Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Info: 605-745-6449

Email This Campground

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 20, 2018
May 16, 2018
pleasant grounds. very nice host. shower stalls VERY small (almost too small for an adult male).
May 16, 2018
Susan and Todd have a great place to camp!
May 12, 2018
Very nice stay - staff friendly -
May 10, 2018
Nice mountain setting. Restrooms were clean and nice. Staff was friendly.
May 10, 2018
Even though the camp ground was not completely open for the season the campsite was clean and level. The staff was helpful and very friendly. As I was drying a load of cloths one of the attendants came in and when I told him how much money I had put in the machine he checked the dryer and refunded some of my money.
May 10, 2018
Very good One gripe, wifi sign on is unnecessarilly cumbersome.
May 07, 2018
After so many days driving the High Plains, it was a delight to camp among the pines which have been recently trimmed for tall vehicles. The new owners, a young family, were friendly, courteous and helpful. Previous reviews discussed muddy roads and sites. A lot of gravel has now been placed and the roads and sites are improving bit by bit. We enjoyed our stay in our large fifth wheel.
May 07, 2018
It was nice and the staff was nice and respectful, as well as the maintenance guy in helping me figure out my electrical problem. Thanks again.
May 07, 2018
We had a lovely time. The campground is very pleasant. The fire rings was GREAT ! We devoured the yummy pizza. Thank you
May 06, 2018
One of the best KOA,s. Like being in a national forest campground with all the pine trees between sites. Been going there for 30 years. Very nice people that own and run the place.
May 06, 2018
Only stayed one night. Shower and bathrooms were nice. Nice location. Everything was fine.
May 06, 2018
Friendly people, and they were flexible. Grounds with nice trees and recently upgraded gravel pads. Size of sites good. Restrooms/showers very clean. Store had a good selection of frequently-needed RV parts. Some traffic noise, but not bad. Location great. WIFI signal weak and needs speed upgrade. Price very good!
May 05, 2018
Nice spots in the pines, great internet. When we lost track of time sightseeing the staff generously allowed us to leave 2 hours after check out time.
May 02, 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean facility.
Apr 30, 2018
We like the cottage we stayed in, just perfect for what we need. We like the staff the most, they're very nice and helpful and my little girl enjoyed shopping for cute souvenirs in the store. It was a very pleasant and enjoyable vacation , we only hope we could have stayed a little longer. We're looking forward to check out the other KOAs campground.
Apr 28, 2018
We had stayed at this campgound earlier on our way to Nebraska and enjoyed out stay very much. They were still getting everything ready for the busy season. The host and hostess were very accommodating. Again, the only downside to this campground was the highway traffic (trucks using their compressed air brakes on their long downhill decent that runs right by the campground). Great place to stay.
Apr 27, 2018
Spent 3 days at This KOA. Find it to be one of the best we have ever stayed at, Note have been camping since 1987
Apr 25, 2018
Early in the season and they were still setting up. Loved the new bathrooms and the fact that the campground was almost empty. Only downside was the highway traffic noise. A lot of "Jake Brakes" going on as they came down the hill.
Apr 23, 2018
Early season but Todd & Suzanne did all they could to make our stay great. Thanks, Todd & Suzanne Dave M
Apr 23, 2018
We stayed in one of the Kabins and found it perfect for our needs. The washrooms were very clean and easily accessible.
Apr 20, 2018
We camped early in the season. Things were not yet quite up and running but Todd and crew kept checking with us and took very good care of us. Thanks!
Apr 20, 2018
Cleanest nicest rv camp we stayed at out of nine we visited
Apr 19, 2018
Wonderful overnight stay in a very clean & comfy cabin. Microwave, mini fridge & TV were appreciated. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely come back when in the area again.
Apr 09, 2018
I had a wonderful early season stay here, convenient location and friendly staff.
Apr 06, 2018
Todd’s amazing. Grounds imaculately cared for. Leveling ramps, fire rings, tables, all perfectly laid out.
Mar 13, 2018
Due to the snow melting some areas of the park were muddy but overall the site was clean and the management was very helpful and friendly. Thanks Todd for your hospitality.
Feb 17, 2018
Rented one of the deluxe cabins. They were charming and cozy during the cold snap and snow storm. Temps outside in the low teens, cabin delightful. Thanks!
Jan 14, 2018
We only had 2 days to see the area and Suzanne was very accommodating with our schedule and allowed us an early check-in in order to maximize our stay. Perfect little spot to home-base and see the Mammoth museum, Crazy Horse monument, loads of scenic driving routes and small hikes, Mt Rushmore, Rapid City, and the badlands.
Jan 02, 2018
The camp hosts were so generous & helpful on our stay in the frigid cold weather. We are new to rv'ing especially in freezing cold temps & our hosts went above & beyond in assisting us with anything that came up. Grounds were very well kept & would highly recommend a visit.
Nov 15, 2017
Nov 05, 2017
We stayed here the first night, and liked it so well that we booked two more nights. The Camp Host are very friendly and helpful. This is a nice Camp just to stay and not go nowhere. I will definitely be back to stay here. The only negative that I have is that I did not like the mattress, it wasn't very comfortable.
Nov 02, 2017
The campground owners were extremely professional, friendly, and helpful. They provided detailed information about the campground and the surrounding area. They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable and fun! Love this campground and the people who operate it, we will be back and will recommend to our friends and family to stay there.
Oct 29, 2017
We just stayed there last week and were very pleased with everything and everybody. Very friendly and helpful. Would love to go back and stay there again and spend more time in the beautiful little city of Hot Springs.
Oct 27, 2017
Beautiful, convenient location, so much better than campgrounds on the highway. Really enjoyed the staff, they drove me right to myself and helped me park my 38 foot. I would come back
Oct 26, 2017
Staff was very friendly and made sure we got the best spot to park for our needs. The grounds were well maintained and the restrooms were very clean and well maintained. Would definitely stay her again.
Oct 25, 2017
Todd was very helpful and accommodating, giving us recommendations on attractions to visit, providing us with maps, and even delivering pizza to our cabin. The only negative was a window without a screen that had attracted a lot of bugs which ultimately died and remained on the windowsill. We are recent converts to KOA camping and love that we can have our dogs with us in the cabin. Thank you!
Oct 25, 2017
One night great
Oct 23, 2017
Hadn't been to the area in 8 years and my parents for 38 years.
Oct 23, 2017
We had a great stay! Cabins are very well maintained and functional, the small electric heater worked well during a few cold nights. Facilities were impeccably groomed as well. Additionally so many fun things to do around the Hot Springs area!
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 22, 2017
Great place to stay in SD, great hosts, very friendly, helpful, and accommodating, Thank you!!!
Oct 22, 2017
Dry welcoming staff and helpful.
Oct 22, 2017
Felt very welcome and given much info about the area - points of interest!
Oct 21, 2017
Todd and Suzanne are the greatest hosts I could dream of! They're friendly, they go out of their way to help in any way they can, they even deliver mail and ice to my campsite! This KOA is full of lovely Ponderosa Pines and nestled in rolling hills with undeveloped land as far as the eye can see in most directions. It's just what I needed - altogether a lovely experience.
Oct 20, 2017
The hosts were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Made you feel like you were a visiting friend
Oct 20, 2017
Great staff and very helpful. Would be 5 stars but the site was not level for my truck camper so I had to sleep with my head downhill. Liked the availability of hot pizza for sale in the office, and yes; they will deliver to your site. Would stay again!
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals