Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2018
I've always loved the Herkimer Diamond Mines and KOA Campground, but, since the renovations, it is an even better place for families and rockhounds of all levels. From hard-core prospectors to families with young children, there is something for everyone. My parents brought me there as a kid, and it is a tradition I carry on now with my son. We will keep coming back for generations to come!
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
I brought a group of Cub Scouts to stay at the campground. They did not tell us there was a wedding in the pavilion directly behind where we were camping. There was a band and they were extremely loud. Cub Scouts go to bed at 9 o’clock. Again they never informed us that this was happening. There was also a major fight where state troopers had to respond to. The pool is falling apart dirty.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
I want to thank the person that wrote the review explaining what happened to them when the electricity went off. They explained that they came back from a wedding late at night. A new camper had parked next door and had accidentally turned off the breaker for the treehouse when they were setting up their camper. I had the same problem and knew exactly what to do. Thanks again.
Aug 12, 2018
We were only there one night this time. (We're travelling) . As usual the grounds were groomed and everything was perfect.
Aug 12, 2018
Great campground. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again if in the area.
Aug 11, 2018
Been 5 years since we were last here & it's gone downhill a little. Breakfast is advertised for midweek but instead there was summer camp.The pool is falling apart & needs to be addressed. Same for their deluxe cabins (77/78). Missing smoke detector in 77. Cabin AL has so many loose rocks someone almost broke a toe. River was great as always.It's quiet & peaceful.Staff were nice. Bathroom filthy.
Aug 11, 2018
Always a great time at your campground. We stay each year for our annual family picnic in the area. Great location and very clean.
Aug 11, 2018
Got there on Saturday. Public bathroom wasn't cleaned until Monday after lunchtime. Unfortunately our family was staying in a no bathroom cabin so using the restroom or shower was anything but pleasant. It was so hot in the cabin unless it was between the hours of 1am and 8am, so we won't do that again!
Aug 11, 2018
Amethyst Adventures again!! Wonderful as always! ��
Aug 11, 2018
Was very pleased with everything. The staff was nice and very helpful. Definitely going to make this a yearly trip.
Aug 11, 2018
We had a wonderful time and look forward to coming back again next year � the entire staff was amazing!! Thank you for an amazing time!!
Aug 11, 2018
Everything was thought of as far as furnishings. Unfortunately the air conditioning broke the first night.
Aug 11, 2018
The best had a good relaxing time 3 time staying see u next year ,hopefully you will her a slushy machine
Aug 11, 2018
Nice clean facility. On site personnel very polite and courteous.
Aug 10, 2018
We stayed with a group of 6 travel trailers. Some of the sites were not clean. When asked about it, it was cleaned promptly. We stayed on the creek side and it was lovely.
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
It was nice as always. The grass needed to be mowed. It was very long. They need to fix their roads within the campgrounds. There was a lot of potholes. The site we were given someone had torn out the cake line but the fixed it within a half and hour.
Aug 10, 2018
We love this campground! The river tubing is our favourite feature - it’s so convenient to have it right on site.
Aug 10, 2018
Too expensive. Also, difficult getting into and out of our assigned space. Other than that, it was very good.
Aug 10, 2018
Clean facility. In this day of modern technology that tells us what directions to follow, however, you need more signs along the way. It was very confusing trying to find the KOA. More signage please!
Aug 10, 2018
Great site. Loved the river! Will have to try and get back there sometime.
Aug 10, 2018
One of the nicest KOA’s we’ve been in.
Aug 09, 2018
Campground is quiet and has nice amenities. The dumping station makes you park your camper uphill, not allowing you to drain your tanks.
Aug 09, 2018
Maintenance guys were very helpful with an electrical issue. All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 09, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
We were on the creek loved it. Watching people young and old go down the creek was entertaining. We also enjoyed going down the creek. I suggest that you buy your tubes before you go. You can buy them at their store if you forget. The ice cream social and pancake breakfast were very very good.
Aug 08, 2018
We had a deluxe cabin! It was beautiful roomy and comfortable. We will definitely be there again.
Aug 08, 2018
Aug 08, 2018
Nice KOA with decent amenities. Many food options seemed to close whenever they felt like it. Even though hours indicated they would be open. Kind of annoying if you aren’t in a camper/cabin and need some food.
Aug 08, 2018
Lovely setting, nice sites.
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
We had a great stay once again 3rd year in a row staff is excellent. Campground is clean and enjoyable. Thanks Aurora.
Aug 07, 2018
Super, the whole Cunningham reunion (16th) year at Herkimer KOA. One suggestion is to have a DEAD END SIGN before those trailers and trucks head up the hill towards the 10 cabins. My god it is pretty bad when they are not good at backing up. My brother who drives big trucks had to help one man. Ice truck this weekend drove to cabin 3 then he too had to back up as he thought he was at the road
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Can you level the ground out in front of the k1 thru k10 cabins. Our kids would trip and fall in the dark walking in that area
Aug 07, 2018
Great campground. Love the river and the diamond mining. The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, we were very disappointed this time with the upkeep of the grounds. The lawn had not been mowed, dumpster was overflowing, and the pool was crumbling apart. We visited four years ago and it seems as though things have gone downhill since.
Aug 07, 2018
Camped on the tent sites with my Girl Scout troop. Had a great time and enjoyed the location.
Aug 07, 2018
We were camping to celebrate our grandsons 7th birthday. We had a very nice time and were very happy with our stay at Herkimer KOA. We will definitely be returning! With that said my only issues with my stay were my site did not have a picnic table or fire ring. We had family with other sites so it worked out okay but I feel all sites should have those.
Aug 07, 2018
Aug 07, 2018
Had a wonderful time campground very clean all employees kind and courteous especially to kids our site was small but it did ok for us we will be camping again next summer already reserved
Aug 07, 2018
Very clean and very well kept already planning another stay
Aug 07, 2018
This is one of the nicest and friendliest KOAs I have stayed at.
Aug 07, 2018
What is the point of having rules and regulations, no one enforces them. The so called deluxe sites where dirty. The bathrooms and laundry rooms needed a lot of attention. We look to stay at koa campgrounds...this was way below most koa standards.
Aug 07, 2018
sites are tiny & you are on top of your neighbors.
Aug 07, 2018
Took the grandkids and they had a blast. We were in a cabin right by the creek. It was very peaceful and relaxing.
Aug 07, 2018
This was a last minute trip so we weren't able to get a full hook up on the creek so chose w/e only so we could be. I would have given it a 5 but the site set up was a bit bizarre. The hook ups were on the wrong side. Muddy site - no gravel. Loved the tubing, beautiful spot otherwise. Will be returning in 2 weeks. Diamond mines are cool.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals