Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2020
Nice campground with extremely nice and helpful staff. Our campsite was nice and quiet. Bath house was nice and kept clean, If I had one complaint it would be that our site wasn’t smooth ( had large gravel) and wasn’t level (off about 5 inches side to side which really wasn’t a problem ). Overall I would highly recommend this campground. 5 stars from us. We will definitely be back.
Jul 08, 2020
Clean comfortable place. Friendly staff Great fireworks for 4 th.
Jul 07, 2020
Jul 07, 2020
nice place new owners doing great. didn't care for all the added cost we were hit with after we arrived.
Jul 07, 2020
We stayed in Kabin 2. Very cozy and very clean. Rented a boat one morning from the office. Great way to explore Wheeler Lake. Perfect launching spot for our paddleboards and kayaks.
Jul 07, 2020
They were booked up for the 4th of July but they put us on a wait list and when a spot came open they gave us a call. We enjoyed our 3 day weekend at the Decatur KOA!
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 06, 2020
Fabulous campground on the river! The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to help. When others were canceling Independence Day celebrations, this KOA expanded theirs, and did an excellent job. The only reason not a five star rating - no sewer hookups. The “honey wagon” should be included in the site price, not extra. Still, We do plan to come back.
Jul 06, 2020
We love staying at the KOA in Hillsboro, probably our favorite place to camp. It's always clean, the store is always stocked and the employees are friendly.
Jul 06, 2020
Jul 05, 2020
We stayed one night on our trip to the Gulf. Got us spot on the river was really nice.
Jul 04, 2020
Very clean and nice place. Staff was very helpful and friendly!
Jul 03, 2020
It was great! I would like to see WiFi availability at the campground.
Jul 02, 2020
One of the best koa's I've stayed at and will return. Spoke with the new owners they were very friendly and have great ideas for expanding.
Jul 02, 2020
Jun 30, 2020
Beautiful campsite next to the water. Very quite and peaceful. Wished we could have stayed longer. We will be coming back for an extended stay.
Jun 29, 2020
Great experience. Everyone was really nice!
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Peaceful, great staff. One of the best . Wish we could have stayed longer.
Jun 29, 2020
We rented two cabins. They were great. Clean, spacious,peaceful, and had all the stuff to cook breakfast, lunch and dinner. We rented kayaks and electric bikes. It was very fun. Would go back for sure!
Jun 29, 2020
Found our new campground here in north Alabama. Keep up the great work.
Jun 29, 2020
Very enjoyable staff was very friendly our water was turned off we called the office they had someone there very quickly we made a couple suggestions like a mat at the patio doors. And a light going on to the out side patio. Other then that everything was perfect. Very enjoyable.
Jun 27, 2020
Quiet (mid-week) and clean campground on the river. Stayed in full hook up area near office, so less noise from fellow campers. Nice beach area. Partial hook up area sites looked roomy. Laundry room was well maintained. Far from town so plan accordingly.
Jun 26, 2020
Facility looked great, our space was near road so didn't enjoy any views
Jun 26, 2020
This has been one of the better campgrounds I have stayed at this summer. The owners are very nice and have a great vision for this property. Staff is friendly and helpful. Would have liked to see more spots with sewer hook ups but they do have a honey wagon that supports the campground. We plan to go back.
Jun 23, 2020
Of coarse we enjoyed our stay as it was centered around family time. We did have a few disappointments and concerns. I would like to have a conversation with the owners...the best time to reach me is after 5 pm M-Th and after 12:30 pm on Friday afternoons. Kind Regard, Marissa Gamble 706-853-8762
Jun 23, 2020
The best lemonade made in office sites were great
Jun 22, 2020
We had a great time!
Jun 22, 2020
We were in a cabin and our family was in an rv. Loved the area and easy access to the lake
Jun 22, 2020
We recently purchased an RV and this was our first camping trip. The campground was beautiful and very well kept. We had a great experience and will definitely recommend. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. My grand children had a wonderful trip. Thank you for making our first camping trip a sweet memory!
Jun 22, 2020
Campsite had nice view. All neighbors were quiet. That’s where my 2 stars comes from. Staff were meh...didn’t answer my question succinctly. Propane wasn’t available. Lots of trash around. Especially on the shore, including rotting fish that were there for 2 days. No dog park available. We won’t return.
Jun 22, 2020
We absolutely LOVED our stay! Our first time at this campground and we have already booked our next stay! Bath houses were very clean, campground was quiet, our girls enjoyed the beach area. Staff was super friendly. Can’t wait to visit again!!!
Jun 22, 2020
Very nice campground, nice shady spots. Willow flies were awful but I know it’s the time of year and nature. Sewer hookups would be a great addition.
Jun 22, 2020
Hidden gem. New owners are very nice and working very hard to upgrade and make this the place to go. They have a lot of excitement on future plans. I can't wait to come back in a year is so to see what is or has been done.
Jun 20, 2020
We we're there only 1 night but we couldn't have felt more welcome. What wonderful owners and staff. The place was very clean.
Jun 19, 2020
Jun 19, 2020
We enjoyed everything about the camp grounds. We had a great lot. The only negative was the grass around the banks and in the water, but it was a small detail that would not stop us from returning.
Jun 17, 2020
Wonderful stay . The staff was very personable and accommodating. The campground is very clean and the lake is beautiful!
Jun 17, 2020
The attendants were friendly and very helpful. Will stay again!! Park was well kept and quiet. We only stayed one night passing thru but we plan to come back to stay longer
Jun 16, 2020
Jun 16, 2020
Your KOA is the most beautiful one we have ever stayed. So peaceful, scenic. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Jun 15, 2020
Beautiful campground. The only thing that could have made it better was sewer hook ups.
Jun 15, 2020
Its our second trip there and it will not be our last! We love the campsites. Clean and manicured. We can purchase a lot right next to the water. The owners/managers and all personnel are very helpful and very personable! The lots are spacious.
Jun 15, 2020
Spot 18, (spot with the wooden deck) had dogs that barked continuously. We could not enjoy being outside for the barking dogs. Even when they had the dogs in their camper you could hear them barking. Everyone in our area mentioned it and some who had been there longer than us said it was like that all the time. Other than that it was great. Staff great.. Wish they would add a pool.
Jun 15, 2020
Rented a cabin super nice and clean only problem we was there for a tournament and there is only 1 parking spot no trailer parking near the cabin had too leave my truck at the boat ramp but other than that great place too stay
Jun 15, 2020
Nice park with great staff
Jun 15, 2020
Overall the campground was fine but there was a lack of staff enforcing rules. The family in campsite beside us had loose dogs the whole weekend that pooped in our site. They were loud and disruptive and vulgar til 3am the first night and the entire night the second night. There was no toilet paper in bathhouse for 16 hours and bathhouses were disgusting. I was very disappointed for money I spent
Jun 15, 2020
What a gorgeous property and wonderful friendly hands-on owners! This place was a real treat!
Jun 14, 2020
Very friendly staff. Clean and nicely kept property. RV sites well maintained and we enjoyed easy access in pull-thru sites. Beautiful tall pine tree surroundings at our site #201
Jun 14, 2020
Jeremy, thank you for delivering all that wood. Lot 50 was perfect for my family. Everything was nice, the beach was a little dirty but it's a beach so I think that's how how it's going to be. Thanks for the late check in, the late check out then adding another day then not dating anything about us not getting out at noon. I didn't realize getting ready to come or go how long it would take to do i
Jul 08, 2020
Its been redone it is so much nicer and it was enjoyable
- Mary Mccutcheon on Google
Jul 05, 2020
Came for the 4th of July and it was fantastic. The staff was incredibly friendly. We rented a paddleboard one day and a boat another. We stayed in Kabin 2. It was a great view of the water. Also, the lodging was sparkling clean. We will be back!
- Candice Luts on Google
Jul 03, 2020
Nice location lake right there shower is air conditioned and one is really big, easy parking
- Deb Schomaker on Google