Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2017
My only complaint is that there aren't many showers compared to the number of sites.
Aug 06, 2017
Had an Awesome time. Loved dunking my grandkids in the dunk tank. Great place for FUN Family bonding.
Aug 06, 2017
Outstanding service!!! Fabulous amenities!!! Absolutely great place for the Grandchildren!!! Will definitely stay again!!!
Aug 06, 2017
We really enjoyed the activities that were planned and the friendliness of the campground. However, we would have liked to have been told that our campsite was adjacent to a construction area. During the day (until 7 pm) there was a lot of construction noise that made it pretty unbearable to sit at the site. In general it seems that the place is much more set up for RVs then for tent camping.
Aug 05, 2017
Nice KOA, showers are awesome and the people are great! Only cons is small pool for the size of the campground and the gravel is very dusty as you drive on the roads. Would have been nice if they used a washed gravel for their roads.
Aug 05, 2017
WONDERFUL as always!
Aug 05, 2017
Awesome KOA, picturesque, clean, one of the BEST we have stayed in.
Aug 05, 2017
Very friendly. Well kept with amenities and activities for the kids.
Aug 05, 2017
not ideal for tent camping, but the staff did work to make it as good for us as possible when an enormous group came taking all available spots
Aug 05, 2017
ok
Aug 05, 2017
A great place to stay, first class setting and great staff.I'll be back
Aug 05, 2017
This camp ground is always good. They are expanding so that will help the downside which is trying to get in. The staff is great.
Aug 04, 2017
I have camped at KOA across many states. This is the first one I didn't feel welcome. The site I was given was pretty tight for my 32ft TT. The electrical was a mess. Pretty sure there is a lot code issues here. Sewer Hookup was not position so the connection would stay secure. Nice they are expanding to a year round sites should probably correct the existing sites first.Ran out of room more 2 say
Aug 04, 2017
Well the staff was very nice an helpful. But we didn't care for the gravel roads at all. Tracking in dust an it being in the air all day long. Had to just watch regular TV because cable didn't work. Then there was a riding toy to close to the site we first was assigned an it put a dent in our R V. Didn't notice it until we got home.
Aug 04, 2017
Kids loved it and did not want to leave. Very friendly and accommodating staff! We will be back.
Aug 04, 2017
I thought the swimming pool, dunk tank, jumping pillow and playground were great for my 6 and 4 year. I was really disappointed with the construction equipment at 8:30 am right by our camp site. It was so loud you couldn't talk. This was not really mentioned prior to reserving the site. The younger staff (young girl and African American boy were very helpful). Other staff not enjoyable.
Aug 04, 2017
Real nice camp ground.
Aug 04, 2017
A dust bowl !!!!!!
Aug 03, 2017
Nice property with helpful, attentive staff
Aug 03, 2017
very nice park and your staff was helpful in directing us to sites to see during our stay.
Aug 03, 2017
we had a 1 night stay with good water pressure and good sized sites BUT we were very disappointed in the chalky white dust from the gravel on the park roads and sites that got on everything as we had to drive thru the whole park just to get to our Site. Our coach and tow vehicle were a dusty mess and we're still trying to get the dust off 2 days later!!
Aug 02, 2017
Provided a superb venue for our family vacation, and we will be back!
Aug 02, 2017
Very fun place, great for kids, so much to do. Grounds are clean. Showers and BR very clean. Great sites. Lots to do in the area from Des Moines to the Bridges of Madison County.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Great Camp facility.
Aug 02, 2017
We had a good over night stay.
Aug 02, 2017
Great, Quiet park set in rural area. Can't hear freeway. Nice big, level, tree shaded pull thru. Lots of things for kids to play on and ride. 20 minutes to John Wayne birthplace museum.
Aug 02, 2017
Small site, but it was good that they were back to back
Aug 02, 2017
Clean, quiet campground. Only one night passing through but very pleasant stay.
Aug 02, 2017
I gave this park 4 stars instead of 5 only because I felt they were a bit pricey.
Aug 02, 2017
Warm swimming pool, modern showers and grassy tent site. Great.
Aug 01, 2017
We had a very nice reunion. It was during the Christmas in July weekend and we participated in many of the activities. The staff was kind and helpful.
Aug 01, 2017
I didn't realize the 30a sites were back to back. The quarters were a bit close. Otherwise, everything was very nice
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
VERY well maintained property!!!!
Aug 01, 2017
The owners are working hard to update the camp ground. Many improvements have been made since June.
Jul 31, 2017
There were 35 of my family at the camp ground from 7/26 - 7/30. We all had a great time. Our kids were entertained by the staff. The adults found the staff to be polite and accommodating. Thanks for the great weekend! We will be back at a KOA next year!
Jul 31, 2017
We love this KOA! From check-in to check-out and everything in between it was a great experience. Check them out, you will not be disappointed.
Jul 31, 2017
We always enjoy our stay here. The staff is so helpful and very friendly and there's so many activities for the kids to distract themselves with!
Jul 31, 2017
Short but sweet stay!! We loved it nice and clean! teen kids loved the bounce pillow, great sized lots!!
Jul 31, 2017
Loved it, everything was great!
Jul 31, 2017
Stay was very friendly and area was quiet. Bathrooms could have used a little more attention
Jul 31, 2017
A nice place and the people were very friendly.
Jul 31, 2017
Sites were too close together. It felt like a parking lot. Staff was surly, unhelpful, and had no time for us.
Jul 31, 2017
The campsite was pretty tight between the 2 campers. We had to park on the grass in order to open our slides and not hit the camper that was next to us. Over all it was a great weekend.
Jul 30, 2017
Great place to relax and enjoy doing nothing. Plenty of things to keep the kids occupied and have fun, too.
Jul 30, 2017
Perfect in every way!!! The electric tent sites located right next to the playground...quit at night...tons of activities for kids! One of our favorite KOAs!!!
Jul 30, 2017
Every thing was clean. It was easy to get to and the staff was great.
Jul 30, 2017
Very nice setting off interstate 2 m. Kid friendly lots of activity for children...great hosts & yummy ice cream 😀👍
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award