Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 19, 2017
clean restrooms, friendly staff, good location. Kids loved the bouncing pillow- Happy with our stay
Jun 19, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
Customer service and all employees were excellent. Did not care for our camp site.
Jun 18, 2017
Very friendly and accommodating. Would love to visit again!
Jun 18, 2017
Pool clean but small. Bathrooms need remodel and are small. Laundry nice. General store has good supply of most needed items. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Jun 18, 2017
Beautiful setting. Friendly and helpful staff. Flat sites. Nice bathrooms and showers.
Jun 18, 2017
Nice place. Lots of people. Very friendly staff.
Jun 18, 2017
The place needs work. Bathrooms were new but not clean. The park itself was a mess. They were doing some type of expanding. The sites were too small. I will not stay there again
Jun 16, 2017
Jun 16, 2017
Very nice stay. Grounds and bathrooms were well kept and very clean. Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Jun 15, 2017
This is a great campground, lots of trees, clean bathrooms and showers. Very nice staff and well cared for camp grounds.
Jun 15, 2017
Very nice hosts. Clean park. All gravel and stones unless you want to pay way extra. It was good for a one night stay, but wouldn't want to stay longer. The dog area was nice but not good for small dogs. Mine went right through the fence.
Jun 14, 2017
The attendants were amazing with knowledge and very helpful.
Jun 13, 2017
lots need to be a little bigger
Jun 13, 2017
Great place to stay, fun for the kids and whole family! Friendly staff, nice grounds and clean facilities!
Jun 13, 2017
Very friendly. Very clean.
Jun 12, 2017
so much that we decided to stay a night more.
Jun 12, 2017
It was and had been raining. we were escorted to our camp site. Packed in like a herd of buffalo.We could reach out and touch our neighbor.And hear them talking.We probably would not go there again. No privacy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were not happy with your site. You reservation made a week before your arrival took our last site for your one night stay. Safe travels.
Jun 11, 2017
Tonette & David were great hosts. They provided good information on what to see and do in the area in a very warm & friendly manner.
Jun 11, 2017
Such a terrific place! Wish we would have had more time here. Lots to do with kids and the staff was outstanding to interact with! My daughter lived horseback riding, our whole family enjoyed the pool time, movie, and more!
Jun 11, 2017
We had a great experience! The staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom facilities were great.
Jun 11, 2017
Jun 10, 2017
The only thing I didn't like about my stay is the fact that they charged me $12 more when I checked in because they have me a campsite that was only for 2 people & I had 3 people. I specifically told them there would be 3 people when I made the reservation. They should've given me a campsite built for 3 people. I was told a specific amount when I made the reservation. I should only be charged that

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You made your reservation on line and did not speak with anyone here at the campground. You entered two individuals and arrived with three. This is in no way the fault of the campground. Safe travels
Jun 09, 2017
Awesome time awesome people
Jun 09, 2017
Truly outstanding. Easy in/ out. Very level. Nice, helpful staff. Near Custer and the tourist things to see. We stayed several days & took excellent Golden Circle tour.
Jun 08, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
We have stayed here previously and will be back again.
Jun 06, 2017
great Camping ground and very friendly staff
Jun 06, 2017
Great staff in the office. Ate their breakfast first day and was glad we did. Wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed more. Next time for sure.
Jun 04, 2017
Clean restrooms, very friendly and helpful staff. We only spent one night and enjoyed the quiet and peaceful surroundings, this is a family camp and appears secure
Jun 03, 2017
awesome folks working here and the area was well maintained!
Jun 02, 2017
Great place, nice clean amenities. We loved it and could not fault.
Jun 01, 2017
May 30, 2017
Our stay there was fantastic! The staff, starting with Jim, was as helpful, friendly and accommodating as could be. The site was very clean and beautiful. This was a great central location for a wide range of local activities. I would give this place six out of five stars,
May 30, 2017
We had a great stay. The owners were very friendly. Nice campground.
May 30, 2017
Stay was OK. Had better water pressure than KOA in Moab. Space wasn't very level but for a two day stay I put up with it.
May 30, 2017
The surrounding campgrounds have many more amenities. This campground was very messy and not well maintained. Disappointing
May 29, 2017
Best camping. Restrooms and showers very clean.
May 28, 2017
Other than a slight foul up in reserved facilities, this was an absolutely wonderful stay. Of all the KOAs we've stayed at, the uniqueness of the Custer KOA, the staff and the facility itself were much more than we expected.
May 26, 2017
Friendly staff and nice facilities. View was something less than desirable.
May 26, 2017
Incredible facility! Very clean and so convenient to Mt. Rushmore.
May 25, 2017
Lovely setting, clean facilities, very cheerful and helpful staff. Location is perfect for Jewel Cave, Mt Rushmore and playing in the Black Hills. All the services you need are in Custer just 3 miles down the road. 👍
May 24, 2017
too short.
May 23, 2017
Nice quiet park with nice CLEAN bathrooms/showers. Our only fault was bathrooms weren't well enough heated for the time of year (mid-May)
May 21, 2017
Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Good location. Liked Custer better than Keystone. Excellent camp store. Staff member showed us to our site even after hours.
May 21, 2017
enjoyed that we were in a full hookup, but seemed more like a campground in the trees. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
May 20, 2017
So very clean and neat! Level spots with plenty of room to get in and out. Bathrooms were spotless, We both had to use the showers every day because the shower head in my trailer was broken. Every time I used the showers, they were clean! We loved the trees and we also loved how close this KOA was to everything! Everyone who worked here was pleasant and nice. Definitely coming back.
May 20, 2017
Friendly staff including the bunnies! Clean hot showers!
May 18, 2017
The place was great. Very nice staff.
May 18, 2017
Beautiful, clean, friendly place to stay. Manager, Debi, is the best!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award