Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Feb 20, 2020
Our site was beautiful. Like the security of the gate
Feb 18, 2020
. The only thing different from there and the other KOA's we stayed at from Feb, 5. 2020 to Feb,15, 2020 was the bathroom and shower facility, One of each.The campground was clean and the owners were very friendly.
Feb 15, 2020
The new owners have done a great job making this a beautiful place to camp!
Feb 11, 2020
Such a beautiful place! Good luck to the new owners!
Feb 10, 2020
One of the nicest out of the way KOA's I've stayed at. Sites are very spacious and the staff was very helpful and friendly
Feb 03, 2020
The owner is new and trying to get the place in order. We feel he will. Very nice man. However we paid $45 plus tax for one night. No Wi-Fi, no cable.
Feb 02, 2020
Brief stopover on our way from Florida to Ohio. Beautiful KOA on a lake
Jan 08, 2020
We got in late. New owners. All was well. Pretty place. We were off season so not much going on.
Jan 02, 2020
The owners were super nice people, they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, this is a beautiful campground, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place around Decatur, we will be coming back.
Nov 25, 2019
Nov 17, 2019
The person I dealt with was very nice, but not every accessible. The park was open for the month of November but seemed abandoned. The store wasn’t opened, the trash cans were overflowing the three days we were there and there was NO WiFi as advertised in the ad, which should be removed if not available! The lake however was beautiful, the laundry facility was clean and the bathhouse was ok.
Nov 09, 2019
Our first stay here, Great staff, gave us a beautiful spot near the lake. Facilities were clean, will be coming back again!
Nov 07, 2019
Nov 06, 2019
We love the area... campsite 15 is the greatest. Only issue might have been because we were there late in the season, early November, but seemed like an abundance of trash along roadways. We picked up quite a bit, as we don’t mind that sort of thing. Paying it forward if you will... We would welcome opportunities to visit KOA,S free of charge in the springtime to help clean...
Nov 05, 2019
Nov 02, 2019
It was pretty deserted and a lot storms so I didn’t get to do a lot but it is nice, clean amenities and the hosts were very nice!
Nov 01, 2019
Beautiful and quiet. Love this campground!
Oct 30, 2019
Only real negative was no sewer hookup. Electric connection. was a bit iffy, staff said they'd look into it. Both staff members were extremely courteous & helpful.
Oct 30, 2019
Too rustic. Lack of services.
Oct 24, 2019
Extremely quiet, peaceful and clean.
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 23, 2019
Wonderful campground.
Oct 23, 2019
Had a wonderful time enjoyed being by the water and the staff made sure everything was alright always saw them making there way around the campground
Oct 23, 2019
Had a one night stay and look forward to coming back for a longer stay.
Oct 23, 2019
We have stayed at the campground several times this year and the staff has been amazing everytime. Your looking for quiet and peaceful stay this is the best place for it.
Oct 23, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 16, 2019
Contrary to the web site advertisement, they do not have WiFi. We would not have stayed there if we would have known. There are a very limited number of full service hook ups that are not located near the water. Being charged for WiFi as a portion of the cost but not getting it while not offering a price reduction is poor practice regardless of the official response to my inquiry.
Oct 16, 2019
The camping spots are big and most are on the water. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. You can even catch fish off the bank if you want. Great place
Oct 16, 2019
Great stay and scenery, friendly and very helpful staff! Only thing was our site didn’t have wifi, it we got thru that just fine. Really liked it there, everyone was so friendly. Thank you for all of your help!
Oct 16, 2019
It turned cold so we didn't get out much.
Oct 16, 2019
Nice place to park the RV, but not much to do there. Really needs some maintenance done. Several of the campsites are grown over, fallen trees need to be cleaned up, fence needs repair. Nice lake, relaxing views. Bathhouse seemed clean, but we didn’t use. They were out of firewood. Told us to scavenge the fallen trees! Lol. Not up to KOA standards we are accustomed to.
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 13, 2019
We had a great time. The managers on the property are willing to help with whatever you need. We've stayed twice now and they helped us out each time with any issues that occur. Beautiful scenery. Nice and quiet. Very relaxing.
Oct 12, 2019
Oct 12, 2019
Just needed a pull through for an overnight stay. Site was nice.
Oct 12, 2019
Beautiful spot on the River/ Lake��
Oct 12, 2019
The staff is the BEST! They were very nice and went above and beyond to ensure we had a spot we were happy with and that we had everything we needed. Pull thru/full hook-up was plenty big and everything worked great. Nice lake just a few steps away. Bathroom and shower were neat and clean. Highly recommend and we will go back.
Oct 11, 2019
Quiet pretty night. Young man driving around to make sure all was well. Very pleasant and helpful
Oct 09, 2019
Stay was great and peaceful, the staff was awesome. The only thing I would suggest is make sure you take a 50 amp to 30 amp connector with you for your camper or RV. The electrical is outdated but still works efficiently using the converter connector. If you don't have one the office has some.
Oct 08, 2019
Beautiful setting, great camp hosts! Looking forward to returning!!
Oct 05, 2019
Oct 02, 2019
Very good, quiet and the owners were very helpful
Oct 02, 2019
Glad you changed the manager
Oct 01, 2019
The park is a nice park... needs more amenities for the price charged ... need more special deals to draw campers in... this park is in the perfect location but with pricing so high and nothing much to offer it was unusually empty... Liddia does a great job in the store and handling check in ..Brandon does a grest job considering he didn't have needed equipment most of the summer...still love it
Sep 29, 2019
Lovely location, quiet and secluded. Most KOAs we have stayed at are near freeways or highways and you can hear the traffic. This location was all nature. Friendly staff for sure! Great for walking and jogging, not at all crowded and plenty of space between sites. If we are ever in the area again this would be a definite stop for us.
Sep 28, 2019
Store was closed for the 20 hours we were there. Grounds are trashy.
Feb 18, 2020
This place was a gem of a find- beyond the lovely landscape of forest, beach and lake- the entire experience is heightened by the charm and hospitality from the new owners of this site. I walked into this vacation with everything having gone wrong with my trip. The minute I entered their main office/ store I was welcomed and treated with such kindness and genuine regard that remained unwavering until my departure 4 days later. Anything I needed was provided for, or sought to happen by each and all members of this family. The campground is mapped out nicely, with different recreational areas. I stayed in a tent and was rather pleased with the location along the soothing water.. the rv’s had another location, nicely spaces, not crowded, near restroom facilities that were a haven away from home. The warm heaters felt nice during this cold time and the hot water for long showers were a plus and toilet paper was always stocked, restrooms clean. During my stay I got to se families with kids coming by, and saw the peace of mind that this enclosed campground has for little ones exploring nature without danger. I saw people on boats, fishing, and bonfires and I even stumbled upon some little fairy habitats on one of the children’s playgrounds near the beachfront. The scenery is amazing- truly magical are the different shades of skies throughout the day, sometimes sunsets with gorgeous colors filtering through the leafy trees, sometimes the sparkling crystals reflecting the sun’s rays on the water’s surface. Every moment I would breath in the crisp air and enjoy the calm sanctuary that this campsite is.... and I know one day I will return.
- N2273IQcrystalp on Trip Advisor
Feb 14, 2020
If you are looking for a true camping vibe this is your place. The new owners are incredibly nice. They have done alot to improve the place and continue to work on it now. The laundry room is extremely clean which is rare for most campgrounds. Staying for a night, a weekend, or even a few months this is one of our favorite hidden gems.
- Jennifer P on Google
Feb 03, 2020
This is by far the best KOA. The grounds are beautiful and clean through out. The new owners are an amazing couple with a HUGE HEART for the campground and all the guest. Definitely looking forward to seeing them again!
- Locovaca on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.