Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2017
Our cabin and site was not clean. The upper bunk had oreo cookie chunks on it ad the laddar The lower bunk and a wad of pink gum stuck on it. The close proximity of the trash and the dumpster attracted animals to the area ( squirrels, a racoon, skunk) and the path to the creek is not a dumping ground for fire pit debris. The site itself had litter from previous campers on it.
Aug 25, 2017
We were very satisfied with the area and very happy with the staff. Your campground was a pleasure to stay at! The only bad part was the weather. It was tueaday the day of the tornado and heavey rains. But your staff helped us very exceptionaly. We are planning to return soon. Jean&Dick Thank you very much!
Aug 25, 2017
This is the second time my husband and I stayed there, and the first time for my daughter and her children. They were delighted, kids loved the activities, especially the slime! The cabin was great, such fun. The pool and playground got well used by the grandkids. It was a brief but wonderful stay that was fun and relaxing. I KNOW we will be back.
Aug 25, 2017
We had a nice time. The staff in the store, especially the gentleman that worked on Tuesday the 22nd till 9 pm were fantastic. Wish I remembered his name and hope he gets credit. There was much concern about a tornado warning and he went above and beyond to make people comfortable, even saying they can come in the store with him if concerned. Thank you and we will hopefully be back next year
Aug 25, 2017
The venue is very beautiful and we'll kept. Little disappointing when we arrived after an 8 hour drive only to be self directed to our site. We ended up having to turn an RV around in the dark. Realized staff like to close office but it was 8:40 and we had never been there. We're returning Aug 26th. Hope to arrive in daylight. Looking forward to further exploring the campsite and amenities.
Aug 25, 2017
Everything was great except the semi-warm showers. The water heater needs to b turned up to get at least a warm shower instead of a between cold and warm shower.
Aug 24, 2017
Great, as usual! We were pleasantly surprised to find sheets, towels, pillows, toiletries, and a larger fridge in Amethyst Adventures!! We've been coming for over 10 years, starting with a tiny, ratty old pop up, ending with a 24' RV, and now kamping kabin! We'll be back!!
Aug 24, 2017
Love this campground great staff clean restrooms just a great place to stay been there 3 yrs in a row just booked for 2018 Love it wish they had permanent sites
Aug 24, 2017
Total relaxation in the beautiful countryside of Herkimer (near-Utica), NY. We mined, we dined (in Little Falls) and went tubing at the West Canada Tubing center. The treehouse stay was awesome for my two boys! Rustic-looking, but the appeal of a true getaway in the woods with comforts and accommodations of home. Loved the adornments. Movie night was a great touch!
Aug 24, 2017
Staff was excellent, cabin was clean and site was very nice. Looking forward to going back!
Aug 24, 2017
A great place to stay! Lots to do and the owners are very nice. Very clean and well managed. Thanks, we had a fun time at this KOA!!
Aug 24, 2017
Nice place along the river and tubing great sport for everyone
Aug 23, 2017
lots of dirt and mud. why not cover the areas of mud with gravel or pinestraw? lots of fun to be had in river.
Aug 23, 2017
FRIENDLY STAFF. NICE LOCATION WITH THE DIAMOND MINES TO VISIT. enjoyed THE POOL. EXCELLENT RESTAURANT ACROSS THE STREET. ONLY ONE ITEM I WOULD LIKE TO FORGET.... THE GRASS SNAKE IN THE GRASSY AREA NEAR THE POOL BY OUR SIGHT. TRULY ENJOYED OUR STAY. WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS KOA TO ALL CAMPING FAMILIES.
Aug 23, 2017
Nice river! The sites are divided very unevenly in Sites 80 to 87. We were on 87 and it was EXTREMELY narrow between the "planted" trees. It really did interfere with the ultimate quality of our experience. The tent campers were on top of us, as well as that the 'slider' from 86 (almost 2X the size of #87) was in our awning! Dump Station should provide a hose connected to the faucet itself!
Aug 23, 2017
water pressure poor; the site was clearly not intended for slides, but they put us there anyway when we arrived, which meant that they were unable to accommodate an RV next to us (good for us, but not for them); spaces were tight with trucks parked everywhere, and we had trouble getting out at the end of our stay; spotty cell reception and spotty and slow WIFI;
Aug 22, 2017
Was very disappointed they rented our sites out for the following year we hadn't even checked out seriously we had to wait to get those sites and they were gone very disappointing had been going there for 3 yrs unreal. Very disappointing. Go to Check out n book for next yr and told already gone. What a bunch of crap so much for loyalty for prior customers p
Aug 22, 2017
We had a small family reunion with my wife's sister's family had a great time. Would like to see a new Bathroom added to the tenting area, long walk to other bathroom. Also there were no doggie bags in the K9 area for a couple days. It would also be good to see more doggie stations with bags thru out the park area.
