Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Stay safe! Stay healthy! We hope to see you soon.

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.
May 20, 2019
great stay in Randy's lodge!
May 20, 2019
Although it was raining when we got there and when we left and there were puddles everywhere, the restrooms were always clean. the cabin was great. We weren't expecting TV, let alone cable (because when we rented cabins in the past there was no TV or refrigerator). The grounds are very nice, with lots for kids (and adults to do). Check in went quickly and efficiently and the staff was veryhelpful
May 16, 2019
The Astronomy Lodge we stayed in was amazing! It was perfect for us since we have 2 kids ages 2 and 4. We def needed all the amenities. We went right before it started to get busy for Mothers Day and Memorial day which was good and bad! No crowds at the mine, we were the only ones there at one point. The staff were so nice and helped us with the telescope when we couldnt figure out how to use it.
May 13, 2019
We planned a Mother daughter sister weekend at the Herkimer KOA. I understood it to be pay for one night, get the next (Saturday) for $20.00. Apparently there was fine print I wasn't aware of & the weekend cost double of what we intended to pay. It was a bit disappointing. It was also unfortunate that the bathrooms by the mines were closed making it a hike each time we needed to use one.
May 13, 2019
We had a great visit. It was a nice quiet get away. Exactly what we wanted!
May 13, 2019
nice
May 13, 2019
May 07, 2019
It was a wonderful weekend!! Kids had a blast!! Staff was friendly.
May 05, 2019
Had a very good relaxing stay and plan on going back...
May 02, 2019
The place is beautiful and well kept. The one issue I had was that, although I was the only one staying in the cabins up by the mine, my car got hit during the night which caused $1500.00 in damage. This was reported the next morning to the staff. Although I could see a security camera mounted on the building, the camera did not have a wide enough view to see my car. The report is on file
May 02, 2019
The tree house is awesome
Apr 29, 2019
We absolutely loved our stay at the Herkimer Diamond KOA! Our cabin was perfect, the staff was incredibly nice and helpful and we will definitely be coming back!
Apr 29, 2019
Great location and great cabin! We enjoyed a lot!!
Apr 28, 2019
Apr 27, 2019
We came too early in the season. In my opinion, the campsite was not fully open at this point. There were no organized activities as many koa's have. The grounds were not cleaned properly for opening. At the adjoining restaurants the nachos didn't arrive yet, rock candy didn't arrive yet, Herkimer beer didn't arrive yet... It was a unique place with much potential. Hopefully better organized in s
Apr 27, 2019
Clean and beautiful cabin.
Apr 27, 2019
Apr 25, 2019
We loved our visit and I already have recommended it to friends and family! The staff was friendly and responsive. Our refrigerator didn’t work but was promptly replaced and there was no space heater (April) upon check in but was brought right away upon request. The bathrooms are updated and clean. We had friends in fancier cabins and those were all very nice. Mining was very fun too!
Apr 25, 2019
Apr 20, 2019
Overall an okay stay. Staff wasn’t very friendly or welcoming expect the one maintenance man that helped us (I wish I got his name). TV didn’t work our entire stay and the front desk told us there was nothing they could do about it because it was due to them switching providers, well we were staying in one of the specialty lodges and were expecting to be able to use the TV for our young son.
Apr 20, 2019
Apr 19, 2019
Our second year coming here and I think it's going to be a new annual tradition for us! We love the cabins and have so much fun at the mines. Staff is so friendly and knowledgable and there are plenty of activities to keep everyone busy. Already looking forward to coming back.
Apr 19, 2019
First day of this year that the campground was open. A few glitches but a very pleasant stay.
Apr 18, 2019
I just want to say say thank you once again to your staff! I had a small problem with one cabin and they jumped right and and moved us. The new WiFi is much appreciated and worked great. The village is coming along very nice and we also had wonderful luck in the mines ( thank you for turning and moving stuff around in mines. See you next month!
