Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 21, 2018
I rented the solar 2 lodge. My kids do not like bunk beds and we were happy to find the loft. THe refridgerator was not working and the staff knew about it prior to us coming, failed to mention at check in. The air conditioning also did not work. They let us stay in solar 1 but it had bunks. The cabin was good except the door wouldn't open and it was crawling with ants.
May 21, 2018
We had an amazing time mining for our son’s 7th birthday and enjoyed our stay in the astronomy lodge. The staff of the campgrounds, retail shop and restaurant were welcoming and friendly. The owner Renee went above and beyond to help us celebrate. Thank you for helping us create cherished family memories. We will be back!
May 21, 2018
My family and I loved it here. The bathrooms were very clean an well kept as well as the grounds. The river was beautiful, a mix of rock and beach and perfect for the kids to play in. Will definitely be back!
May 20, 2018
May 20, 2018
Nice campground, friendly staff. We would stay there again.
May 20, 2018
CLean. Good coffee. Quiet nights. Good staff. One fellow camper had light fingers but nothing that was not replaceable.
May 18, 2018
May 17, 2018
Cold, but very nice
May 17, 2018
May 16, 2018
May 16, 2018
Clean kabins, clean showers and always exceptional customer service, It's nice to be remembered when you come back for a stay, I tell everybody about this place, Can't wait for my next stay
May 16, 2018
Initial confusion about what I expected and what I actually reserved. Staff went way out of their way to fix my mistake, Forgot the grill brush and went to the store to buy one. Store did not have any but the staff found one for us to borrow. Bathrooms were clean and you just could not beat the attitude of the staff or the level of service. We are making reservations to return mid Septemb
May 16, 2018
My first time out camping had a great time with family and friends, we will be doing this a lot more
May 16, 2018
Well maintained, nice atmosphere, good activities, the only downfall is not a good area for cell service and the Wi-Fi is terrible.
May 15, 2018
I love my stay at the KOA and I always have fun with my friends and family that stay there also. We do not have a camper, so we have to always rent a cabin. I always have the same issues....I wish they were a little bit cleaner. This time the refrigerator did not work so they gave me a cooler (not quite the same as a refrigerator). For the money that is charged, some improvements could be made.
May 15, 2018
Always love staying in one of the cabins by the river. The campsites do seem to be very close to each other, but I also understand the necessity of using as much real estate as you can. In spite of that, no one was too loud or obnoxious and no one was disturbed. We will be back!
May 15, 2018
Very friendly staff, excellent campground and facilities. My wife and I have already decided to make our stay an annual event, 2nd year so far.
May 15, 2018
We come to this KOA every year and always have a great time! All the workers are helpful, friendly and always give great customer service! The food at the Miners Table was unbelievably unique and the best! We will be back�
May 15, 2018
Great place to stay. Clean and friendly.
May 15, 2018
Site not very roomy. Not as many activities as we have had at others we have been to on Care Weekend. K-9 Park small and muddy. Needed to ask for poop bags replaced. Staff very cooperative. Dump station on serious incline: how can we drain tanks completely? Needs upgrade...
May 15, 2018
It was a birthday present for my son who loves rocks and mining. He had a fantastic time at the mine and we were pleasantly surprised at the campground too. It was a nice touch to have activities scheduled for kids.
May 15, 2018
We had a no hassle check in when we arrived. There was a slight issue at our campsite, but got help right away from the maintenance staff. Staff was friendly and considerate. We participated in the charity ice cream social which is always great - who doesn't like ice cream?! We were able to camp with our 4 dogs w/o question and they enjoyed Kamp K-9. Already made reservations for Sept. '18
May 15, 2018
The overall size, types, and scale of the current campgrounds are perfect to and for me. Flooding -current solutions are limited by finance and regulation. My suggestion - be opportunistic. You are good at that, ie Miner’s Village and your other environmental actions - ecologically embrace the Flood -natural and human influenced. Provide the opportunity -finances appear and regulations accomoda
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
We were there for the Mudville softball tournament and had three games Sunday. The staff was very helpful by letting us have a late checkout. We really appreciated them working with us. Because of that we would definitely visit again. Thank you.
May 15, 2018
Was an amazing stay. Relaxing and beautiful. Love the family atmosphere. My son had plenty of other kids to play with. Already booked father's day weekend.
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
Wish we had better weather!! Cons: No ATM, provided BBQ grills are not maintained as well as they should be, no arcade, fire wood bundles are small if you want to have a long fire it would get real expensive! Pros: Our site had a beautiful steam and mountain view, everyone we had to deal with that worked there were more than helpful and kind, very clean and well groomed. Would go again anytime!!!!
May 15, 2018
Great campground. Clean well kept. Our site was amazing. Friendly ataff
May 15, 2018
I loved the Herkimer KOA. The workers were friendly and accommodating. The grounds were beautiful and very clean.
May 15, 2018
Loved the site so close to the water. Beautiful park, very well maintained.
May 15, 2018
Excellent accommodations! The staff was amazing! We had a little car issue and they went above and beyond to help us out! Everyone was friendly and made us feel at home.
May 15, 2018
Great weekend as always, had a great site. We spoke to some new faces around the campground and of course some old faces. Not that they are old. Hope to see everyone again very soon.
May 15, 2018
We had a very nice stay! The facilities are so clean and the staff was incredibly friendly.
May 15, 2018
May 14, 2018
Beautiful grounds; friendly staff; meticulously clean. The fire pit/ring at our site (#77) was unusable (dangerous ... partially going downhill/steep drop ... assuming the grade has eroded, but pit needs to be relocated for safety). Luckily, no campers adjacent to us, so we used the pit/ring for site #76. Mattress was very bad. Actually pulled mattresses from bunk bed and laid atop mattress.
May 12, 2018
Nice place with sites right on the river. Clean facilities, kind staff, and free coffee in the morning. I would certainly stay here again.
May 10, 2018
Our stay was pleasant. The sites were a little close for us but it was not busy this time of year.
May 08, 2018
The Herkimer Diamond Mine is our favorite getaway! The grounds are beautiful and the staff are all so friendly and helpful. Truly a magnificent place!
May 08, 2018
My husband and I would like to thank the staff at Herkimer KOA as they were very kind and accodomating. The resort was very clean, safe and has a friendly atmosphere that will keep us coming back. Thank you, until next time.
May 08, 2018
Although the weather was not the best we had a wonderful time. The staff was very kind and helpful going out of their way to warn us of an incoming storm and emergency protocol. After the storm they came by again to make sure we were safe. All the facilities were clean and well kept. I will definitely be returning some time this summer.
May 08, 2018
It was perfect! The weather wasn't perfect, but our very secluded stay was.
May 08, 2018
My family and myself had a great first experience with a koa. We had a cabin right on the river and it was perfect. Grounds were well maintained and QUIET!! we definatley will be going back very soon.
May 07, 2018
Cabin was beautiful & campgrounds family friendly. We rented a special cabin - Astronomy - for the $225 for ONE night, we were bummed. The telescope, while gorgeous, was filthy and most of the extra lenses supplied were not for that telescope, they didn't fit. Wasps everywhere on the porch and ants in the kitchen were not a pleasure. Would still try again, maybe a better experience next time.
May 07, 2018
The cabin was wonderful, except I thought the creek would be smaller. With 3 young children, it was quite scary to have a drop off right into rapids. Your employees were wonderful, with the exception of Jody who was very condescending. Because of her, we decided to go down the road to another diamond mine for our two day trip. We went there for my son's 6th birthday and didn't let her ruin it.
May 07, 2018
I had such a great stay!
May 07, 2018
Cart was at office and could have led us to a site with a lower sewer. To much for an over night. Nice campground for a longer stay.
May 07, 2018
May 03, 2018
The only thing I would say is the women's room toilets were broke , two of the three, I was there four days and they never got fixed..
May 03, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals