Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Basecamp for the great outdoors!

Campground Reviews

Oct 10, 2019
Only problem, the site we were in was very sloped. Hard to level your rv.
Oct 10, 2019
Thank you.
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 09, 2019
They are all about packing in the RVs & tents; not about quality sites & service. Cable connection horrible. Water hookup had an add on that leaked the entire weekend. KL07 had patio improvements, but no easy access to the site w/o climbing up thru the straw/netting. One family member tripped/fell on netting & was lucky not to break both wrists. Focus on quality, not quantity.Our grp won't be back
Oct 09, 2019
Great location and staff. Kids had a great time on the bounce pillow and the Halloween activities. The haunted house was awesome.
Oct 09, 2019
Always have a fantastic stay at this KOA. Staff is friendly and accommodating. The grounds are well kept! Would highly recommend, as I personally stay multiple times yearly.
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 09, 2019
One niught campoing at a tent site. Bathrooms were convenient and clean. Like many KOAs, Harpers Ferry used toilet and sink and separate rooms for unisex showers. We only took advantage of one amenity: miniature golf. The check-in representative let us out of a second night reservation with no penalty which was much appreciated.
Oct 09, 2019
Smoke alarm went off at drop of dime. Pancake hut is becoming delapidated. Activities were fun as always.
Oct 09, 2019
Oct 09, 2019
Very clean and well maintained! One of the best camp stores I have seen. Great location to visit the area ��
Oct 09, 2019
It was fantastic! Your campground is very inviting and there are many activities to partake in. The pancake breakfast on weekends or above great! There are even so many things to go and see right around the area.
Oct 09, 2019
There was a burn ban so we were bummed that we couldn't have a campfire, n the top of the right side turn, we couldnt get around to get to our site bc there were so many campers that were tightly in spaces, we had to back up n go up over the hill to get around, ugh
Oct 09, 2019
I give the campground three stars, but I give the actual camp site I had just one. My rating would have been higher if it weren't for this. I was only able to get my 5th wheel into the spot I had due to arriving a day before most people. Had the sites in front of mine already been set up, I'm not sure I would have gotten my camper into the site.
Oct 09, 2019
We stayed in a tent site. This was our 3rd year. Each year we have noticed a lot of deterioration of these sites. It's sad. Since it's harder and harder to find good tent sites ANYWHERE I'm sure we will be back. Just sucks for us that we know it will not be great. Just ok. I'm providing feedback hoping someone cares to pay more attention to the tent sites, not to be a jerk.
Oct 09, 2019
We enjoyed our camping cabin, I loved how it was tucked away at the edge of the camp ground. But, our cabin was infested with stink bugs. I know they can’t always control it but there were so many dead ones on the floor it seemed like no one took the time to clean. They landed on us and crawled all over us as we slept. Other than that, we had a nice stay!
Oct 09, 2019
very pricey... extra because of week end $10..00 per person over reg price ..charged extra for pets.. wanted to stay a extra nite and 2 different clerks came up with 2 different prices...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It looks like you did a walk-in reservation for for a nearly sold out Halloween Weekend. Resort fees are charged per night and only on Fridays and Saturdays this time of year. You received a your 3rd night free and then extended for one more night. Your average nightly rate was $49.13.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Very disappointed that not one family but 2 had pitbulls at the campground. I dont feel it is monitored well enough. Even after reported to the office they were still in the campground. I hate that it is necessary to exclude family pets but one famy had 2 and that creates a pack mentality and we were unable to use the dog park because of it.
Oct 08, 2019
Kids were busy and plenty to do. Bath handle at laundry bldg needs replaced. Staff and grounds great. No campfire stinko but all else top notch!!
Oct 08, 2019
Very tight site. Other then that campground was nice
Oct 08, 2019
We enjoy the campground because it is only 40 minutes from the house & it offers so many things to do when the grand-daughters come & stay with us. However, the sites themselves are not maintained at all & many of them, not level. A weekend each Spring needs to be used to do some serious maintenance on the campground, the camp sites, covering the tree roots with soil & sod, so campers return.
Oct 08, 2019
Awesome Halloween weekend. The haunted house was great - more than expected! While I love it, I also appreciate that when I told the character to back off - it did! Scary, but also respectful!
Oct 08, 2019
Staff is great. Haunted House Awesome. Love staying here.
Oct 08, 2019
Halloween festivities were awesome!
Oct 08, 2019
All of the staff was pleasant to deal with from reservations to checkout! Great area and unlike other campgrounds that little extra of picking up trash constantly really was a nice, kept the bees aways! We had 6 sites & one cabin - we were testing out the campground vs the campground we have stayed for the last 25 years! Harpers Ferry KOA won hands down!! We will be back again next year!
Oct 08, 2019
The cabin was very spacious and came with almost everything we needed for a great camping weekend! We will definitely be returning!
Oct 08, 2019
Wonderful Halloween activities.
Oct 08, 2019
We arrived on a Saturday with reservations. We were put in site 139 and were unable to level our trailer. The site was also located across from the public bathroom. All Saturday evening and Sunday morning ignorant campers walked right thru the site. Sunday when crowds cleared they graciously moved us to a different site upon request. World of difference and happy they could help.
Oct 08, 2019
It was great. Love KOA HF
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 08, 2019
Always a great time!
Oct 08, 2019
Awesome campground..we love this place!
Oct 08, 2019
My cabin had a broken window (wouldn't latch) that was a stairway to heaven for stink bugs... they were overwhelming and even though I was supposed to be "camping," they were even more difficult to tolerate given the lack of campfires allowed. No, not a KOA mandate, but given that camping and camp fires go hand in hand, paying full price for a stink bug infested hut felt selfish and insensitive.
Oct 07, 2019
Our deluxe cabin was lovely except it had ants, door knob into bunk beds loose, toilet seat loose, blinds cracked and dirty, no access to brand new patio-need a step and a railing, hay netting out front a trip hazard. I'm lucky I only have a scraped up body and not 2 broken wrists from a fall10-6-19. Lots of activities 4 kids. Hay ride had a flat tire no back up tractor?? Pancake hut great!
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
Love the area......like most of the sites....thank you, we were able to have site 99! Missed the pancakes....(:!
Oct 07, 2019
Alittle sad no camp fire but do know that's not KOA's fault. Would have been nice to be notified of that.
Oct 05, 2019
we couldn't connect to sewer, desk clark qiuckly and pleasantly changed our camp site.
Oct 05, 2019
Enjoyed the first couple of nights, but by the weekend it was horrendously crowded. I left on a Saturday and could barely get hooked up and out of the campground
Oct 04, 2019
Nice site. Loved seeing the deer throughout the day!
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Overall good. A bit more staff training or engagement would go a long way. Many breaks taken were announced only by the amenity being closed, no note left (snack bar in arcade, Grapes & Grinds).
Oct 04, 2019
This KOA was much better than expected based on various reviews. The full hook-up pull throughs (green on map) are shady and quiet. The campground has several civil war battlefield features and one of the biggest stores I have seen at a KOA. I usually look for a state or other public park, but the choices in the area are few. Showers were not the best, but ok. I would return.
Oct 03, 2019
We stay 2x year usually. I will say its gone down a bit, not maintained as well. Trees in loop need to be removed or cut way back as they scrap rigs entering and exiting. I had an incident with staff twice, once at the jumping pillow and once at front desk, was very disappointed with the staff attitude this trip. Alot of new sites and upgraded cabins but more asthetics needed.
Oct 03, 2019
most crowded campground we ever were in! neighbors sewer dump was on our site, but he was careful when he dumped. constant parade of golf carts on both ends of our pull through site. very short site, even though we only have a 24' camper. large tree stump was a challenge to walk around. trailer across from us had 3 constantly yapping dogs under their awning, only made worse by owners yelling!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The campground was quite busy over Labor Day weekend. It is a very popular with many other families just like yours.
Oct 02, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
very relaxing peaceful and quiet
Nov 17, 2019
The campground was great, only down side was trying to leave it's quite difficult with a larger RV!
- corey stiles on Google
Nov 10, 2019
Always a great place for a weekend get away.
- Richard MacWilliams on Google
Nov 08, 2019
Very nice campground just outside of Harper's Ferry. All different kinds of sites, deluxe with concrete patios, full hookup with 50 amp, no hookups, cabins, and deluxe cabins. Does not have concrete pads, all are stone/gravel. Plenty of amenities on site for kids and adults including mini golf, pools, arcade, basketball, volleyball, playground, movie theater.
- Mark Swift on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.