Nov 13, 2018
REALLY LIKED YOUR SOLAR UNIT. WISHED WE HAD BOTH NIGHTS IN THAT UNIT. WE WERE IN YOUR DK5 THE FIRST NIGHT FOR FOUR ADULTS IT IS VERY CRAMPED. IT SHOULD SAY 2 ADULTS AND MAYBE TWO TEENS OR YOUNG CHILDREN,
Oct 31, 2018
Oct 30, 2018
Stay was nice. The camping cabin was real clean as we're the bathrooms. Forgot towels at home so I went to see if they sold towels, they did not and 10 minutes later towels were delivered to the cabin. My son enjoyed the stay as well. Very nice people I will be back.
Oct 24, 2018
It was great except for neighbors that were very noisy till about 2am.
Oct 23, 2018
Oct 23, 2018
Great campgrounds and prospecting area.
Oct 22, 2018
We had a wonderful weekend. Thank you for hosting the Boy Scout Event. We look forward to visiting again. One thing I would like to see next time if it is available is possibly a tour of the commercial process for the mine.
Oct 22, 2018
Oct 22, 2018
The gas grill needs to be replaced and there was no flames. The thermostat should be by the door since it was difficult to find the first night as we froze. Eventually we found it and turned it on.
Oct 22, 2018
Since 2011, my husband and I have chaired Boy Scout Troop 135's attendance at the Geology Jamboree most years. The Troop usually comes up just for the Saturday program, but my husband and I stay for the weekend in a Kamping Cabin. We always enjoy our stay, and the Troop has a great time earning their Geology Merit Badge. The time and effort put into the program is most definitely appreciated!
Oct 22, 2018
We seasonally camp in Massachusetts and this Campground was not very well kept up and the bathrooms were not cleaned frequently at all
Oct 22, 2018
Great place very nice friendly service loved staying in the cabins overal 10 out of 10 thank you very much for taking such good care of us as well as to the camp ground. Bernadett from Long Island NY
Oct 19, 2018
We love this place and this is our 4th stay (I think). Wish we had better weather this time. Too bad you're not in charge of that!
Oct 16, 2018
Very comfortable deluxe cabin for the weekend. Very nice breakfast on Sunday morning and nice friendly staff. I will come again to stay!
Oct 16, 2018
Was disappointed we did not receive the free digging coupon on our second visit. Had to ask for it on the first time and was told it was a mistake and that when we came back it would be there... Was NOT there. Very disappointing. The cabin itself was GREAT thou! Will be back again next year for sure.
Oct 16, 2018
Randy's Dinosaur cabin was great, although the "bedroom" was cramped. Loved that it was located on the river so you could see and hear the water. However, I think it was over priced for what it was. I would have paid $130 a night (tax included). My only hesitation in recommending this place is the price. It's also odd that your off season pricing is only $5 less that your high season pricing.
Oct 16, 2018
Oct 16, 2018
Excellent! We stayed in the treehouse! It was so much fun. The people are extremely hospitable, there are tons of fun activities , the property is very relaxing, and there was even pancake breakfast. My son really enjoyed digging for diamonds. We are KOA fans now!
Oct 16, 2018
Came here on a Boy Scout trip. Despite the cold and rain we all had a great time! We had camp sites and a cabin. Very nice and clean. Planning on returning during the spring with the family!
Oct 16, 2018
Stayed in the Diggers Den. Loved the cabin itself. Was disappointed that upon arrival Friday night we read the binder in the cabin, it stated we were supposed to get a free digging coupon. We had to go to the front desk for one. We also scheduled a stay for Sunday night on our way back from VT on Sat. We were told Fri that there would be a coupon on Sunday. Never received a coupon for that stay.
Oct 15, 2018
We come to this campground every year and never disappointed!! Awesome restaurant and campgrounds! Love it!!
Oct 15, 2018
Oct 15, 2018
Stayed in Randy's. Everything was nice, but I have some suggestions. First and foremost to protect your cabin integrity, get a longer inner shower curtain liner. The one we had was too short and allowed water onto the floor. Secondly, invest in fitted sheets and better blankets - these were barely adequate considering the cost. Lastly, the sofa bed (and floors) needed a good vacuuming.
Oct 14, 2018
We love this KOA
Oct 09, 2018
Oct 07, 2018

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.