Deadwood / Black Hills KOA

Open April 28 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

Email

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2017
Everything was clean and the KOA was tucked away on a hillside, which made it feel more secluded. So far, this has been our favorite KOA stop. The owners are friendly and the cabins were fantastic.
Aug 15, 2017
We loved our stay at this campground. We attended the Sturgis Rally and this was a good a perfect location. There is a trolley that takes you into Deadwood and there is a shuttle that takes you to Sturgis/ Buffalo Chip and Full Throttle. The staff were very friendly especially the owners Arni and Debra:) They did a breakfast the week of Sturgis and it was delicious. Definitely a must!
Aug 14, 2017
Campsites are small and narrow.
Aug 14, 2017
We had a great stay. The cabin was clean, it had more amenities than we expecte, very nice! The bathrooms were close, clean and very nice! The manager was ready for our arrival immediately when we walked in, all paperwork in hand, no waiting! The ONLY reason I didn't give this GREAT KOA a 5 star rating is due to the steep terrain, beautiful but not as easy to walk around for older patrons.
Aug 13, 2017
I like staying at the Deadwood KOA. Nice campground and nice people. It would be better if the upper parking lot was paved (easier to back up motorcycles). I'm looking forward to next year.
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Always a pleasure to stay at deadwood koa. Arnie and Debbie are so accomadating. Safe and clean.
Aug 12, 2017
Excellent hosts always clean make you feel welcome I will be back
Aug 12, 2017
great location, great people
Aug 12, 2017
Our first trip to Deadwood ! The KOA is in a beautiful location! Everyone is friendly! We stayed in a cabin on Gold Hill ! Charming ! We will be staying again in the future!
Aug 12, 2017
Friendly hosts, great morning breakfast, nice location, well placed cabins. Only nit picks are upper bathrooms. Far one had a very slow draining shower and the middle bathroom ran out of toilet paper.
Aug 12, 2017
It's a very nice campground. The host are very pleasant, an helpful.Yes would definitely stay there again.
Aug 11, 2017
Great as usual very relaxing
Aug 11, 2017
Restrooms disappointing. Only one hook in shower, no place to put your soap and shampoo except on the floor. Lights over sinks off at night-too dark to shave. Paper and small trash around campground, no staff coming thru to pick it up.
Aug 11, 2017
Sorry our stay was shortened due to our mechanical problem
Aug 10, 2017
Our tent site was directly below a pole light, meaning that it shined in the tent all night long. Restrooms & showers were close by, and very clean.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Great setting with good amenities, friendly and competent staff.
Aug 09, 2017
We rented a cabin and it was very comfortable. Really glad we did because right after we got checked in it started raining and did not stop. The best part was that there is a shuttle that comes right to the campground to take you into town to eat a gamble. That is a bonus. Staff was very accommodating and the bathroom/shower area was clean and well supplied
Aug 08, 2017
Campground was very nice, clean, and well maintained. Beautiful area and nice setting and view in the canyon above Deadwood. The spaces were just very compact, with not much room to cook or sit outside after bringing in and parking the camper. The downtown shuttle bus was definitely a plus!
Aug 08, 2017
One of the best KOA I have stayed at. Extremely clean and professional personnel. Will stay there again sometime.
Aug 07, 2017
What an amazing campground. Clean, and everything you could want or need already thought of. The people running this campground were so friendly we felt right at home. We will definitely stay here again.
Aug 06, 2017
We have stayed here several times. And it seems to be getting rundown and tired.
Aug 06, 2017
Nice place, quiet. Missed some of the things bigger KOA's have, and is in need of some maintenance, overall good and not too expensive.
Aug 03, 2017
Another great KOA experience. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable.
Aug 03, 2017
While the location was as described, we experienced a power failure while there. Emily at the front desk was less than favorable when my husband went to notify her. And unfortunately later while my daughter was in the laundry she overheard Emily then complaining about her father (my husband) to other guests and even calling him names. Very UNPROFESSIONAL!
Aug 02, 2017
Nice clean park, but your sites are so small that there is no privacy at all from your neighbor's.
Aug 02, 2017
This is a beautiful KOA with a great location on a hill, surrounded by pines and aspens. It did take us two days to realize that there were a lot more bathrooms down off the office than the three up at the top of the hill. No 24 hour laundry is a bummer, but the hot tub is very nice!
Aug 02, 2017
the campground was very clean. the staff are so friendly and helpful they make you feel like part of the family. We will be back to stay at this KOA. I only hope the other KOA's are kept like this one.
Aug 02, 2017
Wonderful KOA and very friendly hosts. We loved every minute and extended our stay.
Aug 02, 2017
This campground is not for the big rigs. Entry can be tricky if someone is leaving while you are entering. Tight right turn and up a hill you go. After checking in, you have another hill leading into the camping area that can be a challenge to get to your site.
Aug 02, 2017
Staff was so great and helpful and understanding we check-in late and great facilities nice private location had a nice weekend
Aug 01, 2017
Stayed here for one night. Location is convenient to Deadwood and was a good spot to stay for the evening as we passed through to Yellowstone.
Aug 01, 2017
Lady at the front desk was very friendly and great at giving directions to all the places we were going. The guy, owner I believe, adjusted our reservations so we didn't have to move out unit after the first night. He was also very friendly. The trolley to Deadwood is a huge WIN. loved our stay. We will be back.
Aug 01, 2017
Setting was pretty but the grounds seem pretty rundown. Kind of tight quarters. Loved the shuttle to Deadwood. Great feature.
Aug 01, 2017
We had a wonderful time at this KOA! The staff was great, and the facilities were wonderful.
Aug 01, 2017
People were very friendly. The park is very pretty and clean. We enjoyed our stay and will go back. Thank you!!
Jul 31, 2017
Camp sites are very tightly packed. We could not extend our slide because it would have hit our neighbors vehicle. There was no room to connect our toad, so we drove off site to connect. We had to move our vehicle out of the way of other campers because there was no room to park at our site.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
I was wonderful. I loved the fact that the campground was built into the side of a mountain. Also loved the free trolley that would take you into Deadwood.
Jul 31, 2017
Too crowded and owner should not be dealing with the people.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
the stay was okay but we were at a family reunion most of the time. The spaces however were very small. The slide out just about came out over top of the neighbors picnic table and the uphill climb to get into the campground was challenging.
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
Campsites are very small. Packed in like sardines. We had to park our truck away from the camper as there was no room at the site. If you camp here you better have excellent backing skills. There was only 1 ft between our table(that was under the next camper's slideout and our camper. When we put our slide out, we were over in the next site by a couple of inches. Was not sorry to leave.
Jul 29, 2017
Great location, great sites, clean bathrooms and nice staff. Would highly recomend.
Jul 29, 2017
It was great that the shuttle ran through the park. We had a great stay.
Jul 29, 2017
Friendly, clean, accommodating. Nice dog park too.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy