Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Stay safe! Stay healthy! We hope to see you soon.

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2019
As usual, everything was great, easy check-in, helpful staff. Some of the deluxe cabins could use a little TLC, nothing major. Also, I know they get banged around but some of the gas grills need an upgrade. Either way, we'll be back next year. Thanks.
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
The Saturday music was nice but could have used more family activities like a craft for free would have been nice. (Something simple) Everyone was very friendly (KOA staff). Cabins were clean, bathrooms were clean. Could have used some extra hooks on the back of the door of the cabin. But overall it was a good location, outdoor setting was amazing and exactly what we were looking for.
Jul 13, 2019
When we arrived for our reserved site we were told we were moved to a different site due to an issue on our site, someone was on the new site so we went back to the office.They then put the people ahead of us in line on our original site.The 3rd site offered was too small for our camper, we went home as they were full.2bad trips at 2 differentKOAs in 2weeks, were done with KOAwhendidtheygetsobad!!
Jul 11, 2019
Nice cabin, nice setting, but the maintenance isn't up to par for the prices charged. We stay at the Herkimer KOA to enjoy the setting and have a nice 'camping type' experience. Cooking our own food is one of those pleasures. The cabin we rented had a stove that hasn't worked since last year when we rented the same cabin. And the outdoor grills were atrocious!! Extremely rusty and unusable.
Jul 10, 2019
The campground is fantastic. Very disappointed in the restroom. I really think the over crowding is too much for restroom. Always dirty. Seems like no control of number of cars and people per site. Let’s. Hope it’s better next year when we come back.
Jul 10, 2019
We had another fabulous stay at Herkimer KOA's Aries Astronomy Lodge! Great cabin, great location. Campground was immaculate, bathrooms very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The tubing was a huge hit with the whole family!
Jul 10, 2019
The Sites are very small and narrow fit, it would have rolled down the cliff if we had backed up more. The campsite campsite was supposed to have easy access to the creek, our site was perched 100 feet up on cliff that over looked a stagnant water. We had problems with the cleanliness of the bathrooms and had to complain more than once.I was very dissappointed, not the usual standard for KOA.
Jul 10, 2019
that's our 3rd time there and we love being there and going digging across the street.
Jul 10, 2019
Herkimer Diamond KOA was a nice family friendly place to stay. It was located directly across from the Herkimer Diamond Mines which was where my family wanted to go. The only thing, is that I wish the campsites were a little farther apart. I felt like our camper was on top of the campers next to us, but we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 10, 2019
Staff was very friendly. Park was clean. There was some mud on my site that a gravel pad would solve but to be fair there is mud everywhere this year.
Jul 10, 2019
We were right on the river. Beautiful! Thank you! We will definitely come back.
Jul 09, 2019
The south public bathroom closest to our camp site kept on running out of toilet paper so we had to go to the main office restrooms. Also next year cabins was already rented out before we got here this year so we had to rent a different ones for next year. We've been coming hear 35 years. So much for loyalty? Some of our group isn't going to come anymore.
Jul 09, 2019
Loved it, see you next year
Jul 09, 2019
It is nice for a family gathering. The pool either needs a new filter or you are not running it enough. It did not look safe enough for me to swim in. I also noticed on a holiday that the garbage gets out of control. More pick up is needed for sanitary conditions. Restroom floors are very slippery. People mentioned if someone would leave a mop we would gladly push it around so no-one falls.
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
Great time, comfortable sites. Enjoyed the area. Let us know if this KOA will ever offer seasonal sites.
Jul 09, 2019
Camping on the river edge was great. Many sites exceeded maximum camper limits which in turn made the bathrooms disgusting. No toilet paper, filthy showers, and plugged toilets. Number of working toilets did not accommodate guests.I would expect much better bathroom facilities for $60.00 + a night fee.
Jul 09, 2019
Been going there for 4th of July week for years. Always a great time.
Jul 09, 2019
The last 2 years we have been disappointed in this campsites enforcement of their rules. Unless reported, people go faster than 4 miles an hour. Bathrooms were not as clean and the lady (older woman) at the desk never smiled and looked like she could care less about customers. It was a total turn off. We came to enjoy the creek, so at least that was enjoyable.
Jul 09, 2019
Love Herkimer. Stayed there last 13 years. Little disappointed this year. Activities for kids were not well organized as in the past. Pool was REAL cloudy and dirty. No DJ on Saturday night. Bingo was the first person to tell bingo was the winner. Adult wins cause they tell first and a little kid loses cause they didn't tell fast enough. How sad. Hope next year is better.
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
We had some issues the first day we arrived. The grill wasn't usable and it took quite a bit of effort to get a replacement. Also heard from our neighbors that they had contacted maintenance several times to have their grill repaired and burned out lights bulbs replaced to no avail. Pool was dirty and water was cloudy. Other than that, we had a decent time.
Jul 09, 2019
Cabin 64 has been well loved and in our opinion, not well attended. The blinds were broken into many pieces at the door. Many of the blinds did not close completely on their own. For privacy we had to encourage the slats together. There was a window whose frame was compromised, so we couldn't open the window. The metal futon frame was bent. The refrigerator didn't maintain it's temp. etc,etc,etc
Jul 09, 2019
This is the 2nd year we have come up the week of July 4th (it's now a tradition), and just like last year; it was awesome! The cabin and grounds were clean, friendly staff, lots of activities... I really only have 1 suggestion: Currently, you offer $1 off mining for campers- I feel you should make this incentive a bit better (Buy 1/Get 1 Free, 1/2 Off, Free passes based off length of stay).
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
The location i reserved was swamped and even another spot i moved was also wet...so, it was tough to pitch tent and live with rain. The water quality in the pool was poor.
Jul 09, 2019
The front desk staff was awesome the campground was extremely clean and well attended to the facilities were fantastic my wife and I enjoyed it and we'll go back there many times as we travel through that area will make it a point to stop there. We watched other young families and their children have a blast in the pool in the gaming area and fishing in the river.
Jul 09, 2019
Miserable staff won’t be back
Jul 08, 2019
The grounds were well kept and felt safe. However, we stayed in a 200/night cabin. For the price, I will the maintenance was better. Three times we reported the main light in cabin broken and no one attended to it. Our BBQ was broken. We purchased our own items to make the stay possible. The office was understaffed on each of my 6 visits to either check in, check out or report issue.
Jul 08, 2019
Jul 07, 2019
Jul 03, 2019
We stayed in spot 118. It was a pull thru 50 amp full hook-up. The site was not level. I had to change my location on the site 3 times before I could level out. Then I had to worry if I had enough room for slide out on left side. The park got real muddy when it rained. Great place for young family and kids, not so much for older couple without kids.
Jul 02, 2019
I was disappointed with the W/E site I had by the river (#46). It was mostly dirt, little grass, and no gravel. Also the hookup is in the front and on the wrong side for every other campsite. The bathrooms were clean and the full hookup sites and cabins looked well kept. The day staff was not friendly or helpful (didn't know if there were activities, etc). The late crew was much better.
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
Very clean and very friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay.Rates we a little pricey.
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
Front desk girl about 30 ish heavy with sandy blond hair does not well represent your campground. I waited 20 minutes to be checked in while she searched Walmart on the internet for another customer for a water hose that you sell right there. When it was convenient for her she finally check us in on a deluxe site 16 I think. We were give a buddy site? Facing no one we knew ended up with 124 was ok
Jul 02, 2019
Jul 02, 2019
Campground kept very clean, and friendly service. I would stay again.
Jul 02, 2019
My only complaint was the site was sooooo small. I think there was only 8 inches between my and the neighbors slide out. It is a nice clean park and well maintained. Staff very helpful too.
Jun 30, 2019
Jun 29, 2019
Lovely campground with very friendly and accommodating staff. Our first site wasn't so great, so we were placed in a patio site for no extra charge. Our only issue were the back-in / pull-in sites adjacent to each other. A huge coach pulled in and his window awning was only inches from our slide. That's just the way our section was set up. Next time, s site near the river would be very nice!
Jun 28, 2019
Electric did not work. Was told it was my camper. After an hour and a half, the technician from Oak Hill said it was the camp ground electric. Your people still insisted it was my camper. Next morning, took it to Oak Hill and they confirmed it was NOT my camper. your people were reluctant to give me a different site. They finally did and it was on the other side of the campground. never again
Jun 28, 2019
Jun 28, 2019
The cabin was clean, staff friendly and helpful,,,,could not ask for any more .
Jun 28, 2019
Beautiful campground and a professional, helpful staff.
Jun 27, 2019
Interior roads need a bit of work, too many pot holes for vehicles and trailers.
Jun 27, 2019

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.