Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 15, 2018
May 14, 2018
Beautiful grounds; friendly staff; meticulously clean. The fire pit/ring at our site (#77) was unusable (dangerous ... partially going downhill/steep drop ... assuming the grade has eroded, but pit needs to be relocated for safety). Luckily, no campers adjacent to us, so we used the pit/ring for site #76. Mattress was very bad. Actually pulled mattresses from bunk bed and laid atop mattress.
May 12, 2018
Nice place with sites right on the river. Clean facilities, kind staff, and free coffee in the morning. I would certainly stay here again.
May 10, 2018
Our stay was pleasant. The sites were a little close for us but it was not busy this time of year.
May 08, 2018
The Herkimer Diamond Mine is our favorite getaway! The grounds are beautiful and the staff are all so friendly and helpful. Truly a magnificent place!
May 08, 2018
My husband and I would like to thank the staff at Herkimer KOA as they were very kind and accodomating. The resort was very clean, safe and has a friendly atmosphere that will keep us coming back. Thank you, until next time.
May 08, 2018
Although the weather was not the best we had a wonderful time. The staff was very kind and helpful going out of their way to warn us of an incoming storm and emergency protocol. After the storm they came by again to make sure we were safe. All the facilities were clean and well kept. I will definitely be returning some time this summer.
May 08, 2018
It was perfect! The weather wasn't perfect, but our very secluded stay was.
May 08, 2018
My family and myself had a great first experience with a koa. We had a cabin right on the river and it was perfect. Grounds were well maintained and QUIET!! we definatley will be going back very soon.
May 07, 2018
Cabin was beautiful & campgrounds family friendly. We rented a special cabin - Astronomy - for the $225 for ONE night, we were bummed. The telescope, while gorgeous, was filthy and most of the extra lenses supplied were not for that telescope, they didn't fit. Wasps everywhere on the porch and ants in the kitchen were not a pleasure. Would still try again, maybe a better experience next time.
May 07, 2018
The cabin was wonderful, except I thought the creek would be smaller. With 3 young children, it was quite scary to have a drop off right into rapids. Your employees were wonderful, with the exception of Jody who was very condescending. Because of her, we decided to go down the road to another diamond mine for our two day trip. We went there for my son's 6th birthday and didn't let her ruin it.
May 07, 2018
I had such a great stay!
May 07, 2018
Cart was at office and could have led us to a site with a lower sewer. To much for an over night. Nice campground for a longer stay.
May 07, 2018
May 03, 2018
The only thing I would say is the women's room toilets were broke , two of the three, I was there four days and they never got fixed..
May 03, 2018
May 03, 2018
We stayed in the treehouse, which was a fun experience. Really only fits two adults. I took my two granddaughters and the three of us were quite tight. The girls are 8 and 6 years old. For a night it was a fun experience and staff were super nice
May 03, 2018
Cabin was clean and everything in working order. We had a wonderful time and hope to stay many more times.
May 02, 2018
May 01, 2018
May 01, 2018
Had a deluxe cabin..for 2 people we were very comfortable. Really enjoyed being along the river too. So nice to be able to sit, relax and enjoy the view! It's great being across the street from the mines, got some fun finds! A bit more water pressure and a different shower are the only things I would change. We we also recommend the Miners Table for dinner, very good! We will return!
May 01, 2018
Loved the sites along the creek
May 01, 2018
Passing through on vacation stayed one night. Very clean and friendly staff
Apr 28, 2018
The staff as usual were great but 64 dollars a night ? Why for what it was nothing special. Would not stay again just because of the pricing. If im in this area again I will stay at the wallmart. Sorry KOA 64 bucks is to much for a self contained MH. Unless someone someday can explain why some campgrounds seem to be so over priced.
Apr 27, 2018
The campground staff were awesome. They made us feel right at home. After getting my SUV stuck in the mud, the staff helped tow me out, and then came by later and bought my family some items to make s'mores. We had a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back!
Apr 27, 2018
Campground and facilities were well maintained. Quite hours were not followed at nearby camp site and the office was closed and could only leave a message. Asked them to turn down their music 3 times and they finally did after midnight. NO HANDICAPPED toilets are available.
Apr 27, 2018
very friendly and accomodating hosts. beautiful location.
Apr 25, 2018
Apr 25, 2018
It was early in the season, but our pull thru site was littered with branches and goose and deer poop. They should have at least cleaned up the campsites that they rented, even if they couldn't get the whole place cleaned for their opening which I think was about a week before our stay. No heat tape on the water spigot, so we had no water in the morning. Way overpriced for this time of year.
Apr 25, 2018
Apr 25, 2018
We really enjoy Herkimer KOA. The people are very nice and the sites are great. One suggestion I would like to offer is one we have found at many other private owned campsites. Offer a free weekend at the beginning of the season for anyone that would like to come in and help to clean the sites. This winter was unusually harsh for the trees and there was much to clea
Apr 22, 2018
Lovely campground and surrounding area with access to lot of fun outdoor activities. We stayed in a Deluxe cabin opening weekend and did not have hot water because, maintenance did everything they could working but in the end they had to order a new part that didn't arrive until after our stay ended. However, everything else about the stay was wonderful. Very nice staff and accommodations.
Apr 19, 2018
Apr 19, 2018
Apr 18, 2018
Everyone made our stay so amazing.. I had planned a mini retreat for some of my ministry, and we stayed at the Solar Kolony 1, a perfect home away from home. Everyone was very comfortable and quite warm, especially with the cooler weather and ice outside! I will definitely be planning a yearly retreat on these campgrounds in the future!
Apr 18, 2018
Great stay for tough opening weekend. Great staff.
Apr 18, 2018
It was nice but they need a lot of clean up trees and branches everywhere
Apr 15, 2018
Beyond our expectations. Glorious river only feet away and a cabin that had everything. Felt spoiled
Nov 12, 2017
We have stayed here a couple of times; each time we spent only 1 night because were just passing through. We love the river setting and will certainly look to stay again when we are in the area!
Nov 10, 2017
We loved the cabin we stayed in eith our pup . For once fishing was just outside our door, pizza across the street, and I found a huge herkimer diamond!
Nov 07, 2017
I always enjoy this campground. Very clean and so many activities. The sunday pancakes are awesome. Super friendly staff. The cabins are perfect.
Nov 05, 2017
We stayed there because it was one of the few campgrounds still open and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was an added pleasure. The owner stopped and talked to us, the piano and the excellent food was quite a bonus. My husband and I were wishing we had time to stay longer and discussed maybe coming back.
Nov 05, 2017
We recently purchased a 25' motor home and this was our first camping trip with it. We reserved a pull through site with full hook ups so we could try everything. The site was spacious & fairly level. Restrooms were clean. Staff was friendly & helpful. For it being so late in the season, there were still planned activities within the park which was a nice surprise. Definitely would stay again.
Nov 04, 2017
Nov 03, 2017
Had a wonderful time! Will be back!
Nov 03, 2017
Great location, clean, and fun things for the kids!
Nov 03, 2017
Very clean restroom and showers. Very pleasant staff. Enjoy the waterfront sites on the brook. We plan to return again next fall.
Nov 03, 2017
We enjoyed a lovely 3 week stay. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Bathrooms clean & campground attractively laid out. Activities every weekend. Found museums, zoo, waterfalls, lakes, historic sites, caverns, cider mills, canal boat & railroad tours to entertain us in the surrounding area. A truly worthwhile experience.
Nov 02, 2017
Absolutely wonderful, Dr. Renee stopped and chatted with us during dinner at the Miner's Table restaurant. What a lovely hostess/owner!
Nov 02, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals