Estes Park KOA

Open May 1 - October 15

Reserve: 970-586-2888

Info: 800-562-1887

Email

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Get Directions

Rustic Cabins and Deluxe Cabins

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 11:30 am, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
I am very disappointed that this KOA does not follow the Estes Park policies of having a bear proof dumpster. I got up to use the bathroom at 3am, and there was a large bear in the dumpster. It was attracted there by at least one bag of trash that I saw it knock out of the dumpster. The KOA is endangering the lives of bears, and also the lives of their guests, which includes a lot of children.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry that you had an encounter with a bear at one of our dumpsters. Please keep in mind that we are in the bear's home and we are the visitors. We do have bear proof dumpsters as required by the town of Estes Park. However, one of our guests may have used the dumpster and left it unlocked that evening.
Aug 13, 2017
Our Boy Scout Crew of nine had just finished up a 12 day hiking trip in New Mexico, had a fantastic time at the Estes Park KOA. Everyone we dealt with was upbeat and we had an enjoyable time eating pancakes served up by the owner from a special family recipe (delicious).
Aug 12, 2017
Would not stay again. People were very nice but they booked us a campsite that was too small even though we told then our tent size when we reserved. Then moved us to rv site and let us have a fire ring, then took it away. We had to eat out most if our stay and all we wanted to do was enjoy camping and cooking with our kids.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

My apologies for any booking confusion there may have been with your site. I am confident that our staff did everything possible to correct the situation and help make your stay more pleasant. As for the campfires, our camp is very land challenged and fire rings present a hazard due to the close proximity. Our hope was that we could help by providing a free propane fire pit for your family.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Well located, nice campground.
Aug 09, 2017
We heard a bear on our second night in our tent... couldn't sleep the next night and was upgraded to a cabin... thanks KOA!!
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
We loved the staff at the KOA. Everything was clean, neat, and organized. Will definitely use the KOA again.
Aug 04, 2017
Amazing view from my tent site. Cost about the same as a hotel though
Aug 03, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Bathroom was clean. tent sites on gravel and very close together. Lots of highway noise. Staff was nice.
Aug 01, 2017
We took advantage of one of their tent sites. I will definitely be back in the future.
Jul 29, 2017
If by process of evaluation/elimination there is best KOA (west Glacier 2017) then same must be true for worst. Estes Park. Tent site 20 feet from highway. Trucks roaring by all night. Privacy fences between tents to hide fact tents are about 4 ft apart, listened to squeaking air mattresses, babies, conversations, and smelled diaper next door. Stench of stables. Left at 4 am. Awful.
Jul 28, 2017
Very small camp site. Only enough room to pitch my tent. Picnic table was warped. Had to park vehicle in overflow section. Campsite right next to busy highway and odor from next door horse place was not pleasant. Only three family bathrooms so it was very difficult as a single mom with two young boys. None of the normal jumping pillows or pool. Playground was designed for very young kids.
Jul 28, 2017
Jul 27, 2017
People were very friendly. The ladies bathroom was nice but my husband said the men's was very dirty. Probably went in at the worst time of the day.
Jul 26, 2017
Les employées du camping étaient tres accueillants et serviables, les sanitaires et autres equipments très satifaisants, mais l'emplacement de ma tente, en pente et bruyant en raison de la proximité de la route n'était pas confortable et j'ai trouvé le prix de l'hébergement élevé.
Jul 25, 2017
Very rude guest making noise till after midnight. Not enough bathrooms, right next to noisy highway and beside horse stables.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at the Estes Park KOA. The bathrooms were clean and use friendly. The staff was kind and helpful. The laundry facilities were great. The campsites were quite small and there was not a lot of shade. The road was noisy, but we had a great time. I would certainly recommend to a friend.
Jul 23, 2017
Despite making reservations months in advance where we stated we were traveling with children, we were placed in a campsite right on the main road. It was so tight, we were asked to move our picnic table, move our vehicle and pull in our awning to avoid being hit by other campers. On a good note, they had wine tasting and other fun activities.
Jul 22, 2017
The campground was okay people were very friendly. That pack you in though and there is no room unless you rent a cabin. If you have a tent or camper you are squeezed into a tiny spot.
Jul 21, 2017
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The facilities were always stocked and clean. I'm not a regular camper but this kampground made me realize that it's not so bad.
Jul 19, 2017
The camper sights were way TOO crowded! We couldn't even open up our awning because it would have touched the camper next to us! No parking for your car by your camper?! No fire pits except at the cabins? That was disappointing! Too much highway noise. The activities and attention to the children was great! They loved the train rides.
Jul 18, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay on Tent Site 9. Excellent amenities! Fun social events, clean bathrooms that are well stocked with toilet paper and paper towels, nice camp store, and friendly hosts. The only reason I wouldn't recommend to a friend is if they were looking for some place more secluded. Thanks for a great stay!
Jul 18, 2017
I did like the covered building in case it did rain, employees were friendly. I've been around horses my entire life but the urine from the horses next door was intense in which the problem can be taken care of with proper management.
Jul 17, 2017
Small sites and next to a busy road are the only down side. Particularly the noise from the road would detract from returning
Jul 17, 2017
Will come back, will plan earlier to get a better campsites
Jul 15, 2017
The KOA was clean and had nice amenities. I'm use to more primitive camping away from the roadway. Our tentsite was right next to the road. Noise from the roadway made it impossible for us to sleep.
Jul 13, 2017
Staff is extremely nice and helpful. Went above and beyond to accommodate us. Some spots are extremely close to the very busy and loud main street. All spots are small and very close to neighbors.
Jul 12, 2017
Stayed in a tent site. Just loved the old shelter over our table. Clean and friendly hosts. The shuttle rides to the sites was a great bonus.
Jul 11, 2017
Staff members very helpfull and courteous,,,we enjoyed our stay very much
Jul 10, 2017
It,s great place,,, It
Jul 10, 2017
Everyone was very nice. The tentsites are very small and no fire pit (we were a bit disappointed with the site) but the people were all so friendly and accomodating.
Jul 10, 2017
They were very accommodating for us. We enjoyed our stay there.
Jul 10, 2017
Good staff, clean kampground,, real good pancakes,
Jul 09, 2017
Great campground with amazing scenic surroundings ... will recommend to everybody I know... See you in Des Moines
Jul 09, 2017
The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, but the layout of the site is horrible. Campers are much, much too close together, too many people per restroom facility, and too close to a major highway. This is my first KOA and I'm sure I'll never return. I didn't feel safe.
Jul 09, 2017
The campground is directly on the highway. You cannot hear each other talk while in your site due to the proximity of the highway to the campground. No fire pits in less you rent them for an additional fee. The campsite was far too small for our unit even though we told them the size of the rig. The bathrooms were dirty. The roads are not easy to navigate within the campground.
Jul 09, 2017
good time
Jul 08, 2017
Tent camping sites are just off a busy, noisy highway. Sites are too close to each other.
Jul 06, 2017
We had an amazing stay for the 4th of July. The site was clean and large enough for a big tent. The hosts were amazing and the office had everything we needed. Kids loved the free train ride with BUBBLES! Thank you!!!
Jul 05, 2017
Our tent site was right next a horse stable. The smell was at times overwhelming. Staff was very nice but will NOT stay here ever again.
Jul 05, 2017
The staff was awesome, small site but everyone was friendly. Got to have a conversation with the owner and he told me his plan for KOA. When I come back to Estes park I will definitely be booking with them again. Slogan for the site should be "come strangers leave family"
Jul 04, 2017
Small place and no shadows. Nice people and helpful.
Jul 04, 2017
The pancake and sausage breakfast was an unexpected plus.
Jul 03, 2017
We arrived a few minutes after closing, but they were so helpful to get us set up with a tent site. Really appreciated it after a long travel day.
Jul 02, 2017
Although we were very happy to get a last minute booking in tent no electric site, the location of our site was likely the least optimal in the entire park. It was very loud due to proximity of highway (but that is unavoidable in this area) also we were placed in a 'secluded' spot as the Koa check in person told us.But we were right next to stairs to main bathrooms,store etc. Generally loud area
Jul 02, 2017
Way too expensive for tent camping. Too close to the road with way too much noise. Tent camping was way too cramped. Too many sites too close together.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy