Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 17, 2018
Jun 17, 2018
It was fine. We did lose water in the campground but it didn’t affect us very much. We have stayed at Herkimer for quite a few years now. We always have a great time
Jun 17, 2018
Grill was filthy. Sewage connection next to our site had overflowed with liquid, toilet paper and “who knows what else” puddled up. Gross. Showers were dirty. Urinal broken. Sinks were fine. View was nice. Neighbors were nice. Staff was nice.
Jun 16, 2018
The cabin was great! It was in the perfect spot very close to the river and mines, and We had lovely neighbors.
Jun 16, 2018
Just passing through but we will return to see more. Staff friendly and helpful. Grounds and buildings in great repair. Very nice property...
Jun 16, 2018
Setting gorgeous, accommodations perfect
Jun 15, 2018
I stayed in a small cabin and it was wonderful. The campground was clean and the people were very friendly and helpful.
Jun 15, 2018
Great stay. Nice clean facilities. I was a little confused because I thought they had on-site dining for breakfast and lunch but we had to drive about 2 miles to get breakfast. Not an issue if you are really camping but we were just doing a quick over night. Easy access to Herkimer Diamond Mline was great and the kids had fun ( you do have to do some real work to find even small “diamonds”).
Jun 14, 2018
This was a fantastic time! We had a terrific site, right on the creek, the weather was beautiful so we couldn't ask for any more. The people working there are friendly and helpful and the diamond mine was awesome. We had so much fun hammering rocks looking for stones. We will be returning next year to find more stones, and enjoy this beautiful campground once again! Thanks so much KOA!!
Jun 14, 2018
Really nice campground!! Top Mark's for everything but the internal campground roads. They were muddy and needed more gravel. Loved the location and the spots by the river! Everything was very clean in the various facilities.
Jun 14, 2018
This was our very first trip to KOA. I just bought a RV travel trailer. The staff was very accommodating and the other guests made us feel at home. They helped us set up when they learned it was out first trip and they offered advice on how to make future travels more enjoyable.
Jun 14, 2018
My family thoroughly enjoyed all of the amenities at your campground. Starting with the excellent site all the way thru to the fabulous staff that made us feel very welcomed and tended to any situations we may have had....are rated in the highest category. The weather was excellent and the other campers were soooooo very cordial and friendly. Your restrooms and showers were the best....thanks
Jun 13, 2018
All ratings based on the fact we still have not heard from management about our issues with our stay. Pending what/if they say would determine a more accurate heartfelt rating. We shall see??
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 13, 2018
DK cabins are almost in a construction zone. Work starts shortly after 6am. At 8 am 2 workers had a conversation right next to the bedroom window. Cannot park near the cabins. Have to carry everything down a path. I am not disabled but I had an operation on my elbow last year. I arm is now very sore. I don't believe the owners care about anything except making money. TERRIBLE!!!!!
Jun 13, 2018
I can't say enough about this campground! Wonderful staff, great cabins, clean and friendly environment! Can't wait to go back!
Jun 13, 2018
It was a very nice stay and campgrounds were very clean
Jun 13, 2018
Of course another great weekend. Great people friendly and helpful as always. Great weekend with family and friends. Of course our grandchildren had to visit, the love the KOA. See ya this weekend. The only thing is maybe heat the pool
Jun 13, 2018
Lots of activities for the kids. Nice pool. Recommend dead end signage on loop with cabins near road. Difficult to turn camper around once you realize it isn't an exit.
Jun 13, 2018
Great tent site on the river clean bathrooms helpful staff lots of things to do in the area.
Jun 13, 2018
This was our second stay and it was fantastic. We loved all the activities and the staff is so friendly! We will be back again!
Jun 13, 2018
Started out a little ruff with the staff being unable to find my reservation. But a very nice well kept camp ground with very friendly staff.
Jun 13, 2018
We just stayed one night staff was great campground was in great shape.
Jun 12, 2018
Staff was sooooo friendly and helpful. I never felt like I was bothering them. Place was clean. We will be back!!!!!!
Jun 12, 2018
I love it there. I have already booked another weekend in September. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because of the puppy barking continuously in the cabin next door because it was left alone. It was very distracting sitting on the patio trying to enjoy the view listening to that.
Jun 12, 2018
What a wonderful camp ground we will be back in the future.. thank you
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Despite the cold, wet weather, we had a relaxing time by the beautiful West Canada River. Staff was more than accommodating when we didn't care for the first site assigned to us and even gave us an upgraded site with a sewer connection (although we were unable to use it due to the length of our drain hose!). Beautiful, well-maintained park. We're already planning a trip back in the Fall.
Jun 12, 2018
Our family of 5 stayed in creekside cabin and loved it. The mini blinds need cleaning and replacing in some cases... generally had a most lovely weekend at your facility.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
awesome campground-clean-fun and beautiful
Jun 12, 2018
First time at that camp groud, we had very good experience, beautiful place,plenty of things to do.
Jun 12, 2018
Great time nice staff to a plus
Jun 12, 2018
Lots of fun!
Jun 12, 2018
Beautiful resort. Amazing employees. My only very small dislike was how close the campsites are togeather but I can see why due to space being a high commodity at that certain resort. Other then that I would highly recommend the campgrounds and diamond mining experience across the road. Overall we loved the campground and would definitely come back! Thanks!
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
My wife and I have only been tent camping two times previously on state campgrounds, but we will definitely consider staying at a KOA campground again in the future, based on our experience at Herkimer Diamond. For this trip we got a rustic cabin, and it was the perfect hassle-free step up from tenting for us. Beautiful creekside camping options, too. We would go for that, next time.
Jun 12, 2018
Best KOA we have ever had the pleasure to stay in. Be sure to go dig diamonds across the street. Great stay and great finds in the mine.
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 09, 2018
This is one of our favorite campgrounds to stop at when traveling North East Awesome layout with camping right above the river. Always a nice staff present!
Jun 08, 2018
great campsite friendly staff lot of activities
Jun 08, 2018
Wonderful stay. Very clean and well kept. Staff is super friendly!
Jun 07, 2018
Jun 07, 2018
A little over priced
Jun 07, 2018
Jun 06, 2018
Love the campground but was extremely disappointed that I didn’t get right of first refusal on the cabin I was in. I had this cabin because it was next to my grandchildren’s rv site allowing us to camp together. Not being able to get this site for next year means They won’t be able to visit me on their ownbdcause the only available site was at the other end of the campground. Very disappoint
Jun 06, 2018
This was our second time staying at the KOA Herkimer. All went very well. The only "fault" was that there was no outside lightbulb so we were in the dark while outside. Other than that, there were a few improvement done to the cabin from our last visit, all fine improvements. We mentioned it at checkout and it was noted. I'm sure we'll stay again next year.
Jun 06, 2018
Clean campground, good size sites, friendly staff!
Jun 06, 2018
We loved all the extras like the tubing in the river and the dog agility areas.
Jun 06, 2018
Always something to do, great area, love the themed cabins
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals