Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email This Campground

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 24, 2018
The gal that took our reservation and checked us in was personable and very nice. They allowed us a late checkout since our daughter was graduating from college. This was very helpful to our plans. The bathrooms are modern and kept very clean. The guests at the campground were considerate of the other guests and it was quiet at night.
May 24, 2018
Very nice park with really clean showers and restrooms.
May 24, 2018
The nicest I have seen. Host was awesome
May 23, 2018
The place and the staff were great! There was plenty to do and lots of activities planned! My only complaint was that our cabin only had a mini-fridge instead of an efficiency-sized refrigerator like our last cabin. That is not a lot of space when you consider that the cabin is supposed to accommodate six (6) people, which did not leave a lot of room for all of our food and beverages.
May 22, 2018
Our stay at KOA was great! We had a large wedding party and the cabins were a perfect fit for us!
May 21, 2018
A mini fridge would have been more realistic in my cabin than a tv. I got there with meat ready to grill but no where to keep it.
May 21, 2018
Very nice!!
May 21, 2018
Really nice grounds and enjoyed our stay. Wood bundles were a bit too pricey but overall, great place to get some fresh air and away from it all.
May 21, 2018
The camp grounds were prestige. And the showers even better. I was sad we were only staying for one night. We’ll be back with our grandkids!
May 21, 2018
we were traveling across country with two dogs from California to NY, what a great choice to hotels. it was clean and quiet and affordable. We stayed in a camping cabin. I wished there was a screen door on cabin because I prefer fresh air to air conditioning. I loved that there was a great walking area and we let the dogs run at the highschool across the street. I will stay here everytime.
May 20, 2018
We had a great time! The only thing I'd recommend is fire rings for each of the group camping spots.
May 18, 2018
Office was closed but the lady there helped us find a spot. Very nice place. Clean and friendly. Great dog park area. Will stay again on our return trip.
May 17, 2018
We had a great weekend, even though it was a rainy one. Your staff is great; the cabins were amazing! I have already recommended your facility to three people who plan to go check it out. We will be back.
May 16, 2018
very helpful and accommodating staff. nice facilities.
May 16, 2018
We enjoyed our stay, it was only one night but staff was very friendly and helpful! Nice bathrooms!
May 16, 2018
May 15, 2018
May 14, 2018
We love this campground. The large, pull through spaces make it easy getting in and out. The campground is extra clean and well maintained. There are themed weekends with lots of activities for kids of all ages. The hosts and staff are wonderful.
May 14, 2018
Great people and a great place!! Can’t wait to go back. Keep up the great work!
May 09, 2018
May 09, 2018
Loved It! Decided to stay an extra night because of the great personalities, the quiet and relaxing location, the pizza (delivered right to your site) and the absolutely to die for ice cream! What more could you ask for? Will definitely stop on my way home in the fall!
May 08, 2018
We always stay at KOA. Yours is the best. The following night we went to Omaha and they could sure learn a lot from you.
May 08, 2018
May 08, 2018
First timers and it was beyond expectations. We will most definitely be back.
May 07, 2018
This was our first time ever at any camping ground for our family. We stayed in the deluxe cabin. Everything was very clean, and neat. Our children had fun with all the outdoor activities, and my husband and I loved that we could cook our own food, sit on the patio and enjoy seeing our children have a good time. Well done!
May 07, 2018
May 07, 2018
Very nice owner and staff! The campgrounds were very neat and clean and there are a ton of activities available on-site. Great place to stay.
May 07, 2018
Very quiet well kept campground. The hosts were very welcoming. We enjoyed our stay
May 06, 2018
It was an overnight stay but all was good. Staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. Campground and site were clean. The utilities worked as expected. Will be by again when in the area.
May 03, 2018
Appreciated the large pull thru camp lots. Nice that they were mostly level too. We didn't stay in camp much because we were testing out our new camper before taking it all the way back home, 3.5 hours away. A few things needed to be fixed so it was convenient that you were close to the dealership too. Loved the wide variety of items/food/drinks in your store. KOA's are great camps. Thx!
May 03, 2018
No highway noise yet close to I80. Great overnight stay. Plan to stay again on our return trip.
May 01, 2018
Always love staying here! Staff & owners are friendly & personable. Campgrounds are always neat & tidy with a ton of activities!! A+
May 01, 2018
We had a great stay at this KOA. Restrooms were clean, activities for kids are plentiful and fun. Our stay was cool, hot days you might wish for a few more trees. Pool wasn’t open yet, so trees may not matter.
Apr 30, 2018
Very nice long level pull through. Great gift shop.
Apr 23, 2018
Apr 23, 2018
Apr 23, 2018
Our stay was an overnight stop on the way to our final destination. Friendly staff, not far from I-80.
Apr 23, 2018
The facility was very clean and covered every need a RV'er would need.
Apr 13, 2018
Apr 10, 2018
Early season - great reception at the store, and pretty location.
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 06, 2018
Muddy No trees Expensive Paying for upcharged electricity Paying for amenities that were closed

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey Payton, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. These sites were brand new and the first time we've had sites available in the winter. And, yes they were muddier than we had hoped, unfortunately. But, just like our sites that we've had in place for years, these new sites will be just as nice or better in short order once the weather clears. I'm glad we had something to at least offer you
Feb 28, 2018
The owner makes up rules as he goes and is completely unhelpful. The on site staff doesn't do anything. Electric is up charged to 14 cents per kWh when Iowa's average across the state is about 10 cents. The winter sites are in a bowl with no drainage so as the snow melts the whole place is under water. We paid more for winter sites even though we had zero amenities. No wi fi and many more issues.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey Ethan, I'm sorry you feel we weren't helpful during your stay, but we have no tolerance for folks that don't follow the few rules we have and blatantly disrespect us and our staff. You're mistaken about the rest of what you posted, as we had discussed in the past with the folks in your group. We most definitely had and always have had wifi...our on-site staff used it every day of the winter.
Feb 27, 2018
Jan 19, 2018
Unit was perfect. It was cold and windy, stayed warm and cozy inside. Will visit again during warmer months! Thanks
Dec 24, 2017
Nov 12, 2017
Nov 07, 2017
Overall the stay was enjoyable the adjacent campers were awful loud until the early hts
Nov 01, 2017
Nov 01, 2017
Nice campground.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award