Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2019
I think you have a very nice campground with lot's of potential however our stay was spoiled by a couple of issues. First we had sites 14 and 15 for our family outing. We could not use site 14 because it is so close to 13 that we couldn't open our slides. 14 is only good for trailers with no slides or slides on the curb side only. Secondly the water situation was unacceptable. Pressure was poor
Jul 23, 2019
Everything was good except the site next to us had very little room to pull in at midnight in turn woke us all up while trying to park in the dark :(
Jul 23, 2019
Great place for the grandson, staff is courteous and friendly, clean but phone Service is terrible. Cable didn't work. Will be coming back again
Jul 23, 2019
Great park, lots to do. Very clean. Large sites. Water pressure low in morning and evening.
Jul 22, 2019
The main bathrooms were not kept clean. The mens room only had one operating toilet for the whole week we were there, and one of the days both toilets were not working . One of the shower stall doors was falling off the wall, making it unusable. This is a resort i expect much more.
Jul 22, 2019
Our stay was nice. A good variety of activities great size sites. And we enjoyed ourself. Having a DJ is a plus ! And ice cream night is another plus
Jul 22, 2019
It started off very bad. The site we booked could not fit our rv every though the website said it would. We were put on a tent site and offered no compensation for the difference.
Jul 22, 2019
The inside of the cabin was pretty clean except the bathroom faucets and the floor. The patio area, porch, and outdoor table were filthy. Bath towels are substandard. One burner on 2 burner didn’t work. Ee are paying a lot for tbe above
Jul 22, 2019
Great campground with lots of activities.
Jul 22, 2019
This is the first time we’ve been disappointed in our stay here. After turning in a list of issues to the office I had to repeatedly follow up to get the door fixed (the biggest issue). This cabin was not worth the price.
Jul 22, 2019
Nice staff. Clean park
Jul 22, 2019
it was a very quite and relaxing stay. but the pool was dirty and the landscaping unkept. the restaurant across the road advertise that they serviced lunch but didn't open to 5 pm. that's not lunch. tubing the river made the whole trip.
Jul 22, 2019
Great place, would stay again.
Jul 22, 2019
My boys had a great time riding bikes, tubing in the river, and searching for hidden gems at the quarry.
Jul 22, 2019
First time @a koa and we brought the grandkids ages 7 and 5 and they had a blast. They already look forwRd to next year
Jul 22, 2019
We had a great time thank you
Jul 22, 2019
Great stay for a week, went to the mines, like that it was across the street!! Visited their Restaurant for dinner and food was great.The only reason I did not give it a 5 star was because our cable was not working and we were not told to tap into the neighbors site so truly they must have known there was something wrong and the hottest day, they had to close the pool for some reason.
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
Overall good campground. Some areas a little rough around the edges due to age that could be worked on but otherwise we had a very good stay.
Jul 22, 2019
Nice sites, kids loved the pool and activities
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 22, 2019
Jul 21, 2019
A little disappointed in this stay at KOA Herkimer Diamond Mines. We have been coming there like 12 yrs now and the grounds have declined. We couldn’t get on our campsite in a timely manner in the last 2 yrs cause of other campers not leaving on time. The ATM didn’t work, it really needs to be updated. The pool was merky, the ladies bathroom down by sites 68, 69, 70 area had problems.
Jul 21, 2019
Jul 21, 2019
Don't know when camp opened but my power tower was being shared with another camper who was using our 50amp outlet. Nice campground none the less.
Jul 20, 2019
Very well maintained campground with lots of amenities. Stayed on pull through site with water and 50 amp service. Utilities were on the passenger side so had to use extension cord for electric and water pressure was very low.
Jul 18, 2019
Put in a spot that the 50 amp was not working and had not been working for a few days. Nothing was said to us when we checked in. When we noticed a problem we went back to the office and again they did not tell us that the problem was with the post. Very warm temps with no a/c, etc.
Jul 18, 2019
Clean very friendly all employees were willing to help Except for the tv not working best camp we have stayed at so far
Jul 17, 2019
As usual, everything was great, easy check-in, helpful staff. Some of the deluxe cabins could use a little TLC, nothing major. Also, I know they get banged around but some of the gas grills need an upgrade. Either way, we'll be back next year. Thanks.
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 17, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
The Saturday music was nice but could have used more family activities like a craft for free would have been nice. (Something simple) Everyone was very friendly (KOA staff). Cabins were clean, bathrooms were clean. Could have used some extra hooks on the back of the door of the cabin. But overall it was a good location, outdoor setting was amazing and exactly what we were looking for.
Jul 13, 2019
When we arrived for our reserved site we were told we were moved to a different site due to an issue on our site, someone was on the new site so we went back to the office.They then put the people ahead of us in line on our original site.The 3rd site offered was too small for our camper, we went home as they were full.2bad trips at 2 differentKOAs in 2weeks, were done with KOAwhendidtheygetsobad!!
Jul 11, 2019
Nice cabin, nice setting, but the maintenance isn't up to par for the prices charged. We stay at the Herkimer KOA to enjoy the setting and have a nice 'camping type' experience. Cooking our own food is one of those pleasures. The cabin we rented had a stove that hasn't worked since last year when we rented the same cabin. And the outdoor grills were atrocious!! Extremely rusty and unusable.
Jul 10, 2019
The campground is fantastic. Very disappointed in the restroom. I really think the over crowding is too much for restroom. Always dirty. Seems like no control of number of cars and people per site. Let’s. Hope it’s better next year when we come back.
Jul 10, 2019
We had another fabulous stay at Herkimer KOA's Aries Astronomy Lodge! Great cabin, great location. Campground was immaculate, bathrooms very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. The tubing was a huge hit with the whole family!
Jul 10, 2019
The Sites are very small and narrow fit, it would have rolled down the cliff if we had backed up more. The campsite campsite was supposed to have easy access to the creek, our site was perched 100 feet up on cliff that over looked a stagnant water. We had problems with the cleanliness of the bathrooms and had to complain more than once.I was very dissappointed, not the usual standard for KOA.
Jul 10, 2019
that's our 3rd time there and we love being there and going digging across the street.
Jul 10, 2019
Herkimer Diamond KOA was a nice family friendly place to stay. It was located directly across from the Herkimer Diamond Mines which was where my family wanted to go. The only thing, is that I wish the campsites were a little farther apart. I felt like our camper was on top of the campers next to us, but we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 10, 2019
Staff was very friendly. Park was clean. There was some mud on my site that a gravel pad would solve but to be fair there is mud everywhere this year.
Jul 10, 2019
We were right on the river. Beautiful! Thank you! We will definitely come back.
Jul 09, 2019
The south public bathroom closest to our camp site kept on running out of toilet paper so we had to go to the main office restrooms. Also next year cabins was already rented out before we got here this year so we had to rent a different ones for next year. We've been coming hear 35 years. So much for loyalty? Some of our group isn't going to come anymore.
Jul 09, 2019
Loved it, see you next year
Jul 09, 2019
It is nice for a family gathering. The pool either needs a new filter or you are not running it enough. It did not look safe enough for me to swim in. I also noticed on a holiday that the garbage gets out of control. More pick up is needed for sanitary conditions. Restroom floors are very slippery. People mentioned if someone would leave a mop we would gladly push it around so no-one falls.
Jul 09, 2019
Jul 09, 2019
Great time, comfortable sites. Enjoyed the area. Let us know if this KOA will ever offer seasonal sites.
Jul 09, 2019
Camping on the river edge was great. Many sites exceeded maximum camper limits which in turn made the bathrooms disgusting. No toilet paper, filthy showers, and plugged toilets. Number of working toilets did not accommodate guests.I would expect much better bathroom facilities for $60.00 + a night fee.
Jul 09, 2019
Been going there for 4th of July week for years. Always a great time.
Jul 09, 2019
The last 2 years we have been disappointed in this campsites enforcement of their rules. Unless reported, people go faster than 4 miles an hour. Bathrooms were not as clean and the lady (older woman) at the desk never smiled and looked like she could care less about customers. It was a total turn off. We came to enjoy the creek, so at least that was enjoyable.
Jul 09, 2019
Love Herkimer. Stayed there last 13 years. Little disappointed this year. Activities for kids were not well organized as in the past. Pool was REAL cloudy and dirty. No DJ on Saturday night. Bingo was the first person to tell bingo was the winner. Adult wins cause they tell first and a little kid loses cause they didn't tell fast enough. How sad. Hope next year is better.
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.