Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Oct 15, 2017
Nice location! Nice people working in the office. Really big gift shop and they make pizza! My one complaint is how far the tent sites are from the bathrooms. Usually the tent sites are closer since tenters don't have an RV with a toilet. I did get to pick my tent site, which I liked--I picked one far from the highway. I just drove to the bathrooms in the morning since it was so cold!
Oct 03, 2017
Super fun with the Halloween Adventure:) Staff excellent especially Jared! Jared was knowledgeable and helpful! Answered all our questions and provided information before we asked!!! Electrical tent site great, ground level and soft. Store had impressive inventory. Bathroom very clean. We even had breakfast at Patrick's as recommended on bulletin board. Great food. Hope to see you next year.
Oct 02, 2017
The campground is wonderful until you go to the tent area. No numbered lots, down hill so there is no flat ground. Next to the open highway with hardly any trees. And the worst part? 10 feet from the area where people take their pets to poop. So gross.
Oct 01, 2017
Wonderful welcome, great little store stocked with essentials, clean bathrooms, clean sites. Beautiful well maintained tent site with grass, a table, fire pit, water and electricity.
Sep 25, 2017
Staff was very helpful & friendly. Facilities very well kept. Wished there were more activities on site. Good place, good time!
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
We came in late and they had the papers ready and waiting for us. The map is a little cartoonish so it was hard to figure out where the tent site was. Incidentally we slept on a hill. Other than that it was a beautiful KOA. Bathrooms were very clean and nice. Could use hooks outside of the shower stalls. It would be nice to have tents closer to the bathrooms.
Sep 07, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff
Sep 05, 2017
Staff was very friendly and very helpful. Very quiet and peaceful at night. Very eventful week. Bathrooms clean only wished there was another one. Will be returning next year.
Sep 05, 2017
I'm going to be optimistic and hope that tent sites will improve after further expansions are completed. As it is now, tent sites have been converted to cabin and large camper spaces and all tent spaces have been moved to the hill by the pond. Hard to camp on a hill. Seemed like maybe tent sites aren't as desired as the bigger money that can be charged for campers and cabins.
Sep 05, 2017
Really enjoyable!
Sep 04, 2017
There was soo much to do for myself and my 6 year old daughter! We loved the campground and everyone who worked there was very helpful! We will definitely be coming back!
Sep 04, 2017
Uncertain as to where the boundaries were per site. Not enough fire pits and tables per tent camping. Staff were great and helpful. Tent sites were unorganized.
Sep 03, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Tent sites were set below the RV sites. A very strong series of thunderstorms came through around 4 AM and created minor havoc in tent areas. We were slightly above the run off so we were relatively unscathed but the guy next to us took his kids and bailed. The staff was very helpful in getting people out the next morning. Nice showers and laundry.
Aug 22, 2017
A 5 star camp ground. Employees and staff were very accommodating and friendly. I would highly recommend to anyone who is looking to camp in that area. It was the nicest Campground I have ever stayed at and I travel a lot
Aug 22, 2017
My husband and I arrived late and left early and the staff made it super easy for us to check in and have our registration sitting out upon arrival. Great location right off of 80 which made it so we didn't have to go out of the way on our road trip.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Our family stayed there for a week the 2nd week in August and it was great. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. The restroom and shower area was cleaned daily which was the highlight for me as I need to feel comfortable showering away from home, and they definitely made that happen. The only minor downside was the Wi-Fi. It barely worked the entire stay, but great overall we LOVED it
Aug 19, 2017
Best amenities I've seen Very friendly staff
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice facility. I was disappointed that I had to pay more when I arrived. I'm not sure I'll reserve there again if the rate charged will change before I arrive.
Aug 13, 2017
Construction going on left limited space for tent camping. The site we were assigned wasn't very level. The camp store closed early leaving us unable to get needed supplies and had to run into town.
Aug 10, 2017
a very nice and modern campground with clean facilities, WIFI was fast and stable, noise from interstate or other traffic was minimal, pizza-shack located at the grounds was reasonably priced In Summary: nearly perfect campground!
Aug 09, 2017
Great site. Helpful staff, especially the young man from Chicago! Iowa is really far from my home in NY but if I do come to Iowa ever again I would be happy to camp with you
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
There was construction underway over by the tent sites, but it didn't seem to be any inconvenience. The staff were very helpful and attentive in the disruption and all the campers seemed to have great attitudes as a result.
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
We really enjoyed the activities that were planned and the friendliness of the campground. However, we would have liked to have been told that our campsite was adjacent to a construction area. During the day (until 7 pm) there was a lot of construction noise that made it pretty unbearable to sit at the site. In general it seems that the place is much more set up for RVs then for tent camping.
Aug 05, 2017
Very friendly. Well kept with amenities and activities for the kids.
Aug 05, 2017
not ideal for tent camping, but the staff did work to make it as good for us as possible when an enormous group came taking all available spots
Aug 04, 2017
I thought the swimming pool, dunk tank, jumping pillow and playground were great for my 6 and 4 year. I was really disappointed with the construction equipment at 8:30 am right by our camp site. It was so loud you couldn't talk. This was not really mentioned prior to reserving the site. The younger staff (young girl and African American boy were very helpful). Other staff not enjoyable.
Aug 02, 2017
Warm swimming pool, modern showers and grassy tent site. Great.
Jul 30, 2017
Perfect in every way!!! The electric tent sites located right next to the playground...quit at night...tons of activities for kids! One of our favorite KOAs!!!
Jul 28, 2017
Enjoyed my stay and staff was very helpful. Loved the sightseeing in the area and the town of Winterset was a wonderful surprise with all the amenities.
Jul 24, 2017
I told the staff that we would be arriving late. When we arrived, there were no clear instructions on where we were supposed to put up our tent. It didn't look like there were any designated spots, there were already a lot of tents in the area, and the tent area wasn't flat.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
I booked a specific campsite that was heavily shaded on Thurs and was told they would make sure nobody was there. I arrived a little after check in time and my spot was given to someone else and there was only 1 spot left. I was able to camp and they gave me a free pizza but I wasn't too happy about not getting the spot I requested at time of my reservation.
Jul 22, 2017
We stay at a lot of KOAs. This one is awesome! The staff are super great! Highly recommend!
Jul 11, 2017
We like this campground very much. (Lots of lightening bugs in June!) This year, however, the tent spots were under construction and they did not have a place planned for us. They did give us an RV site and were very nice. I just wonder where we would have ended up if we had gotten in after the office was closed.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 03, 2017
While every thing worked out in the end, I wish some would have called and explained that their electric tent sites were temporarily moved clear down by the dog park. I was very clear that I wanted an electric tent site near our friends. Had they read my special instructions, they could have called & saved an upset customer! We set up camp w/ our friend, but still disappointed in how KOA handled.
Jun 22, 2017
Our school group spend between 28 to 42 nights in tents across the U.S. This is by far the best KOA experience we have had. Thanks to you and your staff.
Jun 15, 2017
Jun 12, 2017
When I got there it was an absolute nightmare. They were under construction and didn't know where they were going to put the tents. I advised them I booked well in advance and no one said anything about construction. They finally figured it out said i would get a discount (never happened) and workers were rude when asking them questions. Almost as if being there was an inconvenience.
May 29, 2017
Great camp ground. Staff was very friendly. Kids enjoyed all the extra activities.
May 16, 2017
great folks went out of their way to accommodate me on a very busy weekend... great service
Apr 10, 2017
Feb 06, 2017
The KOA was great to stay at when traveling out West. Would stay here again if this locale was where I needed to spend the evening once again. Thanx!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award