Horse Cave KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-2809

Info: 270-786-2819

Email

KOA AVE

489 Flint Ridge Road

Horse Cave, KY 42749

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 18, 2017
Had a wonderful time with our 11 yr & 13 yr granddaughters. Enough activities to keep them busy and happy. It was a warm and friendly environment. One of the nicest KOAs we have stayed at. Would highly recommend to other travelers.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the Great review. We strive in Making It Great for our guest. Have A Bless Day.
Sep 17, 2017
Very pleasant well maintained grounds.
Sep 17, 2017
This was the second time staying at this KOA and it was great. This was our first camping trip with our dog and he had fun at the dog park. And running on the big lawn. Very friendly staff. Very clean camp ground. We will be back.
Sep 16, 2017
Nice campground but to close to expressway....too much noise all night.
Sep 16, 2017
Very noisy next to freeway. Muddy mess as it rained our first two days there. Two dryers in laundry room and one was out of order the entire time. Seriously, if you run a business then fix the equipment when they break. It's not rocket science. This KOA charges an awful lot. They must have funds to fix things. Put the mop and bucket in a closet when done; it makes the place look trashy.Good staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are truly sorry for your unpleasant stay. As for the dryer not working we did have a car put in for repairs. This is out of our control for when they can come out and service the equipment. Again we do apologize. Have a Bless Day
Sep 15, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Very quiet. Beautiful view of a farm-like scenery. The jump pillow and pool looked very nice and fun (did not have time to use them). The laundry was very nice which we did use.
Sep 12, 2017
The campground was beautifully kept and the staff was very friendly. The cabin was clean and well maintained. If there was one downfall. It was the 5:30am Rooster that went off every morining.
Sep 11, 2017
Clean & friendly campground.
Sep 11, 2017
Site 90 had no 50 amp power
Sep 11, 2017
I was extremely appreciative of the manager allowing six of us to use Cabin 7 to view a football game between Ohio State University and Oklahoma Saturday night and at no cost. I am disappointed that this KOA does not have cable at its sites which is available in virtually all other KOA's in which we stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you had an unpleasant stay. We do not advertise that we have cable. We are planning on it for the future. Have A Bless day.
Sep 10, 2017
Excellent campground. Staff very helpful. If you want to watch tv all day, don't go here. Only 3 or 4 channels, but we don't go camping to watch tv. You hear the interstate traffic but that is to be expected when your campground is next to a major highway. Never had a problem with the Wifi. Its better than I have at home. We were here for a week with no problems at all.
Sep 10, 2017
Nice and clean, well kept. Very noise from traffic on the highway and rooster crowing in the early morning.
Sep 09, 2017
Convenient to mammoth cave.
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Dim lighting in room because 2 of 3 light bulbs were not working and they didn't have anymore in the office to replace them. Dirty socks and underwear from previous guests left in the room. yuck. No where to wash dishes if you were camping, spicket didn't have drain near it so you were flooding the sidewalk and area you were standing to clean your dishes. Dog park gate not working. Staff friendly
Sep 07, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
Rough road, poor service, sight layout bad, price to high for value. Should be priced at $20.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for your unpleasant stay. The roads we rough do to the down pour of rain. we have got them fixed. Have a Bless Day
Sep 06, 2017
The staff was very helpful and polite. We enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again in the future.
Sep 06, 2017
We loved this campground! I had one very nerve-wracking incident where my dogs let themselves out of the dog park enclosure. Thank goodness a fellow camper spoke to them and helped me round them up before they could visit everyone in the campground! The kids loved the Jumping Pillow. The restroom shower facility was the nicest and cleanest I've ever seen. Friendly and helpful staff, too!
Sep 05, 2017
We had a full hook up, pull through site. Close to playground and store. Very nice, but a little to close to interstate 65
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Wonderful camp sites and staff!
Sep 05, 2017
The grass was very beautiful on our HUGH site, we had roosters waking us up in the morning. :-D The site was a bit un-leveled our hitch was sitting on the ground to get as close to level as we could.
Sep 05, 2017
Just beautiful!
Sep 05, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay and will be going back. Bathrooms very clean. Only disadvantage is mini golf needs some upgrading & our plug to our electric box didn't work and no one was available to fix during our stay.
Sep 02, 2017
very nice, enjoyed it a lot.
Sep 01, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Proximity to cabins was great and the staff was very accommodating in keeping us close to each other. Proximity to highway made it very loud. Also, chickens wondering through campground seemed less than sanitary and there were so many flies because of the other farm animals.
Aug 29, 2017
Enjoyed the cabin very much. Clean and cozy.
Aug 29, 2017
We had a nice relaxing stay. We took advantage of the proximity to Mammoth Cave National Park. Just get reservations for the cave tours on line.
Aug 28, 2017
Wonderful visit. Our site was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, we were greeted each morning by the local chickens! The only negative is that it is very close to the Interstate (which we expected). It would be nice if some trees could be planted between the 50 amp lots and the highway to help muffle the sites and sounds of the cars, but we enjoyed our stay. Thanks!
Aug 28, 2017
Love this Campground. Would love to see cable TV like many other KOA's have! The wifi is great and my son loves the jumping pillow!
Aug 27, 2017
Nice place to stay. Close to Mammoth Cave and other points of interest.
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
friendly staff at check in. love the wide camping sites and the sturdy picnic table at my site. nice amenities at this campground. very convenient to central Kentucky site seeing. Churchill Downs, Mammouth Cave, Civil War sites, etc. too close to the I-65, too many truck noises in the middle of the night. and who said that rooster could start at 4:30AM?
Aug 27, 2017
Nice size lot, laundry was inoperative, showers were very outdated, dump station on wrong side. Office staff friendly, other workers friendly, nice playground, jump pad, dog party (but quite a walk).
Aug 27, 2017
We stayed out at one of your cabins. It was wonderful! We had a porch and outdoor space with a fire pit. The furniture was made of logs just like the cabin. There was plenty of things to do on the grounds! The staff went above and beyond answering questions and accommodating us. We will be back! Thank you for a great stay!
Aug 26, 2017
Likes. Fish pond farm setting and playground jumping pillow were all fun. Dislikes. Bathroom location and cleanliness. Seems like they need more staff. Sites weren't flat. Store was small. No dishwashing station. Pool seemed overused and dirty. Just seemed you guys weren't ready for all the eclipse traffic and having a full campground.
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
The staff was efficient but not very friendly. The restrooms were very clean. My only suggestion would be to put ventilation in the restroom. They were very humid after showers were taken.
Aug 26, 2017
This campground is well maintained and has a significant number of activities for children. In my experience it is well above average for KOA.
Aug 26, 2017
Clean grounds and restrooms, friendly service. Firewood delivery was a perk. Close to the highway so it was a bit noisy.
Aug 25, 2017
Our water Spicket would not shut off and leaked water all over our camp, track mud into our trailer. they could not fix it at the time. They should probably not rent out that campsite ð
Aug 25, 2017
Easy to find and pretty clean but the front desk employees were not as helpful as they could have been. I often felt like they didn't want to exert themselves. My dad went up to buy ice and was told they didn't sell ice, despite the fact that there was a cooler filled with bags of ice in the store. I also didn't like hearing a staff member complaining about visitors loudly in the front office.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry to here this. I will look into this matter ASAP. Have a Bless Day.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
Staff worked with me, when I had to cancel part of my stay due to a family situation. Thank you very much. Nice site, only con, no TV reception.
Aug 24, 2017
Bathrooms were constantly out of toilet paper and soap, and we was there for only one night. There was a light by our campsite that emitted a harsh, stadium-like light and it kept turning on and off. It was such a nuisance, especially when you think it's finally turned off once and for all, and then suddenly the white light just blares through your tent. Other than that, KOA staff were friendly.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
We stayed here due to the proximity to Mammoth Caves. I liked that the KOA was on the small side. Fellow campers were very nice. We have a dog and so did many of the others staying there. Kids really liked the farm animals at the bottom of the hill! The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked the fact that the laundry was open all the time. The basketball court was also a big hit.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy