Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Stay safe! Stay healthy! We hope to see you soon.

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.
Sep 02, 2018
Sep 02, 2018
Wonderful staff great location and excellent cabin. Had fin exploring the mining site. Thank you!
Aug 31, 2018
Aug 30, 2018
We really liked staying in solar 3. Nicely furnished and very clean. I did find the pool in need of a good cleaning. 1st time at a KOA and we were very satisfied. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Aug 30, 2018
This was our second time there and first time w my son... We all had a blast... Staff was very helpful and informative.. Atmosphere very family friendly abd always felt safe... Can't wait to visit again in the upcoming years
Aug 29, 2018
Aug 29, 2018
This was my 3rd (2008,2011,2018) time here with different Girl Scout troops and as always a great time was had by the girls. What amazing changes you have made to the camp over the years even though the fire in 2017 took the beloved barn. The Windmill Lodge was well supplied and we enjoyed our stay.
Aug 29, 2018
I did not get the cabin I thought I reserved. There was no hot water and are barbecue grill did not work. Someone did come and take care of the problem right away but for the price I paid I was not happy.
Aug 29, 2018
We reserved a standard cabin for two nights & it was obvious that our neighbors were not going to be very neighborly. They were rude, parked in our parking spot, would not move out of the way when we were trying to drive by, played loud music, and had filthy mouths. When we asked the office if we could move, they put us in a deluxe cabin. The staff was so helpful and apologetic - just wonderful.
Aug 29, 2018
beautiful camp with clean facilities
Aug 28, 2018
Aug 28, 2018
Great stay! Cabin was nice and clean, grounds well cared for. Only complaint was pool needed some work - the paint and sides were all chipped. It was not very inviting. Pool was very cold and I would prefer there be lifeguards on duty during the day, similar to other family campgrounds.
Aug 28, 2018
We stayed in the Astronomy Lodge and had a wonderful time. Pleasant surprise was picking out a bag of free corn from their truck. Tons of activities for the kids, although we were disappointed that the pavilion snack bar, which is supposed to be open daily from 5:30p to about 8:30p, was always closed. They are currently renovating their mining area due to a fire but the new additions look great.
Aug 27, 2018
Booked again upon exiting for next year- met great new friends.
Aug 27, 2018
We stayed in a cabin which could have really used ac. My whole family got covered in chigger bites at our site. We are not sure if it was from inside or outside the cabin. Would have loved to have seen a lot more activities like ceramics, crafts. We usually stay at Yogi Bear campgrounds which are always impressive!
Aug 27, 2018
The beds are way to hard to sleep on. The pool need to be resurfaced. Other then that we had a wonderful time.
Aug 27, 2018
Second time we have stayed are returning end of September love it staff was kind and informative cabin very clean bathrooms spotless
Aug 27, 2018
Windmill cabin exceeded our expectations! Staff polite, courteous, knowledgeable. Pool needs a liner.
Aug 26, 2018
The grounds were nice, the cabin was clean. The showerhead was clogged, I had to take the cover off and clean it with a toothpick so we could use the shower. The extra money I paid for the astronomy cabin was a waste. The website had tabletop telescope, star projector, and a large observatory type telescope. The projector and large telescope were broken on arrival. The small telescope missing
Aug 26, 2018
The tree house sleeps four, but SITS 2!!! Listing states "Cooktop", NO COOKTOP. Broken grill. Pillows constantly fall through bedframe. No gutters or lights on the stairway, it gets scary. Electricty went out 14+ times. Dirty dishes when we arrived. Staff was as helpful as possible, but couldn't make up the shortcomings. Pool in massive disrepair, filters don't work and cement litters the floor.
Aug 25, 2018
Wonderful Kabin 6. More than expected. Not great activities for 11 year old son. Clean pool. Worried about dog without a leash one day. Great bathroom and sink area. Seems like K1-K10 area was one nighters. Will stay at other end next time. Great for the nightly rate.
Aug 25, 2018
Aug 23, 2018
This was the best cabin on the water we ever stayed at. So beautiful! The only improvements I would make are to put hooks in the bathroom for towels to hang and install a cabinet in the kitchen to store your food.
Aug 23, 2018
The facilities at the Herkimer Diamond Mine KOA are fantastic. The kids were never bored! The cabins were a bit too small, but clean and comfortable. Would go again and again!
Aug 23, 2018
Enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 23, 2018
Dropped my daughter at Bing and didn’t want to go directly home to an empty house. Im new to camping! Beautiful grounds! Staff kind and helpful.Met the owner who is a sweetheart!Thank god for Beau who could not have been more helpful and made sure we were ok before he left for each day. Restaurant pizza to die for! Wanted to go camping once more time pre winter and think I will go there Agai
Aug 23, 2018
Absolutely beautiful campground, plenty to do for all ages! Definitely going back!!
Aug 22, 2018
Aug 22, 2018
I'm not sure if it's because I'm used to the older campground but now it seems to over crowded. The campers are on top of each other. The women's bathroom had a shower curtain on the floor overnight and until about 2 or 3 pm the next day. The water pressure in the showers is horrible. At one point it just about turned off. Our cabin hadn't been swept out and there was wrist bands on the ground.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
We rented a creek side cabin and there was no hot water the whole time we were there so we obviously were unable to take a shower. Talked to maintenance several times and it never got fixed. We were told we could take a shower in the public facilities which defeated the purpose of us spending the extra money for a cabin with bathroom facilities.
Aug 20, 2018
Great atmosphere, lots to do. Need to improve the internet at the campground. Found that we could do very little with it, and my iOS devices wouldn’t connect at all.
Aug 20, 2018
The Kabin was very clean and well maintained. The grounds were fantastic. The pool is starting to show a bit of wear, but still fun!
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 18, 2018
We stayed at Herkimer KOA many years ago and returned with grandchildren for the first time this year. Amazing changes but still the most awesome place! Thanks for more wonderful family memories.
Aug 18, 2018
We had a blast digging for diamonds on two separate days. We also loved our cabin overlooking the river and enjoyed rafting down it. Our family enjoyed the pool, taking walks throughout the campground, having pizza delivered to our cabin, and getting ice cream across the street. The staff were all very friendly and helpful too! We are telling all of our friends about our incredible experience!
Aug 18, 2018
It wasn't worth the cost. The gas grill didn't work, swapped with one next door (vacant), the grills were filthy. Weedwhacking and mowing from 7am to 8am right next to us, couldn't sit outside to drink coffee Thursday morning. No wood for firepit, had to buy.Trucks behind us going in the mine at 6:30 in morning during the week. I wouldn't pay that much again for these cabins.Very clean inside.
Aug 17, 2018
We will definitely go back. It is worth the 5 hour drive. The whole family had fun. The only reason I'm not giving it a full 5 rating is because the wifi was not great.
Aug 17, 2018
Bed was beyond terrible
Aug 16, 2018
the campgroup was great. we stayed in the tree house which was great overall, but a few things could have been better. the remote for the tv didn't work which took 4 trips to the front desk and 2 days to fix. the fridge was warm when we got there. the grill tank was empty, lighter didn't work. then the ste camp was extremely loud starting at 830 am. these might be ok if I wasn't paying top dollar.
Aug 14, 2018
Love it here - been coming for the last 5 years with friends and we all have a blast!
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Great place to stay! Everyone is extremely friendly!
Aug 13, 2018
I've always loved the Herkimer Diamond Mines and KOA Campground, but, since the renovations, it is an even better place for families and rockhounds of all levels. From hard-core prospectors to families with young children, there is something for everyone. My parents brought me there as a kid, and it is a tradition I carry on now with my son. We will keep coming back for generations to come!
Aug 13, 2018
I want to thank the person that wrote the review explaining what happened to them when the electricity went off. They explained that they came back from a wedding late at night. A new camper had parked next door and had accidentally turned off the breaker for the treehouse when they were setting up their camper. I had the same problem and knew exactly what to do. Thanks again.
Aug 11, 2018
Been 5 years since we were last here & it's gone downhill a little. Breakfast is advertised for midweek but instead there was summer camp.The pool is falling apart & needs to be addressed. Same for their deluxe cabins (77/78). Missing smoke detector in 77. Cabin AL has so many loose rocks someone almost broke a toe. River was great as always.It's quiet & peaceful.Staff were nice. Bathroom filthy.
Aug 11, 2018
Got there on Saturday. Public bathroom wasn't cleaned until Monday after lunchtime. Unfortunately our family was staying in a no bathroom cabin so using the restroom or shower was anything but pleasant. It was so hot in the cabin unless it was between the hours of 1am and 8am, so we won't do that again!

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.