Halifax West KOA Canada

Open May 2 - October 31

Reserve: 888-562-4705

Info: 902-865-4342

Email

3070 Highway 1

Upper Sackville, NS B4E 3C9 Canada

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 15, 2017
The unmonitored use by children of pedal cars in the park was extremely unpleasant - they race around with no fear or common sense creating a very unsafe environment - After staying at this park - We have resolved to boycott any park that promotes the use of these kiddy vehicles - While we understand the need to generate income for the park - they need to be used in a designated area away from rvs
Aug 14, 2017
The place was clean in general the shower was not working I had a neighbour with 3 dogs Who was barking . By chance they are not all like that the one in charlottetown pei was beautiful.
Aug 14, 2017
Reserved 2 nights (motorcycle camping in tents) via the KOA website. Worked very well. Friendly staff. Well-maintained facilities. Great opportunities for in-camp activities. Loved the ice cream shop and the pancake breakfasts. This is one busy campground!
Aug 13, 2017
It was absolutely beautiful the park the city
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice cites campground is clean lots to do pancake breakfast was excellent
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Great location and very accomodating staff. Bathrooms were clean and all my needs were met. Wifi cut out occasionally, but no real comlaints. I would not hesitate to return.
Aug 13, 2017
Friendly helpful staff, clean washrooms all good. On the downside we had to move to another spot on the second night which was hilly and not good for tent sleeping. We will be back.
Aug 13, 2017
We loved the location, convenient for us traveling back into shopping district. Washrooms and shower area busy had to wait longer than I wished to use these facilities.
Aug 12, 2017
Great place to stay, downtown Halifax is @40 minutes away.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Aug 12, 2017
Excellent Customer Service. Needs some Campground upgrades to make it awesome.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Nice campground, but we found the electric and water hookups too far from the site. We had to park on the edge of the site to reach the hookup on the next site and our hookups are on the front of our trailer.
Aug 12, 2017
The spot we stayed in was very small in fact not possible to even use the firepit as it was so close to neighbours 5th wheel. On the other side we had to almost walk under the neighbours awning to plug in and hook up water. There was only one shower working. The playground jumping pillow was deflated The reception was great during check in. The fee was a bit high for the location
Aug 11, 2017
Staff was friendly. Small and unkept sites. Access to campground was limited. Only one lane in and out.
Aug 11, 2017
Was awarded a site right in front of kids playground. What a nightmare !! Parents leave their kids unattended and some are just plain brats. What was most upsetting is that even if their is a quiet time starting at 10pm, it's not enforced. Kids were screaming around the campground 'til 1am ... what parents leave their kids up that late?? Definitely not going back to this place !!
Aug 11, 2017
Tent sites are well protected as they are beautifully surrounded by trees. I give 3 stars because of shower facilities. The number of showers are absoutely not enough, it's almost impossible to control the hot water and the water pressure was very weak.
Aug 11, 2017
We've been staying at KOAs as we've crossed Canada and found this KOA to be the worst so far. We were placed near the main sewer and the smell was terrible. The laundry room was dirty and some of the appliances were either not working or showing signs of needing a repair. Some of the washrooms and showers were out of order.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Had a great stay. Check in was fast and efficent. Showers were nice and big which you dont see alot so was very nice.... Was speaking with the owner a couple times very friendly and nice man to talk with. Only thing was the price of fire wood. We camp 10 to 12 times a year and was shocked at thw peice of $10 a bundle for fire wood. Highest we have ever seen...
Aug 10, 2017
It was very nice, but I suggest you move the bicycle rental area. It's hard to get through when kids are congregating. Sometimes the rental REvs are hard to get around.
Aug 10, 2017
Lousy shower and no hot water Dirty bathroom
Aug 10, 2017
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, but the sites are quite small, and the pool is quite small. Our children enjoyed the rental bikes, and the loop was safe for them to ride. The laundry area was small and in high use.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 10, 2017
Our Stay was short , however I found it to be pleasant. I have stayed at KOA's before and have the same opinion. The only issue I had at this site was that the fire pit was in between the two sites thus making it too close to the trailers. we had a bonfire and the smoke was going into the neighbors trailer and he came out to ask us to extinguish it. I completely understood and put it out .
Aug 10, 2017
Beautiful spot in a quiet, well maintained campground.
Aug 09, 2017
They were having trouble with the sewer lines in the area we were in. The 2 young staff members seemed to be not as knowledgeable as they could have been although they were working diligently on the problem. Upper management could have been more involved perhaps by calling in a professional instead of letting the staff fumble with it for 2 days. Sewer smell is not pleasant when trying to relax.
Aug 09, 2017
Campground is DIRTY!! Front entrance is small and congested with KOA vehicles and motorhome rentals. Bathrooms are dirty and not cleaned regularly. Other campers openly walk around with open cans of alcohol and are loud, there is no security here that does much to quiet them down. We would not recommend this campground for large units, people park wherever and leave bikes in the road.
Aug 09, 2017
This campground is not ideal for RV's. Sites for RV trailers are by the septic holding tanks, by the dumping station, or directly behind the pancake house. There were maybe 6 sites closer to front of campground that appeared would be okay for a small RV - back in sites. In general people with RV's were not happy with their camp site. Many people complaining to us.We definitely would not recommend
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
The kids loved the jumping pillow, fishing and the pool. We had a beautiful site on the river and the campground was very nice and quite in the evenings. We would stay there again.
Aug 09, 2017
Excellent time.Kids love the bikes and recreation room. Very friendly staff, campground clean and well kept. Only wish they had more full service sites.
Aug 09, 2017
Lots for the kids to do. They had a ton of fun!
Aug 09, 2017
Neighbors had several cars, encroached on our site on both sides. Washroom were too far away from our site.
Aug 08, 2017
I was really disappointed with the site location given I had booked this months ago requesting a relatively private and quiet site. Somehow we ended up right next to the washrooms in front on the playground! Beautiful campground with great staff but was really disappointed with our location. At this point if we were to change sites, we would have had to every other day of our one week stay.
Aug 08, 2017
Overall it was enjoyable but the times on all signs were incorrect. Example: Laundry said 24 hrs but it was actually closed for several, first night we had to listen to a group of very loud rude speaking teenagers until 3:30am. The second night was much better. Lots to do there though. My son loved the playground!
Aug 08, 2017
The toilets were often plugged and disgusting. They actually girgled when flushed (if they flushed). There were not enough restroom facilities for the number of campers. There were children racing golfcarts around the campground as if it were the Indianapolis 500. It seemed as if the place were being run by teenagers. Beyond all of that the sites were small and had a feeling of being cramped.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
All I can say is that we had a great time.
Aug 08, 2017
We enjoyed our time there. It provides great proximity to Halifax. The facilities were clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Usually stay here a couple times a year due to location. Normally not to bad of campground,section we stayed in this this time had a real strong sewer smell the whole time there, told staff on our departure hopefully they rectified problem.
Aug 08, 2017
Great campground, lots for kids to do. Some sites are a little far from washrooms though.
Aug 08, 2017
No student discount so that's disappointing
Aug 07, 2017
Booked a full service site and only got only a water and electric site was very disappointing because I had booked it 6 months before so this should not have been issue.
Aug 07, 2017
Thé campground and installation is perfect,the site were clean and level. the staff was also very kind. the only thing that could be better is for the rules to be respected, we had extremely noisy neighbor for 2 nights in a row and a believe that a clear and strong warning on the first night would have prevented the second night
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy