Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2017
Wide sites, very clean everywhere. We went sightseeing one day over the holiday weekend. All other days were spent in the campground very relaxing. Can't wait to go back :)
Jul 05, 2017
This KOA makes updates every year! They want to ensure your stay is a great experience. Highly recommend!
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
Great campgrounds with nice amenities. Dog friendly w/nice dog park. Fun activities. Great for family with kids!
Jul 05, 2017
Tripped circuit breaker caused a little grief but the overall experience was positive!
Jul 05, 2017
This is a wonderful park. Lots of things to do for kids. Nice store. Able to get pizza delivered from the office! Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 04, 2017
None
Jul 04, 2017
Very clean and a lot of activities
Jul 04, 2017
Beautiful campgrounds and campsite.
Jul 04, 2017
We stayed on new site 78 which is a beautiful quiet site. On our next trip west, we will be requesting this site. Beautiful campgrounds and well managed.
Jul 03, 2017
Absolutely the best, clean, LOTS of activities for all. Staff very attentative and available. Definite "do over" for us!
Jul 03, 2017
While every thing worked out in the end, I wish some would have called and explained that their electric tent sites were temporarily moved clear down by the dog park. I was very clear that I wanted an electric tent site near our friends. Had they read my special instructions, they could have called & saved an upset customer! We set up camp w/ our friend, but still disappointed in how KOA handled.
Jul 03, 2017
Nice facilities. Only stayed a few hrs for sleep. We didn't even plug in
Jul 02, 2017
Great place, nice people.
Jul 02, 2017
The staff was great! The deluxe patio site we had for our travel trailer was nice. The reason I can only give 4 stars is that the site was very tight. A bit more room away from my neighbors would have been great.
Jul 02, 2017
Very clean. Tons of stuff for kids to do. We will be back!
Jul 02, 2017
Really enjoyed my time there quiet and yet very friendly and helpful .
Jul 02, 2017
stopped with our 2 granddaughters after a very long day of traveling and they took advantage of everything offered, a break they really needed.
Jul 02, 2017
Top notch campground. Great idea when staff meet you at entrance and park you before even check in. Thanks
Jul 01, 2017
There were reports of a tornado on the ground 15 miles from the site and the staff and owners went from site to site and brought everyone to safety. We pulled in when the warning was issued and immediately directed to the basement. Great job by everyone.
Jul 01, 2017
Jul 01, 2017
This KOA is truly lovely and has so many amenities, but it was more expensive than we'd seen to date. the only reason I gave is less than stellar rating.
Jun 30, 2017
Grandkids loverd the jumping pillow. And of course the pool. The travel trailer was just perfect for us. Thanks you KOA West Des Monies.
Jun 30, 2017
Great owners. We arrived under a tornado warning and they had everyone in the campground go into their basement. Appreciated their concern! Beautiful campground!
Jun 30, 2017
Was a great relaxing time. My son had a great time in the pool and on the jumping pillow.
Jun 30, 2017
Was there only overnight and spent most of my time in the laundry room, but the location was nice, out in the country and quiet. Would stay there again.
Jun 30, 2017
Very kind family owners! Bad weather forced campers and dogs aliike to their basement. Very accommodating and concerned for everyones safety! Thanks!
Jun 29, 2017
Our stay was great. Cabin was clean. Kids had a blast. Staff was nice. Can't wait for our next year visit unless we can squeeze another weekend in this year.
Jun 29, 2017
Very clean campground ! Covenient to interstate and VERY spacious sights !
Jun 29, 2017
Jun 28, 2017
Absolutely great, nice heated pool.
Jun 28, 2017
Very helpful staff. We only stayed one night but would definitely stay again.
Jun 28, 2017
Great campground, close to covered bridges and John Wayne birthplace ... lots of activities for children -- will have to bring the grandkid next time.
Jun 28, 2017
clean, well organized, close to interstate, friendly staff
Jun 28, 2017
To date, the best KOA we've stayed at. We're not yet campers, just overnighters as we traverse from D.C. to San Francisco. Staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. Facilities were immaculate and all readily accessible from our site. Perfect stay!!
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 27, 2017
We were highly disappointed as I had called months before to assure that we would have a spot close to the pool and with tree coverage. I had neither. Also, we found the pool to be small and full of leaves most of the time. The backboard was missing from the basketball hoop and the basketball got stuck in the hoop every time you shot the ball. There wasn't enough for the grandkids to do.
Jun 27, 2017
It was great that you have all the planned activities as it was to cool for the pool most of the time! The kids loved every minute!
Jun 27, 2017
Great fun,something
Jun 27, 2017
This KOA was a great place to take my family. Friendly staff, lots of activity for the kids,
Jun 27, 2017
Appreciated the pizza delivery after a long day of travel.
Jun 26, 2017
I was pleased that the cabin I had requested when I made our reservation way last January was actually held for me. It provided a central gathering area for other members attending our family reunion, who were camped nearby. It was important to us to have the specific cabin we had requested. With service like this we are very likely to continue holding our family reunions at this KOA campground
Jun 26, 2017
WE had a great time!
Jun 26, 2017
Nice park, nice people.
Jun 26, 2017
Very noisy after quiet hours are supposed to begin. Very rude campers! Also very dusty as the roads and sites are gravel.
Jun 26, 2017
Clean friendly, quiet not by interstate. negative -- site out in the open, a parking lot, no trees
Jun 26, 2017
$10 per child charge for the "amenities " is ridiculous and should be disclosed when reservations are made. Very clean facility. Office is understaffed.
Jun 26, 2017
We were very impressed with how well the grounds were kept. Very friendly staff and fun planned activities.
Jun 26, 2017
Stayed in the new 2017 cabin. So nice! Our 4 boys were entertained the whole weekend. $10/stay per child wristbands were well worth the money. The weekend themed activities were so fun. Shower house showers were nicer than my house. Can't say enough good things. Definitely be back and tell our friends.
Jun 26, 2017
We had a fantastic stay, everyone working there was so nice.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award