Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2018
Had a blast with my boy. Need some more trees for shade. Will be back
Jul 01, 2018
We were so pleased with everything! The staff was friendly and so helpful! The cabins, grounds, and pool were all clean and enjoyable - we had a great visit!!
Jul 01, 2018
I hosted a camper rally and it went well. Sites are a little tight and pricey for being so tight. As a group we were given a 15% discount off our rates, still for those coming from long distances tend to extend their stay but opted not to due to cost. The grounds were well kept. Bath houses good but shower stalls way too tight unless using handicapped. Water spigots leaked and some power was wonky
Jul 01, 2018
Our 4th time camping here- love the cabins.
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
like the campground very much....Wi-Fi is terrible though. Had need of my phone and/or internet while there, and service/connection was very spotty. But otherwise, a satisfying stay!
Jul 01, 2018
Can not think of one bad thing to say. Excellent KOA.
Jul 01, 2018
This campground ground is doesn’t have much for young children like ours (3yr old and 5yr old). My children lost interest in the mining within 30 mins. They have a “lazy river” but I would not recommend young children. We might return to this campground but it will be a long time before we come back. There is not much to do at this campground and the camp store leaves much to be desired!!
Jul 01, 2018
Jul 01, 2018
Everyone he was so nice. The campground was amazing. A big shout out for the pizza delivery!!
Jun 30, 2018
For the money spent I thought that the deluxe cabin would have been better maintained. Bunkhouse door did not lock and neither did the bathroom door. The floor in front of the door was somewhat rotted (mushy). The queen size bed seemed like a full and was very noisy when you moved(made a squeaking sound). Mini blinds we crappy through out. Loved the grounds...lazy river was pretty cool.
Jun 30, 2018
This was the nicest, cleanest campground we have ever stayed at. Will return soon.
Jun 30, 2018
Jun 30, 2018
We had a beautiful site on the river. Nice people, great restaurant, fun at the mine.
Jun 29, 2018
Friendly staff, site was clean, but muddy. Very expensive with little to no organized activies during the week, weekend activities were sparse. Pool was extremely cold.
Jun 29, 2018
Jun 29, 2018
Very much enjoyed our recent stay at the KOA Herkimer. Electric and water pressure were both very much acceptable. Site was clean although a little close to my neighbors. Enjoyed being able to use their lazy river at no cost. Did not use public restrooms or pool area. All other parts of the part appeared to be well maintained
Jun 29, 2018
Beautiful campground, and we will go back again, but we had three issues. The hookup pole was on the wrong side, so I had to buy a 30a extension cord to reach. I wasn’t told about this until arrival. The dump station is on a steep hill, so my black tank didn’t drain. I had to go to another dump station when I got home. The WIFI was completely useless and there is little or no cell service.
Jun 29, 2018
Pros: All the staff at this KOA are terrific. Thanks to Dan in the office for all his help! The outside crew performed like a well oiled machine keeping the grounds and bathrooms clean and fresh (except for a problem in the bathrooms behind the office - problems above and beyond the norm). Cons: The shared services like site 42 are VERY hard to hook up to and the WiFi was unavailable often.
Jun 29, 2018
Jun 29, 2018
We loved our stay at Herkimer KOA!
Jun 29, 2018
We had a great site by the river!
Jun 29, 2018
This is a magical place! All the staff are polite and well informed. The grounds are kept to perfection.
Jun 29, 2018
PAID FOR DELUXE SITE, AND IT WAS WONDERFUL TO HAVE FULL HOOK-UP,ETC. HOWEVER OUR PARTICULAR SITE WAS SO CLOSE TO THE NEXT SITE,THAT IF YOU SNEEZED,YOU HAD TO WIPE IT OFF THE CAMPER NEXT TO YOU. OTHER SITES ARE VERY NICE AND PRETTY WELL SPACED. HOPE TO REQUEST ONE, THE NEXT TIME. CAMPGROUND VERY PRETTY ,AND WELL MAINTAINED..
Jun 29, 2018
Excellent KOA!
Jun 29, 2018
you need to upgrade your wi fi
Jun 29, 2018
Jun 29, 2018
Great campground..... one of the best KOA’s we have stayed at. Only complaint was with the weather because we were not able to use the great facilities.
Jun 28, 2018
One of the most beautiful and well maintained campgrounds I have ever visited!!
Jun 28, 2018
Came with a group of vintage RV campers for a weekend stay. Even with poor weather conditions, your camp was lovely, clean, welcoming. Will definitely return!
Jun 27, 2018
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campgrounds, bathrooms were clean and well kept.
Jun 27, 2018
They won an award for high ratings, they haven’t made any improvements since! A real dump.
Jun 27, 2018
Our first camping trip with our son and his family, It was very nice the kids had plenty of things to do and the grounds are very nice
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 27, 2018
The ‘deluxe’ cabin was not. The RV spot next to my ‘private’ ‘deluxe’ cabin was rented out to 10 people with a condo tent, 2 smaller tents, and four cars. Apparantly you can rent an RV spot and fill it with as many tents as you want. This, despite their ‘rule’ of no more than 2 tents per TENT spot. 10 noisy partying adults less than 5 feet from my ‘private’ ‘deluxe’ cabin t
Jun 26, 2018
Third year in a row, had a great time. My kids, age 4 and 5, were finally old enough to do the diamond mine. Already booked for next year!!
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
Not bad, but I wasn’t very impresssd with our deluxe patio site. The activities were good and staff were very friendly and helpful. I just had higher expectations for the site itself.
Jun 26, 2018
very clean, very friendly staff, well pleased with everything
Jun 26, 2018
Campground was wonderful! The kids really enjoyed the activites and playing in the creek. Campground was clean and well laid out. The kids also really enjoyed the mine -very convenient that they are right across the road!
Jun 26, 2018
Very nice clean campground with wonderful river view sites and a wide variety of very nice cabins. Would highly recommend. Will definitely keep this one on my return list.
Jun 26, 2018
What an awesome place. Probably our favorite! Facilities were clean, the creek is fantastic, and the grounds were amazing. We'll be back for longer next year for sure!
Jun 26, 2018
Too many loud groups and no one from the campground on duty after 10:00pm. Also a group on site 110X with seven (count them, SEVEN) pick-up trucks parked on site. Groups in cabins running wild and making a lot of noise. Not a pleasant stay. The campground itself was nice but the camper/residents were definitely in charge.
Jun 26, 2018
We didn’t have pillows in our cabin and the beds were not made when we arrived. Thankfully we had our own pillows. The toilet was not clean. There was fecal matter along the toilet seat. We didn’t spend much time in the cabin and mostly stayed outside which was nice. Lots to do outside for kids, otherwise a nice environment outside.
Jun 26, 2018
We went with 4 other families that were tenting, we had a small camper, I helped our tenter's clean up their sites as there was paper and garbage everywhere, The sites were not cleaned and the grass needed mowing. We were stuck next to 4 large campers that together partied day and night. When we noticed that site 87 next to our family campers was vacant we asked to move there, we were denied, 2x.
Jun 26, 2018
Very lovely campground. Nice level sites, friendly staff. And finding Herkimer diamonds. Had a great time.
Jun 26, 2018
Lovely location on the West Canada Creek. Lots of activities for all ages, just one complaint. The patio sites are too close together. My husband got a round of applause for backing our travel trailer into such a tight squeeze. I like meeting new folks at campgrounds, but a little elbow room is also a good thing.
Jun 26, 2018
All the staff were very friendly, the site is beautiful, lots of activities.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals