Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Sep 10, 2017
Great campground, and perfect location! Friendly staff and great customer service.
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Great WIFI, large Park I will be back
Sep 07, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Cody campsite we found the staff friendly and helpful the showers were clean and the pitch very nice
Sep 07, 2017
What a beautiful campground. Well located and so well maintained and the staff were extremely helpful. I highly recommend Custers KOA we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The dog park is pristine the sites had trees and grass. It felt like we were deep in the mountains. Loved the baby bunnies near the cabins. If your planning on visiting the Black Hills this is the campground you want to stay at.
Sep 06, 2017
Great campground, facilities very clean. Great location for all the sites around. Only complaint, as with most campgrounds, the wifi was very intermittent.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Bathrooms and showers were amazing!!!! Could use a bigger campsite. Maybe not so close together. Otherwise the kids activities were awesome as well. We had a great time.
Sep 06, 2017
A welcome site after traveling 12 hrs from Minnesota! Clean and accessable with friendly service.
Sep 06, 2017
Great spot , beautiful views
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great experience. It was well kempt and clean. The only issues we had we're young kids running through our camp chasing rabbits.
Sep 03, 2017
Staff was friendly but campground/store didn't seem to really compare to most other KOA's I have stayed at. That said, the location was great for a home base for exploring the Custer area.
Sep 02, 2017
So very quiet and peaceful, couldn't have asked for a better more relaxing place to stay in the Black Hills.
Sep 02, 2017
Friendly staff. Clean showers and bathrooms. Took some breakfast to go the day we left. It was cooked by KOA staff was very good . I say they get a gold star.
Sep 02, 2017
Lovely and the wifi worked!!
Sep 01, 2017
This KOA was not very well maintained. We were told when we checked in that we had a nice spot near the restrooms/laundry. The view from our site was literally the restroom building and we were in a 40ft motorhome and did not need to use them. There was a hole in the front of our pull thru site with picnic tables "guarding it". We should have stayed at the Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch!
Sep 01, 2017
We enjoyed our stay it was a nice and clean. We were close to a lot of attractions.
Sep 01, 2017
It was wonderfull. Very clean and relaxing
Sep 01, 2017
Very nice people that work there and it was quite!
Sep 01, 2017
Love Love the restrooms and showers! Beautifully done. Thanks for the stay!
Aug 31, 2017
We liked this campground very much. Friendly and very accommodating staff, clean and quiet campground all around. Looking forward to coming back!
Aug 30, 2017
good location friendly staff
Aug 30, 2017
Staff were excellent. The site initially assigned by reservation was not quite a fit for our unit. They quickly re-assigned a new, better site for us...that is service!!! The camp itself was quiet both from traffic noise and internally. Some or the sites are a bit hilly so make sure you ask about how that would impact on your situation....would definitely stay again.
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
friendly staff - very helpful.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Very nice campground, staff is great. Nice location to everything in the Black Hills area.
Aug 28, 2017
We had a marvelous time.
Aug 28, 2017
The staff was great. Especially Roy. He was on top of everything we needed. The campground was a little congested but liked that it was centrally located to attractions
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
the showers were nice,but the people manning the store were cranky & short with us during normal check-in The person guiding us to our campsite had us hanging over a steep drop-off by 4 feet.Once he left we moved our pop-up forward 4 feet and felt much safer. The sites on the side where we stayed were EXTREMELY close ...the next camper & sewer hook up were RIGHT NEXT to our picnic table! EWWW!
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Very friendly staff. Nice quite campground
Aug 25, 2017
Stayed three nights. Campground was convenient to attractions, bathrooms clean, staff very friendly.
Aug 25, 2017
Less than wonderful Wifi. Otherwise nice site with a view.
Aug 25, 2017
This is the second time we have stayed here, and we love it. :) Can't wait to come back again!!
Aug 24, 2017
Lady at office very friendly after that went downhill, the person that escorted us to site wasn't as friendly & the sites are so close you can't breath, not level, seems they want to make money instead of taking care of customers and campground.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
We had a great stay at the KAO in Custer, SD. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the minute we arrived to the time we left. The sites were beautiful and well kept. Very family oriented and will definitely be coming back.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Very nice campsites. Clean bathrooms & showers. Daughter loved the jumping pillow.
Aug 22, 2017
Staff is rude, sites are cramped and unlevel. Manager is short and abrasive. They do not deliver what they offer.
Aug 22, 2017
We've been on the road for 7000 miles this trip and generally KOA's are fun and clean and yours is as well but there are a few things I would recommend to enhance a campers experience. Where we stayed, the sites were so tightly packed in that neighbors sewer hole was literally under my picnic table so when he dumped his sewer while I ate my breakfast I had to abandon my food and run to the street
Aug 22, 2017
The campground itself and the bathroom/showers are clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. It is far enough off the highway not to bother campers with road noise. We stayed there one other time, and will stay at the campground again in the future.
Aug 22, 2017
stayed at your campground as home base to see several sites in the area. Custer was a good central place for the visits we had to make and also was available at the time we needed it. We were helped getting in and parking in our spot by employees, who were kind and helpful and explained where everything was located in the park.
Aug 22, 2017
Wonderful facility
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award