Fort McCoy / Lake Oklawaha KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 30, 2019
We have stayed here at the Fort McCoy KOA many times now. We enjoy going out on the ATV trails and relaxing around the fire at night. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The Manager Jennifer is great! Only downside is the internet connection is practically non existent but we go camping to unwind and enjoy the outdoors so we can handle that.
May 30, 2019
Bathrooms were nasty the pool was closed the electricity kept popping off due to overload in the circuit. Staff was very helpful but we had to find our own sites which got complicated. Definitely would not recommend KOA in fort McCoy.
May 30, 2019
Need to mark the campsites better. Very confusing? Need to have the water sewer and electric all on the same side. Some sites had Water and Electric on the left and Sewer on the right.
May 30, 2019
We usually take our camper but we used a tent for memorial day weekend and had an amazing time! The staff is great we will miss Jennifer she was the last of the first staff that we met from out first visit many years ago.
May 29, 2019
disappointed that there really was no lake view, and hard to get to fishing. The pool area needs some work, lots of weed in decking and no chairs. I would think that as large as that pool deck is tables/chairs with umbrellas would be a nice addition. Staff was very friendly
May 29, 2019
The pool was so dirty I could not see my feet. Adults had a tent IN the pool. They were drinking beer IN the pool and spilling it IN the pool. This was the end where small children were playing.There were adults with a dog in the pool area my husband had to tell them they could not let the dog IN the pool. No staff were there to make sure children were safe and the rules were being followed.
May 29, 2019
Jimmy and Linda were super helpful in finding and delivering picnic tables, keeping everything flowing. We loved our stay, the people, the accommodations and honestly didn’t want to leave :(
May 29, 2019
We had a great stay for the most part. We did lose power 2 days while we were there. We were advised that their power was having a hard time keeping up with everyone running their A/C units. Yes the park was pretty full but deff not to capacity. They definitely need to do a power upgrade to fix the outage issues.
May 29, 2019
I would have liked that the pool stayed clean but the water was cloudy and filled with debree from people not bathing before entering. The pool should have been shocked and the pump should've been running to clear it.
May 29, 2019
Our stay was wonderful as always. We have stayed here 3 times! We reported an issue with a neighboring camper letting their dog run loose coming over to camp where we had our dogs and they were very concerned and took care of the issue. Other then that our stay is always great. Staff is very friendly and facilities are always clean. We will be back! �
May 29, 2019
Our stay was great like always. Customer service is great, everyone we encounter have a smile on their faces. Would be nice if you add a RedBox in your property for those that can't have access to tv.
May 29, 2019
I have stayed there a few times in the past and enjoyed my stay this memorial weekend was extremely busy but the staff were still way over the top friendly and helpful and beware of bear signs were posted everywhere camp staff were driving around constantly picking up trash from rv sites to keep it clean it was extremely hot but if you want to go 4 wheelin in the forest this is the place to be.
May 29, 2019
We had an awesome time. Everyone at the campground were extremely nice, staff and campers. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.
May 28, 2019
The whole park
May 28, 2019
pool broke baby diapers floating in pool drinking in the pool garbage cans full no other pick up noisy all night with atvs running on the campgrounds property. poor management all around .
May 28, 2019
May 28, 2019
May 28, 2019
Stayed over Memorial weekend. If the weather wasn’t so hot it would of been a 10. I know you can’t control the weather ����.
May 28, 2019
We were without power many times during the afternoon on Sat and Sun. Ended up having to use our own generator to stay cool.
May 28, 2019
We stayed for 8 days. We enjoyed our stay. The only disappointment was the WiFi service. During our stay in the week we had great service but when more people came in to stay memorial weekend we could not get a WiFi signal. WiFi is a must!
May 28, 2019
Worse place ever ! I left 1 day early ! Pool broke & as filthy when it was working saturday . Staff was rude with the exception of Linda & Mike ! False advertisement , zero activities for children . My 11 year old who weighs 8 was toLD He could not use the water slide . 9 degrees outside without any place to cool Off ! Internet never worked ! Bathroom showers we're cold ! Just a hORRIBLE
May 28, 2019
Sorry to see Jennifer leave, meet Mike, he is awesome , just a great place to go.
May 28, 2019
I've been going there about eight years. Coming in off the trails on an ATV or UTV A little late and some Guy screaming at you and not knowing where do you broke down for whatever reason. Uncalled for. And then Gymboree parking just a little bit off or a little crooked in their camping spot this guy goes off like a crazy man. He should be a little more professional The say was good
May 28, 2019
Owners need to fix a few things... 1, Both lights for pool are floating or set up on side...needs to be addresses asap! 2. Both step ladders at deep end of pool both have bottom step missing but bolts are still attached. I seen 1 other person beside myself rake my angle across these bolts... 3. Parts of wood around office porch area on floor deck needs to be replaced, rotting and pieces missing
May 28, 2019
Needs maintenance bad. Pool was moldy hasn’t been brushed in quite sometime. Weeds growing between pavers. Crew was great and friendly. We have been coming for years even before it was koa. Thought things would get better but only getting worse.
May 28, 2019
It was a good stay except at the end. I had lost the keys to my camper and gone to the office to see if someone had turned them in. The lady there, from the time I walked in the door, was only interested in checking me out of my campsite not help me. I had to interrupt her and ask if someone had turn in some keys they had found. She then stated in a rude manner lost and found is under that table.
May 28, 2019
Most relaxed campground I've ever visited. Everyone was very nice,respectful, and helpful (staff and guests). 1 small issue with pool but taken care of promptly. Was great to be able to leave campsite with ATV'S. I'LL VISIT AGAIN!
May 28, 2019
Large sites and very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back
May 28, 2019
Other than the hiccup with the pool. It was great.
May 28, 2019
Clean facility and very helpful staff. Everyone there was respectful and obeyed the posted speed limits on their atvs.
May 27, 2019
Unique
Great time always at this KOA. Was disappointed in the pool area, never seen pool with green algae on wall, 2 lights hanging out of the sockets and grass was growing up around the pool deck area.
May 27, 2019
Always a great place. Convenient to trails.
May 27, 2019
The office girls were super friendly, and the security that drove around was always very helpful.
May 26, 2019
The most unlevel campsites I have ever seen.
May 24, 2019
Beautiful place with direct access to Ocala National Forest atv trails and great friendly staff. Also very large sites
May 21, 2019
The power was unstable several units lost power daily and our plug was burnt when we disconnected. The grounds needed mowed desperately and most sites are not level. Very few picnic tables.
May 21, 2019
We had a great time as always, Camp sites need to be mowed and sites marked a lot better. Very hard to tell which site is yours.
May 20, 2019
Lovely pool and clubhouse, sites and hookups need some love. Beautiful scenery, huge campground.
May 20, 2019
May 20, 2019
It's large enough even when large crowds are there I feel some solitude.
May 20, 2019
May 20, 2019
May 19, 2019
Even though we had some rain and wind move in on our stay we really enjoy staying at Lake Ocklawaha. We have been there several times and have never not had a pleasant time.
May 18, 2019
Jennifer the “manager” is the worst of the worst. I sure wish I had looked at the reviews on YELP before I booked. Also, they wouldn’t refund my $60 for departing early due to Jennifer being horrifically rude. There was constant problems with this campground. Always cigarette smoke in women’s bathroom and apparently Jennifer has been the manager for 5 yrs but didn’t know this policy!!!
May 18, 2019
Lovely quiet park with beautiful scenery. We also ride side by sides in the forest which makes the campground unique. Additionally we rode our bicycles around campground for good exercise with the hill grade. Only downfalls is layout and non level spots.
May 17, 2019
The park is a great place for the whole family. Jennifer works in the office and is ready to help with any thing you may need. It is nice to know that Jennifer is always there with a smile. Enjoyed the pool and easy access to the ATV trails in the forest. The maintenance guys are also great. Chad is a very friendly person and works hard to make sure all is well. Looking forward to going back
May 17, 2019
We came here on vacation for a week & loved it so much we stayed an extra week. Then when we went home, we were actually homesick for this place. We sold our business & everything we no longer needed to buy a 5th wheel. Bought a 5th wheel, then we headed back. Now we've been here going on our 2nd month. We love it here!
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
Great camping! Thank you!
May 17, 2019
It appeared to be an of weekend as I was told to just pick an unoccupied spot. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. I have recommended this location to other RV'ers
Nov 30, 2019
Beautiful scenery, all the necessary amenities and four wheelers/ ATVs are permitted.
- Teresa Phillips on Google
Nov 27, 2019
Perfect for us. I don't know what it's like at other times of year, but we loved it. Quiet. Scenic. Great staff.
- Dawn Dowd on Google
Nov 25, 2019
Nice place in the heart of Real Florida very well kept and good fishing. Only bad part of the whole 6 months I lived there was all of the whiney yuppies this place attracts. I mean come on folks your camping out. Why worry about wifi and mosquitoes it's the woods people have became too doggone soft. Very sad to see children raised by these clowns. Looking forward to our trip there next weekend. Definitely recommend
- Mike Paul on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.