Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Kids loved it. Beautiful location, fun activities. Couldn't ask for a better spot.
Aug 19, 2017
Pleased overall. Garbage cans need to be emptied more often. Bathroom floors need greater attention from muddy conditions.
Aug 18, 2017
I called your customer service department and talked to Skyla. While at the campground I discussed the issues with Cliff. I was told someone would contact me and no one has. I was also told by Cliff to contact the owner Kelly. He left notes with my contact information for whomever was going to contact me. We stayed in the Robotics Lodge. I would like to hear from someone please.
Aug 18, 2017
It was okay but not up to the quality of others we've visited --Gettysburg and Harpers Ferry areas. One of the air conditioners was not working so it was hard to maintain a good temperature. One guest has respiratory issues so that was a concern. The key did not work for deck door. The main door was nearly impossible to unlock and lock the 1st day, but maintenance repaired it.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
my family has been going to Herkimer Diamond,NY KOA for many years now. The campgrounds and staff have consistently been outstanding. We wil be back next July for 4 days. Thank you for the great time we have when there!!
Aug 17, 2017
The setting is beautiful! The staff was very friendly!We rented a cabin on the creek that was not well maintained (stove broken, broken blinds, not very clean, cabin not well equipped). Hot water was minimal which made it difficult to take showers. We were disappointed with the cabin to say the least. Despite this, tubing down the creek was the best!
Aug 17, 2017
Had a great time. Campgrounds were well maintained and staff very friendly.
Aug 17, 2017
The cabins were very clean and well kept and we loved the campground. The creek was very fun and we enjoyed the activities. We were disappointed in the diamond mine as we did not have the right equipment to actually find anything and safety glasses should be supplied. We still made the most of it and had fun. We also were in the astronomy lodge, however the telescope was not working correctly.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
After spending way too much money on the deluxe cabin again and thinking it would get better, it only got worse. Rented the solar cabin this year. The foldout bed that my daughter and son-in-law slept on should not even be classified as a bed. At least last year in the robotics cabin there was a blow up mattress that went with it. 4 adults Can Not sleep comfortably in that cabin! And no micro!
Aug 14, 2017
We have stayed at KOA for the past 5 years . We always stayed in a cabin an never had an issue with the a/c . This time around we did and it was an issue when we got there . I do feel the manager did what he could but in the end the a/c unit was not fixed . We had friends in other cabins and their a/c's were not working as well . The deluxe cabins are not cheap and a certain standard is expected.
Aug 14, 2017
Things were good - staff amazingly great. Pool crystal clean. Activities fun. Negatives - cobwebs in a lot of the upper areas of the solar cabin 1 (top of kitchen cabinets, top of cabinets in bathroom, vents in floor full of cob webs). No fitted sheets for the bunk beds, so bit of a pain. Neighbor had dog next door without a lease running all over everyone's property.
Aug 14, 2017
Excellent!!! We will definitely be back! Only issue I'd say is the shortage of hot water in the showers. But, the grounds, the amount of activities and the cabin selection is outstanding!
Aug 14, 2017
Live local and have gone by your place for years and had no idea what a great place it is. Rented specialty cabin for our grandkids and they had a ball!! Lots for them to do and enjoy. Plan on returning for a longer stay next year. Thanks! Special Thanks to Adam who did a great job with the grandkids activities.
Aug 13, 2017
My kid's and I had an amazing time! We were having so much fun nobody wanted to leave. My boy's are already talking about coming back next summer. I was so happy with the accommodations.
Aug 12, 2017
This is our second year at this wonderful camp. The owner and workers are kind and very helpful. The setting and cabins are beautiful. MIning was so much fun! Everyone is on top of everything. I'm sure you'll replace mattress in deluxe cabin 3 now that you know it lost its support while we were there. Excellent camp-thank you for everything, can't wait till next year.
Aug 10, 2017
I've never stayed in a better campground! The cabins were amazing!
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
it was relaxing, the cabin was nice and we went to the mine and left no richer than we went in.
Aug 09, 2017
Great activities for kids, Matt was especially good with them. Someone needs to check more on amenities as big dome telescope did not work, one of the inside telescopes had broken tripod leg, had to make my own bunk beds which I was not happy about especially at my age and NO fitted sheets (??). No shampoo in either cabin, charged $12 xtra for kids in treehouse? High prices for do many issues!
Aug 09, 2017
We love staying here! This is our third year staying at the Herkimer KOA. Great for the kids and just as fun as the adults. Diamond mining is addictive and keeps everyone entertained. Grounds were well kept with lots of activities. There were some minor issues which is why I gave 4/5 stars. Can't wait to come back next year!
