Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
We had some issues the first day we arrived. The grill wasn't usable and it took quite a bit of effort to get a replacement. Also heard from our neighbors that they had contacted maintenance several times to have their grill repaired and burned out lights bulbs replaced to no avail. Pool was dirty and water was cloudy. Other than that, we had a decent time.
Jul 09, 2019
Cabin 64 has been well loved and in our opinion, not well attended. The blinds were broken into many pieces at the door. Many of the blinds did not close completely on their own. For privacy we had to encourage the slats together. There was a window whose frame was compromised, so we couldn't open the window. The metal futon frame was bent. The refrigerator didn't maintain it's temp. etc,etc,etc
Jul 09, 2019
This is the 2nd year we have come up the week of July 4th (it's now a tradition), and just like last year; it was awesome! The cabin and grounds were clean, friendly staff, lots of activities... I really only have 1 suggestion: Currently, you offer $1 off mining for campers- I feel you should make this incentive a bit better (Buy 1/Get 1 Free, 1/2 Off, Free passes based off length of stay).
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
The location i reserved was swamped and even another spot i moved was also wet...so, it was tough to pitch tent and live with rain. The water quality in the pool was poor.
Jul 09, 2019
The front desk staff was awesome the campground was extremely clean and well attended to the facilities were fantastic my wife and I enjoyed it and we'll go back there many times as we travel through that area will make it a point to stop there. We watched other young families and their children have a blast in the pool in the gaming area and fishing in the river.
Jul 09, 2019
Miserable staff won’t be back
Jul 08, 2019
The grounds were well kept and felt safe. However, we stayed in a 200/night cabin. For the price, I will the maintenance was better. Three times we reported the main light in cabin broken and no one attended to it. Our BBQ was broken. We purchased our own items to make the stay possible. The office was understaffed on each of my 6 visits to either check in, check out or report issue.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
Jul 03, 2019
We stayed in spot 118. It was a pull thru 50 amp full hook-up. The site was not level. I had to change my location on the site 3 times before I could level out. Then I had to worry if I had enough room for slide out on left side. The park got real muddy when it rained. Great place for young family and kids, not so much for older couple without kids.
Jul 02, 2019
I was disappointed with the W/E site I had by the river (#46). It was mostly dirt, little grass, and no gravel. Also the hookup is in the front and on the wrong side for every other campsite. The bathrooms were clean and the full hookup sites and cabins looked well kept. The day staff was not friendly or helpful (didn't know if there were activities, etc). The late crew was much better.
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
Very clean and very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay.Rates we a little pricey.
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
Front desk girl about 30 ish heavy with sandy blond hair does not well represent your campground. I waited 20 minutes to be checked in while she searched Walmart on the internet for another customer for a water hose that you sell right there. When it was convenient for her she finally check us in on a deluxe site 16 I think. We were give a buddy site? Facing no one we knew ended up with 124 was ok
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
Campground kept very clean, and friendly service. I would stay again.
Jul 02, 2019
My only complaint was the site was sooooo small. I think there was only 8 inches between my and the neighbors slide out. It is a nice clean park and well maintained. Staff very helpful too.
Jun 30, 2019
Jun 29, 2019
Lovely campground with very friendly and accommodating staff. Our first site wasn't so great, so we were placed in a patio site for no extra charge. Our only issue were the back-in / pull-in sites adjacent to each other. A huge coach pulled in and his window awning was only inches from our slide. That's just the way our section was set up. Next time, s site near the river would be very nice!
Jun 28, 2019
Electric did not work. Was told it was my camper. After an hour and a half, the technician from Oak Hill said it was the camp ground electric. Your people still insisted it was my camper. Next morning, took it to Oak Hill and they confirmed it was NOT my camper. your people were reluctant to give me a different site. They finally did and it was on the other side of the campground. never again
Jun 28, 2019
Jun 28, 2019
The cabin was clean, staff friendly and helpful,,,,could not ask for any more .
Jun 28, 2019
Beautiful campground and a professional, helpful staff.
Jun 27, 2019
Interior roads need a bit of work, too many pot holes for vehicles and trailers.
Jun 27, 2019
Jun 27, 2019
Muddy!!! Wanted $20 to move to a dry spot and the cable TV work very poorly dog crap on the ground overall the worst koa I’ve ever been in and I’ve driven from Southern California to New York but it
Jun 26, 2019
Pricey. We have to sweep the floor in a cabin as soon as we arrived. Also, there was leftover slices of pizza outside near the bush. Toilets in a men's bathroom are rucking, licking, patched urinal...and smelly. Thanks for the hot water and free coffee.
Jun 25, 2019
This is a nice little campground but there were a lot of barking dogs, and my dog and I were chased a bit by a couple dogs being walked by children.
Jun 25, 2019
The only issues I had was when I tried selecting a cabin some of them show a floor plan and others did not. I chose a cabin that said full size bed and bunk, only to find out the full size bed was part of the bunk. Also there where issues with the hot water. We did not ask for help but knew if we did that we would have recieved fast service. All in all it was a great escape.
Jun 25, 2019
Quick and easy check-in Thurs Night. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 25, 2019
Stay was very good but no wifi at my site which was close to the office
Jun 25, 2019
great stay!! service excellent. staff attitude awesome.
Jun 25, 2019
It was just great, had list of fun with our granddaughter. She loved it and did not wanted to go back home. The only sad part was, we wanted to stay another night but everything was booked. Keep up the good job. Thank you the Burk family
Jun 25, 2019
A beautiful well kept park with many amenities.
Jun 24, 2019
Jun 24, 2019
Friendly and calming respite for a rainy day on the road
Jun 23, 2019
When we arrive to our site I was unhappy with the way the site was left from previous camper. There was garbage in the fire pit burnt juice boxes, half eaten apple. The site was not cleaned up from the last camper. Also noticed in the site next us #74 in the fire pit was a broken beer bottle. We Love this KOA but it looks like the maint. is slipping a little.
Jun 22, 2019
We had a lot of rain but it was still a good friendly place to stay.
Jun 22, 2019
Jun 22, 2019
We would not fit in “deluxe site” that we were assigned. Were given a pull through which was fine except for satellite reception. WiFi was pretty good and TV channels came in good.
Jun 21, 2019
Jun 21, 2019
Great cabin by the creek. Loved our stay.
Jun 21, 2019
Stay here was so so. Sites by the River nice but muddy. Cable TV at our site was broken but apparently the CG office was unaware. We have stayed at a dozen KOAs this year and were much happier at almost every other one. This ones a stop and not much more.
Jun 21, 2019
Over priced. Our cable was broken. Nice location.
Jun 19, 2019
Was an overnight stay but would have liked to stay longer. Our site backed up to river so we could hear the water . They have made improvements since last stay. Still clean with a friendly staff. Will be back. Thanks for a good stay The Skelley’s
Jun 18, 2019
we had a really nice time and the staff and facilities were great. thanks so much!!! Love the sound of the river nearby :)
Jun 18, 2019
It was amazing we loved it
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.