Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Stay safe! Stay healthy! We hope to see you soon.

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2019
All the staff was beyond friendly and helpful. The campground is well taken care of and the perfect size for a small family!!
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice campground, we enjoyed our stay. The fire pit was oddly placed, felt like I was in the neighbors camp area when sitting at our pit.
Sep 16, 2019
site 003 needs zome fill. a pit in the middle to collect rain water. :(. all else was nice as we have come to expect at HDKOA.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Comfortable.
Sep 15, 2019
Clean easy access to sites
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 14, 2019
The staff were friendly. The campground was well maintained. The themed cabins would be a great adventure for families! We watched kids use an inner tube to go down the river that runs parallel to the park and is easily accessible in the campgrounds. Herkimer gem mines is a quick walk across the street. The KOA is nicely decorated with wreaths on various doors throughout the grounds.
Sep 13, 2019
Clean cabin, restrooms, and showers. Excellent staff that will bend over backwards!!! We had a wonderful stay and plan on going back.
Sep 13, 2019
Nice quiet campground. I wanted to move campsite and I had no problems. Campsite was next to the river.
Sep 13, 2019
It was way over priced for a one night stay. $71 for a basic pull thru. The picnic table at my site was a wreck & unusable. Their dog run was so small a big dog couldn’t get any exercise off lead. The lady staff person was FABULOUS!!!
Sep 13, 2019
Sep 12, 2019
Sep 12, 2019
Sites to close together
Sep 11, 2019
Our stay was great. The cabin was well stocked with all necessary items to make our stay easy. I have only one complaint, the pull out sofa in KT3 was completely unbearable. We folded it up and slept on an air mattress for the remaining 3 nights we booked. Also 2 tiny blankets & 2 comforters is not sufficient for 4 people. I got one more at desk but I felt like I annoyed the desk person by asking.
Sep 11, 2019
We didnt get the delux cabin we originally booked, but thats ok because the one we got was better. It had a sand pit the kids could dig in. Everything was very clean. My only complaint was that there was sand in the pull out bed, like a ton. Very awesome location. Highly recommend!
Sep 11, 2019
We stayed at a river back in site. It was very serene with the constant stream sound and birds, it helped relax and unwind into nature. The campground itself was very well maintained and had pool, games, rec room etc The Diamond mines across the street was a bonus, although we didn't have time to go mining we did visit the store and looked at all the various stones and mining artifacts.
Sep 10, 2019
We stay 2-3 times a year & have for many years.Nice area & activities are a plus. New cable & wifi are not reliable. Water issues. Staff are great esp Jeff, Cliff & Harold. Cannot say the same for the female at the counter. She even gave us a ridiculously difficult time over a cake we had stored in the cooler. I have to admit it is due for some repairs & very unhappy the prices are increasing.
Sep 10, 2019
It was a pleasure to run into Dr. Renee at the store and chat with her for a bit. such a friendly and sweet person! I am a life-long visitor of this particular Diamond mine and it is wonderful to go back now and then. And I have already recommended this KOA to friends and family many times!
Sep 10, 2019
We enjoyed out stay very much. People were friendly and kind. We asked a lot of questions and everyone was friendly and supportive. Only thing that needs some attention is the lady bath room and shower stalls next the the cabins with the telescopes. I took a shower and the drain was very slow and the walls of the shower needed some cleaning and maintenance. Everything else was perfect for us.
Sep 10, 2019
Really outstanding. Great camping on the river. Wonderful place for kids.
Sep 09, 2019
Positives: Beautiful campsite. Herkimer Diamond mine on the premises. Helpful staff. Negatives: We stay at KOA campsites across the country and this is one of the most expensive ones we have stayed at. The bathrooms at the pool see a tremendous amount of traffic and would benefit from being cleaned more than once a day. Overall, the positive far outweigh the negatives. We would visit again.
Sep 09, 2019
1)filthy laundry; occupied by people pumping air in large rubber rafts; dryers didn't work; 2)this KOA used to be pristine; now not kept up 3)poor reception from Direct TV; employee in office agreed and said former cable system was better; 4)several people broke rules -- washing of vehicles, extremely loud parties until early morning hours with no enforcement of quiet hours; workers didn't care
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
Very enjoyable vacation. Park was clean, quiet,and well maintained. We are planning on returning.
Sep 08, 2019
Did not expect the river to be tubeable. We'll be back with our tubed!! Liked the end of the campground where we were. We even went across the road to hunt some rocks and crystals. It was a nice weekend. Thank you all. The Gomez Family.
Sep 08, 2019
The restaurant was amazing. The park was gorgeous! Great cable and wifi!
Sep 07, 2019
It is a beautiful campground but the sites are not cleaned very well. Had dog poop and misc. wrappers in our site.
Sep 06, 2019
This is such a pleasant campground. The setting is serene and the grounds are well kept. Our cabin was clean and well equipped. The opportunity across the road to visit Herkimer Diamond Mines is an added bonus!
Sep 05, 2019
Always a great stay. Relaxing and fun, with great amenities at the campground.
Sep 05, 2019
The koa reservation system needs work. Not of the fault of the Herkimer we made our reservation on May of 2019. When we arrived the reservation was all wrong and they were booked. The manager did everything he could do to help. KO A reservation is at fault again. I will be not recommend that campers call the KOA instead of using the ststem
Sep 04, 2019
Our site had a problem with ground bees, Charlie from maintenance was very quick to help but unfortunately they continued to be there. The fireworks display was amazing!! As in previous years, I believe with all the updates being made, adding heat to the pool would be beneficial.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
To many children riding bikes without a helmet. speed limit in not enforced. Notified the store check-in and and told me if i wanted the job it was mine. funny until someone gets hurt.
Sep 03, 2019
Gave us a site that had a destroyed electrical box. Staff never said a word. Had to run a line across neighbors site to use their box. KOA was under “ boil water” advisory. Would have been nice to inform campers ahead of time so we could have brought extra from home. 4 days notice that it was “Halloween” weekend. Staff ran out of time to let all kids participate in activities.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Site/fire pit never cleaned. Sites to close on river. Neighbors sewer line in our front yard, it wasn’t pleasant eating at our picnic table. So didn’t!! Speed limit 4mph but know one enforces. Pool old dirty Check in/out is unorganized, next camper waiting for our site. Asked if we’re leaving soon, I stated ck our at 12, was 11,Shouldn’t be let in early! Never notified of water adv
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 02, 2019
Solar Lodge 2 is small, cant squeeze 6 in. It fits 4 max, mats are child size. Sofabed only for a toddler. Bed was old&terrible- we sunk to the middle. Worst was arrival, after a long car trip we lay down to rest - someone came to trim lawn loudly. The rest of the trip we had lawn shavings all over and therefore came inside. No mat to wipe feet.
Sep 01, 2019
Sep 01, 2019
I enjoyed the stay at the cabin.I chose a quiet time to be there for relaxation and to be able to spend some time mining for herkimer diamonds. I had a great experience. I found my cabin site to be well equipped for my stay there; the grill to cook my meals.... to have a small fridge. Showers and bathrooms were near buy. Easy access to water for clean up after meals.
Aug 31, 2019
One of the best Koa’s we’ve stayed at. Well maintained, great customer service & best of all Lots of activities for the kids do.
Aug 31, 2019
We had a relaxing and fun time. Site was clean and right on the water. Would stay there again.
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
Fun! Camping cabin was clean, mattress comfortable. Activities were great for kids. Resort was clean. Enjoyed the pool. Lazy river such great fun.
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
just stayed one night but will be back for a longer stay

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.