Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details

Campground Reviews

Aug 21, 2019
Aug 21, 2019
Requested pull-thru site. Was informed of 1 site available but meant for a motorhome, so my lines would need to run underneath my RV. No problem, I agreed. When I arrived, I asked (Stefanie?) if my site was still set as a pull-thru. She agreed and we continued the transaction. Upon arriving to site 76, it is in fact a back-in site. Mentioned to staff the following day. Staff said I misunderstood.
Aug 21, 2019
Excellent time camping and mining with my son. Would like to see the pool area and water quality given more attention in the future. Surprised at the cost of firewood to be honest. Overall, we had an excellent time and will be back.
Aug 20, 2019
It was ok. Sites are very small and on top of each other. Two sites share one electric hook up , so if you have camper one person can back in and other person has to pull in which makes difficult to get your car out because it's not a pull through and if people are on both sides if you IRS hard to get your vehicle out. Bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. Not very clean.
Aug 20, 2019
After having a terrible bad experience at the KOA in Cape May, NJ, the Herkimer KOA renewed my faith in your campgrounds!!! I gave 4 out of 5 stars because the distance to the restrooms from dry sites. Also, I'd prefer to pick my site vs type of spot! We had a great time and will definitely be back though!
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
Site was very small and difficult to get into. Power didn’t work. Maintenance provided a long extension cord to get us power. Staff apparently knew beforehand that the power was broken. Staff cheerful and helpful
Aug 19, 2019
I had site 100 and it was amazing, All the way at he end but right on the creek.
Aug 19, 2019
Beautiful campground. Sites are a little tight when its crowded. But otherwise we loved it there!
Aug 19, 2019
Okay campground. Sites were bit small but there is plenty for kids to do.
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
All the staff were very accommodating. A friend also with a camper, was there and we were placed on adjoining sites as requested. My son enjoyed the pool. I asked several questions of the staff about things to do in the area and they were very helpful, either with personal knowledge or they researched online to obtain an answer for me. We ate at the miners table 3x's. Great food! Store good!
Aug 18, 2019
Entire park was being run by teenagers. Only saw 2 people who looked older than 18. Called a resort but had to walk my trash half the park to dumpster--never had to do that at any other KOA and I have traveled the entire USA Usually picked up each morning at site. Cabin cost 200 a night and bed the size of a child's bed--not even long enough for a 5'10" adult to stretch out. Worst camp store
Aug 17, 2019
Aug 17, 2019
We loved our overnight stay at this KOA so much, we’ve altered our trip home from Maine to stay at Herkimer KOA for 3 days! The staff was very friendly, all the facilities were clean and well cared for. I love that KOA campgrounds treat overnight campers as being just as valuable to them as seasonal campers.
Aug 17, 2019
It was the best KOA we have ever stayed in. Staff were great and site was very level and well manicured
Aug 16, 2019
So disappointed again � we come here year after year and hope that improvements will be made but they just aren’t It’s the little things that are just not paid attention to free WiFi which doesn’t ever work then PAID wifi which doesn’t work and they charge for it?Ac in the cabin barely work same broken blinds for the past years, broken screens, bathroom lock still broken BBQ never clean
Aug 16, 2019
The only complaint I have is that even the high speed wifi we paid for was spotty and kept dropping.
Aug 16, 2019
All the workers were so caring and helpful. We had a great time. See you next year!
Aug 15, 2019
I come here every year and it seems like it is always the same problem EVERY year you say you have free WIFI but it doesnt work. This year you have people paying for it and that still didnt work people are working from everywhere. Also locks on the cabins were not working in my daughters cabin, the AC barely worked, same BROKEN AND BUSTED blinds little details not paid attention to its a shame
Aug 15, 2019
We were just passing through...unfortunately... However short our visit, we found the campground to be very nice, beautiful setting, many amenities and plan to return when we can stay longer. Thank you
Aug 14, 2019
Lot of fun - unhappy that we could not book our site for next year as someone had booked it from late July through mid August for next year. Surprised they would be staying that long...
Aug 13, 2019
Faucet in Solar cabin 2 had little hot water & didn't spray correctly. Needed a full fridge. Ceiling fans were outstanding, rooms were comfortable, shower was super hot w/great pressure. Tubing, volleyball, shuffleboard, tie dye, horseshoes ALL SUPER FUN! We come the same week every year with many families, just wish you would mix up the theme weeks so it wasn't the same theme every time.
Aug 13, 2019
Staff has an attitude problem.
Aug 13, 2019
Our site was very small, and it wasn’t exactly what I reserved. However we had a great weekend, activities were great, everyone was very nice and we will be back.
Aug 13, 2019
He had a great time and the campsite is awesome! If I had anything negative to say which really isn’t that negative at all it’s that where we positioned at the campground in a way that our voices carried to the front office and we were scolded a couple times about being too loud . But that’s really not a big deal and we had a great time
Aug 13, 2019
Relaxing weekend
Aug 13, 2019
Such a Perfect campground
Aug 12, 2019
Your store was a little light on the items available, such as no bread and only 1 pack of bacon, and 2 bottles of orange juice. Also, not much of information about places in the area to visit/see/do. However, a ton of information about Herkimer KOA.
Aug 12, 2019
My site was ok my daughter was told at the time of booking she would be near me and by the water. When we arrived the gave her a site she couldn’t fit into and changed her to a hillside completely unacceptable it ruined her stay.
Aug 12, 2019
It was wonderful, great and informative staff, clean well kept park, loved everything it offered.
Aug 11, 2019
We have stayed at the Herkimer KOA several times and look forward to returning again in the future. We have stayed at a tent site, rented a cabin and have stayed in two of the solar houses. The shower houses/bathrooms are clean, the staff is courteous and responsive to any needs/questions and the activities are a lot of fun. We have met some great people staying there as well.
Aug 11, 2019
Everything was great. Friendly people working there. Clean facilities. Value for the cost is reasonable.
Aug 11, 2019
Our site became a lake when it decided to rain.
Aug 11, 2019
Very pleasant stay for us traveling through the area. Food recommendations were excellent for this weary camper. Looked well maintained and a place to come back and enjoy a lengthy stay.
Aug 10, 2019
The site we were put on did not have a working water faucet and had the cable connector missing. Would have expected the site to be inspected by staff. They provided a splitter for the water but did not have parts to reconnect the cable. Very disappointed with site and will not go there again.
Aug 10, 2019
Phoenix staffer was terrific with the grandchildren. Basketball, STEM bubbles, lemon explosion. Great playground. Level campsite #118. Grounds well maintained.
Aug 10, 2019
We were just passing through the area. Would return in the future.
Aug 09, 2019
I have been coming to this KOA for many years and have loved it. This summer was a huge disappointment as the site I was assigned was not anywhere close to being level, the electrical pedestal was being used by my neighbor and there was no cable for TV. The fence in front was falling down. I was quoted one price for propane, but when it came time to pay the price was 2.50 more per gal. 40" DP +car
Aug 09, 2019
Average if you want me to be honest. It seemed like the campground needed more staff. I'm not sure if there was a day camp being being run out of this Koa but the pavillon areawas not very inviting. And the herb and vegetables boxes had nothing but weeds growing. The front desk was helpful apon check in but it seemed like they were a bit chaotic. My water in my cabin didn't work. I told the desk
Aug 09, 2019
We came in late. Were glad the office was still open. Staff were efficient. Not fault, but due to the amount of rain they had there was a lot of standing water at one end of the site. Also, a lot of insects which was likely out of their control. We were not happy with the condition of the showers. A lot of dirt so we used our own in the camper. This was an issue on a previous visit
Aug 09, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
The stream, restaurant and diamond mine jewelry store were great. Wood fired pizza - yum!
Aug 08, 2019
We stayed in diggers Den. It was clean and had the needed kitchen items. Linens were provided. The cabin sleeps 5 but there were only 4 chairs around the table inside and outside. The mattress on the pull out couch was not very comfortable. There is a light falling out of the ceiling in the bathroom. All in all we had a good experience and the cabin servied our needs.
Aug 08, 2019
The only issue we had was the price for a site that is not on the water costing more - the fact that it had 30 or 50 amp service should not have made it more expensive than a full hook up site on the water. Site prices should be available for searching on your website prior to using your reservation system so more informed when looking at the map and selecting a location.
Aug 08, 2019
Great place for children of all ages! We were there for the pirate themed weekend and there were activities of all kinds, all day. The staff that dressed up and held the activities were amazing with the kids! We will return !
Aug 08, 2019
It was the most expensive KOA we’ve stayed at countrywide. Restrooms were very dirty.
Aug 07, 2019
$85 for a pull through site that’s half gravel and half dirt and not level. No on-site garbage pick up, the dumpsters are overflowing and there is garbage all over the ground around them. The lawn hasn’t been mowed, and the firing hasn’t been cleaned out since Jimmy Carter was president. The picnic table was filthy and no one cleaned up any of the mess from previous campers, tabs from cans
Aug 07, 2019
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google
Nov 27, 2019
Stayed in a cabin next to the mines and enjoyed the 2days 2nights there.
- The Regular Family Show starring The Maces on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.