Aug 09, 2017
It was a last minute idea to go to Herkimer and every thing worked out great. Everyone was very accommodating. Thank you, Bev Harper
Aug 08, 2017
Everything was great except for the pool not being heated. You spend so much time and money on everything else and the Achilles heel of the resort never gets addressed. That is the only thing that would keep me from coming back.
Aug 08, 2017
We were very pleased with the campground. It was well-kept, our cabin was clean, and the young men that were running the camp store were always very helpful and polite. We were happy with the tranquil surroundings, and the quiet, family-friendly atmosphere. We wished that our cabin was a little bigger, but again-it was suitable, our hot water didn't work in the shower, and the fridge wasn't cold.
Aug 08, 2017
Ten year old twins and I stayed two nights while mining Herkimer diamonds. We totally enjoyed our stay, especially having the fridge in our cabin and watching movies in the pavilion at night. Very friendly staff!
Aug 08, 2017
Excellent
Aug 07, 2017
We were in cottage 2 and if that tree had fallen on it with me in it, I would be dead, no doubt about it. Thank god we were with the family down below. Beverly
Aug 07, 2017
It was great. The only thing I would change is the lighting in the Kabins. The bulb is quite dim, and I have to use a flashlight to see into my luggage, etc. Except for that, all is perfect.
Aug 07, 2017
Another fun camp out, great facilities and staff was helpful as always. Highly recommended!
Aug 07, 2017
The activities for children were awesome. All of the recreation staff were patient and kind to the children. Cabin was adorable. Only issue I have is the grill did not work even with matches. I didn't bring the kids "camping" so that I could cook in a frying pan. Some trees fell in front of cabins. Act of nature.. Your staff got right on it and I was impressed.
Aug 05, 2017
family/friend get together. Cabin was perfect for us. Air conditioning, bathroom, and a comfortable bed. Right on the river, and everything easy access. Already booked for next year
Aug 02, 2017
Had a wonderful time. We stayed in a cabin on the river and the view was gorgeous. Sitting on the porch rocking with my coffee in the morning was the best! The grand kids loved the fossil dig we had at our site and had a ball unearthing the dinosaur. The campground was neat and clean and everyone was very friendly.
Aug 01, 2017
The staff was very professional and accommodating. However we had a conflict with another group of campers for the second year in a row over being by the water. They used profane language, threw our belongings in the river and at us. The staff called the owner and we were told to move. They were not at all concerned about how they treated fellow campers. disappointing.
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
I really love this place, my only complaint is the temperature of the pool water. While the children don't mind it, there were few adults in it. It really is too cold.
Aug 01, 2017
Nice campground. Clean bathrooms and friendly staff.
Aug 01, 2017
Our family had the best time. The camp ground is beautiful and so much to do. We are looking forward to our next trip to Herkimer.
Aug 01, 2017
Rooms were very clean. Check in/ out was very easy. Will be going again for sure.
Aug 01, 2017
It was our first time staying at herkimer and it was amazing. Loved all the activities that were planned throughout the day for kids and all of the facilities.
Jul 31, 2017
For the 1st time in many, many years, I was left disappointed in this KOA. There are so many great things about this KOA, but our entire McCarthy family is not sure they will return. There are some incredibly rude and dirty mouthed people that we have had to deal with for 2 years. The issue was not resolved in the a compromise, which it could be by making Rock Island usable for all.
Jul 31, 2017
Our 12th reunion at this site was ruined by unruly campers, swearing and tossing our belongings into the creek , the manager spoke to them but it continued without consequence until we had to remove our families due to the inappropriate language and aggressive behavior
Jul 31, 2017
Prices getting too high, air conditioner didn't work, I stayed in Pet friendly, without pets. Blinds were wreck by pets. Cleaning guy said they were replacing blinds but there was a long list. Probably from pets. I'm not happy rates went up ALOT, thinking I'm Might be paying for pet repairs!
Jul 31, 2017
We come to this koa every year for family reunion, bringing along 60+ people. We love to site by the h2o, last year a very rude women got angry that we were sitting on the river in front of her campsite. She was so bad we had to get management. She was told we Could be there.the same thing happened, this year,she was so aggressive,(swearing "f" word) they took her side,why reward behavior? Sad....
Jul 31, 2017
The treehouse was very good and it worked out well for us and our families camping next door.
Jul 31, 2017
what a great way to spend a few night away from our daily routine.
Jul 31, 2017
You let some snobby mega family reunion rent out alot of the cabins and didn't bother to tell me about this on the phone before I reserved . as it is, this family in particular treated us really unkind because we "took the cabin meant for their other family member ". I am never staying here again . also the quartz mine is a joke. It is so empty that you need a construction team just to get at gems
Jul 28, 2017
We had a fantastic time staying in the tree house and mining for diamonds. We will be back for another visit!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award