Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2017
Loved the whole deal. Y
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Nice & friendly people. Very Patient with us as we were late getting in and got a little lost. Nice showers and nice spot they put us in.
Aug 18, 2017
I called your customer service department and talked to Skyla. While at the campground I discussed the issues with Cliff. I was told someone would contact me and no one has. I was also told by Cliff to contact the owner Kelly. He left notes with my contact information for whomever was going to contact me. We stayed in the Robotics Lodge. I would like to hear from someone please.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Beautiful spot on the river
Aug 18, 2017
It was okay but not up to the quality of others we've visited --Gettysburg and Harpers Ferry areas. One of the air conditioners was not working so it was hard to maintain a good temperature. One guest has respiratory issues so that was a concern. The key did not work for deck door. The main door was nearly impossible to unlock and lock the 1st day, but maintenance repaired it.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
This was our third year at this koa. Every year we explore different cabins. We stayed at the solar lodge. The pool was clean and refreshing after a fun day of mining. Went creek tubing, which is always a blast. I will be back next year and probably bringing more family and friends. Staff was extra friendly this year and was appreciated.
Aug 18, 2017
Great property and very nice staff
Aug 17, 2017
my family has been going to Herkimer Diamond,NY KOA for many years now. The campgrounds and staff have consistently been outstanding. We wil be back next July for 4 days. Thank you for the great time we have when there!!
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
The setting is beautiful! The staff was very friendly!We rented a cabin on the creek that was not well maintained (stove broken, broken blinds, not very clean, cabin not well equipped). Hot water was minimal which made it difficult to take showers. We were disappointed with the cabin to say the least. Despite this, tubing down the creek was the best!
Aug 17, 2017
it was a nice, relaxing stay. staff was very friendly, restrooms were clean, site was quiet, couldn't ask for more.
Aug 17, 2017
It is a great place to stay . Are group was the age range of 7yrs old.to 64yrs old and we all had a great time.
Aug 17, 2017
Had a great time. Campgrounds were well maintained and staff very friendly.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
The cabins were very clean and well kept and we loved the campground. The creek was very fun and we enjoyed the activities. We were disappointed in the diamond mine as we did not have the right equipment to actually find anything and safety glasses should be supplied. We still made the most of it and had fun. We also were in the astronomy lodge, however the telescope was not working correctly.
Aug 16, 2017
Its so busy, the staff was not able to keep up with the bathroom. Toilet paper was out, the garbage was always overflowing. One toilet was completely out for a day. 7th year and they need to bring it back to the high standards we are used to.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Since when do workers come first before customers?? I can't believe that workers are given some of their nicest sites..was very disappointed about that...
Aug 15, 2017
This is our 7th year going. We go with a group of 11 families. Everything was great. The only disappointments were, the bathrooms seemed to be dirtier this time and we were disappointed to reserve for next year and find that most of the sites that all the families get were booked. So next year we are all spread out.
Aug 15, 2017
We have been visiting herkimer koa for about 28 yrs. we always enjoy our stay.
Aug 15, 2017
Generally the campground was not as well kept as we remembered during a previous visit. During our stay the garbage in the pet park was never emptied and was full when we arrived (we were there 4 days). The TV was partially out for a day and a half, the grass needed to be mowed and the grounds could certainly have used some TLC. Over priced for the general appearance of the campground,
Aug 15, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed at sites 51 and 52..after the thunderstorm on 8/12 ,site 52 kinda got a little flooded...maybe needs to be leveled off better. Other than that we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere....the stream....very relaxing. Got a lot of exercise just walking around the campground..enjoyed watching the the people float down the stream..will be back for sites 51 and 52!
