Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2018
This KOA was big disappointment. our River front site 42 was all dirt! No GRASS! Only option offered, move to site 6-on Y of road. AWFUL! site so small for 27’ RV, no tent for kids-no space, table set on edge of road, chair near fire pit in road, tiny grass spot not mowed, car dust. NO privacy, on display for all walking by...annoying. Overall not KOA quality. We watched others decline site 42!
Aug 27, 2018
The beds are way to hard to sleep on. The pool need to be resurfaced. Other then that we had a wonderful time.
Aug 27, 2018
It was unbelievably amazing. My last visit was 20 years ago then we took a break from camping, We stayed for 3 nights in our recently purchased used 31; Minnie Winnebago. Out daughter's family rented a specialty cabin with their two daughter's. In addition to the Diamond Mining. the amenities and programs in the campground were plenty and well planned. We are returning next year. Can't wait.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Our stay was nice however there were some things that were not up to par. Cell service was poor to non existent. Requiring you to use WiFi, however that didn’t work either. We wished there was more activities for our son during the week. Also site lots were small. This along with the WiFi were a common complaint for many of us staying there. Highlights of the week were diamond mining and tubing.
Aug 27, 2018
Hook up were on wrong side of camper and power would not reach and had to go purchase a 60 dollar extension cord. Also sites were set up so they faced each other would not stay at this camp ground again.
Aug 27, 2018
Pool needs a little work. The men's showers need tile across the tops of the walls. Great place, we had a great time.
Aug 27, 2018
Everything about our stay was wonderful. Friendly staff, beautiful location with well maintained grounds. The campsite was clean and level with easily accessible hookups.
Aug 27, 2018
Second time we have stayed are returning end of September love it staff was kind and informative cabin very clean bathrooms spotless
Aug 27, 2018
Windmill cabin exceeded our expectations! Staff polite, courteous, knowledgeable. Pool needs a liner.
Aug 26, 2018
The grounds were nice, the cabin was clean. The showerhead was clogged, I had to take the cover off and clean it with a toothpick so we could use the shower. The extra money I paid for the astronomy cabin was a waste. The website had tabletop telescope, star projector, and a large observatory type telescope. The projector and large telescope were broken on arrival. The small telescope missing
Aug 26, 2018
The tree house sleeps four, but SITS 2!!! Listing states "Cooktop", NO COOKTOP. Broken grill. Pillows constantly fall through bedframe. No gutters or lights on the stairway, it gets scary. Electricty went out 14+ times. Dirty dishes when we arrived. Staff was as helpful as possible, but couldn't make up the shortcomings. Pool in massive disrepair, filters don't work and cement litters the floor.
Aug 26, 2018
The campsite we stayed at was VERY narrow. If a camper had been put in The site next to us, the students would have hit. Half of the sites in the area we were in were set up backwards as you had to pull the camper in and have your tow vehicle drive through the fire pit area and unhooking the tow vehicle uphill from the camper. I was not impressed, the pool was old with pot holes in the driveway
Aug 26, 2018
Aug 26, 2018
I never could get the WiFi to work and I thought the campground pretty pricey for pads that are gravel with mud. We notice some new playground facilities and more cabins from years past but it would be nice if the WiFi worked and we didn't have to step through mud.
Aug 25, 2018
Aug 25, 2018
Wonderful Kabin 6. More than expected. Not great activities for 11 year old son. Clean pool. Worried about dog without a leash one day. Great bathroom and sink area. Seems like K1-K10 area was one nighters. Will stay at other end next time. Great for the nightly rate.
Aug 25, 2018
Aug 25, 2018
Still a ice campground but showing it’s age several sites need fill to level them out where there are holes and MUD. WiFi is non existent or very weak and slow if your lucky enough to obtain a signal. Not up to KOA normal standards. Even tried two sits because what we ordered we did not get the first time. Resorts are expected to be higher service for higher money
Aug 24, 2018
Campground was very quite.. grounds very well kept. The pool could use a little tic seemed clean just cement me saying in spots... impress how mining was already up and running after the fire. Great job. Not sure about the snack bar said it was open every day at 530 the 2 nights we were it was not open .. but the morning it was open . But over all a great place to camp
Aug 24, 2018
Nicest KOA we have stayed in 15 years of camping.
Aug 23, 2018
Have been staying at the camp ground for 3 years in a row..did not have any phone service for most of the time there.( others that we camped with same thing). zero bars for reception.. 3 miles towards town 3-4 bars. will not be back until phone carrier increases phone reception..
Aug 23, 2018
Didn't like how our site faced another. All the campers should face the same direction as to have some privacy !! I understand that that would mean additional electricity so rather unlikely to happen soon. To bad. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay. Kids had fun.
Aug 23, 2018
This was the best cabin on the water we ever stayed at. So beautiful! The only improvements I would make are to put hooks in the bathroom for towels to hang and install a cabinet in the kitchen to store your food.
Aug 23, 2018
The facilities at the Herkimer Diamond Mine KOA are fantastic. The kids were never bored! The cabins were a bit too small, but clean and comfortable. Would go again and again!
Aug 23, 2018
Enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 23, 2018
Dropped my daughter at Bing and didn’t want to go directly home to an empty house. Im new to camping! Beautiful grounds! Staff kind and helpful.Met the owner who is a sweetheart!Thank god for Beau who could not have been more helpful and made sure we were ok before he left for each day. Restaurant pizza to die for! Wanted to go camping once more time pre winter and think I will go there Agai
Aug 23, 2018
Absolutely beautiful campground, plenty to do for all ages! Definitely going back!!
Aug 23, 2018
We loved it! Our tent site was a beautiful spot on the water. Unfortunately, there was a nasty smell - like someone had poured sewage on the ground right on the site where it was quite damp.
Aug 22, 2018
Aug 22, 2018
Aug 22, 2018
I'm not sure if it's because I'm used to the older campground but now it seems to over crowded. The campers are on top of each other. The women's bathroom had a shower curtain on the floor overnight and until about 2 or 3 pm the next day. The water pressure in the showers is horrible. At one point it just about turned off. Our cabin hadn't been swept out and there was wrist bands on the ground.
Aug 22, 2018
Very rainy weekend. But every one was great. Any ? All the staff had the answers. Second time stay here looking forward to a return. Only complaint is the pool needs some repairs. Kids playing around pool were picking up chunks of concrete from pool and throwing around. On the other hand the place looks great.
Aug 22, 2018
Great staff and sites!
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
While the overall premises were okay, several issues kept us from having enjoyable time we hoped for. The pool has chunks missing from the sides, the wifi was absolutely horrible and the deluxe patio sites were crammed together. The food selection was limited (no marshmallows, chocolate and graham crackers for smores - a campsite staple). More than likely will not stay again.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
It was just one night, but the campground is very nice and will consider staying here again for a longer visit.
Aug 21, 2018
Our families had a great time. Our only criticism is that the men's bathroom near our site was sub standard. Specifically, the toilets in the stalls were gross.
Aug 21, 2018
Liked the river behind our site. I think shower heads would be easier to use if facing to the side instead of straight on. When turning water on you get very wet before even getting in the shower. Thanks.
Aug 21, 2018
Wifi sucked. Diamond mine overpriced. Site was level. Barely koa quality.
Aug 21, 2018
We enjoyed our stay very much. However the men in my group said the men's bathroom was not kept up with.
Aug 21, 2018
Aug 21, 2018
We are Volunteer firefighters traveling to Deerfield for a New York State Firematics Tournament that lasted all weekend . This campground is beautiful. The only thing we did not like was the parking arrangements in the tent area . We left the campground at 6:00 am to return around 10:30 pm and find our designated parking area had been filled with some other campers vehicle . There should be added
Aug 20, 2018
We come every year for the Tye Dye ..Tubing..Diamonds..peacefulness and relaxing we love it here.
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
Aug 20, 2018
We rented a creek side cabin and there was no hot water the whole time we were there so we obviously were unable to take a shower. Talked to maintenance several times and it never got fixed. We were told we could take a shower in the public facilities which defeated the purpose of us spending the extra money for a cabin with bathroom facilities.
Aug 20, 2018
Excellent campground!! The staff is very friendly in all areas!
Aug 20, 2018
It was great!! Staff was friendly always something going on! Kids loved tubing I. The river. Very clean would highly recommend!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals