Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2019
Aug 07, 2019
Site was completely messy. Washrooms were not maintained at all.
Aug 07, 2019
I was placed in a site that was backwards. The power and water was on the wrong side and it was a back in site. I was told to turn around and pull straight in but that meant my tow vehicle couldn’t get out. I ended up backing in only part way so I could reach the sewer and was lucky I had a long water hose and a 25 foot 30 amp ext cord. Beautiful location backed up on a river.
Aug 07, 2019
May be a nice park but was very overcrowded, not well maintained and overpriced. Will not visit again
Aug 06, 2019
Grest
Aug 06, 2019
Very disappointed with the security man. He made visit every night to tell us to quiet down and we were just talking around the fire ring. The one night we did sing happy birthday to one of our relations grandson but the rest of the time all we were foing was talking around the fire. There were 4 campers of us together and there was no camper next to us where we were enjoying the fire.
Aug 06, 2019
Our favorite KOA campground, we try to stay here at least once a year. Many things to do and the Miner's Table a great place to eat. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Aug 06, 2019
nice place to stay next to the river. friendly people
Aug 06, 2019
Of course we had a great time with our whole camping & tubing & diamond mine. But there are some things I am very disappointed about. 1) I stayed a campsite number 38. It was small. Also, the bathroom access closest to ours, and between the cabins, we’re hard to get to because the families staying there blocked the pathway with their chairs. We had to move your chairs to get through.
Aug 06, 2019
Loved it but definitely pick a different site next time. It had been many years since we were there and lots of changes. Our grandkids enjoyed the activities and going to the diamond mine.
Aug 06, 2019
Camping was fine, staff was helpful and it was well-maintained. My issue is with KOA itself. We chose this campground because we wanted to stay at a "Resort". Seems to us that "Resort" is a term that describes the available non-camping accom'ns than the activities/facilities. We've stayed at "Holidays" that have more to do on-site. KOA needs to do a better job of communicating the difference.
Aug 05, 2019
Our cabin was right on the creek. The kids loved that they could walk down and skip stones, put their feet in, etc. Lots of people tubed down the creek too. We loved the mining and sluicing across the street! We also loved the meals at Miner's Table, all the pirate themed activities for the kids, and how friendly everyone is there. Thank you! We will definitely be back again!
Aug 05, 2019
So many fun things to do!! We stayed five nights and wished we had booked even longer! Great pool, awesome river... a blast!!
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Beautiful campground!! Grounds were well maintained and the staff was friendly and helpful. Our grandkids had so much to do, pool, playground and creek to play in. The diamond mine is right across the street and an adventurous day. We are looking forward to our next visit.
Aug 04, 2019
Great place, lots of fun, always something to do.
Aug 04, 2019
Great campground with a lot of amenities including a full restaurant and bar that serves local brews and cocktails. The “diamond mine” is really just quartz and other gems. We didn’t do it but I’m sure it would be fun if you chose to do so. Lots of activities and right on the river. I’d come again
Aug 03, 2019
Burner on front did not work apparently for sometime as there was a note taped to stove. Water faucet in kitchen was loose and did not work had to turn on bathroom sink to get any hot water. This is our 8 year here and noticed it had gone down hill considerably. Also koa gives you a discount if you join koa rewards but then they take it away even if you make your reservations before it expires
Aug 03, 2019
This was a very well designed campground. Our sites on the river were shaded and roomy. The ability to float right down through the campground was a wonderful feature, we didn’t even use the gorgeous pool. Diamond mine was a lot of fun and we definitely left with a few beauties! We are planning on making this a yearly adventure.
Aug 02, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
We booked over 2 months in advance for full hookups. We booked on line as we do for all of our camping stays. When we got to this KOA, the girl at the desk said we should have called to confirm? Why bother having online reservations. Plus, this KOA is so expensive and offers nothing . Bathrooms were dirty and most sites not level. I recommend going up the road to West Canada Creek Campground.
Aug 01, 2019
There’s lots to do at this KOA (floating the river, pool time, etc.) Facilities and amenities were great but because of all the river and pathway sand, the bathrooms and pool could have been kept up a bit better. The maintenance staff were so amazing and helpful. They were the heart of this campground.
Jul 31, 2019
The cabin was very nice and comfortable.
Jul 30, 2019
We had a fun time. Kids enjoyed the scheduled activities. We brought tubes for the river and went down once, but we had a frightening experience trying to get off towards the end. The current pulled us past the camp ground and a Mom and two kids in our party went pretty far down and got terribly scared. We didn’t know it was that strong and never been tubing before. We did enjoy our stay.
Jul 30, 2019
Jul 30, 2019
Cleaning staff, especially the older woman was rude and condescending. Ladies room toilet by creek was out of service the whole week leaving one stall for many campers. The men's room stall out of service as was the urinal. Grounds were not as well kept as they had in the past..
Jul 30, 2019
I stayed in SL2 and was very disappointed in the conditions in the cabin. The ceiling fans were covered with dust , kitchen cabinets were dirty, there is MOLD IN THE BATHROOM on the wood board boarded of the shower at the base. The cabin needs a old fashion cleaning top to bottom. Blinds are dusty floor molding dirty. At the price we pay for the cabins we deserve better. Next year better,??.???!
Jul 30, 2019
Perfect weekend. However bathrooms need to be address better. Only 1 stall working.
Jul 30, 2019
Love this place..people are great, the property is very well maintained.
Jul 30, 2019
From the time we walked in the office we felt less than welcome.The staff was not very friendly.They seemed to concentrate more on the company inspection for that week.The restrooms could use better attention, the driveways could use some gravel,muddy when wet,and dusty when dry.I also feel this location is over priced for what you receive.This could be a great place to stay,just need caring staff
Jul 30, 2019
Very nice campground with beautiful landscaping. From the moment you make the turn onto the access drive you know it's special. We had no problem maneuvering or 44' RV around the property. The mine and restaurant across the street with easy access was an added bonus. Our site was a patio with lots of room? The pool could use some maintenance but overall it is hard not to rate this campground a 5
Jul 30, 2019
I love this place. Nice sites, level, clean and good hookups. Tons of entertainment for my granddaughter and most is free. Love the breakfast on Sunday except for the powdered creamer. The staff is go out of their way to help. At the mine they made sure my granddaughter got to take home diamonds with a sluce bag despite her lack of success at the rock breaking. My only wish would be more pavemen
Jul 30, 2019
Jul 30, 2019
had good time
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
Enjoyed our one night stay. We will definitely try to make it back for a longer stay.
Jul 28, 2019
We love staying at the KOA campgrounds because they always have all that we need. Our grand kids especially love floating down the river on tubes at Herkimer and with the swimming in the pool so they are happy kids. Everything is kept clean and the workers are very helpful, with the two towns close by it is easy to get anything that you might need, Thank you for making our stay a good one.
Jul 27, 2019
Jul 26, 2019
Very well maintained and lovely campground. Our site was level, shady and private. Our Italian Greyhound loved running in the nice, clean K9 park. There is plenty to do in the area and at the campground.
Jul 25, 2019
We were disappointed in our experience at Herkimer. The bathrooms needed cleaning more than once a day. There were we deal times the water was out due to leaking pipes. That being said, our meal at the restaurant was very good. We are not sure we would camp there again.
Jul 25, 2019
It was a great stay and experience for are first KOA stay.
Jul 25, 2019
was good, a little remote but very beautifull
Jul 24, 2019
Sites were dirty. Staff was short and inattentive we actually hit live wires that were too low when we left.
Jul 24, 2019
Site occupied upon arrival at 4 pm. Took one hour to get site. Had electrical problem and low water pressure. Not up to KOA standard.
Jul 23, 2019
Need more bathrooms and need to update existing ones. Toilets were frequently not working.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
The bathrooms and the dog park need to updated. Site was great. Nice location. Fun on the river.
Jul 23, 2019
7 sites, 4 nights, 12 years Worst experience we have ever had. Raised the rates for this year and raising them again for next year. One site already said, no way. We all may cancel for next year. Not mowed or weeded, weeds 2 feet tall. Pool Down for day...understand things break but not very clean either Ladies room dirty most of time, no toilet paper and one stall out of order all the time
Jul 23, 2019
Love this campground! The river float is so fun! Was a little disappointed this stay because the pool was closed and the bath houses were extremely dirty.
Jul 23, 2019
It was great, well designed and run Campground.
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.