Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 15, 2020
This absolutely beautiful camp site was perfect for our short stay in Alabama. We stayed at site 20 with a panoramic view of the lake. The owners were also super friendly and they told us they’re putting in a zip line soon! :)
Sep 15, 2020
We had a wonderful stay and appreciated the helpfulness and friendly nature displayed by all the staff. The cabin was very clean and well-maintained. We have nothing but high remarks for this location.
Sep 15, 2020
This KOA is in a beautiful location; this was the first time I have stayed in a KOA Holiday so it was a different experience, it was fun to be around what felt like a summer camp experience. The only issue I had was there was zero wifi. I kept trying to connect and was never able to which was a problem. The camp site was not cleaned, bits of garbage lying around, but generally a nice stay.
Sep 15, 2020
Barley enough internet, and we were right next to the office. I work from my RV and internet is very important. Why bother to advertise internet?
Sep 14, 2020
We just spent 2 nights while attending to some business in Sheffield and Florence. Stayed on site #201 which we like due to pull through and full hookups. We could really tell the difference due to new owners/management. Grass was neatly trimmed and the entire staff was super friendly and attentive and the camp store was well stocked. A real improvement. We will visit again!
Sep 14, 2020
I enjoyed my stay. The only issue was the wifi connections were either too slow or unavailable.
Sep 14, 2020
Sep 12, 2020
Quiet, peaceful and very relaxing. Clean campground facilities and the boat launch and picnic areas were well kept as well. We scheduled 2 more visits while we were checking out. That will make a total of four for my wife and myself and we plan on coming back more after those.
Sep 12, 2020
Enjoyed our stay, nice park and they our working hard to improve. Close to water and good place to ride bikes. Down side not full hookup.
Sep 11, 2020
Peaceful, But the mosquitoes were awful
Sep 10, 2020
Priced to high, not organized.
Sep 09, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Amazing staff and owners
Sep 08, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
Sep 08, 2020
The staff was incredibly friendly! The views are beautiful! The boat rentals were awesome.
Sep 08, 2020
Great time. Everything we needed was available
Sep 08, 2020
Beautiful camp ground! It’s kept up great, staff is amazing and helpful
Sep 07, 2020
Enjoyed the cabin on the lake. Needed a larger a/c unit but staff very helpful and view beautiful
Sep 07, 2020
over priced, gravel sites, hard to get into sites,people that run it are very nice but have live with corporate rules.I won't be back
Sep 07, 2020
It was great nice place with good veiws of the water
Sep 05, 2020
Quiet and peaceful.
Sep 04, 2020
Sep 04, 2020
Even thought we were there for only one night I would return for a longer stay. The park had so much to do and the staff was so friendly. We had to make some changes to our return stay and they were very helpful to solve our problem. I would recommend this park to anyone specially if you have kids they would have a ball.
Sep 04, 2020
We loved the cabin and only wish we could’ve stayed longer. It’s such a peaceful and quiet atmosphere. Such a relaxing view on the water.
Sep 03, 2020
Sep 01, 2020
A little pricey to not have full hook up, but a beautiful view of the lake, spacious lots and a well maintained camp ground.
Sep 01, 2020
Second stay there and each time found the staff very friendly. Sites are well maintained. Front office/ store area clean and stocked with items. View is very beautiful.
Aug 31, 2020
Awesome view helpful and friendly staff, great prices clean grounds and facilities.we will definitely try to come back for a longer
Aug 28, 2020
Your rates are way to high, you do not give discounts, you have been there for five years, and have made no improvement on the camper sites,
Aug 28, 2020
Aug 25, 2020
This was a great first family RV trip! We had lot 44 with a waterfront view. There was a pavilion across from us with a swing for the kids and a fence near our spot to protect them from escaping to the boat ramp in view. The playground and gift shop was a nice perk. We also enjoyed a boat ride rental. Overall a great getaway and the staff/owners were welcoming and helpful!
Aug 24, 2020
Beautiful lot and sights. Most all sites have uninstructed water views. Very clean. Everyone was very helpful & friendly.
Aug 24, 2020
One of the best KOAs we have stayed at. It was a last minute trip and the lady that answered the phone for booking on the way there was very helpful. The owners were very nice also, and were always making rounds around the campground to check to make sure everyone was happy and were not in need of anything. We will definitely be back.
Aug 23, 2020
Arrived for just a 1 night stay on our way to Fla. It was a bit far off I65 for just a 1 night. Overall, I thought the grounds were very nice, very wooded, beautiful lake with boat ramps and even a beach. The camp store and staff were very nice as well as the shower house..there are some beautiful back in water sites. Only negative was a very poor WiFi connection and gravel pads vs concrete.
Aug 23, 2020
Aug 23, 2020
A fast pass through stay...but was great...cabin was awesome..fished right from the deck...nice place
Aug 22, 2020
Had my favorite site 12. Nice shady quiet site right on the water, Staff was extremely friendly and bathhouse was very clean. I would highly recommend this campground
Aug 22, 2020
We absolutely love this koa. The owners are amazing and the lake was beautiful. The cabins are perfect! I highly recommend this koa! Next time we visit we will definitely be renting some electric bikes and sup boards
Aug 21, 2020
Aug 20, 2020
Very nice park! I enjoyed my site on the water and wished I could have stayed more than one night!
Aug 20, 2020
We have stayed at your campground several times and just love it. The staff is very pleasant and always willing to help with any questions.
Aug 20, 2020
We just loved the location, right on the shore of wheeler lake. The facilities were clean and well maintained. This one is now one of our favorites. Great place for the family!
Aug 19, 2020
The cabin was great and we loved all of the amenities.
Aug 18, 2020
Check in at the well stocked shop was easy and those who welcomed us were friendly and efficient. Our site by the bay was clean and well equipped with a lovely view. The bathroom was very clean and the dump station worked well on our way out. A friendly employee passing by as we were leaving told us about new sites planned to be available next year and was happy to take a photo of our group.
Aug 18, 2020
Aug 18, 2020
Very peaceful and the staff was 5 stars !
Aug 18, 2020
Had a few issues, but the staff are friendly and helpful. Office/store hours are less than optimal.
Sep 06, 2020
The new owners have done an awesome job with the park. Awesome people with an awesome attitude.
- shawn luker on Google
Sep 02, 2020
Hidden gem! The owners are very nice and doing a lot of work making this hidden paradise better by the day. Campsites right on top of a lake with boat ramp and fishing. Excellent!!
- Peter Ventres on Google
Sep 01, 2020
Beautiful location with clean amenities. Lots of wildlife. Have been twice and will go again.
- Leesa Zayas on Google