Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details

Campground Reviews

Sep 09, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
Very enjoyable vacation. Park was clean, quiet,and well maintained. We are planning on returning.
Sep 08, 2019
Did not expect the river to be tubeable. We'll be back with our tubed!! Liked the end of the campground where we were. We even went across the road to hunt some rocks and crystals. It was a nice weekend. Thank you all. The Gomez Family.
Sep 08, 2019
The restaurant was amazing. The park was gorgeous! Great cable and wifi!
Sep 07, 2019
It is a beautiful campground but the sites are not cleaned very well. Had dog poop and misc. wrappers in our site.
Sep 06, 2019
This is such a pleasant campground. The setting is serene and the grounds are well kept. Our cabin was clean and well equipped. The opportunity across the road to visit Herkimer Diamond Mines is an added bonus!
Sep 05, 2019
Always a great stay. Relaxing and fun, with great amenities at the campground.
Sep 05, 2019
The koa reservation system needs work. Not of the fault of the Herkimer we made our reservation on May of 2019. When we arrived the reservation was all wrong and they were booked. The manager did everything he could do to help. KO A reservation is at fault again. I will be not recommend that campers call the KOA instead of using the ststem
Sep 04, 2019
Our site had a problem with ground bees, Charlie from maintenance was very quick to help but unfortunately they continued to be there. The fireworks display was amazing!! As in previous years, I believe with all the updates being made, adding heat to the pool would be beneficial.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
To many children riding bikes without a helmet. speed limit in not enforced. Notified the store check-in and and told me if i wanted the job it was mine. funny until someone gets hurt.
Sep 03, 2019
Gave us a site that had a destroyed electrical box. Staff never said a word. Had to run a line across neighbors site to use their box. KOA was under “ boil water” advisory. Would have been nice to inform campers ahead of time so we could have brought extra from home. 4 days notice that it was “Halloween” weekend. Staff ran out of time to let all kids participate in activities.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Site/fire pit never cleaned. Sites to close on river. Neighbors sewer line in our front yard, it wasn’t pleasant eating at our picnic table. So didn’t!! Speed limit 4mph but know one enforces. Pool old dirty Check in/out is unorganized, next camper waiting for our site. Asked if we’re leaving soon, I stated ck our at 12, was 11,Shouldn’t be let in early! Never notified of water adv
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 02, 2019
Solar Lodge 2 is small, cant squeeze 6 in. It fits 4 max, mats are child size. Sofabed only for a toddler. Bed was old&terrible- we sunk to the middle. Worst was arrival, after a long car trip we lay down to rest - someone came to trim lawn loudly. The rest of the trip we had lawn shavings all over and therefore came inside. No mat to wipe feet.
Sep 01, 2019
Sep 01, 2019
I enjoyed the stay at the cabin.I chose a quiet time to be there for relaxation and to be able to spend some time mining for herkimer diamonds. I had a great experience. I found my cabin site to be well equipped for my stay there; the grill to cook my meals.... to have a small fridge. Showers and bathrooms were near buy. Easy access to water for clean up after meals.
Aug 31, 2019
One of the best Koa’s we’ve stayed at. Well maintained, great customer service & best of all Lots of activities for the kids do.
Aug 31, 2019
We had a relaxing and fun time. Site was clean and right on the water. Would stay there again.
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
Fun! Camping cabin was clean, mattress comfortable. Activities were great for kids. Resort was clean. Enjoyed the pool. Lazy river such great fun.
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
just stayed one night but will be back for a longer stay
Aug 29, 2019
The staff was great & the prompt delivery of our food was great too, even after it was ordered late. Our cabin was clean & comfy. However, i thought it was too crowded to my liking, cars all over & at times...noisy & busy. With that being said, if u have younger kids, its a great place & it will keep kids & parents busy & having fun
Aug 28, 2019
We were with our 2 sons families and we all had a great time.
Aug 28, 2019
Aug 28, 2019
We had a family campout using cottages. Wished we were next to our relatives as it was difficult for kids but it worked. We had cabin 2 and they had 5. Turned out cabin 1 and 4 should have been next to each other as they were fanily. An easy swap the first day would have been fabulous for all. We all got along.
Aug 28, 2019
Had a wonderful time. Many activities and view of creek great. We have stayed here before and will be back.
Aug 28, 2019
Fantastic experience, Staff is exceptional at both the KOA as well as at the mine. The owner is beautiful inside and out, the campground is clean. Across the street at the mine is no different. Amazing staff and so much fun finding the diamonds!
Aug 28, 2019
Aug 28, 2019
What a beautiful campground. We stayed twice on our journey. Aug. 15th and then again Aug. 25-26. Definitely high marks and very likely we would return.
Aug 28, 2019
The site had grass clippings all over the concrete pad. The b.b.q is falling apart. The sewer backed up and we moved to another concrete site. A bit run down. In general this KOA needs a little bit of updating.
Aug 27, 2019
We had a wonderful stay and really enjoyed ourselves. Two tho fa could have improved our stay. First - please rent life vests. We don’t own them bus we rarely need them. They are widely available to borrow where we come from. It is, in my view, irresponsible to sell tubes for the river and not sell/rents vests. Two - pls post signs to keep tubers out of T100. We had a constant flow of people.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 27, 2019
It seemed a bit noisy too late into the evening and it was overpriced
Aug 27, 2019
This is one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable. The grounds were clean. Our site was nice and big with easy access. There were lots of activities going on. We loved the Miners Table, our meal was delicious. The pancake breakfast was very good. Loved the river where you could float down. Loved, loved, loved it.
Aug 26, 2019
Owners & staff very nice and friendly. Recommendation of "8" is for tent campers. a bathroom is needed in the tent area. A child will not make it to the nearest toilet. Put 6" pieces of hose on the water faucets in the no hook up area to direct the water. Broken hinge on the door to the handicap shower prevented the door from opening. Your clean up staff see these things. I would stay again!
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 25, 2019
We love this campground! The activities and the river make it extra special. The kids enjoy playing basketball, looking for "diamonds" and tubing and fishing on the river. The restaurant is also great Thank you for another great visit.
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
It was a family reunion. We had over 10 sites booked. Our accommodations were cabins as well as RV sites. We enjoyed ourselves on the creek, pool and field. I stayed in the Aries Astrology Lodge with my husband (last year also but with my sister). My only comment would be that I wish you had a dresser or closet and a large (8 qt.) pot. The big bathroom was nice and roomy. We'll return. Thanks! KB
Aug 22, 2019
Wish we could have stayed longer
Aug 22, 2019
only issue was site was muddy
Aug 22, 2019
Everything was great except the pool. The pool water was very cloudy and full of debris from the trees on the surface of the water and accumulated on the bottom. The skimmers appeared to be not working. We stayed for 5 days and never saw anyone clean it or test the water.
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.