Hot Springs / Black Hills KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0803

Info: 605-745-6449

Email

27585 SD Highway 79

Hot Springs, SD 57747

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 20, 2017
Hosts were lovely and very helpful. Will be coming back next year!
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
The cabin was very clean and cozy and the staff was so helpful and friendly. Staying at a KOA surpasses any hotel!
Sep 20, 2017
Loved the cabin. Nice to have a TV and AC for a little more "comfort". Clean, quite, good bed.
Sep 20, 2017
Comfortable sleeping. Quiet and clean. However, there was a slight urine smell - just an FYI. I was going to mention at checkout, but we had to leave before 8am. We would definatly use them again if in the Hot Springs / southern Black Hills area again.
Sep 20, 2017
The Sauna, and the Jacuzzi were not working; therefore, I called the desk and the technician showed up in the room named "SPA," after 25 minutes decided that the water needed to get heated to 80F. the "SPA" area waswith a nice view of the woods was a non working Jacuzzi, moreover, one of the locked doors was the "SAUNA,"

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi! You are reviewing the wrong campground. Thank you for staying with us!
Sep 19, 2017
Campsites not really level. Not enough gravel. When it rained, our campsite was nothing but mud.
Sep 19, 2017
Great park. Very clean restrooms and showers. Nice laundry room. Great dog park. Just wish it had been closer to Mt Rushmore. Extremely helpful and friendly staff!
Sep 19, 2017
I stayed in a 5 person cabin. It was prefect. It had heat and ac. Some have fridges, tvs etc... so It would be nice if they were more detailed online. Everything was clean, quiet and well kept. Friendly staff. Didnt like having to walk to the bathroom at night but if that's my only complaint, thats pretty darn good. Pool was closed after labor day, which is a norm so I can't say anything about t
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
We stayed here for one night in our Cruise America 25' rental RV while visiting the Custer/Jewel Cave area. It was quiet and gave us easy access to the area high points. It is much smaller than the giant KOA at Mount Rushmore, which we like. Our camp site was a bit out of level but our frig still ran so all was well.
Sep 19, 2017
Friendly, clean, very helpful. a couple of older women in our 70's and felt very safe.
Sep 18, 2017
The facilities are very nice and the staff was wonderful.
Sep 18, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Hot Springs KOA. The cabins were clean and bug free and the staff was friendly! We have stayed at a number of KOAs and think it would be nice if this facility offered free breakfast (primarily pancakes) and trash pickup (like others do). My only real criticism would be the water pressure in the showers; I felt like I was taking a shower under a hose.
Sep 18, 2017
One night, in and out, no problem, clean place
Sep 18, 2017
Great owners, friendly, polite and caring. Campgrounds and laundry facilities very clean. Thank you
Sep 18, 2017
Friendly and clean.
Sep 18, 2017
Susanne was very, very, helpful.';
Sep 18, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff and cabin was awesome! Will be back!
Sep 17, 2017
Office person very nice and friendly
Sep 16, 2017
Very nice, clean and very friendly staff
Sep 16, 2017
1st time with KOA, only negative was the busy highway
Sep 16, 2017
We stayed at Hot Springs KOA for two nights as a home base while we visited the Black Hills attractions. Mt Rushmore. Cray Horse Memorial Todd at KOA recommended the senior drive through Custer State Park it was a exeptional Thank You
Sep 16, 2017
Nice place,friendly staff!
Sep 16, 2017
Great campground and great hosts. One of the best campgrounds we've ever stayed at.
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 15, 2017
Stay was fine. Staff and Pizza were great! When I called in the reservation, the gal argued with me about my own Zip Code. Don't you think I know my own address?
Sep 15, 2017
Awesome park. Boo coo amenities. Clean very well kept.
Sep 14, 2017
Location was convenient to Wind Cave and Custer State Park but was quite a distance to other attractions.
Sep 13, 2017
Stayed in cabin (had it's own bathroom). Cabin was clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful and informative regarding info for the area. Had very minor issue with kitchen sink, and staff were there in 2 minutes of less ! Fixed and no problems. Would certainly stay there again. Gas BBQ was very handy and used it everynight (stayed 4 nights). Did not use the pool.
Sep 13, 2017
All good. Hosts are wonderful and helpful and pleasant. Only comment is that the WIFI contact for our space--53--was often slow but workable--Note: I have a patience problem so maybe it was me and not the system????
Sep 13, 2017
I didn't appreciate all the barking dogs. The dust from the road was awful especially when using the grill that the lid almost fell off when you opened it, I think some updates are needed.
Sep 12, 2017
We loved staying at this KOA. WE'll be back. There was such a nice, helpful staff, the cabin was lovely, with a refrigerator and we fell in love with the area.
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
The Hot Springs KOA campground was further out of town than we expected -- would have liked to see a couple signs in Hot Springs for the KOA. Appreciated the well lit & clean bathroom facilities. Tent site was nicely set among the pine trees.
Sep 12, 2017
95 degrees and the pool is closed. Summer is not over on Labor Day. Restrooms were clean. WiFi was good.
Sep 11, 2017
Couldn't find adjustment for mini fridge in our cabin and milk froze
Sep 11, 2017
WE had a great time
Sep 11, 2017
Never used anything other than full hook ups at our site. Didn't use showers, clubhouse, laundry, pool, etc. Can say that in our site, the internet was too weak to use though. Otherwise, it was just fine and a nice looking campground. Saw lots of other campgrounds in the area that had larger sites, but it was a nice place to stay for a couple of days.
Sep 11, 2017
Clean! Great hosts here: friendly ,helpful and informative. The campgrounds are nice. We will be back.
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 09, 2017
A nice park and a good facility. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our site wasn't the flatest but they provided wooden ramps to easily level our motor home. It was also nice to camp in an area with trees.
Sep 08, 2017
Very friendly stuff Nice , clean and safe campground Comfortable sites I would like to come back here
Sep 07, 2017
I was born in Hot Springs and so enjoyed the visit. The Pioneer Museum was worth the visit. Loved Woolly's Grill for Supper. Worth the wait. We thought the Dairy Queen had very nice people. Hot Springs was a Nice drive up to Custer, Hill City and Keystone. KOA was located just where we wanted to be, away from town.
Sep 07, 2017
Not a bad place but needs more bathrooms and showers placed in different places instead of just one by office area maybe one in center area and one to backside of campgrounds. to many area's with out full hook ups. so bathrooms where full till late at night or very early morning then you could be in line for awhile.
Sep 06, 2017
It was a wonderful stay. Very nice place. We'll be back for sure!
Sep 06, 2017
Camp very well run. Pool was great. Service outstanding
Sep 06, 2017
The camp site was very small not much room at all.
Sep 06, 2017
It was great. coming back in the spring. Rent a cabin an bring our boat up this time to do some fishing.
Sep 06, 2017
Love the larger size lots and pine trees. It's location is so convenient to so many of the sights that are of interest. The owners are awesome and make you feel welcomed as well as the camp orders.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy