Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Reserve: 800-562-9497

Info: 304-535-6895

Info: 304-535-6895

Email

343 Campground Road

Harpers Ferry, WV 25425

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 03, 2017
Loved the campground and all The activities Some Campsites very rough and rocky with crevacies from many years of rain water We loved our cabin Map not correct We thought 212 was next to k127-Not true There are two tent sites between Bathrooms clean Lots of showers Pancakes awesome Staff very personable I plan to bring my Girl Scouts to Camp next spring
Oct 03, 2017
Great campground with tons to do. Best store of any KOA we've been to (which is lots). Great game room and snack bar and the wine/coffee shop is really enjoyable. Only complaint is the sites are very cramped together with minimal separation and almost NO lawns for your door-side. Would be nice to reduce by a few sites to give more space.
Oct 03, 2017
Hello! We enjoyed that there were lots of fun things for the kids to do at this KOA. However, our tentsite, site 205, was NOT smooth- lots of rocks and acorns. For $56/night, it would be great if the tent site was on a place where it was already smooth- grass, perhaps? Also, the tables at the pancake hut were not cleaned between days and the bathroom in the activity building could have been clean
Oct 03, 2017
Oct 03, 2017
Love this campground... it is kid friendly and always some kind of activity going on... staff is so pleasent
Oct 03, 2017
First time at a KOA, i didn't like that i couldn't pre book a specific site, when we got there the campground was half empty and we were placed 5 feet from the toilets on a crappy site. I went to office and got us moved. I also didn't like a $10 activity fee, i have no children and didn't use anything there. I also didn't like a 11 am checkout,allothercampgrounds check out is 3. I won't book a

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It looks like you checked in at 2:36PM. If check out was at 3pm, you would have had to wait until 4 or 5 to check in. The previous guest would not have been gone. We do allow for sites to be guaranteed,there is a $20 fee to do so. We are sorry for any confusion.
Oct 02, 2017
Our stay itself was great. Staff was courteous and helpful. Campsites was roomy, clean, & level. Our problems developed several months earlier when we made reservations. The person on the other end of the phone had no idea what he was doing and didn't really care. Management finally straightened it out. Mini-golf course was deplorable 3 years ago and still is today.
Oct 02, 2017
Everyone at KOA was friendly, nice, and went out of their way to help with questions about the campgrounds and area attractions. Great pancake breakfast, clean facilities, bathrooms and showers. It was a great weekend for a large group of us that reserved several campsites. Thanks again KOA!
Oct 02, 2017
Easy in/out. Pull through site but no shade, not level front to back, fairly close to neighbor. Utilities fine. Laundry handy. Nice staff. No problem to stay an extra hour to make a repair. Clean CG with great location -- next to Harper's Ferry, not far to Antietam, Monocacy, Cedar Creek / Belle Grove, Shenandoah. Woke up to a barking dog and chickens each a.m., but would stay again.
Oct 02, 2017
This is the best KOA in existence.
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
very nice stay but parking my truck at the site was a bit tight. but plan to return to return in the future but would try another site.
Oct 02, 2017
Loved it. Weather was perfect. Next time, we will make sure to make it into downtown :)
Oct 02, 2017
End of season, shutting down, Pool closed, that clean and hospitable.
Oct 02, 2017
The KOA folks were very helpful and accommodating to our needs. The campground offers so much for folks of all ages. The location is perfect!! So many nearby attractions to visit. We have stayed here twice and we are planning our next visit! :)
Oct 02, 2017
The purpose of our stay was to visit Harpers Ferry and ride the C & O bike path, which we were able to do both and enjoyed our experience at both. The campground was also very nice.
Oct 02, 2017
Wonderful campground, well maintained.
Oct 02, 2017
Had a great time. Facilities were very clean. Staff was courteous. Would stay here again.
Oct 02, 2017
While we played the mini golf putt putt, that is a law suit waiting to happen. Both my wife and I twisted ankles (nothing bad) because of the deteriorating conditions of the wood of the course. Wood was giving way as we walked the mini golf course. Need a sign or it should be closed. Hopefully repaired since we love mini golf.
Oct 02, 2017
Really enjoyed all the activities for kids!!
Oct 02, 2017
The campground was very nice and the people very friendly! A little dusty at our spot but we are camping!!!! The only thing I would recommend is when customers are coming in after dark it may be beneficial to have someone in a golf cart direct them to their space, the signs were difficult to read. Other than that we really enjoyed ourselves.
Oct 01, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
WONDERFUL!
Sep 30, 2017
Small sites, rack-em-stack-em.
Sep 30, 2017
Dog yard bag dispenser empty and poison ivy on trees there. Huge ditch in front of site caused our hitch to bottom out. I asked to have it filled with gravel but no one ever did. Bathrooms were not clean, toilets didn't flush correctly, showers cold and low pressure, doors didn't shut. Lots of KOA workers driving around on golf carts not doing anything. This could be a super campground, but...
Sep 28, 2017
Came in on weekend and full. Was really close quarters. However, when folks left on Sunday, a new camper was put right next to us when there were lots of other open spaces. Would have been nice to have a little more room especially when the new guy had his sewers right next to our picnic table. Made eating unbearable because of the smell. Only campground we found in this area so didn't have much c
Sep 28, 2017
Wonderful campground! We had a nice wide site and the only negative I have would be it could use some grass.
Sep 28, 2017
Friendly staff, fun for kids, and relaxing environment!
Sep 28, 2017
Sep 27, 2017
Restrooms not too clean/bugs in showers Some noise past 10pm The wood and tablecloth at our site was nice.
Sep 27, 2017
Great location to visit Harpers Ferry & the national park. Beautiful views. We were lucky enough to have a spacious site, but the majority of the pull through sites are extremely tight. I noticed one of our neighbor's picnic table was right up against the next camper's slide. Enjoyed very much the walking tour & the shooting of the cannon. Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable.
Sep 27, 2017
Beautiful scenery in and around campground. Our second site was perfect, campground needs to extend pool season and some activities during the week Of September/October. Both of my stays were in koa's In September and both times pools were closed! Campground was very nice we will be back! Clean bath houses.
Sep 27, 2017
A water spigot in the dog run would be nice
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Love KOA however we were extremely disappointed that there was no civil war reenactment. We also wish the pool had been open while we were there since it was 90° this weekend...September is a tricky month & everyone closes their pool after labor day so we understand. We may not come back next year since no reenactment going on but we will be back. Everyone's always so nice & we love "our spot". T
Sep 26, 2017
Our stay was very nice.Staff was very friendly,and so were the other campers.The campground was very clean.Having the free all you can eat pancake breakfast is a great idea.The pancakes were very good.The only negative point Is that there was no cell phone service to let our family know that we were ok and having a good time.
Sep 26, 2017
Nice place, would visit again. Need cable issues addressed.
Sep 26, 2017
Although everyone was very nice the grounds were not kept. The grass was not cut the sites were very small. The place was run down. Mini golf had aged corrosion and was infested with crickets. Activities were good and the store was nice but I wouldn't come again.
Sep 26, 2017
It was nice. The RV spot was not grassy as I would of preferred, it was all dirt and rock,but it was level. The over all park and place was nice and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean, but could use some upgrades and repairs (ie: locks on bathrooms stalls broken). The dog park was great. Will need to try it out in the summer when they have more activities available.
Sep 26, 2017
Did not visit the battle field. We stayed at the same site as last time. Enjoyed our stay!
Sep 26, 2017
Campground has a lot of features . Sadly we did not use many of them. Really narrow roads threw the campground. for 89 dollar a night maybe look else were in the future.
Sep 26, 2017
I would have given a higher rating but we came in at dark, around 7:30, and our site was not really flat, it would be nice if the parks could go around and re grade the gravel after a RV leaves, other than that the bathrooms were clean.
Sep 25, 2017
i have been to this campground many times through the year. But recent changes in the past few years has caused my unhappiness each time we visit. rates are increasing and sites are getting moved around to be smaller in sections.
Sep 25, 2017
Very nice campground and very nice staff. Some sites though are very tight and difficult to get into, especially for longer trailers. We are definitely returning but we picked our sites based on what we could see ourselves!
Sep 25, 2017
We arrived and parked on site 171 and loved the tree cover and wide site. We enjoyed the free pancakes each morning. We were very disappointed that the previously advertised 'Civil War Re-Enactor's weekend was cancelled, with no email notification, but loved the civil war bus tour into Harpers Ferry. Bathhouses were close, neighbors were respectful, and camp store was stocked with everything!!!!
Sep 25, 2017
Campsites for RVs are too close together. Getting in and out of the space is challenging but we especially did not enjoy setting up 5feet away from our neighbors as they cooked their dinner. It felt like we were invading their space.
Sep 25, 2017
We always enjoy our stay at the Hapers Ferry KOA. We were a little disappointed that the events they usually have regarding the Civil War did not occur this weekend but otherwise it was a good stay as always.
Sep 25, 2017
I was very disappointed to find out after arrival that the Civil War reenactment would not take place. Our group was looking forward to it. We were told that you were "getting away from this activity". If that were the case you should have removed it from your website. We were also very disappointed at the condition of the mini-golf. It definitely needs some TLC. Staff was very nice.
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
We had a beautiful weekend...love Harpers Ferry KOA. Friendly staff. Two minor comments: As long as they are not being wild, kids over a certain age (i.e. 13 maybe) should be permitted to drive a golf cart with permission from their parents. Most campers carry (or should carry) insurance should anything happen. Second, quiet hours should be extended to at least 11 pm. We will be back!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals