Deadwood / Black Hills KOA

Open April 28 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

Info: 605-578-3830

Email

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2017
loved the cabin here, perfect location. No problemd
Jul 08, 2017
We were only there one night. It was clean and everyone was helpful.
Jul 08, 2017
Overall a great location right next to historic Deadwood city. The campground is pretty small and RV sites are pretty tight. Having another vehicle on top of the RV is tough since the parking is very limited on each site.
Jul 08, 2017
The KOA was fine, but the campsites were too close to one another. In addition, someone left their dogs unattended all day and they barked. We called to complain, left a message, and never received a response from management.
Jul 08, 2017
You need more bathrooms . Also bathroom doors that close.
Jul 07, 2017
Campers are packed in like sardines, we could hear the person in the tent next to our cabin breathing. But, there are very few restrooms. It is not uncommon to wait half an hour just to go to the bathroom. Those bathrooms were filthy. The same messes existed the entire week we were there. The cabin bed mattresses were hard as cement. We stayed in over 100 KOAs,, this is the worst!
Jul 07, 2017
I was disappointed with the upkeep of the campgrounds, the weeds and the trees were over grown. The fences were falling down and needed repair. The host were wonderful, especially Emily and Stacy. I rate them very high. The hot tub was not working and the swimming pool needed repair. I think this KOA needed to hire more employees.
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
This KOA has very tight spots and large hills; terrible for trailers; we arrived late in the evening to find our spot impossible to access due to other camper's vehicles being parked too close to allow us to back in. We ended up in a fender bender with another camper trying to park in and ended up leaving in the middle of the night. Luckily, the museum in town has an rv park and we stayed there.
Jul 06, 2017
The location is great, the sites are lovely, and the employees are wonderful. Will come back!
Jul 06, 2017
Was very disappointed that there were no wood fires allowed. Sites were very small, but appreciated all the manager was able to do for us.
Jul 06, 2017
So much for the kids to do! Had an amazing time.
Jul 05, 2017
This was another good stop to spot. I would not recommend for late arrival. It was pitch black. Usually our cabin light is left on. We had trouble finding our cabin and getting parked in the dark.
Jul 04, 2017
Clean and well maintained. GreaT location . Trolley was a great feature. We had a nice cabin and were put beside family members. Would return !
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Beautiful, shady park with very nice hosts and owners. We loved they have a Kamp K-9 where our dogs could run off leash. It is small but big enough they could run a bit. My only complaint is the trolley service (not a function of the park but the city of Deadwood). DO NOT COUNT on this transportation. There really is no schedule followed and we spent hours waiting on it.
Jul 04, 2017
Nice campground but needs some TLC.
Jul 03, 2017
Very noisy being just 200-300' of a highway. Not good to a tent site. Also the Site was run down turf. Very dusty and would have been A mud pool if it rained. Sort of disappointed. My fault for not looking at the camp site map if there is one on line and it accurately shows surroundings.
Jul 02, 2017
A charming campground. It is unique as it is chiseled in the side of a hill but I felt that offered more privacy. nice private bathrooms with showers and hot water. easy to get to Deadwood.
Jul 01, 2017
This is just an OK campground. The sites are really tight, maybe the tightest we have seen. The trees and grass need trimming. After this campground, we were thinking maybe no more KOAs as the last two have been disappointing. The bathrooms were clean however.
Jul 01, 2017
Clean site with nice amenities and friendly service. Love the dog park!
Jul 01, 2017
the campgrounds are very nice the employees were very friendly we will be staying at KOA again
Jun 30, 2017
Bathrooms were extremely clean
Jun 28, 2017
Great campground. Somewhat crowded, but that's to be expected for the area. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, even when we wanted to change tent sites to get off the main road. Bathrooms were really clean and nice and camp sites had plenty of space. Not being able to have a fire was really the only downside.
Jun 28, 2017
Sites are tight but very nice environment
Jun 27, 2017
Nice campground. Very clean and was quiet. Close to town
Jun 27, 2017
The owners were very rude and aggressive. Rules that weren't on their list of rules were being implemented and then we were in the wrong. Even though, there wasn't any information regarding these "other rules" Bathrooms need updating. Not a good place for family or large groups. The spaces are extremely small for RV's. ONLY a good place if you plan to stay one night and not in a large RV.
Jun 27, 2017
Nice Koa, but the camper spots are really small.
Jun 27, 2017
it was very clean and comfortable camp site, friendly staff.
Jun 26, 2017
love it it is so pretty and very accomidating
Jun 26, 2017
Great quiet camping sites, some very pretty hills and trees, good facilities, close to deadwood but away from traffic,nicer
Jun 26, 2017
The stairs need to be fixed on the way down to the main office.....and the bathroom code didn't work during evening hours
Jun 25, 2017
Jun 25, 2017
The place needs an update. The RV dump is very difficult to use as only one side is open - No fresh water and an old RV parked on one side.
Jun 24, 2017
Love Deadwood KOA!!! Great Staff & Great Place!!! Thank you for your Hospitality! !
Jun 24, 2017
Office staff is excellent. Sites are okay, carved from a mountainside.Nice solid picnic table included. Shuttle service to dwntwn only $1.00!
Jun 24, 2017
Beautiful location away from traffic, but close to all conveniences. The staff were super.
Jun 24, 2017
Gorgeous location.
Jun 23, 2017
We found the KOA Deadwood to be beyond our expectations! Our Lodge was clean, cozy and well stocked, our every need anticipated. Our site was private and quiet, unseen from the road. Perfect! We hope to return one day.
Jun 22, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA several times in the past , we love the area and location, and love the campground, last 2 -3 themes we stayed we have noticed the grounds are not as well kept up as in the past, seems like the mowing and weed whacking has not been done for quite a while, starting to look unkept. Also we liked the KOA shuttle strive, but the has went away and replace with the Trolley,
Jun 22, 2017
Your lot size is crazy small My motorhome tires touched the patio slab on one side and my slide out almost hit the utility post on the other.My grandkids refused to swim in your filthy pool
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
Nice facilities!! And all the amenities for a small KOA. Clean newer bathrooms w rustic touches. Sites are small and tight but most have full services.
Jun 20, 2017
Close to town with trolley service back and forth. Clean pool and showers/restrooms. Great if you stay in a cabin - request the ones on the hill, but with a travel trailer or RV it is very, very cramped with no parking for your vehicle and no privacy.
Jun 20, 2017
Stayed here one year ago and had an awesome cabin up top. This time despite booking a June trip in January, we were given one down below. There were very tight quarters that made it very difficult to park and neighbors were very close. Last year a five star rating, but this year only four.
Jun 20, 2017
Friendly people, clean sites and easy access to the highways. Trolley comes by hourly to pick up and drop off. Would stay there again and recommend.
Jun 20, 2017
This is the second year we have stayed here. Host is very accommodating.
Jun 19, 2017
Clean, convenient access to town via trolley, nice scenery and nice pool. RV spots are too close together and my kids hated the playground (first time they have refused to play at one). Great overall though. Would stay again.
Jun 19, 2017
We had a nice time. We had stayed there before. I loved the fact that they had a trolley system to get into Deadwood and back.
Jun 18, 2017
Great campground! Very clean.We have gone here the past 3 years and have always been satisfied.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy