Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA Reviews

Be sure to head on over to our Blog page for information and updates on our Policies & Safeguards

More Details
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Nov 07, 2019
Great campground and great staff. I have been to this KOA 10 times and it keeps getting better. Hope to get back next year.
Nov 07, 2019
Site 162 was very disappointing. Not nearly large enough for our 5th wheel. Site 161 Water, Electric and sewer lines were too close to our trailer. We had to unhook the neighbors sewer line in order to get into the site. Otherwise we would have to run over it. Also, just noticed that my VIK membership discount was not applied. Usually love your camp but not this time.
Nov 07, 2019
Very nice and clean, great camp store, sites are tight in some areas but not all. Employees very helpful. Went in fall and was very pretty.
Nov 07, 2019
Wonderful area, beautiful surroundings. Unfortunately, found the camp store staff unpleasant. No smiles, poor information when checking in. Not very helpful with additional questions. The back in sites are very un-level, several with trees directly in the center of the sites or staggered inconveniently. The distance between a tree on our site and the electrical pole was a very tight squeeze.
Nov 07, 2019
Nov 07, 2019
Friendly staff, great location. Most sites are to close together. Lots of large group partiers as neighbors. Nice camp store. Enjoyed full hook up, wifi and laundry facility.
Nov 06, 2019
We had a good time, a lot of the 30 amp sites are narrow unless you are on the end. When we called and made our reservation we told them how big we were and that we had slides on both sides. The first site that we got was very narrow and we couldn't open the slides all the way. They were very accommodating and moved us to an end site so that we could have more room.
Nov 06, 2019
Nov 06, 2019
Overall, our stay was great. The only complaint I could make is that, in any 99% empty campground, we had neighbors in the cabin directly behind us. Even that would have been OK, but their fire ring was only a few feet from out back window. They were very polite, and tried to keep their conversations low, but it was a little tough to get our grandkids to sleep.
Nov 05, 2019
Nov 05, 2019
Great time only thing I find wrong with the campground are the roads are very narrow
Nov 05, 2019
Sight was clean and people were very friendly.
Nov 05, 2019
Always our go to KOA for a weekend getaway. Love this place
Nov 05, 2019
Fantastic! !!! We truly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. Friendly staff. Clean reatrooms and a lot of things to do. Location was perfect with shuttle to Harpers Ferry. We"ll ne nack!
Nov 05, 2019
The campground was very well kept. The kids enjoyed the activities.
Nov 05, 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed Halloween weekend festivities at the KOA. The wine tasting was great, too. I would definitely consider coming back again next year. My only negative feedback was the cost of the cabin- it was overpriced. I haven't stayed at this KOA during the year, so I don't know if the price was high because of the special weekend festivities or if it is that cost all year.
Nov 05, 2019
Had a 34' RV and was given a sight that had a big drop that my levelers wouldn't come out. We had to change sites at dark and was given a terrible one that was all mud. I know things happen but they should know what sites can handle a certain length.
Nov 05, 2019
Camp sites are way to small
Nov 04, 2019
Nov 04, 2019
We have stayed here several times and every stay has been perfect. This time the cabin refrigerator has blood in it, there was food and ants all around the bed as well as dirty socks and underwear at the side of the bed. There was also ALOT of trash (broken toys, cans etc) around the cabin. Not sure what changed but was very disappointed.
Nov 04, 2019
It was excellent we started a family camping trip last year and loved it here this year .We will be back it was 12 of us this year
Nov 04, 2019
We had a wonderful time and definitely will be back. The only thing that we had an issue with is our cabin had a thick layer of dirt on the floor. It looked the the cabin may have flooded and the dirt from the rain water was left behind. Other than that everything was great!
Nov 04, 2019
The floor of the cabin we stayed in was extremely dirty. There was such a thick layer of dust that it got all over everything. A couple of cob webs are to be expected, but theres just no reason for that dust. There should be better upkeep, as that’s a cheap, simple quality control step. There was also a significant gap under the door so pests could come in. Showers were also incredibly run down.
Nov 04, 2019
Fantastic stay! Our cabin was great and we loved the amenities.
Nov 04, 2019
Everything about the campground was great except for the bathrooms and bath houses!! Even after going in after they had been clean they were still disgusting. This is my third trip to this KOA with the same experience.
Nov 03, 2019
Nov 03, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay & will definitely come back again. Easily accessible and close to a lot of history. Great location, clean & well maintained
Nov 02, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
It's a lovely park. I just object to the $10 resort fee. We didn't have to pay it because the amenities were closed, but I would be very unhappy to have to pay it. We stay at KOA because they're mostly very nice but we NEVER use the pool etc. How about a wristband for those who want to use them and pay the fee. After about 30 different KOA stays, this is the first to have a resort fee.
Nov 01, 2019
Overall experience was good, we loving Halloween camping. We reserved a year in advance and were still out in a crappy spot right at the front parking lot though, which was disappointing. Kids activities were meh & there weren’t many. Haunted house was great! Kids on the jumping pad were allowed to misbehave, fight, & target black guests, also very disappointing. Playground is also meh.
Nov 01, 2019
All of the workers and managers go above and beyond. The facilities are kept in great shape. There is tons of things to do for children and adults alike. We tend to stay at Harpers Ferry in the spring and the fall. Their fall festivities are awesome. from hayrides to haunted houses to costume contest to pumpkin carving, and as usual the free pancake breakfast!
Oct 30, 2019
Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Nice camp store. Clean bathrooms. Convenient location.
Oct 30, 2019
Love it hear. We return every year. This was our second time this year !?.. I call it our home campground.
Oct 30, 2019
Fast check in, friendly helpful staff, enjoyed learning Harpers Ferry history and campground located where some artillery encampments. Two nits, sewer hookups not threaded so hard to stack wood on top to hold elbow stationary and purchased wood did not burn. These are not big deal but sewer hookup improvements prevent accidental spills
Oct 29, 2019
I was only able to stay for one night, but even so, my contacts with various staff were helpful, positive and friendly. The facilities were awesome and I was pleased and surprised by your location right next to the National Park Visitor Center and Civil War battlefields. I will be back!
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
We had a ground of 6 come in on Thursday. Maintain lot had camper already on it. I went to office to check it out and the gentleman I talked to was very rude. He Shrugged his shoulders and said she didn’t book until Friday. We all was in the office last year and booked for 2019 so that wasn’t a true statement. Not sure if we are coming back. My aunt to to leave Thursday night with her camper a
Oct 29, 2019
always a great time at the KOA, don't like to additional $10.00 Resort Fee, or $20.00 lock in fee, I feel as a KOA member shouldn't have to pay, it should be a perk of being a member, not all KOA's charge these fees.
Oct 29, 2019
Every thing was very good
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
We usually love the KOA in Harpers Ferry. It is one of our favorite campsites. However our last stay over the weekend for Halloween was not the experience we are used to. On Friday and Saturday nights there were several campers that were blaring music and being rowdy after 10pm quiet time keeping our two year old awake. I would also like to see the campground out in WiFi.
Oct 29, 2019
I had three camping sites for all my children and grandchildren. Everyone had a wonderful time.
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
Arrived on a Thursday- it was very noisy until 2am, even though quiet hours were supposed to be from 10pm. Campground was very crowded as it was Halloween celebration. Probably perfect for families with kids, but not for us, as we were also charged for activities that we did not want to attend. Sunday night was the only night that was quiet enough for us to enjoy a fire.
Oct 29, 2019
Good stay. Sites are a little tight. Halloween weekend was nicely done. Restrooms we're clean. Our site had the remains of a tree that had been cut down and the stump ground out leaving a bit pile of debris right next tonthe fire pit. Grounds responded promptly to our request to clean it up. He removed three large tractor bucket fulls but left two.
Oct 29, 2019
We did not know that Halloween camping was a "thing." We couldn't believe all of the decorations and the atmosphere of the campground. While this is definitely not our kind of thing (at all), we still enjoyed the beautiful weather and majesty of God's creation. Fall camping is my favorite and Harper's Ferry KOA is one of the very best places to stay.
Mar 16, 2020
Outstanding location and impressive camp store!
- Stephen Otto on Google
Mar 12, 2020
One of the best camping trip I went to. Tent camped. It was impressive never going to a koa before. They had a sleeping area, arcade, and something was always happening.
- James Braun on Google
Feb 06, 2020
We rolled in at the end of January for one day but stayed two because Harpers Ferry is awesome. My husband and I are on a journey to decide where we want to live next and eventually retire. We found it in Harpers Ferry. The KOA was nice even though most amenities were closed for the season. I returned first week in February on our trip back to the west coast, but just had to stay there one more time. While in the area I signed a lease and will be living close by. Thank You Harpers Ferry KOA. You’ll always be a part of our story.
- Stephanie Cruz on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.