Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Nov 10, 2017
We loved the cabin we stayed in eith our pup . For once fishing was just outside our door, pizza across the street, and I found a huge herkimer diamond!
Nov 07, 2017
I always enjoy this campground. Very clean and so many activities. The sunday pancakes are awesome. Super friendly staff. The cabins are perfect.
Nov 04, 2017
Nov 02, 2017
Nov 02, 2017
We stayed in the Solar 3 unit. It was set up very nicely. Could have been cleaner, but not a deal breaker. Loads of dust on the fake flowers and the shower was completely grimey. I cleaned it before I would lit my kids in it. We loved the gardens and the fire pit. My husband grilled dinner. It was really nice having those features, as well as a kitchen. The heater was broken the 1st n
Oct 30, 2017
Icecream social was nice and for a good cause!
Oct 27, 2017
Had a fantastic time! Beautiful cabin.
Oct 24, 2017
The new upgrades to the cabins (linens, towels, TV) are great! It will be nice to not have to bring bedding with me in the future. Also in the past, if there was rain we would have to leave to go do something bc sitting In an empty cabin all night was no fun, but now at least my wife and I can cuddle up under a blanket and watch a movie or something. GREAT ADDITIONS ALL AROUND!!
Oct 23, 2017
Cute cabin (DK2). Nicely located and very convenient amenities. However... No heat or hot water for the first night. Cold showers = unpleasant. Only a thin blanket with no heat = brrr. Someone fixed it next day but not much sleep first night. Coffee maker had a moldiness to it. Couldn't use it.
Oct 23, 2017
We were there for the geology merit badge. We stayed in cabins which were great! The scouts and families I was with all want to come back next year for the mining in society badge. The only thing I would suggest is sending out a list of items to bring to use while mining. It was mentioned to bring goggles, but I would also suggest to add work gloves and knee pads. Thankyou for a great program.
Oct 23, 2017
Cabins are nice, beautifully situated near water. Only issue was microwave in cabin only worked for a few minutes, then if you cooked something in it longer then 1 min it would just stop heating (light still on, table still turns). Because of this we had to throw out our dinner one night because we couldn't cook it.
Oct 23, 2017
Although the Herkimer Diamond Mine lost their store and museum in a devastating fire a week before, the Geology Merit Badge Boy Scout Jamboree was on as scheduled this past weekend. The scouts from Troop 135, Glasco, NY had a great time while earning their badges. The program was excellent, the KOA staff excellent, the KOA Campground excellent, the Diamond Mine excellent, & the weather excellent!
Oct 23, 2017
Great time, the cabin we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The campgrounds are very pretty and welcoming. We loved mining the next day and found a lot of really great Herkimer diamonds so that was a lot of fun. I've already recommended it to many people and would love to come back one day and do it again.
Oct 22, 2017
Perfect, Perfect, perfect! We chose a cabin on the river, beautiful! All the perks. Friendly staff, great stay overall. Peaceful, just what the Dr. ordered! We'll be back, love KOA!!
Oct 22, 2017
We came to the Herkimer KOA after our season of running a trout fishing lodge. This was the perfect spot to relax and unwind. A good balance of natural beauty and smashing stuff. We had tons of fun finding diamonds and loved our little cabin. We will be back we when we can!
Oct 21, 2017
Oct 20, 2017
Oct 19, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Thank you again,and we are so sorry for your tragic devastation. Through the whole fire your staff stayed calm and took care of everything. We look forward to coming back next summer. Thank you for a wonderful relaxing weekend.
Oct 16, 2017
Stayed in the treehouse cabin one night. Cabin was well kept and my 10 year old nephew really enjoyed it. One guest was unable to get hot water from the shower that night, but other 2 guests had no issues. Staff was very helpful when it came to ordering our take out pizza. Enjoyed all of the activities offered (or stay included tie-dying and movie night).
Oct 16, 2017
We stayed in the WOOF cabin. It was wonderful, with a great view, except for the beds. The double bunk bed tipped down on the outside (or needs to be rotated). It was hard not to roll off. It was also very soft and hurt my back and I'm small. The sofa bed springs were very painful along with the bars from underneath. For $159 a night,they should buy better mattresses. I got almost no sleep. :(
Oct 16, 2017
Absolutely the most amazing weekend ever!!!! Everyone associated with this organization that we came into contact with, exhibited kindness, shared knowledge, and gave us a personalized feel to our stay. The mining was 'work' for this retiree, but the exhilaration of finding a diamond was well worth it! The food at the Miner's Table restaurant was a pleasant surprise.It exceeded my expectations!
Oct 16, 2017
Very helpful and friendly staff, clean and well maintained grounds, and we enjoyed our stay and look forward to another stay next year.
Oct 15, 2017
Was ok the onli thing you don't, have electric scuders 3 or 4 wills for rental ( sory) .
Oct 10, 2017
A beautiful and peaceful place to stay.
Oct 10, 2017
Need New sheets and blankets. New mattress for the pull out sofa. Otherwise, fabulous.
Oct 10, 2017
Our stay was a family get together and except for me, it was the first time for everybody to experience the Herkimer adventure. We all had such a good time that everybody wants to book now for next year. Our stay was marvelous, everything we expected and more.
Oct 10, 2017
Everything was very good except the cabins are very close to each other and on top of that they put us in a cabin next to other campers when there was plenty of other cabins that were not occupied. They should have spread it out to give some room. The events and everything else were great, so five stars for the rest of it!
Oct 09, 2017
Stayed in basic cabin 8. Would come back, but in a different, bigger cabin with a bathroom. The lock on our door was broken, and the top of the garbage bin inside was broken.
Oct 08, 2017
Such an Awesome well maintained campground with a kind and friendly staff. The Miners Table restaurant was more than i expected with great food and service.Would have been nice to get a little more information on how to actually do the mining, the very short video doesn't give enough information.Overall it was a great time for me and my friend and will be returning.
Oct 05, 2017
Oct 05, 2017
I think the price for a fall weekend was a little high and the cabin had absolutely NO heat but other than that - it's a great location and a great campground.
Oct 05, 2017
For a kamping Kabin, this was the best weâve experienced. TV, mini fridge & linens! Beautiful campground & helpful staff. Weâll be back.
Oct 04, 2017
My only regret was not being able to stay longer! We had a blast and are looking forward to our next visit!
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
We really love your KOA.People are great.The themed cabins by the creek are great.The diamond mines are cool.There is however one problem.We had a couple move into the cabin next door and this unfortunately pretty much ruined our second day.They parked in our parking spot,started playing music loudly and informed us that they were there to celebrate their high school reunion across the street. YUK
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Beautiful spot. Loved the cozy cabins which were clean. We went to the Herkimer Diamond mines and had a great day looking for diamonds. Then had a lovely dinner at the Miner's Table.
Oct 03, 2017
I have stayed here before, as a child and now as an adult. Its a nice smaller sized campground. With the west canada creek and the diamond mines, there is always something to do. This KOA is always improving and investing into themselves with new cabins and facilities. Everything seems clean. The only negative, if you can call it that, is the TV in the cabins. Who needs a TV?
Sep 29, 2017
Excellent Will return.
Sep 28, 2017
This was our 2nd time staying at Herkimer KOA and we loved it even MORE than the first! The staff was always friendly, the bathroom/shower upgrades look great, and the Kabins even have a mini fridge and tv now! Couldn't have asked for a better vacation! Mother-in-law (non-camper) even visited for 2 nights with us. She was so impressed we will ALL be booking sites again next year! THANKS KOA!
Sep 28, 2017
We had an amazing time and the grounds were lovely. All the facilities were beautifully maintained. We can't wait to come back!
Sep 28, 2017
Sep 27, 2017
We had a very good time. Things went well with the whole stay except for one little glitch. I stepped on the edge of a depression in the grass area between the pavilion and the creek. I twisted my ankle pretty bad. I first aided myself and had it checked by a Dr. when I got home on Monday. Nothing is broken, just sprained. Maybe some one should check out that area for depressions/holes.
Sep 26, 2017
Hadn't been there in 25 years and it is better than ever. Great job with the grounds, activities, store and sites, the place looks great! I will be back.
Sep 26, 2017
Very nice stay. Cabins were comfortable and well equipped. I liked the laid back feeling of the place. The setting was nice.
Sep 25, 2017
Love the campground...staff is very nice...always enjoy coming back same weekend for over 20 years. Always new improvements to campground, very clean. Keep up the great job..see you in September 2018.
Sep 25, 2017
Very clean and well run property, the kids loved the tree house and the weather was perfect. Thank You!!
Sep 25, 2017
Amazing, awesome place. Our 2nd time there and we brought friends who also loved it. My great review is on Yelp. Yes, we will be back.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award