Herkimer Diamond KOA Reviews

Enjoy one of our unique cabins, amenities, and mining attraction!

More Details

Campground Reviews

Sep 24, 2019
Enjoyed our stay near the river so much! It was down a charming road to the river. The staff was friendly and helpful and facilities clean. Our particular phone carrier, Xfinity, had absolutely no service and Internet was slow. Only minor complaint was muddy, not gravel but would def stay there again!!!
Sep 24, 2019
nice place a little pricey for what you get
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
We came for the Girl Scout Jamboree and had a great time! We stayed in the camping cabins and they were clean and warm. The events at the camp were also great. There was a little miscommunication about when and where things were happening, but the staff did a great job making sure the girls had fun and learned a lot. We'll definitely be recommending this trip to our sister scouts.
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
we stayed for 6 days this year, we love this campground. Had a problem when we arrived. One of our camper vents cracked and blew off, leaving the bedroom exposed to rain. I called the office who sent over a worker for assistance. Two gentlemen showed up, one was Harold. He went up on the roof and secured a waterproof cover that I provided. Problem solved. then we enjoyed our time.
Sep 20, 2019
Great people and wonderful sites facing the river. Buying the high speed wifi worth the money, especially if you want to stream videos.
Sep 20, 2019
I’ve loved it there for the past eleven years But since I retired last sept and their prices jumped way up I’ll not be Able to kamp there much any more . It has been my sanctuary, my place of rest and much joy. The staff there are phenomenal. Nice updates to the upper restrooms. Great place
Sep 19, 2019
Nice park but Over priced for the amenities. The dog park needed mowing. They want you to pick up after your dog but the bag dispenser was empty our whole stay.
Sep 19, 2019
Loved our site beside the creek. We could hear the water all night!��
Sep 18, 2019
You need to improve your roads . Otherwise I would give you a five.
Sep 18, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
Relaxing and enjoyed dinner. Close to other attractions.
Sep 18, 2019
Clean/friendly KOA LOVE the customer appreciation stay one night, next night free.
Sep 18, 2019
Liked the campground but did not like the restaurant. The food was under cooked and very bland. The mines were a blast
Sep 18, 2019
Very nice place. Great r/r’s and showers. Extremely nice if you get a spot on the river calm and nice. Their restaurant “Miner Table” great pizza spaghetti and prime rib. Diamond mine is fun but get ready to hammer.
Sep 18, 2019
We could only stay one night as we were traveling home, but it was beautiful. Plenty of room for big rigs.We did go get something to eat at the restaurant across the street and the food was delicious. Hope to stop again.
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 17, 2019
Clean friendly place to relax!
Sep 17, 2019
Stayed creek side. Nice neighbors.
Sep 17, 2019
Very nice KOA! We had a site on the creek (West Canada Creek) and loved sitting by the fire and watching the water! Then when we went to bed, opened the window to hear the water all night!
Sep 16, 2019
I loved the campsite. I love the different style cabins/tree house/etc., you have to offer. It is a beautiful well maintained campsite, bathrooms were clean. And I love the fact that it isn't within hearing distance of a major highway. It was in the "boonies" in a beautiful location. Thank you for being wonderful hosts and hostesses.
Sep 16, 2019
This place is so relaxing. I love the cabins and the creek flowing by. It's very well maintained, and the fixtures all work. The staff is friendly and helpful (for the most part). One lady I asked for help was cranky, but she have just been sick or something. Overall, we love the campground, have stayed there twice, and we're looking forward to our next trip.
Sep 16, 2019
It was a fantastic stay! My sister and I had a blast. It was her first stay and it won't be her last. Staff were awesome and service was top notch. I will be back in couple of weeks with my husband.
Sep 16, 2019
Campsite was fine. Grass could have been mowed. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner. Same dirt was there all weekend.
Sep 16, 2019
Creekside is great. Need a better mattress and new BBQ.
Sep 16, 2019
All the staff was beyond friendly and helpful. The campground is well taken care of and the perfect size for a small family!!
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice campground, we enjoyed our stay. The fire pit was oddly placed, felt like I was in the neighbors camp area when sitting at our pit.
Sep 16, 2019
site 003 needs zome fill. a pit in the middle to collect rain water. :(. all else was nice as we have come to expect at HDKOA.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Comfortable.
Sep 15, 2019
Clean easy access to sites
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 14, 2019
The staff were friendly. The campground was well maintained. The themed cabins would be a great adventure for families! We watched kids use an inner tube to go down the river that runs parallel to the park and is easily accessible in the campgrounds. Herkimer gem mines is a quick walk across the street. The KOA is nicely decorated with wreaths on various doors throughout the grounds.
Sep 13, 2019
Clean cabin, restrooms, and showers. Excellent staff that will bend over backwards!!! We had a wonderful stay and plan on going back.
Sep 13, 2019
Nice quiet campground. I wanted to move campsite and I had no problems. Campsite was next to the river.
Sep 13, 2019
It was way over priced for a one night stay. $71 for a basic pull thru. The picnic table at my site was a wreck & unusable. Their dog run was so small a big dog couldn’t get any exercise off lead. The lady staff person was FABULOUS!!!
Sep 13, 2019
Sep 12, 2019
Sep 12, 2019
Sites to close together
Sep 11, 2019
Our stay was great. The cabin was well stocked with all necessary items to make our stay easy. I have only one complaint, the pull out sofa in KT3 was completely unbearable. We folded it up and slept on an air mattress for the remaining 3 nights we booked. Also 2 tiny blankets & 2 comforters is not sufficient for 4 people. I got one more at desk but I felt like I annoyed the desk person by asking.
Sep 11, 2019
We didnt get the delux cabin we originally booked, but thats ok because the one we got was better. It had a sand pit the kids could dig in. Everything was very clean. My only complaint was that there was sand in the pull out bed, like a ton. Very awesome location. Highly recommend!
Sep 11, 2019
We stayed at a river back in site. It was very serene with the constant stream sound and birds, it helped relax and unwind into nature. The campground itself was very well maintained and had pool, games, rec room etc The Diamond mines across the street was a bonus, although we didn't have time to go mining we did visit the store and looked at all the various stones and mining artifacts.
Sep 10, 2019
We stay 2-3 times a year & have for many years.Nice area & activities are a plus. New cable & wifi are not reliable. Water issues. Staff are great esp Jeff, Cliff & Harold. Cannot say the same for the female at the counter. She even gave us a ridiculously difficult time over a cake we had stored in the cooler. I have to admit it is due for some repairs & very unhappy the prices are increasing.
Sep 10, 2019
It was a pleasure to run into Dr. Renee at the store and chat with her for a bit. such a friendly and sweet person! I am a life-long visitor of this particular Diamond mine and it is wonderful to go back now and then. And I have already recommended this KOA to friends and family many times!
Sep 10, 2019
We enjoyed out stay very much. People were friendly and kind. We asked a lot of questions and everyone was friendly and supportive. Only thing that needs some attention is the lady bath room and shower stalls next the the cabins with the telescopes. I took a shower and the drain was very slow and the walls of the shower needed some cleaning and maintenance. Everything else was perfect for us.
Sep 10, 2019
Really outstanding. Great camping on the river. Wonderful place for kids.
Sep 09, 2019
Positives: Beautiful campsite. Herkimer Diamond mine on the premises. Helpful staff. Negatives: We stay at KOA campsites across the country and this is one of the most expensive ones we have stayed at. The bathrooms at the pool see a tremendous amount of traffic and would benefit from being cleaned more than once a day. Overall, the positive far outweigh the negatives. We would visit again.
Sep 09, 2019
1)filthy laundry; occupied by people pumping air in large rubber rafts; dryers didn't work; 2)this KOA used to be pristine; now not kept up 3)poor reception from Direct TV; employee in office agreed and said former cable system was better; 4)several people broke rules -- washing of vehicles, extremely loud parties until early morning hours with no enforcement of quiet hours; workers didn't care
Jan 11, 2020
We first visited this KOA last year, and were so impressed, that our son wanted to return here to celebrate his birthday with friends. We brought 3 teens, and everyone agreed that this remains one of our favorite camping destinations. We reserved the same site, on the creek, and loved it. When the family was not busy tubing the creek, or swimming, or mining, we relaxed at our campfire and enjoyed the scenery. The bathrooms were kept clean and stocked. Even with all the cabins rented by large groups, the facilities were well managed. We collectively love this KOA and will be returning next year. This is one of the few places we have camped where there is enough to do all day to not have to leave the campground. With so many activities and amenities, my wife and I were able to relax and enjoy ourselves, while our teens were busy doing fun things for themselves. We can't say enough about the Herkimer KOA.
- SharkMan on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.