Aug 22, 2017
Friendly staff, lots of planned activities, clean pool and areas, lots of fun RV Sites are spacious, most of the pull through sites seemed to have some sort of shade, driveways level and not pot holes
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
We have been there before we do like that Campground a great deal have recommended it too many friends will be back again next year possibly one more time in 2017 great place love the Rapids good fishing great ice cream social lots of fun with other people made new friends we find a place very neat and clean well kept the staff is very pleasant will highly recommended again
Aug 22, 2017
Site was very difficult to get into. The site was very muddy and rutted. The camper next ours was so close that we did not have room to have the picnic table to use. Couldn't park the camper in straight as there were trees that were at an angle and branches that would hit the top of the camper. May or may not try camping here again.
Aug 22, 2017
Great place with a lot for the kids to do.
Aug 22, 2017
Great time kids love it
Aug 22, 2017
I've been at better. Didn't like how we faced the camper next to us. No privacy. Also they had a small happy dog that barked at us every time we went out on our patio. The sites are too close together. Out our table window about 30 inches was the other side's table window, so we had to keep our shades drawn. Grounds were clean. Employees very friendly. Snack bar great! But sites not great
Aug 22, 2017
Nice activities for my son and me. Ice cream social, movie night (Lilo and stitch were changed though), rocket, slime... Wish tent site had shade (112) but survived. Pool area clean. Garbage too early in am. Bathroom clean and well lit at night.
Aug 22, 2017
The people were very nice but our campsite was a total mud bog. There had been rain but without 4 wheel drive we would not have been able to get in or out. When I got out of car I had to step into mud. Gravel needs to be added so this won't happen each time it rains. This just what I expect from a koa park.
Aug 21, 2017
Pulled in to find a very narrow site with an old willow tree taking up a majority of the pull through site. Later that night a thunderstorm moved through dropping a branch onto our new camper. Went out the next morning to find more loose branches in the tree. Went in told the associate we were leaving could not risk any damage to our camper. Asked to speak to the owner to request a credit.
Aug 21, 2017
It was ok. Our family rented K18 as well as the astronomy unit. It was disheartening that the observatstory was not functional as that was the focal point of the unit. No discounts for current stay or future were given; just a bundle of fire wood for the inconvenience. I'm not sure how you equate but it certainly doesn't wash with us. Pool was super cloudy & dirty. A bit disappointed this tim
Aug 21, 2017
Well kept grounds, lots of activities for the kids, great water access, clean bathroom/facilities, inground pool, and friendly staff. My only concern was there was only one staff working in the office/store, and they definitely could have used 2 staff.
Aug 21, 2017
Perfect! Next year the plan is stay a week. You guys work hard at your property clean But as we started fire in pit you opened the sprinkler on lol uno game moved inside. All was good Thank you see you guys next spring Mike
Aug 21, 2017
The lazy river is the best part of this campgrounds. I don't know why they don't highlight that more on their website. The bad parts are. The website and map highlight some of their amenities like a tree house. It is rented out as a cabin so the kids can't use it. There are a few other things there that look great for kids that are off limits too. the tent sites are small and have no electric :(
Aug 21, 2017
Stay was awesome love the river the diamond mining and many other activities we will definitely be coming back
Aug 21, 2017
Great Kampground and facility. Only downside is that the sites are super close together. You have very little room.
Aug 21, 2017
Great campground for a scout pack or troop.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
My first trip with my son just by ourselves. We had a great time and the memory of him excitedly running down the lane to the mine will be one of those that I treasure.
Aug 21, 2017
The cabin we rented for 2 nights at the rate of $241.00 per night was very dirty and full of flies. The floor was gritty ,the shower was dirty,and the flies kept on coming. When I inquired about this at the office the response was "oh sorry" you are camping,really!!! As a previous manager for a big box store I know and understand customer service.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
While I understand the weather has been quite challenging this year, I would have like to have seen some stone where my truck needed to park in order to unhitch and hitch my RV. We were on site 61 a "deluxe". The intention on choosing this upgrade was to stay out of the mud as much as possible. Sadly the very first thing we all stepped in when exiting our truck on arrival was 3" of mud.
Aug 21, 2017
A great experience especially with the Mining staff very Friendly Courteous and most importantly Professional- Overall Experience Awesome... Thank You
Aug 21, 2017
I had a fun and adventurous camping to this camp ground. I also, had a chance to dig for diamond and found one to be share with my love one. I am definitely recommend this KOA to my nearest relatives and friends.
Aug 21, 2017
Due to a truck issue, our trip with 4 teen girls changed from 1 night to 5. We had to move to a different site but staff were very understandING and accommodating. The pool was so cold no one wanted to stay in it. The creek was great fun tubing for all.
Aug 21, 2017
peaceful and quiet
Aug 20, 2017
Loved our stay ,very clean & friendly On the down side there were too many dogs,& the restaurants were not open
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Extremely clean and well kept. Second time we have stayed in 2 years.
Aug 20, 2017
Kids loved it. Beautiful location, fun activities. Couldn't ask for a better spot.
Aug 19, 2017
It was great to get our whole family together for a vacation and experience your resort .some of us were in a cabin and others were in a campsite
Aug 19, 2017
Pleased overall. Garbage cans need to be emptied more often. Bathroom floors need greater attention from muddy conditions.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award