Aug 15, 2017
We brought our granddaughter camping to do some Herkimer Diamond mining. The campground was quite nice but the section we were in (Sites 1-6) were very tight together. It was difficult to have a campfire without endangering your neighbors rig!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
After spending way too much money on the deluxe cabin again and thinking it would get better, it only got worse. Rented the solar cabin this year. The foldout bed that my daughter and son-in-law slept on should not even be classified as a bed. At least last year in the robotics cabin there was a blow up mattress that went with it. 4 adults Can Not sleep comfortably in that cabin! And no micro!
Aug 14, 2017
It would be nice if they had better wi-if access. Also the flies are horrible especially close to the dumpsters. Wish they could move them over by the pavilion.
Aug 14, 2017
We have stayed at KOA for the past 5 years . We always stayed in a cabin an never had an issue with the a/c . This time around we did and it was an issue when we got there . I do feel the manager did what he could but in the end the a/c unit was not fixed . We had friends in other cabins and their a/c's were not working as well . The deluxe cabins are not cheap and a certain standard is expected.
Aug 14, 2017
Things were good - staff amazingly great. Pool crystal clean. Activities fun. Negatives - cobwebs in a lot of the upper areas of the solar cabin 1 (top of kitchen cabinets, top of cabinets in bathroom, vents in floor full of cob webs). No fitted sheets for the bunk beds, so bit of a pain. Neighbor had dog next door without a lease running all over everyone's property.
Aug 14, 2017
We reserved a superior tent site on the river, which was fantastic...except for the folks who were confused about where to get out of the river tubing Run who cut through our site and helped themselves to our paddles and less than secured food. A big "EXIT HERE" or "private" sign would go a long way to direct those who may be confused.
Aug 14, 2017
Beautiful campground. The best KOA we have ever stayed at.
Aug 14, 2017
Excellent!!! We will definitely be back! Only issue I'd say is the shortage of hot water in the showers. But, the grounds, the amount of activities and the cabin selection is outstanding!
Aug 14, 2017
Very enjoyable and we booked again for next year.
Aug 14, 2017
The deluxe camp site was beautiful. I loved falling asleep to the sounds of the river. I've never been to a KoA before so the many activities were wonderful! Even the welcome pack I received upon arrival was impressive. I'm already making plans to come back.
Aug 14, 2017
Very nice stay. Close to The Mines! Clean, relatively quiet. Nice stay next to the river. Close enough to other things to do, but not too far away from things either. Clean. Well maintained. Looks like mega-garbage dumpsters were dumped daily (?). We even got to swim @ your pool and watch them haul a huge septic tank out of the ground. Who could ask for more?
Aug 14, 2017
It was friendly, great workers,especially the security guard at night.
Aug 14, 2017
Live local and have gone by your place for years and had no idea what a great place it is. Rented specialty cabin for our grandkids and they had a ball!! Lots for them to do and enjoy. Plan on returning for a longer stay next year. Thanks! Special Thanks to Adam who did a great job with the grandkids activities.
Aug 13, 2017
We were given a site that was satellite friendly, one of only a few at this campground.
Aug 13, 2017
The wifi was terrible. I like to check email for work and surf the net with my morning coffee and I had to do those with my regular cellular connection. Other than that, the campgrounds were great.
Aug 13, 2017
My kid's and I had an amazing time! We were having so much fun nobody wanted to leave. My boy's are already talking about coming back next summer. I was so happy with the accommodations.
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
negative:women's bathrooms-toilets were not working appropriately(not flushing). shower stall walls(between showers) should be closed in. we pack for the family and lose our supplies when passing to person in next shower. positive: we were there during thunderstorms and high winds..your staff was excellent in checking in and giving evacuation plans and making sure no one was hurt. appreciated!
Aug 13, 2017
Excellent!! Quite, clean, lots of things for kids, great place to get in walks. Just really enjoyed staying there. We even had shade. Very impressive.
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice facility, just not used to spending $48 for a tent site.
Aug 13, 2017
The staff we worked with went out of their way to make our stay was enjoyable and stress-less. We stayed an extra day and were very impressed with the campground as a whole. It was very clean, and well thought out. I hope I will be able to return some day.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award