Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Stay safe! Stay healthy! We hope to see you soon.

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2019
Such a Perfect campground
Aug 12, 2019
Your store was a little light on the items available, such as no bread and only 1 pack of bacon, and 2 bottles of orange juice. Also, not much of information about places in the area to visit/see/do. However, a ton of information about Herkimer KOA.
Aug 12, 2019
My site was ok my daughter was told at the time of booking she would be near me and by the water. When we arrived the gave her a site she couldn’t fit into and changed her to a hillside completely unacceptable it ruined her stay.
Aug 12, 2019
It was wonderful, great and informative staff, clean well kept park, loved everything it offered.
Aug 11, 2019
We have stayed at the Herkimer KOA several times and look forward to returning again in the future. We have stayed at a tent site, rented a cabin and have stayed in two of the solar houses. The shower houses/bathrooms are clean, the staff is courteous and responsive to any needs/questions and the activities are a lot of fun. We have met some great people staying there as well.
Aug 11, 2019
Everything was great. Friendly people working there. Clean facilities. Value for the cost is reasonable.
Aug 11, 2019
Our site became a lake when it decided to rain.
Aug 11, 2019
Very pleasant stay for us traveling through the area. Food recommendations were excellent for this weary camper. Looked well maintained and a place to come back and enjoy a lengthy stay.
Aug 10, 2019
The site we were put on did not have a working water faucet and had the cable connector missing. Would have expected the site to be inspected by staff. They provided a splitter for the water but did not have parts to reconnect the cable. Very disappointed with site and will not go there again.
Aug 10, 2019
Phoenix staffer was terrific with the grandchildren. Basketball, STEM bubbles, lemon explosion. Great playground. Level campsite #118. Grounds well maintained.
Aug 10, 2019
We were just passing through the area. Would return in the future.
Aug 09, 2019
I have been coming to this KOA for many years and have loved it. This summer was a huge disappointment as the site I was assigned was not anywhere close to being level, the electrical pedestal was being used by my neighbor and there was no cable for TV. The fence in front was falling down. I was quoted one price for propane, but when it came time to pay the price was 2.50 more per gal. 40" DP +car
Aug 09, 2019
Average if you want me to be honest. It seemed like the campground needed more staff. I'm not sure if there was a day camp being being run out of this Koa but the pavillon areawas not very inviting. And the herb and vegetables boxes had nothing but weeds growing. The front desk was helpful apon check in but it seemed like they were a bit chaotic. My water in my cabin didn't work. I told the desk
Aug 09, 2019
We came in late. Were glad the office was still open. Staff were efficient. Not fault, but due to the amount of rain they had there was a lot of standing water at one end of the site. Also, a lot of insects which was likely out of their control. We were not happy with the condition of the showers. A lot of dirt so we used our own in the camper. This was an issue on a previous visit
Aug 09, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
The stream, restaurant and diamond mine jewelry store were great. Wood fired pizza - yum!
Aug 08, 2019
We stayed in diggers Den. It was clean and had the needed kitchen items. Linens were provided. The cabin sleeps 5 but there were only 4 chairs around the table inside and outside. The mattress on the pull out couch was not very comfortable. There is a light falling out of the ceiling in the bathroom. All in all we had a good experience and the cabin servied our needs.
Aug 08, 2019
The only issue we had was the price for a site that is not on the water costing more - the fact that it had 30 or 50 amp service should not have made it more expensive than a full hook up site on the water. Site prices should be available for searching on your website prior to using your reservation system so more informed when looking at the map and selecting a location.
Aug 08, 2019
Great place for children of all ages! We were there for the pirate themed weekend and there were activities of all kinds, all day. The staff that dressed up and held the activities were amazing with the kids! We will return !
Aug 08, 2019
It was the most expensive KOA we’ve stayed at countrywide. Restrooms were very dirty.
Aug 07, 2019
$85 for a pull through site that’s half gravel and half dirt and not level. No on-site garbage pick up, the dumpsters are overflowing and there is garbage all over the ground around them. The lawn hasn’t been mowed, and the firing hasn’t been cleaned out since Jimmy Carter was president. The picnic table was filthy and no one cleaned up any of the mess from previous campers, tabs from cans
Aug 07, 2019
Aug 07, 2019
Aug 07, 2019
Site was completely messy. Washrooms were not maintained at all.
Aug 07, 2019
I was placed in a site that was backwards. The power and water was on the wrong side and it was a back in site. I was told to turn around and pull straight in but that meant my tow vehicle couldn’t get out. I ended up backing in only part way so I could reach the sewer and was lucky I had a long water hose and a 25 foot 30 amp ext cord. Beautiful location backed up on a river.
Aug 07, 2019
May be a nice park but was very overcrowded, not well maintained and overpriced. Will not visit again
Aug 06, 2019
Grest
Aug 06, 2019
Very disappointed with the security man. He made visit every night to tell us to quiet down and we were just talking around the fire ring. The one night we did sing happy birthday to one of our relations grandson but the rest of the time all we were foing was talking around the fire. There were 4 campers of us together and there was no camper next to us where we were enjoying the fire.
Aug 06, 2019
Our favorite KOA campground, we try to stay here at least once a year. Many things to do and the Miner's Table a great place to eat. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Aug 06, 2019
nice place to stay next to the river. friendly people
Aug 06, 2019
Of course we had a great time with our whole camping & tubing & diamond mine. But there are some things I am very disappointed about. 1) I stayed a campsite number 38. It was small. Also, the bathroom access closest to ours, and between the cabins, we’re hard to get to because the families staying there blocked the pathway with their chairs. We had to move your chairs to get through.
Aug 06, 2019
Loved it but definitely pick a different site next time. It had been many years since we were there and lots of changes. Our grandkids enjoyed the activities and going to the diamond mine.
Aug 06, 2019
Camping was fine, staff was helpful and it was well-maintained. My issue is with KOA itself. We chose this campground because we wanted to stay at a "Resort". Seems to us that "Resort" is a term that describes the available non-camping accom'ns than the activities/facilities. We've stayed at "Holidays" that have more to do on-site. KOA needs to do a better job of communicating the difference.
Aug 05, 2019
Our cabin was right on the creek. The kids loved that they could walk down and skip stones, put their feet in, etc. Lots of people tubed down the creek too. We loved the mining and sluicing across the street! We also loved the meals at Miner's Table, all the pirate themed activities for the kids, and how friendly everyone is there. Thank you! We will definitely be back again!
Aug 05, 2019
So many fun things to do!! We stayed five nights and wished we had booked even longer! Great pool, awesome river... a blast!!
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Beautiful campground!! Grounds were well maintained and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our grandkids had so much to do, pool, playground and creek to play in. The diamond mine is right across the street and an adventurous day. We are looking forward to our next visit.
Aug 04, 2019
Great place, lots of fun, always something to do.
Aug 04, 2019
Great campground with a lot of amenities including a full restaurant and bar that serves local brews and cocktails. The “diamond mine” is really just quartz and other gems. We didn’t do it but I’m sure it would be fun if you chose to do so. Lots of activities and right on the river. I’d come again
Aug 03, 2019
Burner on front did not work apparently for sometime as there was a note taped to stove. Water faucet in kitchen was loose and did not work had to turn on bathroom sink to get any hot water. This is our 8 year here and noticed it had gone down hill considerably. Also koa gives you a discount if you join koa rewards but then they take it away even if you make your reservations before it expires
Aug 03, 2019
This was a very well designed campground. Our sites on the river were shaded and roomy. The ability to float right down through the campground was a wonderful feature, we didn’t even use the gorgeous pool. Diamond mine was a lot of fun and we definitely left with a few beauties! We are planning on making this a yearly adventure.
Aug 02, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
We booked over 2 months in advance for full hookups. We booked on line as we do for all of our camping stays. When we got to this KOA, the girl at the desk said we should have called to confirm? Why bother having online reservations. Plus, this KOA is so expensive and offers nothing . Bathrooms were dirty and most sites not level. I recommend going up the road to West Canada Creek Campground.
Aug 01, 2019
There’s lots to do at this KOA (floating the river, pool time, etc.) Facilities and amenities were great but because of all the river and pathway sand, the bathrooms and pool could have been kept up a bit better. The maintenance staff were so amazing and helpful. They were the heart of this campground.
Jul 31, 2019
The cabin was very nice and comfortable.
Jul 30, 2019
We had a fun time. Kids enjoyed the scheduled activities. We brought tubes for the river and went down once, but we had a frightening experience trying to get off towards the end. The current pulled us past the camp ground and a Mom and two kids in our party went pretty far down and got terribly scared. We didn’t know it was that strong and never been tubing before. We did enjoy our stay.
Jul 30, 2019
Jul 30, 2019
Cleaning staff, especially the older woman was rude and condescending. Ladies room toilet by creek was out of service the whole week leaving one stall for many campers. The men's room stall out of service as was the urinal. Grounds were not as well kept as they had in the past..
Jul 30, 2019
I stayed in SL2 and was very disappointed in the conditions in the cabin. The ceiling fans were covered with dust , kitchen cabinets were dirty, there is MOLD IN THE BATHROOM on the wood board boarded of the shower at the base. The cabin needs a old fashion cleaning top to bottom. Blinds are dusty floor molding dirty. At the price we pay for the cabins we deserve better. Next year better,??.???!
Jul 30, 2019
Perfect weekend. However bathrooms need to be address better. Only 1 stall working.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.