Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
We rented a creek side cabin and there was no hot water the whole time we were there so we obviously were unable to take a shower. Talked to maintenance several times and it never got fixed. We were told we could take a shower in the public facilities which defeated the purpose of us spending the extra money for a cabin with bathroom facilities.
Aug 20, 2018
Excellent campground!! The staff is very friendly in all areas!
Aug 20, 2018
It was great!! Staff was friendly always something going on! Kids loved tubing I. The river. Very clean would highly recommend!!
Aug 20, 2018
This was a wonderful stay! The wifi was terrible though so I could not complete a few conference calls. The staff was very helpful and friendly!
Aug 20, 2018
Always a great time. Camped there in college and now myself and another who went to college there go back every year. 54 years old and floating down the creek - what a blast. Cant wait to call and reserve site #100 for next year!!
Aug 20, 2018
I had a very enjoyable stay this time around at Herkimer Diamond KOA. Our sites were quite nice, near everything and provided for a nice experience.
Aug 20, 2018
We arrived at 4:30 for our reservation. The previous guest had left their travel trailer in our spot (#115). We had to wait at the site for an hour while staff found a hitch to move the trailer. The sit was obviously not serviced between guests as they had no idea the travel trailer was even there. There was trash in the fire pit and guest cut through the site all day.
Aug 20, 2018
Had a lot of fun....only negative was the pool was a bit run down. Everything else was great. Thanks
Aug 20, 2018
Great atmosphere, lots to do. Need to improve the internet at the campground. Found that we could do very little with it, and my iOS devices wouldn’t connect at all.
Aug 20, 2018
The Kabin was very clean and well maintained. The grounds were fantastic. The pool is starting to show a bit of wear, but still fun!
Aug 20, 2018
Had a good time, sites were little tight but was with small group so was ok. Some low spots that gathered water could stand to be filled in. Facility was clean and staff was great. Will definitely consider visiting again!!
Aug 20, 2018
I am 67yrs old, have wanted to do this since my childhood. Being a rockhound I have finally crossed it off my list. Looking for diamonds. The facilities were very nice. Although we tented the cabin choices look inviting.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
A ton to do and really lives up to being a resort. The mines are a blast and its terrific to be able to go in and out for the day. The best part was the staff and activities, our kids loved it especially the music at the pool, hay ride and dance. Between the river and the pool, plenty of ways to cool off and love the grills and fire pits, really great set up.
Aug 20, 2018
The WiFi was terrible but then again who wants to go camping and spend time on the internet. Staff was great and everything was very nice.
Aug 20, 2018
Had to stay on luxury site since no others available. Very crowded together. Patio and furniture were a nice touch. Fire pits were in strange location in between sites. Grill rack rusty, and propane tank was missing. (Received one when asked). Didn't take advantage of the many activity options offered.
Aug 20, 2018
Spacious and there were many options to stay at the resort.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Great place with a lot fun to be had by all ages.
Aug 20, 2018
Nice Rv Park. Stayed 1 night. If u can get a spot up against the river
Aug 20, 2018
Short but nice resort
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 19, 2018
Dog park was a mud pit, needs better drainage and grass. Poor selection of items at store. It had been pouring rain for a few days before and it was just a mud pit everywhere which isn’t really their fault but more gravel, landscaping and drainage would improve the facility. The bathrooms were a mess from the people going in and out in muddy shoes so more cleaning would have helped.
Aug 18, 2018
great stay
Aug 18, 2018
We had a great time, the facilities were clean. Staff was available, around, but not intrusive. Location was fabulous, store was stocked, employees friendly.
Aug 18, 2018
We stayed at Herkimer KOA many years ago and returned with grandchildren for the first time this year. Amazing changes but still the most awesome place! Thanks for more wonderful family memories.
Aug 18, 2018
We had a blast digging for diamonds on two separate days. We also loved our cabin overlooking the river and enjoyed rafting down it. Our family enjoyed the pool, taking walks throughout the campground, having pizza delivered to our cabin, and getting ice cream across the street. The staff were all very friendly and helpful too! We are telling all of our friends about our incredible experience!
