Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2017
The lazy river is the best part of this campgrounds. I don't know why they don't highlight that more on their website. The bad parts are. The website and map highlight some of their amenities like a tree house. It is rented out as a cabin so the kids can't use it. There are a few other things there that look great for kids that are off limits too. the tent sites are small and have no electric :(
Aug 21, 2017
Stay was awesome love the river the diamond mining and many other activities we will definitely be coming back
Aug 21, 2017
Great Kampground and facility. Only downside is that the sites are super close together. You have very little room.
Aug 21, 2017
Great campground for a scout pack or troop.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
My first trip with my son just by ourselves. We had a great time and the memory of him excitedly running down the lane to the mine will be one of those that I treasure.
Aug 21, 2017
The cabin we rented for 2 nights at the rate of $241.00 per night was very dirty and full of flies. The floor was gritty ,the shower was dirty,and the flies kept on coming. When I inquired about this at the office the response was "oh sorry" you are camping,really!!! As a previous manager for a big box store I know and understand customer service.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
While I understand the weather has been quite challenging this year, I would have like to have seen some stone where my truck needed to park in order to unhitch and hitch my RV. We were on site 61 a "deluxe". The intention on choosing this upgrade was to stay out of the mud as much as possible. Sadly the very first thing we all stepped in when exiting our truck on arrival was 3" of mud.
Aug 21, 2017
A great experience especially with the Mining staff very Friendly Courteous and most importantly Professional- Overall Experience Awesome... Thank You
Aug 21, 2017
I had a fun and adventurous camping to this camp ground. I also, had a chance to dig for diamond and found one to be share with my love one. I am definitely recommend this KOA to my nearest relatives and friends.
Aug 21, 2017
Due to a truck issue, our trip with 4 teen girls changed from 1 night to 5. We had to move to a different site but staff were very understandING and accommodating. The pool was so cold no one wanted to stay in it. The creek was great fun tubing for all.
Aug 21, 2017
peaceful and quiet
Aug 20, 2017
Loved our stay ,very clean & friendly On the down side there were too many dogs,& the restaurants were not open
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Extremely clean and well kept. Second time we have stayed in 2 years.
Aug 20, 2017
Kids loved it. Beautiful location, fun activities. Couldn't ask for a better spot.
Aug 19, 2017
It was great to get our whole family together for a vacation and experience your resort .some of us were in a cabin and others were in a campsite
Aug 19, 2017
Pleased overall. Garbage cans need to be emptied more often. Bathroom floors need greater attention from muddy conditions.
Aug 19, 2017
Loved the whole deal. Y
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Nice & friendly people. Very Patient with us as we were late getting in and got a little lost. Nice showers and nice spot they put us in.
Aug 18, 2017
I called your customer service department and talked to Skyla. While at the campground I discussed the issues with Cliff. I was told someone would contact me and no one has. I was also told by Cliff to contact the owner Kelly. He left notes with my contact information for whomever was going to contact me. We stayed in the Robotics Lodge. I would like to hear from someone please.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Beautiful spot on the river
Aug 18, 2017
It was okay but not up to the quality of others we've visited --Gettysburg and Harpers Ferry areas. One of the air conditioners was not working so it was hard to maintain a good temperature. One guest has respiratory issues so that was a concern. The key did not work for deck door. The main door was nearly impossible to unlock and lock the 1st day, but maintenance repaired it.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
This was our third year at this koa. Every year we explore different cabins. We stayed at the solar lodge. The pool was clean and refreshing after a fun day of mining. Went creek tubing, which is always a blast. I will be back next year and probably bringing more family and friends. Staff was extra friendly this year and was appreciated.
Aug 18, 2017
Great property and very nice staff
Aug 17, 2017
my family has been going to Herkimer Diamond,NY KOA for many years now. The campgrounds and staff have consistently been outstanding. We wil be back next July for 4 days. Thank you for the great time we have when there!!
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
The setting is beautiful! The staff was very friendly!We rented a cabin on the creek that was not well maintained (stove broken, broken blinds, not very clean, cabin not well equipped). Hot water was minimal which made it difficult to take showers. We were disappointed with the cabin to say the least. Despite this, tubing down the creek was the best!
Aug 17, 2017
it was a nice, relaxing stay. staff was very friendly, restrooms were clean, site was quiet, couldn't ask for more.
Aug 17, 2017
It is a great place to stay . Are group was the age range of 7yrs old.to 64yrs old and we all had a great time.
Aug 17, 2017
Had a great time. Campgrounds were well maintained and staff very friendly.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
The cabins were very clean and well kept and we loved the campground. The creek was very fun and we enjoyed the activities. We were disappointed in the diamond mine as we did not have the right equipment to actually find anything and safety glasses should be supplied. We still made the most of it and had fun. We also were in the astronomy lodge, however the telescope was not working correctly.
Aug 16, 2017
Its so busy, the staff was not able to keep up with the bathroom. Toilet paper was out, the garbage was always overflowing. One toilet was completely out for a day. 7th year and they need to bring it back to the high standards we are used to.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Since when do workers come first before customers?? I can't believe that workers are given some of their nicest sites..was very disappointed about that...
Aug 15, 2017
This is our 7th year going. We go with a group of 11 families. Everything was great. The only disappointments were, the bathrooms seemed to be dirtier this time and we were disappointed to reserve for next year and find that most of the sites that all the families get were booked. So next year we are all spread out.
Aug 15, 2017
We have been visiting herkimer koa for about 28 yrs. we always enjoy our stay.
Aug 15, 2017
Generally the campground was not as well kept as we remembered during a previous visit. During our stay the garbage in the pet park was never emptied and was full when we arrived (we were there 4 days). The TV was partially out for a day and a half, the grass needed to be mowed and the grounds could certainly have used some TLC. Over priced for the general appearance of the campground,
Aug 15, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed at sites 51 and 52..after the thunderstorm on 8/12 ,site 52 kinda got a little flooded...maybe needs to be leveled off better. Other than that we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere....the stream....very relaxing. Got a lot of exercise just walking around the campground..enjoyed watching the the people float down the stream..will be back for sites 51 and 52!
Aug 15, 2017
We brought our granddaughter camping to do some Herkimer Diamond mining. The campground was quite nice but the section we were in (Sites 1-6) were very tight together. It was difficult to have a campfire without endangering your neighbors rig!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
After spending way too much money on the deluxe cabin again and thinking it would get better, it only got worse. Rented the solar cabin this year. The foldout bed that my daughter and son-in-law slept on should not even be classified as a bed. At least last year in the robotics cabin there was a blow up mattress that went with it. 4 adults Can Not sleep comfortably in that cabin! And no micro!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award