Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We would have liked to have water that did not smell. Other than that it was Ok.
Sep 05, 2017
stayed 3 nights, cabin was in great condition, ac worked well, only downfall was its location on the outskirts of the campground. made us feel a bit isolated but overall a great time camping
Sep 05, 2017
We've stayed at a lot of KOAs, and this is one of the best. Just a beautiful setting, and very nice folks. We look forward to booking visits in Hot Springs next year.
Sep 05, 2017
we stayed just one night, the staff was friendly and welcoming, the campground was very well run and organized, our cabin was clean and close to the restrooms. The showers were clean and everything worked well. Nice place, nice folks, amazing breakfast! We'll be back.
Sep 05, 2017
This was our first stay at a campground with our new trailer. The hosts were incredible. Suzanne greeted us and checked us in. She was very friendly and made us feel right at home. Richard guided us to our site and gave us helpful information about setting up and tearing down. And Wenda served a great breakfast. I liked the layout of the campground and will definitely stay here again.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Really nice wooded park and they helped save us a few dollars by moving site - very friendly
Sep 04, 2017
Wind cave tour was fun.
Sep 04, 2017
Our stay at the KOA in Hot Springs was absolutely amazing! Their entire campsite was very clean and they have plenty of activities for you after you have finished your tourist adventures for the day. I will be coming back here again.
Sep 04, 2017
The people are great. The area is beautiful.
Sep 04, 2017
Very nice place. I did not like all the dogs, barking when you walk threw the camp. May be people who don't have dogs, separate place in campground.
Sep 04, 2017
Was disappointed that my son wasn't able to be next to us-especially finding out the people next to us just came in that day with no reservation-they came after us and my son...they didn't need sewer hook-up just water where my son only had water and elec- the site he was put on had no sewer.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! Thank you for staying with us. Since your son reserved a water and electric back-in site instead of a full hookup, he did not have sewer. Since he had reserved a back-in site, we were unable to swap him out with a pull through site next to you since they were all full. Usually we are able to put campers next to each other on request. We're very sorry it didn't work out this time.
Sep 03, 2017
Very helpful and friendly
Sep 03, 2017
very satisfactory
Sep 02, 2017
Most sites treed and nice size. Staff friendly Will stay again if opportunity arises
Sep 02, 2017
Todd, Suzanne, Zoe and Emmett are the kindest, most accommodating hosts! I stayed at the KOA for a month and THEY are what made the stay most excellent! They operate an exceptional campground and it saddened me to have to leave! Glenn was pretty dang awesome as well! Marjorie!
Sep 02, 2017
Friendly staff no problems, stayed 4 nights.
Sep 02, 2017
Very nice atmosphere with campgrounds set in the pine trees. Only negative item would be the traffic noise being so close to the highway....
Sep 01, 2017
Very friendly staff. Nice location outside of the main hubbub of Custer. Someone should tell their corporate buyer to fire their wifi/internet provider - absolutely unusable most of the time. Golden West Telecommunications Coop., Inc. GWTC-NET (NET-64-251-160-0-1) 64.251.160.0 - 64.251.191.255
Sep 01, 2017
Very nice employees. Great facilities. Only downside - my site was not level from side to side. I had to pull a long way forward to get up over the low end of the pull thru site blocking the road for others to get by with my tow vehicle during the set up and then again when rehooking to leave. Plus the slope of the site needed strong support of wheel chucks not to roll backwards.
Aug 31, 2017
Brief overnight stop. Another good KOA campground. Rural nicely laid out sites with plenty of space among the trees. Staff very friendly and helpful. Left at 5am to go and see the Eclipse (amazing under clear blue sky).
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
very clean, host were great. the pancakes in the morning were a good touch. nice location to many attractions
Aug 29, 2017
Came to town for the balloon rally. Great event! The cabin was as expected and on par with other KOA facilities I have used before. The only negative of the experience was the restroom being so far away from the cabin. I appreciate the effort put in to accommodate our arrival....9:20pm. I will stay again when in Hot Springs!
Aug 29, 2017
This is the second time we have stayed here. Great sights and great place to stay.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Not very level site
Aug 28, 2017
This was our first time at this KOA, and were pleasantly surprised. It was far more shady than satellite pictures indicated, and there was a nice area in the trees to walk our dog. The sites were a bit sloped, but ramps were provided to help level our camper. Very clean and tidy campground, and staff were excellent. Really good breakfast available at a reasonable price. Highly recommend.
Aug 28, 2017
The campground was a great place to spend a few days. We splurged on one of the deluxe cabins for the three days, which was a really great option with our road tired 5 year old. We really liked the campground, the hosts were fantastic and all the employees super nice.
Aug 28, 2017
We go there every year. Great hosts and beautiful layout. I like the smell od the pines.
Aug 28, 2017
Bathrooms could use a little updating.
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Our stay here at Hot Springs KOA was very good. We were really only there at night as I had relatives in the area and we were with them most of the time. The staff was very considerate of our needs and our site was level and with trees that kept things cool. I used the laundry facilities and they were clean but the dryers were on the small side and I had to use them for a long time.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
I found this to be a most enjoyable campground. It was quiet, clean and the staff were friendly and accommodating. Yes, it's an hour from most of the touristy attractions, but that's okay with me(no zip-lining demon spawns racing over head). There's plenty of shade, a nice pool, mini golf, and a rec room for people to enjoy. I even was able to set up my ham radio and play a little.
Aug 26, 2017
Breakfast burrito was fantastic.
Aug 26, 2017
Good Location Internet poor - dropped often - not enough bandwidth Noise from highway - should lobby city to ban trucks from 'jake braking'
Aug 26, 2017
Very nice koa
Aug 25, 2017
We stayed only 1 night but enjoyed our stay. The staff were very pleasant & helpful. The location was convenient for Wind Cave NP & Mt. Rushmore. Everything was clean & picked up.
Aug 25, 2017
Camped in a tent, would prefer a few private shower bathroom combo like the KOA in Ft Collins, Co. The fire ring could have been cleaned out and larger. The pic nic table was in poor condition' other then that it was fine.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Hard working staff, friendly, knowledgeable about the area. Lovely grounds, clean facilities. Had pizza by the pool!
Aug 23, 2017
Nice camp. We will come again. Although the sites are small, they all have trees and it is very clean.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Suzanne went out of her way to see that we got a site when they were almost full. Glenn did excellent job of parking trailer for me in a back up site. Pizza was very good according to my granddaughter. Breakfast was awesome. Site 9 needs its water source fixed so it doesn't leak when hooked to a hose.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy