Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 18, 2017
This is a beautiful site. I wish we had more time to explore it. The location is perfectly set in the Hills above Herkimer.
Oct 17, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Stayed in the treehouse cabin one night. Cabin was well kept and my 10 year old nephew really enjoyed it. One guest was unable to get hot water from the shower that night, but other 2 guests had no issues. Staff was very helpful when it came to ordering our take out pizza. Enjoyed all of the activities offered (or stay included tie-dying and movie night).
Oct 16, 2017
We had a great time at Herkimer Diamond KOA, will stay again
Oct 16, 2017
We stayed in the WOOF cabin. It was wonderful, with a great view, except for the beds. The double bunk bed tipped down on the outside (or needs to be rotated). It was hard not to roll off. It was also very soft and hurt my back and I'm small. The sofa bed springs were very painful along with the bars from underneath. For $159 a night,they should buy better mattresses. I got almost no sleep. :(
Oct 16, 2017
Easy Check-in; nice store, lots of activities. The grounds were pretty decent. Wish there were more showers and bath houses at far ends of park. The sites were deep enough to accommodate my 40 foot trailer. Wish the sites were a little wider, but these are better than most. This is our fourth visit. It was nice to see the main bathhouse/bathroom was recently tiled!
Oct 16, 2017
We and they other 3 couples that we travel with felt that this was the NICEST KOA that we have ever stayed at! Th grounds were beautifully maintained, the different themed kabins looked to be very warm, comfortable and inviting. We even had the opportunity to borrow the key to the tree house kabin to see what that looked like. It is one I would truly recommend!
Oct 16, 2017
Absolutely the most amazing weekend ever!!!! Everyone associated with this organization that we came into contact with, exhibited kindness, shared knowledge, and gave us a personalized feel to our stay. The mining was 'work' for this retiree, but the exhilaration of finding a diamond was well worth it! The food at the Miner's Table restaurant was a pleasant surprise.It exceeded my expectations!
Oct 16, 2017
Very helpful and friendly staff, clean and well maintained grounds, and we enjoyed our stay and look forward to another stay next year.
Oct 16, 2017
Was so sad about the gift store and museum burning to the ground. Just glad that nobody was in the building at that hour of the morning.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Great stay although short. We were just on our way back from Maine to Ontario. Decided that 11 hour drive would be too much. We arrived at 9pm and left at 11am. We actually slept thru the Museum fire.... Rode our bikes quickly around park and read about stream and its activities and waterflow variances and thought it would be great to stay for a few days... Maybe next time.
Oct 16, 2017
Wonderful! Had a beautiful back in site right on the river by the Bluffs
Oct 16, 2017
This campground was the most beautiful clean campgrounds we have ever stayed in. It was restful and serene. The staff was sincerely friendly and we felt right at home.
Oct 15, 2017
Was ok the onli thing you don't, have electric scuders 3 or 4 wills for rental ( sory) .
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
People cutting through site constantly wether we were outside or not. Site not level, had to use blocks under levelers on one side rear. Tree hanging over camper and branches on camper. We had rain one night and had mud around our steps. Not a good experience this time. Nice landscaped campground we just didnât get a great site.
Oct 14, 2017
Lots of things to do. Unusual cabins, looked intriguing. Our view was great. Shower facilities were fine. Probably one of the most impressive campgrounds we've ever stayed in.
Oct 14, 2017
Great Staff.
Oct 14, 2017
Nice grounds. Amazing cabins. We used a full service pull through for our 42' toy hauler. Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Oct 12, 2017
Matt the activities guy did a great job of making things entertaining. It is more than just a job for him he went the extra mile and go out of his way to strike up a conversation. He had a wide variety of activities and tried to do things that would meet a variety of people's likes.
Oct 12, 2017
A few miles off the interstate but worth it. Stayed 2 nights in our 18' camper. Perfect spot with full hookups right on the river. Can't say enough about this place! Staff was great and the area is beautifully maintained. Bathrooms were clean. Had fun mining for diamonds across the road. Did laundry, clean machines. Some unique cabins! We would highly recommend this campground.
Oct 11, 2017
Unfortunately, there had been some repair work at our site and it was not raked out, so there were clumps of dirt and sand which we tracked in all our campers. They should have covered the bare dirt with wood chips or some other type of mulch. Other than that, the bathrooms are clean, showers are hot, lots of amenities and friendly staff.
Oct 11, 2017
we love stayinghere
Oct 11, 2017
We only stayed overnight but it is a beautifully located campground and nicely quiet. My only recommendation is that the pull through site we were assigned needs low hanging tree branches trimmed to accommodate a motorhome or large trailer. Either that or place a note in the computer so it will only be used by smaller trailers. I pulled into the grass area to get around the tree branches.
Oct 10, 2017
A beautiful and peaceful place to stay.
Oct 10, 2017
Amazing as always! We love the area for our last hoorah each year.
Oct 10, 2017
Always have a great time.......BINGO is not as exciting as it used to be.
Oct 10, 2017
A great place to stay. Enjoy the creek in particular. Wish I could find more of the railroad history as it passed through the campground. That was the Herkimer,Newport and Poland RR. You can still still a bridge at the North end of your KOA. We have been coming since 1991 (our pop up days)
Oct 10, 2017
Need New sheets and blankets. New mattress for the pull out sofa. Otherwise, fabulous.
Oct 10, 2017
Loved it as always! We will be back.
Oct 10, 2017
Awesome time! Beautiful place - rain or shine! Friendly staff and campers!!
Oct 10, 2017
Nice and relaxing. Staff not the friendliest.
Oct 10, 2017
Our stay at the campground was excellent. We stayed in Site 14 which was way too close to Site 13 (should be 1 site)! We were a pull in a directly faced the neighbors, thankfully they were great. The staff was awesome and helpful in all areas, office, restaurants, and the mine! We had so much fun in the mine with our 9 and 10 year old boys. The kids are already asking when we can go back!
Oct 10, 2017
Thought I was getting a back in site and got a pull in which I had to maneuver close to the next site to make sure my slide out didnât hit thereâs. Site was a 50 amp only. First time Iâve ever seen this in 11 years of camping and the office had no adapters to buy or borrow. Paid $80/ night for a deluxe site that was not very convenient. KOA did not make our last weekend very enjoyable.
Oct 10, 2017
Very enjoyable. Clean rest room! Awesome!
Oct 10, 2017
Stayed in site 10, a "premium site" and the included grill was a plus and had a full tank. Sites are close and some hookups are on the wrong side. A 25' power cord barely reached. Cable TV was good in the rain, we enjoyed the Discovery Channel. Traffic noise from Rte 28 is minimal. Showers were adequate but could have used a shelf for soap etc. Staff was friendly. Overall, clean and well run
Oct 10, 2017
Our stay was a family get together and except for me, it was the first time for everybody to experience the Herkimer adventure. We all had such a good time that everybody wants to book now for next year. Our stay was marvelous, everything we expected and more.
Oct 10, 2017
We had a great time and we look forward to coming back in the summer.
Oct 10, 2017
Excellent stay. Great activities.
Oct 10, 2017
Loved the site we had right on the West Canada! So peaceful and relaxing! Sites are a bit close together but we met some really nice people. The activities that the campground organizes are amazing! The staff are friendly and helpful too! We are definitely going back! Thank you for an amazing weekend!!
Oct 10, 2017
The only negative I would say is the wifi is terrible. Outdoor activities provide by the KOA are awesome. Staff is friendly. All and all an awesome KOA.
Oct 10, 2017
Loved the campground and our stay other than how small and close all the sites are together. We barely had enough room to sit outside after parking our camper and truck. Activities for the kids were great as well as the ice cream social and pancake breakfast!
Oct 10, 2017
Everything was very good except the cabins are very close to each other and on top of that they put us in a cabin next to other campers when there was plenty of other cabins that were not occupied. They should have spread it out to give some room. The events and everything else were great, so five stars for the rest of it!
Oct 09, 2017
Great location, great area. The staff was very helpful when we had a small problem with our trailer. We cant wait to come back to the region and stay there for a longer vacation!
Oct 09, 2017
Stayed in basic cabin 8. Would come back, but in a different, bigger cabin with a bathroom. The lock on our door was broken, and the top of the garbage bin inside was broken.
Oct 09, 2017
great campground
Oct 08, 2017
Such an Awesome well maintained campground with a kind and friendly staff. The Miners Table restaurant was more than i expected with great food and service.Would have been nice to get a little more information on how to actually do the mining, the very short video doesn't give enough information.Overall it was a great time for me and my friend and will be returning.
Oct 08, 2017
Oct 07, 2017
Two nights just to relax.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award