
Jul 25, 2017
place of cabins, the cars runs near .
Jul 25, 2017
There are better campgrounds in the black hills
Jul 25, 2017
The staff was very accommodating, food was great and the price was very good. Thanks, hope to be back someday
Jul 25, 2017
Nice place and very nice people. Enjoyed the stay.
Jul 25, 2017
The site we were at was a bit un level it made it had for our trailer that is raised. The location to mammoth site was nice and close
Jul 25, 2017
People were super nice and helpful. Tent spaces were flat and clean. Water & electric a big plus! Kids loved the pool. Pizza was delivered to our space, so we weren't exactly "roughing" it. Only negative was that it is so far from the big attractions in the black hills. About an hour to any.
Jul 25, 2017
Wonderful people at the campground. Would be nice if they knew TV satellites in Southern sky and which sites would /would not access satellites Very safe. Very family friendly. So much better than many other KOA campgrounds that we have stayed in.
Jul 25, 2017
All KOA's I've been have been first rate. I don't understand why anyone would stay anywhere else.
Jul 24, 2017
Ok, KOA. Could use more activities for children.
Jul 24, 2017
The staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Jul 24, 2017
Great location, clean bathrooms and laundry facilities. Friendly staff. Lots of activities for kids and a great swimming pool!
Jul 24, 2017
Great staff, friendly and ever so helpful!! After camper issues which delayed our check-in, Suzanne worked her magic and accommodated us so we still got to enjoy a 4 night stay! Clean, great water pressure, cable and wi-fi was consistent up until our last night, but wi-fi is sketchy throughout the area.
Jul 24, 2017
Nice clean campground, great for accommodations of guest request.
Jul 24, 2017
We were glad the trees provided some shade from the sun, the pool is nice and the made to order breakfast was a nice change.
Jul 24, 2017
Staff was great. We stayed 4 nights. It was a bit of a distance from the sites we wanted to see, but were happy with the site.
Jul 24, 2017
Staff was very helpful. It was in a great location to Hot Springs and all attractions..loved being in the pine trees...
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy