Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
The Hot Springs KOA campground was further out of town than we expected -- would have liked to see a couple signs in Hot Springs for the KOA. Appreciated the well lit & clean bathroom facilities. Tent site was nicely set among the pine trees.
Sep 12, 2017
95 degrees and the pool is closed. Summer is not over on Labor Day. Restrooms were clean. WiFi was good.
Sep 11, 2017
Couldn't find adjustment for mini fridge in our cabin and milk froze
Sep 11, 2017
WE had a great time
Sep 11, 2017
Never used anything other than full hook ups at our site. Didn't use showers, clubhouse, laundry, pool, etc. Can say that in our site, the internet was too weak to use though. Otherwise, it was just fine and a nice looking campground. Saw lots of other campgrounds in the area that had larger sites, but it was a nice place to stay for a couple of days.
Sep 11, 2017
Clean! Great hosts here: friendly ,helpful and informative. The campgrounds are nice. We will be back.
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
A nice park and a good facility. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our site wasn't the flatest but they provided wooden ramps to easily level our motor home. It was also nice to camp in an area with trees.
Sep 08, 2017
Very friendly stuff Nice , clean and safe campground Comfortable sites I would like to come back here
Sep 07, 2017
I was born in Hot Springs and so enjoyed the visit. The Pioneer Museum was worth the visit. Loved Woolly's Grill for Supper. Worth the wait. We thought the Dairy Queen had very nice people. Hot Springs was a Nice drive up to Custer, Hill City and Keystone. KOA was located just where we wanted to be, away from town.
Sep 07, 2017
Not a bad place but needs more bathrooms and showers placed in different places instead of just one by office area maybe one in center area and one to backside of campgrounds. to many area's with out full hook ups. so bathrooms where full till late at night or very early morning then you could be in line for awhile.
Sep 06, 2017
It was a wonderful stay. Very nice place. We'll be back for sure!
Sep 06, 2017
Camp very well run. Pool was great. Service outstanding
Sep 06, 2017
The camp site was very small not much room at all.
Sep 06, 2017
It was great. coming back in the spring. Rent a cabin an bring our boat up this time to do some fishing.
Sep 06, 2017
Love the larger size lots and pine trees. It's location is so convenient to so many of the sights that are of interest. The owners are awesome and make you feel welcomed as well as the camp orders.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Traffic on the highway was way louder than I would like. We're trying to see as many places as possible, so not really going back to the same spots again, but if I did I would ask for a spot further from the road. Second was the lights on the KOA building. Shined right into my camper every night, so it would have liked to not been so close & been able to see stars better. Otherwise very nice place
Sep 05, 2017
Friendly staff clean restrooms nice pool well-maintained Campground
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We would have liked to have water that did not smell. Other than that it was Ok.
Sep 05, 2017
stayed 3 nights, cabin was in great condition, ac worked well, only downfall was its location on the outskirts of the campground. made us feel a bit isolated but overall a great time camping
Sep 05, 2017
We've stayed at a lot of KOAs, and this is one of the best. Just a beautiful setting, and very nice folks. We look forward to booking visits in Hot Springs next year.
Sep 05, 2017
we stayed just one night, the staff was friendly and welcoming, the campground was very well run and organized, our cabin was clean and close to the restrooms. The showers were clean and everything worked well. Nice place, nice folks, amazing breakfast! We'll be back.
Sep 05, 2017
This was our first stay at a campground with our new trailer. The hosts were incredible. Suzanne greeted us and checked us in. She was very friendly and made us feel right at home. Richard guided us to our site and gave us helpful information about setting up and tearing down. And Wenda served a great breakfast. I liked the layout of the campground and will definitely stay here again.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Really nice wooded park and they helped save us a few dollars by moving site - very friendly
Sep 04, 2017
Wind cave tour was fun.
Sep 04, 2017
Our stay at the KOA in Hot Springs was absolutely amazing! Their entire campsite was very clean and they have plenty of activities for you after you have finished your tourist adventures for the day. I will be coming back here again.
Sep 04, 2017
The people are great. The area is beautiful.
Sep 04, 2017
Very nice place. I did not like all the dogs, barking when you walk threw the camp. May be people who don't have dogs, separate place in campground.
Sep 04, 2017
Was disappointed that my son wasn't able to be next to us-especially finding out the people next to us just came in that day with no reservation-they came after us and my son...they didn't need sewer hook-up just water where my son only had water and elec- the site he was put on had no sewer.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! Thank you for staying with us. Since your son reserved a water and electric back-in site instead of a full hookup, he did not have sewer. Since he had reserved a back-in site, we were unable to swap him out with a pull through site next to you since they were all full. Usually we are able to put campers next to each other on request. We're very sorry it didn't work out this time.
Sep 03, 2017
Very helpful and friendly
Sep 03, 2017
very satisfactory
Sep 02, 2017
Most sites treed and nice size. Staff friendly Will stay again if opportunity arises
Sep 02, 2017
Todd, Suzanne, Zoe and Emmett are the kindest, most accommodating hosts! I stayed at the KOA for a month and THEY are what made the stay most excellent! They operate an exceptional campground and it saddened me to have to leave! Glenn was pretty dang awesome as well! Marjorie!
Sep 02, 2017
Friendly staff no problems, stayed 4 nights.
Sep 02, 2017
Very nice atmosphere with campgrounds set in the pine trees. Only negative item would be the traffic noise being so close to the highway....
Sep 01, 2017
Very friendly staff. Nice location outside of the main hubbub of Custer. Someone should tell their corporate buyer to fire their wifi/internet provider - absolutely unusable most of the time. Golden West Telecommunications Coop., Inc. GWTC-NET (NET-64-251-160-0-1) 64.251.160.0 - 64.251.191.255
Sep 01, 2017
Very nice employees. Great facilities. Only downside - my site was not level from side to side. I had to pull a long way forward to get up over the low end of the pull thru site blocking the road for others to get by with my tow vehicle during the set up and then again when rehooking to leave. Plus the slope of the site needed strong support of wheel chucks not to roll backwards.
Aug 31, 2017
Brief overnight stop. Another good KOA campground. Rural nicely laid out sites with plenty of space among the trees. Staff very friendly and helpful. Left at 5am to go and see the Eclipse (amazing under clear blue sky).
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
very clean, host were great. the pancakes in the morning were a good touch. nice location to many attractions
Aug 29, 2017
Came to town for the balloon rally. Great event! The cabin was as expected and on par with other KOA facilities I have used before. The only negative of the experience was the restroom being so far away from the cabin. I appreciate the effort put in to accommodate our arrival....9:20pm. I will stay again when in Hot Springs!
Aug 29, 2017
This is the second time we have stayed here. Great sights and great place to stay.
Aug 29, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy