Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 13 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email This Campground

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Lodging

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2017
Great RV park--very scenic and relaxing
Aug 10, 2017
It was a beautiful campground and loved that you could float down the river without even leaving! The pool was nice too! It was great to see all the activities!
Aug 09, 2017
Great activities for kids, Matt was especially good with them. Someone needs to check more on amenities as big dome telescope did not work, one of the inside telescopes had broken tripod leg, had to make my own bunk beds which I was not happy about especially at my age and NO fitted sheets (??). No shampoo in either cabin, charged $12 xtra for kids in treehouse? High prices for do many issues!
Aug 09, 2017
The stay was short It would have been nicer if the family was next to each other and we didn't get so much rain. Hard to enjoy the evening with the rain. The kids enjoyed the river. The sites were a little small compared to some KOA's we have stayed at but sufficient.
Aug 09, 2017
Beautiful campground and the employees were wonderful. They were very accommodating with getting our campsite next to another couple and even gave us a new extension cord to use for free!!! I would definitely recommend this campground and look forward to visiting here again!!!
Aug 09, 2017
Would be beneficial to have an additional bathroom near sites 95 to 100 area of the campground
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We love staying here! This is our third year staying at the Herkimer KOA. Great for the kids and just as fun as the adults. Diamond mining is addictive and keeps everyone entertained. Grounds were well kept with lots of activities. There were some minor issues which is why I gave 4/5 stars. Can't wait to come back next year!
Aug 09, 2017
The first night we were at the spot on the stream near the tents and there was so much geese poop we couldn't avoid the dogs or ourselves stepping in it ð© I called them and told them it was just our over night stay which was the half way point to our destination but was reluctant to use there campground on our return trip. They gave us a pull through for the same price as our other spot. Aweso
Aug 09, 2017
Speeds by employees need to abide by 4 mile an hour rule. Fire pits were difficult to figure out. Rocks or metal tire rim. Too close together with other camper. Trivia game has to me updated and revised for children and adults. MC needs to be able to pronunciate properly. Questions were confusing since they referred to choices that were not on the page.
Aug 09, 2017
I stayed for a week at site #98 .. Full tenters and I enjoyed every minute of it. I did stay at the same sight last year and fell in love. I have found my campgrounds. There is just one thing that is needed around the tent campsites. Is "RESTROOMS"... there is an open area that would be perfect to put a small facility Right behind the dumpster area. More appreciative and pleasant to have one close
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Family and i enjoyed the mine site was a little small but still very nice cant wait to go back
Aug 09, 2017
When we got there a charcoal grill was missing from our site. Went to the office to tell them and they took care of it right away. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely be staying again.
Aug 09, 2017
Great camping experience. Wonderful friendly staff.
Aug 09, 2017
Just intransit to RI
Aug 09, 2017
We unfortunately didn't get to be able to enjoy our stay. 3 hours after we checked in, a massive storm came through and wiped out our tent, canopy and grill. Branches broke from nearby trees and landed on our tent and blew over the rest of our stuff. Tent poles broken, all of our gear soaked...we were told they were booked and didn't have a place for us to stay. That ended our weekend.
Aug 09, 2017
Great place to stay. Clean bathrooms and showers. Spacious campsites. Very welcoming to pets. Loves staying there.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Our time there was great. 7 years now and this was the best
Aug 09, 2017
It was a last minute idea to go to Herkimer and every thing worked out great. Everyone was very accommodating. Thank you, Bev Harper
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
There were some beautiful sites at this KOA but not the one we were on. Although it was right on the river it did not have one blade of grass on it. It was packed dirt and it had just rained. Gravel would have made a big difference. Also the garbage dumpster was open and overflowing.
Aug 08, 2017
we visit herkimer diamond mines koa yearly. Always enjoy it there. The bathroom was not the cleanest and only one stall was in working order. We did notify the office and he got right on the radio to call maintenance. They don't seem to patrol like they used to. Several sites had more than two cars, and many people. They could use another bathroom down by the tenting area.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. I still have concerns about the dead tree limbs that were in the trees overhead and the damage or injury to people that could and did happen.
Aug 08, 2017
Everything was great except for the pool not being heated. You spend so much time and money on everything else and the Achilles heel of the resort never gets addressed. That is the only thing that would keep me from coming back.
Aug 08, 2017
We were very pleased with the campground. It was well-kept, our cabin was clean, and the young men that were running the camp store were always very helpful and polite. We were happy with the tranquil surroundings, and the quiet, family-friendly atmosphere. We wished that our cabin was a little bigger, but again-it was suitable, our hot water didn't work in the shower, and the fridge wasn't cold.
Aug 08, 2017
Ten year old twins and I stayed two nights while mining Herkimer diamonds. We totally enjoyed our stay, especially having the fridge in our cabin and watching movies in the pavilion at night. Very friendly staff!
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Excellent
Aug 08, 2017
Beautiful place... they need to stock the store for weekdays as they said they sold out of a lot over the weekend.... we arrived on Tuesday Site we booked online & received conformation for was not available...site they wanted us in had deep mud ruts and unable to fit our motorhome, we moved to another and was told we'd receive a partial refund... we're still waiting for that
Aug 08, 2017
one of the cleanest, nicest campgrounds we have ever been to. The staff there could not be more helpful.
Aug 08, 2017
Wonderful property! Possibly the best KOA we've ever stayed at. Spacious sites. Clean facilities & friendly staff! Honestly couldn't ask for more.
Aug 07, 2017
We were in cottage 2 and if that tree had fallen on it with me in it, I would be dead, no doubt about it. Thank god we were with the family down below. Beverly
Aug 07, 2017
It was great. The only thing I would change is the lighting in the Kabins. The bulb is quite dim, and I have to use a flashlight to see into my luggage, etc. Except for that, all is perfect.
Aug 07, 2017
Wish the sites were a little wider.
Aug 07, 2017
Another fun camp out, great facilities and staff was helpful as always. Highly recommended!
Aug 07, 2017
The activities for children were awesome. All of the recreation staff were patient and kind to the children. Cabin was adorable. Only issue I have is the grill did not work even with matches. I didn't bring the kids "camping" so that I could cook in a frying pan. Some trees fell in front of cabins. Act of nature.. Your staff got right on it and I was impressed.
Aug 05, 2017
family/friend get together. Cabin was perfect for us. Air conditioning, bathroom, and a comfortable bed. Right on the river, and everything easy access. Already booked for next year
Aug 05, 2017
had a great time
Aug 04, 2017
site 36 was awful, it was small, utilities on wrong side forcing u to setup far to left. Most of usable area on wrong side of trailer. As usual KOA puts utilities wrong side of camper. So forced to purchase extension at hearty price or go without. sites are CLOSE. Great parts, the river, things to do, helpful staff, clean bathrooms. Adam led kids projects, he was great!
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 03, 2017
Very clean, with nice campsites, and lots to do! Would definitely come back
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
The campground is nice. Facilities are clean. Deluxe site with pad, grill, and table with chairs on river is spacious.
Aug 02, 2017
Had a wonderful time. We stayed in a cabin on the river and the view was gorgeous. Sitting on the porch rocking with my coffee in the morning was the best! The grand kids loved the fossil dig we had at our site and had a ball unearthing the dinosaur. The campground was neat and clean and everyone was very friendly.
Aug 01, 2017
The staff was very professional and accommodating. However we had a conflict with another group of campers for the second year in a row over being by the water. They used profane language, threw our belongings in the river and at us. The staff called the owner and we were told to move. They were not at all concerned about how they treated fellow campers. disappointing.
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
I really love this place, my only complaint is the temperature of the pool water. While the children don't mind it, there were few adults in it. It really is too cold.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award