Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open March 1 - November 30

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email This Campground

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2018
the cabin was clean, the bathroom/shower was spotless, the hosts were happy to have us.
Aug 20, 2018
The campground is a little crowded with campers close together, but it was offset by grassy treed areas to walk our dogs. The facility was neat and clean, which we appreciated; check-in was smooth. We enjoyed the wild turkeys that were on the grounds a couple of days — our dogs thought they smelled exotic and wild! Luckily, our well-behaved dogs didn’t bark, so we could watch them longer.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Staff was excellent , very helpfull . Campsite clean . Campground well organized . Staff goes out of their way to help you
Aug 19, 2018
Aug 19, 2018
We had a wonderful time, Hot Springs KOA was our friendly base camp, with its spotlessly clean facilities and delightful staff. We would definitely camp there again, and have already recommended this campground to our friends and family. Thank you, Hot Springs KOA!!!
Aug 18, 2018
Loved the cabin! Will definitely book again!
Aug 18, 2018
Aug 17, 2018
Staff very friendly. Manager provided attraction recommendations along with possible discounts. Our grand children really enjoyed our stay.
Aug 17, 2018
very friendly and accommodating. We were given a tent pitch that was too small or our tent so they changed it to another but it was tight to park our truck. A severe thunderstorm started so we switched to a cabin which was much better.... however it was pretty close to the road so noisy all night. Facilities were clean and the mini golf was fun (even in the rain). Pool closed due to lightning
Aug 17, 2018
everyone was very helpful,friendly,
Aug 17, 2018
Cleanest restrooms and laundry of any KOA we've stayed in.
Aug 17, 2018
Facilities were very clean and kept up. Manager - Staff friendly, courteous, a good place to stay at for overnights or longer stays.
Aug 16, 2018
This was our second time using a KOA (first time was the night before on our way here) and we really didn't know what to expect. We were blown away by the hospitality of the staff. One person on our arrival did accuse us smelling like we had lit fireworks (it was the 4th) but he was just smelling bug spray. Odd! But other than that it was a great experience and I would stay there again.
Aug 16, 2018
We were happily surprised with our stay here, as it was our first koa stay, and we're used to the more basic setups of state and federal camp sites. We stayed in a cabin and it was clean, warm and fun. Staff was great, pool was in great shape, breakfast cookec onsite and a fun little rec room. Bathrooms in good shape. We'd happily come back here.
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
Aug 15, 2018
The entire staff was helpful and professional. We loved our stay!
Aug 15, 2018
The campground is very clean and quiet. Todd, Suzanne and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful and made us feel like we were old friends even though we had never met before. Of all the campgrounds we have visited over the years, I rate this as the best one yet.
Aug 14, 2018
Beautiful campground. Tent sites had ample room and electrical/water hookups were great to have. Bathrooms clean and well kept. The only down side to our stay was that several families occupying the cabins next to us were very loud into the night. I was thankful for earplugs. Next time we will ask for tent site 69 - away from the others. We will definitely be back. Nice family environment
Aug 14, 2018
Nice campground. Very nice people there. Had a great time
Aug 14, 2018
Had a great time! We enjoyed the campground!
Aug 13, 2018
Friendly staff, great breakfast, convenient location. Would be nice to have an updated playground space for young children. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Especially nice to have a mini fridge in our cabin!
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Loved the trees and shade and the pizza delivered to your site. Loved the pool. Store was nice. Staff was awesome
Aug 13, 2018
It was only one night; however, the lovely sounds from the highway will probably keep us from coming back. We were also a little confused when an employee kicked us out of the pool 20 minutes before the posted closing. Overall, not a bad stay and not a great stay.
Aug 13, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Nice stay. Nice people. Only stayed for an overnight
Aug 13, 2018
Restrooms were always in need of cleaning. WiFi was much too slow.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We clean our restrooms every day and check them all throughout the day. We receive many compliments about them. I am very sorry our restrooms did not meet your expectations! Thank you for staying with us.
Aug 12, 2018
It was wonderful! We will definitely be back!! Thank you!!!
Aug 12, 2018
Stayed a week. Very happy with the campground and would come back any time. The staff is wonderful and the breakfast was great. Good Job Hot Springs KOA.
Aug 12, 2018
Received a friendly welcome and help getting leveled in our site. Clean park.
Aug 12, 2018
We had an excellent trip! Would come back in a heartbeat! The cabins were perfect for what we needed them for, they were clean and very nicely maintained, as was the entire campsite! The pool was refreshing with perfect proximity to the campsites.
Aug 12, 2018
It was quiet, clean and the people of KOA were very obliging. Thanks!
Aug 12, 2018
Delightful place to stay! Lots to do in the RV Park, equipment provided. Todd registered us, was friendly and helpful. Info on map was better than any I’ve seen. Terry was great, helping us to the site, making us feel welcome. Very clean, well-kept, well-organized campground. Nicely treed, and quiet even tho it’s near the highway. Don’t let that stop you from staying here. We’ll be b
Aug 12, 2018
Another stellar KOA. We enjoyed the pool, and loved the delicious breakfast in the morning. All of the staff were very friendly, and there was plenty of staff to answer any questions.
Aug 11, 2018
Truly a resort. Almost too much going on. We stayed to see the area but could have entertained ourselves without ever leaving the property.
Aug 11, 2018
Nice place, excellent bathrooms. Location is weak point--it's on a busy 4-lane highway several miles from town, so no walking access to anywhere. But everything is nice in the campground.
Aug 11, 2018
Great Breakfast, nice bathrooms, tents spots should be switched with RV spots. RVs already have bathrooms in them.
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Some shade, level sites, nice hosts, clean bathrooms.
Aug 11, 2018
We were fairly happy with our site the site next to us had 4 different campers in 6 days and all of them had a real hard time leveling their trailers. We are not sure why the owners couldn’t just make it easy for all the campers as we noticed several spots were extremely not level. Instead of just leveling the sites they have a makeshift step with different tiers for the trailer to drive on

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review. We do an extremely large amount of earthwork every year in order to keep our sites as level as possible, given that we are in the beautiful Black Hills. One of our approaches to is to provide free use of heavy duty levelers and to provide expert parking and leveling assistance to all campers. Thank you for staying with us!
Aug 10, 2018
Todd and Suzanne are amazing as always. Clean, quiet, friendly, beautiful! I actually requested my favorite tent site and Todd made it happen. My trips to the Black Hills aren’t complete without a stay here. Truly.
Aug 10, 2018
The people there are the best even offered to help with camp fire. I enjoy staying there very much
Aug 10, 2018
Beautiful campground in the black hills
Aug 10, 2018
Kids had great time lots. To do
Aug 10, 2018
The Camp Hosts were terrific. Very talkative and personable, made us feel at home and wish that we were staying more than just one night. The bathhouse was extremely clean and the campground was beautiful. We will stay again if we get back out this way.
Aug 10, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy