Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 28, 2017
Not very level site
Aug 28, 2017
This was our first time at this KOA, and were pleasantly surprised. It was far more shady than satellite pictures indicated, and there was a nice area in the trees to walk our dog. The sites were a bit sloped, but ramps were provided to help level our camper. Very clean and tidy campground, and staff were excellent. Really good breakfast available at a reasonable price. Highly recommend.
Aug 28, 2017
The campground was a great place to spend a few days. We splurged on one of the deluxe cabins for the three days, which was a really great option with our road tired 5 year old. We really liked the campground, the hosts were fantastic and all the employees super nice.
Aug 28, 2017
We go there every year. Great hosts and beautiful layout. I like the smell od the pines.
Aug 28, 2017
Bathrooms could use a little updating.
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Our stay here at Hot Springs KOA was very good. We were really only there at night as I had relatives in the area and we were with them most of the time. The staff was very considerate of our needs and our site was level and with trees that kept things cool. I used the laundry facilities and they were clean but the dryers were on the small side and I had to use them for a long time.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
I found this to be a most enjoyable campground. It was quiet, clean and the staff were friendly and accommodating. Yes, it's an hour from most of the touristy attractions, but that's okay with me(no zip-lining demon spawns racing over head). There's plenty of shade, a nice pool, mini golf, and a rec room for people to enjoy. I even was able to set up my ham radio and play a little.
Aug 26, 2017
Breakfast burrito was fantastic.
Aug 26, 2017
Good Location Internet poor - dropped often - not enough bandwidth Noise from highway - should lobby city to ban trucks from 'jake braking'
Aug 26, 2017
Very nice koa
Aug 25, 2017
We stayed only 1 night but enjoyed our stay. The staff were very pleasant & helpful. The location was convenient for Wind Cave NP & Mt. Rushmore. Everything was clean & picked up.
Aug 25, 2017
Camped in a tent, would prefer a few private shower bathroom combo like the KOA in Ft Collins, Co. The fire ring could have been cleaned out and larger. The pic nic table was in poor condition' other then that it was fine.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Hard working staff, friendly, knowledgeable about the area. Lovely grounds, clean facilities. Had pizza by the pool!
Aug 23, 2017
Nice camp. We will come again. Although the sites are small, they all have trees and it is very clean.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Suzanne went out of her way to see that we got a site when they were almost full. Glenn did excellent job of parking trailer for me in a back up site. Pizza was very good according to my granddaughter. Breakfast was awesome. Site 9 needs its water source fixed so it doesn't leak when hooked to a hose.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Our stay was excellent. Cabin was very nice. Staff was incredibly friendly.
Aug 21, 2017
I booked this for my MC ride to Strugis (area). Excellent service from the staff, Nice clean room, great location close to Custer State Park. I would stay there again.
Aug 21, 2017
4th time there. Good facilities well manicured park. Friendly staff
Aug 21, 2017
Stayed 2 nights in an RV with a tow and had a great time . Swimming pool was nice fir the kids . Very clean and employees helpful . Would stay again .
Aug 21, 2017
Enjoyed our stay and great staff
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
A great place to stay wonderful people that own it and has a lot of room not cramped for RV's and well kept
Aug 20, 2017
It was a nice campground and we enjoyed our stay. We have stayed at campgrounds that were not KOA and have found that they do not compare. We will always look for a KOA in our future adventures.
Aug 20, 2017
Excellent campground.
Aug 20, 2017
Nice clean place to stay very friendly staff. Great breakfast.
Aug 20, 2017
It was okay. The camp site they gave us was too small for our rv.
Aug 20, 2017
Our stay was fine. The only concerns we had was that in the site, there was a gravel-covered pad on which to pitch our tent. We are used to setting up on grass, and found the gravel to make for a harder night's sleep. Also, the landscaping timbers that boarder the gravel pad were not in good shape and the front timbers rolled away as we were setting up. Staff said they would address promptly.
Aug 19, 2017
Beautiful trees! Staff was amazing. Extremely helpful and friendly. Going beyond the call of duty! Best place to stay. Highly recommend!!
Aug 19, 2017
I would highly recommend staying at this KOA. The facility was very clean and well taken care of . The cabins were spaced to where you felt like you have space to call your own. If you are traveling with pets, there is a young girl named Zoe who will walk your dogs or will even watch them while you go off on an adventure . When I come back in the area I will always stay at this KOA .
Aug 18, 2017
Staff and host were very informative. Lots to do onsite park mini golf bean bags. Nice location with so much to do in the area. And they deliver pizza!
Aug 18, 2017
Pleasant.
Aug 17, 2017
Owners were very friendly and the store had just what we needed for the RV. THANKS!!!
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
Had quoted an electrical tent site, they had a non-electrical when we got there. Roads are too narrow in the tent area. The tent site we were given was the most compacted hard soil tent site I've ever seen at a KOA, I bent two of my stakes. Also not level, so constantly all night long we were having to readjust in our tent to keep from laying on top of one another. Owner had barking dogs :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your inconvenience! During check-in you were upgraded to an electrical site free of charge. If your site is unacceptable we are happy to offer another or a refund. We keep our personal pets at the opposite end of the campground from where you stayed. We address other dog complaints immediately but must be notified.
Aug 17, 2017
Mattress on bed is pretty old. We flipped it and it slept ok. Bath lock didn't work. Wife got locked in and I managed to jiggle it open. WiFi is very very very slow.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your stay. The cabin you stayed in is brand new and the mattress is too. Thanks for clarifying with us on the phone that you were reviewing the wrong campground.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
I have stayed at this campground twice. I tented in T 67 and T 64. Both sites were roomy and had good views. We had turkeys and deer within 15 yards of our site. We will come back if we are in that area again.
Aug 16, 2017
The shower heads could have better pressure using different shower heads. Otherwise. Very nice.
Aug 15, 2017
Lots of trees, pull through, away from main road so less road noise and like all camp grounds you have the inconsiderate people that come in late slaming doors and talking loud. Camp ground personnel are very accommodating and the breakfast you can purchase is very good.
Aug 15, 2017
Wonderful
Aug 14, 2017
My experience was amazing. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the facilities were excellent, and, perhaps most importantly, the bathrooms were always clean! The owners, Todd and Suzanne, are two of the sweetest people you will ever meet. I highly recommend the KOA at Hot Springs!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy