Herkimer Diamond KOA

Open April 14 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Reserve: 800-562-0897

Info: 315-891-7355

Info: 315-891-7355

Email

4626 State Route 28 North

Herkimer, NY 13350

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 12, 2017
We have stayed here a couple of times; each time we spent only 1 night because were just passing through. We love the river setting and will certainly look to stay again when we are in the area!
Nov 10, 2017
We loved the cabin we stayed in eith our pup . For once fishing was just outside our door, pizza across the street, and I found a huge herkimer diamond!
Nov 07, 2017
I always enjoy this campground. Very clean and so many activities. The sunday pancakes are awesome. Super friendly staff. The cabins are perfect.
Nov 05, 2017
We stayed there because it was one of the few campgrounds still open and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was an added pleasure. The owner stopped and talked to us, the piano and the excellent food was quite a bonus. My husband and I were wishing we had time to stay longer and discussed maybe coming back.
Nov 05, 2017
We recently purchased a 25' motor home and this was our first camping trip with it. We reserved a pull through site with full hook ups so we could try everything. The site was spacious & fairly level. Restrooms were clean. Staff was friendly & helpful. For it being so late in the season, there were still planned activities within the park which was a nice surprise. Definitely would stay again.
Nov 04, 2017
Nov 03, 2017
Had a wonderful time! Will be back!
Nov 03, 2017
Great location, clean, and fun things for the kids!
Nov 03, 2017
Very clean restroom and showers. Very pleasant staff. Enjoy the waterfront sites on the brook. We plan to return again next fall.
Nov 03, 2017
We enjoyed a lovely 3 week stay. Staff were very helpful & friendly. Bathrooms clean & campground attractively laid out. Activities every weekend. Found museums, zoo, waterfalls, lakes, historic sites, caverns, cider mills, canal boat & railroad tours to entertain us in the surrounding area. A truly worthwhile experience.
Nov 02, 2017
Absolutely wonderful, Dr. Renee stopped and chatted with us during dinner at the Miner's Table restaurant. What a lovely hostess/owner!
Nov 02, 2017
Nov 02, 2017
It was very nice.
Nov 02, 2017
We stayed in the Solar 3 unit. It was set up very nicely. Could have been cleaner, but not a deal breaker. Loads of dust on the fake flowers and the shower was completely grimey. I cleaned it before I would lit my kids in it. We loved the gardens and the fire pit. My husband grilled dinner. It was really nice having those features, as well as a kitchen. The heater was broken the 1st n
Nov 02, 2017
Awesome ill book again next year..i love those rocks..
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Oct 31, 2017
Boy scout weekend was great. Would definitely do again. Steve distasio troop 4 hopkinton.
Oct 30, 2017
Great campsites. Bathrooms were clean
Oct 30, 2017
Icecream social was nice and for a good cause!
Oct 29, 2017
Brought my scout troop for the geology merit badge weekend. Very well organized. Would recommend this other scout groups.
Oct 29, 2017
Nice campground. Huge boy scout jamboree underway so energy level was off the charts! Kids running everywhere, but majority were polite and respectful of campsites. Experienced problem at check-in. They had us in a pull-in site( reserved back-in). Finally got the correct type but hard to navigate due to huge rock at entrance and cars everywhere. Suggest visit when less crowded.
Oct 28, 2017
We had the best time!!! Bathrooms were so clean and the staff was so friendly and helpful. I would definetly recommend this KOA. We will also be coming back next summer for more!!!
Oct 27, 2017
Had a fantastic time! Beautiful cabin.
Oct 27, 2017
As always a fine KOA to visit.
Oct 27, 2017
Our stay was ok. Except, When I made the reservations we were told that the 3 sites I reserved were adjacent to each other. There was to be ONE site between us that was already occupied and could not be changed. When we arrived the two pull thru sites were at opposite ends of the row and the third site was 5 sites away. The pull thru sites were fixed but the 3rd could not be changed. inconvenient
Oct 27, 2017
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 26, 2017
Enjoyed the facilities. Happy to have potable water to get to and enjoyed having the river nearby too.
Oct 26, 2017
We stayed 10/20-10/22 in a tent for boyscout jamboree weekend. We had a wonderful time. This KOA is awesome. Can't wait to go back next year.
Oct 26, 2017
This is our 2nd time to camp there. We love it. Nice campground.
Oct 26, 2017
Wonderful!!!
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 26, 2017
We love camping at the Herkimer Diamond KOA. It is so beautiful there on West Canada Creek. The only complaints we have is trying to change our site which would have been at the other end from our original site and not on the water. That was corrected and our site was great. The other thing is trying to raise our nightly rate 10.00 more than what we were told. Camp there 1 or 2 times per season.
Oct 26, 2017
Had a great time, as always. However, a few of the Boy Scouts were obnoxious. Can't control everything, especially with a group that large. Overall, we love coming here!
Oct 26, 2017
We had a enjoyable 1 night stay. It was a little crowded due to the Boy Scout weekend. Staff and facilities were very good. Camp sights were level and complete.
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 24, 2017
The new upgrades to the cabins (linens, towels, TV) are great! It will be nice to not have to bring bedding with me in the future. Also in the past, if there was rain we would have to leave to go do something bc sitting In an empty cabin all night was no fun, but now at least my wife and I can cuddle up under a blanket and watch a movie or something. GREAT ADDITIONS ALL AROUND!!
Oct 23, 2017
Cute cabin (DK2). Nicely located and very convenient amenities. However... No heat or hot water for the first night. Cold showers = unpleasant. Only a thin blanket with no heat = brrr. Someone fixed it next day but not much sleep first night. Coffee maker had a moldiness to it. Couldn't use it.
Oct 23, 2017
We were there for the geology merit badge. We stayed in cabins which were great! The scouts and families I was with all want to come back next year for the mining in society badge. The only thing I would suggest is sending out a list of items to bring to use while mining. It was mentioned to bring goggles, but I would also suggest to add work gloves and knee pads. Thankyou for a great program.
Oct 23, 2017
Had a awesome time at your campground.
Oct 23, 2017
Cabins are nice, beautifully situated near water. Only issue was microwave in cabin only worked for a few minutes, then if you cooked something in it longer then 1 min it would just stop heating (light still on, table still turns). Because of this we had to throw out our dinner one night because we couldn't cook it.
Oct 23, 2017
Although the Herkimer Diamond Mine lost their store and museum in a devastating fire a week before, the Geology Merit Badge Boy Scout Jamboree was on as scheduled this past weekend. The scouts from Troop 135, Glasco, NY had a great time while earning their badges. The program was excellent, the KOA staff excellent, the KOA Campground excellent, the Diamond Mine excellent, & the weather excellent!
Oct 23, 2017
Great time, the cabin we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. The campgrounds are very pretty and welcoming. We loved mining the next day and found a lot of really great Herkimer diamonds so that was a lot of fun. I've already recommended it to many people and would love to come back one day and do it again.
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 22, 2017
Perfect, Perfect, perfect! We chose a cabin on the river, beautiful! All the perks. Friendly staff, great stay overall. Peaceful, just what the Dr. ordered! We'll be back, love KOA!!
Oct 22, 2017
Beautiful, well kept campground. We really enjoyed the river. Excellent area for exploring, taking in the countryside. Nice people in local areas. Great experience!!
Oct 22, 2017
We came to the Herkimer KOA after our season of running a trout fishing lodge. This was the perfect spot to relax and unwind. A good balance of natural beauty and smashing stuff. We had tons of fun finding diamonds and loved our little cabin. We will be back we when we can!
Oct 21, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award