Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email This Campground

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 22, 2017
Very relax few days - Sorry about the rain.
May 22, 2017
May 22, 2017
Great staff. Wish they had paved roads rather than caliche. Messing when it's wet.
May 20, 2017
Most of our stays on this trip were just overnighters. This is one of the nicer KOA's. Well off the freeway, so unlike some of the other KOA's, no traffic noise. Early in the season, but had to change sites, hose bib was spraying water. Overall we liked it and would stay again.
May 20, 2017
Great spot to camp. Camp is in a beautiful location, off the road. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
May 20, 2017
lots of nice new outdoor furniture and playground equipment! Very clean, just be nice to have some paved sights for big rigs! Great pizza too!
May 20, 2017
Only there one night. Was nice clean KOA.
May 18, 2017
We had a comfortable site during our 4-day stay. Glad to see upgrades to patio sites and additional cabins being installed. We plan to stay again. Staff was very helpful.
May 18, 2017
Everything was great, but wifi was far less than optimal.
May 16, 2017
We had an excellent stay. The staff is great, the cabins are clean and the kids had so much to do. We booked another weekend before we left. Definitely going back.
May 16, 2017
We love this KOA. It is clean and we'll maintained and in such a nice rural setting within 20miles of our kids in West Des Moines. Staff are all pleasant and accommodating.
May 16, 2017
Our stay was fine, everything nice&clean, staff friendly. However pls, don't switch a customer's site when already reserved and paid for to a lesser site, without asking cust. First. Staff did offer try to correct error, but we were stuck with site for weekend. We still will stay here again as the owners are great people!
May 16, 2017
great folks went out of their way to accommodate me on a very busy weekend... great service
May 16, 2017
This is our 3rd time staying here at this KOA and every time has been GREAT!
May 15, 2017
Loved it!
May 15, 2017
May 15, 2017
The pool and activities for the weekend were great. The amenities in the deluxe cabins exceeded expectations. Liked the adjoining patio between our families cabins this time.
May 15, 2017
Super clean, well maintained, great activities and very friendly and helpful owners and staff! Love it!
May 15, 2017
Loved seeing all of the children's activities. People all friendly and quiet at appropriate time. Thx for a great time!
May 15, 2017
Very clean and friendly. Only negative was the 'crammed in' feeling we got. They put two trailers facing each other so you have to share your 'yard' and your back side of your camper is INCHES away from the other neighbor. Their slide out was TOO CLOSE for comfort. Unshared 'yards' would have been nicer. Cramming more campers into the campground seems more important than their guests comfort.
May 15, 2017
May 15, 2017
May 15, 2017
We always love our KOA Des Moines West stay! Our first place to camp each year and we finish off the camping season there also.
May 15, 2017
May 15, 2017
Very nice place to camp
May 15, 2017
Staff is always helpful and welcoming. Facilities are always clean and well maintained.
May 15, 2017
May 15, 2017
Really nice campground. Many recent improvements.We stayed in a Kamping Lodge which looked brand new. It had lots of amenities. Staff was excellent!
May 15, 2017
Gets better every year with all the facility improvements
May 15, 2017
very helpful staff, excellent park very clean and want to stay there again
May 15, 2017
May 14, 2017
One of the nicest and friendliest KOA's I've stayed at in over two years of full time rving! Thanks so much!
May 12, 2017
They crowded us together literally face to face even though it was far from full. Wifi is UNUSABLE. Some staff unfriendly, didn't seem to enjoy their job.
May 12, 2017
Clean and great customer service from the workamper sand the owner!
May 11, 2017
Really appreciate the extra help we received.. loved the layout of the campground.
May 11, 2017
Place needs a lot of work.
May 11, 2017
Friendly staff and a nice, quiet location in the country. Canada Geese flew over so low you could almost reach out and touch them! On-site pizza delivery was a tasty life saver after a long drive and after 7 PM arrival.
May 10, 2017
May 09, 2017
Loved the family-friendly activities. The staff was super nice and helpful. The bathrooms were convenient and clean.
May 09, 2017
Very nice KOA.Owners have invested to make the park a much better than average campground. Cleanest facilities I have seen anywhere. We would be happy to stay here again!
May 09, 2017
Price was a little high but the grounds are meticulously kept and every amenity is available. Hosts are very helpful and always available.
May 09, 2017
Great place, we will back soon
May 09, 2017
The staff was great. Just expected level and nicer sites for the price. Playgrounds not suited for children under 5
May 08, 2017
Great staff. Beautiful grounds.
May 08, 2017
Best KOA we have visited. Loved their deluxe site. We really enjoyed our stay. We will return!
May 08, 2017
May 08, 2017
Great weekend stay. Fun for the grandkids. Very clean bathrooms/showers. Staff very friendly and helpful!
May 08, 2017
The entire campground including our cabin was spotless. We spent more time at the cabin than we did at our destination, Des Moines. Now we are planning a family reunion. This place is SO grandkid friendly! The lake is beautiful and the surrounding countryside breathtaking. Thanks for making our stay a vacation!
May 08, 2017
This KOA had the cleanest, most up-to-date restrooms I have seen. Thanks.
May 08, 2017
We pulled in late. Our paperwork was waiting for us as promised. The camp was clean ! The bath/shower area had recently been updated and looked great. Although we only stayed overnight, it was everything we needed.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award