Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 31, 2017
May 31, 2017
As always KOA-Adel Ia is an awesome place to camp. So many activities for kids & some adult things too! Jamie, Chris, and staff are awesome people and very kind and accommodating. We camp here as often as we can! No negatives here!
May 30, 2017
Awesome experience cant waut to go back. Friendly staff clean and well planned activiries. Thanks for all the hard work to make this a great place to stay
May 30, 2017
Excellent stay as always, the staff is great and our kids love the activities.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
It was great.
May 30, 2017
Everything was ok. We checked in on Friday and the women's bathroom was spotless but by Sunday morning, my husband said the men's was filthy. No one was nasty but not overly friendly either. Lots for kids to do but not much for older people. Lots and Lots of dogs! It is quiet (except for the dogs). We paid for a large spot (quite pricey) and the other spots looked pretty packed together.
May 30, 2017
Great campground. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
May 30, 2017
Even with the rain it was a great time glad to kick off our 2017 camping seasons at one of our favorite campgrounds
May 30, 2017
We had a great time. The staff was extremely friendly and there were a lot of activities arranged for kids and adults.
May 30, 2017
Very clean friendly
May 30, 2017
WE loved it, our grandkids did not want to go home. The hayride was fun, the bouncing pillow, and swimming was a blast! It was a perfect weekend, and all our kids want to come back as soon as we can.... Thank You..
May 29, 2017
Great camp ground. Staff was very friendly. Kids enjoyed all the extra activities.
May 27, 2017
Everything was fabulous!! But the wifi was terrible! I like to check email while traveling and got logged off wifi way too many times! But the place and the people are fabulous!!
May 26, 2017
This is favorite overnight stop on your annual trips out west. Always clean! We love to see the additions & improvements to the grounds that have been made over the past few years.
May 26, 2017
We love the KOA!! Even when the weather wasn't great, we found things to do. We are always sad when it's time to leave!
May 26, 2017
Great staff and great pizza delivered to our site the restrooms and laundry were very clean
May 26, 2017
Outstanding campground! Very clean bathrooms, laundry area and campground in general. Staff went put of their way to be helpful. Will definitely be back when in the area.
May 26, 2017
Very nice place
May 26, 2017
The only thing that could have made the stay better would have been warmer temps and sunshine.
May 26, 2017
This is by far the nicest KOA that I've stayed at. Each year there are improvements and additions that make it even better. The grounds with lake, clubhouse, playground and pet area are super. Oh, and don't forget the sites with swings, tables & chairs and new bar b qs The staff is very helpful every time I visit.
May 25, 2017
We only stayed overnight and everything was fine! Staff was friendly and efficient. Everything on the site was clean and neat and worked well!
May 24, 2017
We were in area for Iowa Cubs game and stayed in RV rental which was nice and clean. A bit shaky though as people moved around. The queen bed was a tight fit a on the hard side for my liking. Nice shower but small sink. Friendly staff. Next time we will rent a cabin which they let us tour.
May 24, 2017
The fun zone was epic. 14/10. Would and will come back
May 23, 2017
It was good just like always. We'll be back again.
May 23, 2017
we always have a great time
May 23, 2017
Great Pizza! We came back on our way back to Minnesota to again spend the night, primarily because not only was this KOA nicely laid out and the service was very good, but the "Pizza" was the final deciding factor for us. Dr. and Mrs. Lloyd Wallin, Apple Valley, MN.
May 23, 2017
It was cold & rainy and the dog park was muddy so we didn't get a chance to really appreciate it
May 23, 2017
May 22, 2017
May 22, 2017
Very relax few days - Sorry about the rain.
May 22, 2017
May 22, 2017
Great staff. Wish they had paved roads rather than caliche. Messing when it's wet.
May 20, 2017
Most of our stays on this trip were just overnighters. This is one of the nicer KOA's. Well off the freeway, so unlike some of the other KOA's, no traffic noise. Early in the season, but had to change sites, hose bib was spraying water. Overall we liked it and would stay again.
May 20, 2017
Great spot to camp. Camp is in a beautiful location, off the road. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
May 20, 2017
lots of nice new outdoor furniture and playground equipment! Very clean, just be nice to have some paved sights for big rigs! Great pizza too!
May 20, 2017
Only there one night. Was nice clean KOA.
May 18, 2017
We had a comfortable site during our 4-day stay. Glad to see upgrades to patio sites and additional cabins being installed. We plan to stay again. Staff was very helpful.
May 18, 2017
Everything was great, but wifi was far less than optimal.
May 16, 2017
We had an excellent stay. The staff is great, the cabins are clean and the kids had so much to do. We booked another weekend before we left. Definitely going back.
May 16, 2017
We love this KOA. It is clean and we'll maintained and in such a nice rural setting within 20miles of our kids in West Des Moines. Staff are all pleasant and accommodating.
May 16, 2017
Our stay was fine, everything nice&clean, staff friendly. However pls, don't switch a customer's site when already reserved and paid for to a lesser site, without asking cust. First. Staff did offer try to correct error, but we were stuck with site for weekend. We still will stay here again as the owners are great people!
May 16, 2017
great folks went out of their way to accommodate me on a very busy weekend... great service
May 16, 2017
This is our 3rd time staying here at this KOA and every time has been GREAT!
May 15, 2017
Loved it!
May 15, 2017
May 15, 2017
The pool and activities for the weekend were great. The amenities in the deluxe cabins exceeded expectations. Liked the adjoining patio between our families cabins this time.
May 15, 2017
Super clean, well maintained, great activities and very friendly and helpful owners and staff! Love it!
May 15, 2017
Loved seeing all of the children's activities. People all friendly and quiet at appropriate time. Thx for a great time!
May 15, 2017
Very clean and friendly. Only negative was the 'crammed in' feeling we got. They put two trailers facing each other so you have to share your 'yard' and your back side of your camper is INCHES away from the other neighbor. Their slide out was TOO CLOSE for comfort. Unshared 'yards' would have been nicer. Cramming more campers into the campground seems more important than their guests comfort.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award