Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2017
Our family had the best time. The camp ground is beautiful and so much to do. We are looking forward to our next trip to Herkimer.
Aug 01, 2017
The campsite was extremely small one number 5. The people on 4 who did not know could not even put out their awning. So weird to sit 10 feet away from someone you do not even know. Tubing was fun but minimal Information provided regarding how to exit the stream or safety if you get caught on the current.
Aug 01, 2017
Rooms were very clean. Check in/ out was very easy. Will be going again for sure.
Aug 01, 2017
Wonderful!! Thank you for accommodating us.The site along the river was great!! We'll be back!!
Aug 01, 2017
It was our first time staying at herkimer and it was amazing. Loved all the activities that were planned throughout the day for kids and all of the facilities.
Aug 01, 2017
Everyone who works there are so friendly and heloful. Showers and toulets clean and well maintained. Lots of kid activities. Food prices extremely reasonable and Sunday morning breakfast was delicious! We will be back!
Jul 31, 2017
For the 1st time in many, many years, I was left disappointed in this KOA. There are so many great things about this KOA, but our entire McCarthy family is not sure they will return. There are some incredibly rude and dirty mouthed people that we have had to deal with for 2 years. The issue was not resolved in the a compromise, which it could be by making Rock Island usable for all.
Jul 31, 2017
Our 12th reunion at this site was ruined by unruly campers, swearing and tossing our belongings into the creek , the manager spoke to them but it continued without consequence until we had to remove our families due to the inappropriate language and aggressive behavior
Jul 31, 2017
Prices getting too high, air conditioner didn't work, I stayed in Pet friendly, without pets. Blinds were wreck by pets. Cleaning guy said they were replacing blinds but there was a long list. Probably from pets. I'm not happy rates went up ALOT, thinking I'm Might be paying for pet repairs!
Jul 31, 2017
We come to this koa every year for family reunion, bringing along 60+ people. We love to site by the h2o, last year a very rude women got angry that we were sitting on the river in front of her campsite. She was so bad we had to get management. She was told we Could be there.the same thing happened, this year,she was so aggressive,(swearing "f" word) they took her side,why reward behavior? Sad....
Jul 31, 2017
The treehouse was very good and it worked out well for us and our families camping next door.
Jul 31, 2017
what a great way to spend a few night away from our daily routine.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Very accommodating
Jul 31, 2017
One suggestion: consider recycling or renting tubes. we had 2 families who didn't want to buy a piece of plastic for a one-use river tubing, also there were many tubes in the trash at the end of the weekend. This seemed needlessly wasteful. Otherwise, everything was great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
it was a great stay. Just wished they would do the tie dye shirts on the weekend. They did it on Friday at 3pm. We already have reservations for next year.
Jul 31, 2017
Too loud with too many people too close to each other The facilities and staff were good. It was just too packed in
Jul 31, 2017
You let some snobby mega family reunion rent out alot of the cabins and didn't bother to tell me about this on the phone before I reserved . as it is, this family in particular treated us really unkind because we "took the cabin meant for their other family member ". I am never staying here again . also the quartz mine is a joke. It is so empty that you need a construction team just to get at gems
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Very clean,family oriented,restaurant on site very good food,nice pool and right on the river.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Several dogs running around without being on a lease. Otherwise, everything (except a rainy day) was fine.
Jul 30, 2017
place was great, plenty to do. But WiFi stinks. No range what so ever, even with the camp half empty during the week.
Jul 30, 2017
Fun place. Miners Table restaurant was very good.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
We love the tubing, fishing, and all of the activities here. My older son took the fly fishing class, and my younger son took the crayfishing one. Both had a great time. We also enjoy trying our luck diamond mining. This year we were able to find a few good sized ones. A great campground for the whole family.
Jul 29, 2017
BEST KOA WE SAYED IN
Jul 28, 2017
Great campground! Wonderful activities!! Great people!! This is our second visit and we will be back with even more friends!! We highly recommend!!
Jul 28, 2017
We had a fantastic time staying in the tree house and mining for diamonds. We will be back for another visit!
Jul 28, 2017
Great KOA, friendly staff, clean facilities.
Jul 28, 2017
The weather was not the best but our Granddaughter still had a lot of fun. Our site right on the creek was very nice.
Jul 28, 2017
Only stayed 2 days. Visit was fun with the mine across the street. WiFi and phone service not good.
Jul 27, 2017
We had a great time! We hope to be back next year!
Jul 27, 2017
The grounds and maintenance at this KOA was amazing. They had many activities each day for the kids to choose from and many sister activities in the area that were discounted with a stay at the KOA.
Jul 27, 2017
1 overnighter passing through. Very clean and well trimmed campground.
Jul 26, 2017
This is year # 16, back to back to back. We absolutely love it there!!! Kids, Parents and all just love the place see you next year on July 19th!!!
Jul 26, 2017
This campground had so much to offer with diamond mining across the street, a lazy river, pool,nightly movies. Plus the campsites bathrooms and showers were clean. A great experience.
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 26, 2017
Staff was great and if not for lodging issue would rate higher. We rented a deluxe creekside cabin an the pictures online showed a room with bunk beds and a double bed in a separate room which would have been perfect for our family of 4. When we checked in, the cabin was a single upper bunk over a double bed, which left me sleeping on the most uncomfortable pull-out sofas. BAIT/Switch!!
Jul 25, 2017
This is our 6th year coming to Herkimer and are already booked for next year. the area is beautiful, well kept (except some muddy areas) and the workers are friendly, respectful and hard working!
Jul 25, 2017
The deluxe cabin was very nice to stay in along the river. Tubing was fun, put in up river and floated down to campground for about 1 1/2 hours. Nice family reunion! Coming back next year.
Jul 25, 2017
Stayed in a basic cabin for 3 nights. Campsite is clean and cozy. Lots of activities for kids. Tubing was fun. Gem mining was also fun. Crayfish were non existent. We didn't see any at all. Downside was swimming pool was small and playground was minimal. Basketball court was small. Camp store had some basics but was small as well. Town of Middleton and Herkimer don't have much to see.
Jul 25, 2017
Wonderful grounds and well maintained. The staff is wonderful and make you feel at home. I meant to ask while I was there but do you have charging stations for electric cars?
Jul 25, 2017
We stayed for a week and it was great! The staff is great... our youngest granddaughter had a great crush on Matt! ;-) Thank you for all your care in making our stay great!!
Jul 25, 2017
Staff and facilities were excellent. Exceeded our expectations. Great value.
Jul 25, 2017
We loved our camping area and the people where so very friendly. We had difficulty seeing our # of the campsite -since we checked in after hrs ! But, It was fabulous. Staying there again! We loved it!!! Thank you for a great experience!
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
We enjoy our stay. Booked for next year already. It is getting a bit pricey. The goose crap is a little out of control on sites 79 -88, but the young lady did a great job cleaning it. Dan ( I think that was his name)was excellent booking my sites for next year.
Jul 24, 2017
cable in cabin was out but no big we didnt spend much time inside anyway grounds were clean and looked great staff very friendly and helpful def will be back next year
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award