Aug 18, 2018
It wasn't worth the cost. The gas grill didn't work, swapped with one next door (vacant), the grills were filthy. Weedwhacking and mowing from 7am to 8am right next to us, couldn't sit outside to drink coffee Thursday morning. No wood for firepit, had to buy.Trucks behind us going in the mine at 6:30 in morning during the week. I wouldn't pay that much again for these cabins.Very clean inside.
Aug 17, 2018
We will definitely go back. It is worth the 5 hour drive. The whole family had fun. The only reason I'm not giving it a full 5 rating is because the wifi was not great.
Aug 17, 2018
Bed was beyond terrible
Aug 17, 2018
Aug 17, 2018
This was my 1st KOA experience and the Herkimer, NY campground was more enjoyable than I had expected. Extremely clean and groomed. Quiet, relaxing and FUN. The restaurant on site served up delicious meals that were extremely affordable. The staff went above and beyond to make my mini vacation the best tent camping experience in many years. I will be making another appearance there next summer.
Aug 16, 2018
Our site had trash on the patio and in the fire pit. There was an old steak on the grill. We go to many KOA's and have never seen the likes. The pool is literally falling apart. We were there less than 5 minutes and I sat my phone on the table and it shattered. Very disappointed.
Aug 16, 2018
Great campground !!! We will be back.
Aug 16, 2018
the campgroup was great. we stayed in the tree house which was great overall, but a few things could have been better. the remote for the tv didn't work which took 4 trips to the front desk and 2 days to fix. the fridge was warm when we got there. the grill tank was empty, lighter didn't work. then the ste camp was extremely loud starting at 830 am. these might be ok if I wasn't paying top dollar.
Aug 16, 2018
Nice camping site immediately on the river; however, debris and cigarette butts were around the site and on the bank to the river. The electrical hookup receptacle was loose and needed repair. The mine across the street was easily accessible and a reasonable walk. I recommend executing a little research on the mine since the staff ran through a short lesson without taking a breath.
Aug 16, 2018
Staff was excellent and the C.G. right on the West Canada Creek. Beautiful site. What we didn't expect was the $70.00 per night camping fee which did not include sewage ( had to use the dump station) and there is only one. We also had to pull straight into our site while the site next to us was a back in. This put both picnic tables next to each other. I kind of like my privacy and we had none.
Aug 15, 2018
This is our groups 7th year going and we still had a blast. This is also the first year we had a complaint about our tent site. We have sites on the river and we pick this site every year because we can walk right into the river from our site. But this year, the weeds were so tall we asked twice for them to cut them, but nothing. Next year we will bring our own weed wacker.
Aug 15, 2018
THE ONLY DISAPPOINTING IS YOUR ONLY ALLOWED TWO PEOPLE PER CAMP SITE WHICH IS REDICULOUS FOR THE PRICE OF CAMPING YOU SHOULD BE ALLOWED SIX PEOPLE PER CAMP SITE . OTHER THAN THAT IT'S A CLEAN WELL KEPT PLACE TO STAY
Aug 15, 2018
Very nice camp grounds with a ton of activities. We really enjoyed our stay and am looking forward to returning next year. We found a bunch of herkimer diamonds at the mines!
Aug 14, 2018
I was very concerned about the safety of my family near the volley ball court due to the drunk driver that almost hit someone. He was taken away by 4 state troopers after several hours. I cam there with a group of 8 families on an annual trip and this years trip has a blemish.
Aug 14, 2018
Love it here - been coming for the last 5 years with friends and we all have a blast!
Aug 14, 2018
Absolutely loved the river and the staff was great. They were caring, helpful and polite. I wish the sites were further apart , but it definitely won't keep me from coming back!!
Aug 14, 2018
We only stayed here one night but wish it was longer. Clean restrooms, long pull through site that fit both truck and 36 foot 5th wheel, excellent restaurant.
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Aug 14, 2018
Lovely campground, lots of things to do. Office staff very helpful and kind.
Aug 14, 2018
The good: Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Good facilities. Nice area. The bad: Our neighboring campers at sites 90, 89, and maybe 88 played loud music and where rather loud in conversation until at least midnight each night. There should be some kind of enforcement of the 10pm quite time, even just a 15 minute patrol of the campground around 10pm would be helpful.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals