Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
The park was wonderful lots of things to do for everyone of all ages. The sights and amenities were clean and well kept up. The staff was courteous and very accommodating. The activities were wonderful swimming, paddle boats, free on site fishing of a stock pond, jumping pillow for kids, basketball, gem mining etc... so much more. We will definitely be back again and again!
Sep 26, 2017
Lets start with the good. Large well kept park, nice bathrooms, good staff. Now the bad, the WIFI logs you in to facebook. Its overhead makes the WIFI unusable. Also not having trash cans the local feral cats make a mess of the park.
Sep 26, 2017
This is a nice campground with clean, modern showers. We'll stay there again.
Sep 26, 2017
Over night
Sep 26, 2017
Quiet place...will stay there again.
Sep 25, 2017
The staff was so helpful and accommodated any or all our needs. For sure, see you again next yea r.
Sep 25, 2017
The staff and owners are impeccable and superior to any where we stay throughout the year! They have hosted our group now for 3 years and go up and above there dutys to make our stay great! The facility's are top notch! Right when you think they've done it perfect they have added more to there facility's. And treatment of all our group! Thank you thank you thank you
Sep 25, 2017
A lovely park with spacious sites. Full of kids and local families who apparently come to spend the weekend there. We were one of few out of state RVs.
Sep 25, 2017
What a wonderful stay! The campground staff was so accommodating to our large group. Thank you so much! We will be back again next year for sure!
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Very clean, friendly staff. We had a great week-end. The community "building" was perfect for our large noon gathering.
Sep 25, 2017
Clean and modern facilities.
Sep 25, 2017
The staff was very friendly. The pizza was hot when it was delivered and the delivery person was great!
Sep 25, 2017
We put in for the 1st cabin to be closer to our group, pool, bathroom, showers and pavilion. We arrived and were put in #5. We are older and have ambulation problems, so we were very disappointed. We had 3 wasps in our room. Finally on 3rd wasp I called office. Your employee did a great job of being concerned and helpful killing 3rd wasp. The air conditioner seal had open spaces for wasps .
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Staff was very helpful & friendly. Facilities very well kept. Wished there were more activities on site. Good place, good time!
Sep 25, 2017
Campground was nice and clean. Didn't like that you had to pay to use the jumping pillow when other koa campgrounds offer this for free
Sep 24, 2017
Only one night, so issues or suggestions.
Sep 24, 2017
Nice facility near the west side of Des Moines and being expanded with more sites. Grounds are well kept. We needed to adjust our reservation for additional days and this was done without a problem.
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
We pulled in and immediately felt at home the place was clean and the staff was very friendly. The kids playground was second to none that I have seen. My wife and I would stay again if and when we come through Iowa.
Sep 24, 2017
Nice sites. Green grass. Improvement. This campground is looking to expand and improve. We travel all over the US, private or KOA campgrounds and in most cases don't show how much they care like this KOA has.
Sep 23, 2017
We love to stay with you. Keep up the excellent work!
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
Excellent campground! No complaints.
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
Very overpriced even compared to other KOA's.
Sep 23, 2017
Beautiful campground! Amazing amenities.
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 22, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. Clean facility and excellent service. Highly recommended
Sep 22, 2017
Great place, friendly helpful folks!
Sep 22, 2017
We were just an overniter, but we are very favorably impressed with the stay. Restrooms sparkled. The campsite was great. Keep up the good work!
Sep 22, 2017
Beautiful modern park. We had a cement patio with new table, chairs, nice BBQ, ,easy access to fishing and the usual friendly helpful KOA folk. Exceptional.
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
This is am excellent, well-run campground. Great sites and close to many sights.
Sep 21, 2017
Very nice campground. We would not hesitate to use it for a long stay.
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
My goodness, the cleanest campgrounds I have ever been to. The shower and washrooms were phenomenal! Could not have been more taken back by the friendly and helpful staff. Wii without a doubt be staying here in the future.
Sep 19, 2017
They had so many fun activities for kids and the adults. Great campground and glad to see they are adding on!!!!
Sep 19, 2017
Nice upgrades and expansions happening at this favorite KOA of ours.
Sep 19, 2017
Cable was not available for viewing the Emmys. That's the only reason we spent $50 for a campsite. Too expensive for late arrival and early departure.
Sep 18, 2017
Even with a couple hiccups, the staff was prompt to do what they could to resolve the issues (even during a rain storm). Our family enjoyed our stay as we normally do. Thanks Chris and Jamie for having a great campground. We missed seeing Vickie this weekend. She's a friendly face to see around the campground.
Sep 18, 2017
Chris & Jamie, plus all of their staff are always so extremely friendly and totally family orientated! They have an amazing group of workers that seem to not only do a great job with the kids activities, but the look like they enjoy their job! I wish we could camp so much more often at KOA, however we can only swing it 2-3 times a year if we're super blessed! Thank you Des Moines KOA West Holiday!
Sep 18, 2017
The staff is friendly and helpful and the site is relatively nice, we have decided we will probably stay away from there in the future. The sites are very un-level any more. And with the amount of gravel - both for sites and the roads through there, there is a LOT of dust that gets kicked up. Then the uncontrolled kids running through other sites and speeds cars/trucks drive through...
Sep 18, 2017
We had the best time!!! Their camp office is the best!! Love the pizza and wings AND they deliver right to your camp site, I don't have to leave my spot by the campfire. I won this years Annual Chili Cook Off too, a big thank you to them for giving me a free night of camping. We will be using it in October.
Sep 18, 2017
Great stay, we always have so much fun here. Kids loved the addition of the dunk tank at the pool. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was perfect for our large family. Can't wait to go back next month!
Sep 18, 2017
Great campgrounds lots to do clean well taken care of the only downside was low voltage at 30 amp service
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award