Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 15, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
very nice campground...starting to get too expensive for those campers who are retired and on fixed income.
Oct 02, 2017
Beautiful area! The cabin was clean and the staff was very helpful!!!! I will definitely be back!!
Oct 01, 2017
Clean cabins,clean restrooms, friendly helpful staff. Not too far out of the way and not right in the middle of everything.
Sep 25, 2017
Reserved one of the two room cabins on our way through the Black Hills. Reasonable price, friendly staff, cheap firewood, and comfortable beds. Was an off-season stay, so it was also nice and quiet.
Sep 19, 2017
The folks there were very helpful polite place was clean I liked it a lot thanks to the crew for letting us put up our tint to dry
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
First of all, I am not Linda, I am Terri ( Herbert is correct). Our stay was wonderful as usual, we were warmly greeted and made to feel at home. Really enjoy the KOA Custer campground.
Sep 15, 2017
Owners and employees are all very friendly and helpful. And they recognize us as repeat campers!
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 11, 2017
We opted to change our reservation from a tent space to a one room cabin since we weren't staying but one night. It was a very good location- close to the showers and dishwashing station. We had a campfire using wood we bought from the KOA- and it was delivered to us! There were no bugs and we had heat available in the cabin if we needed it. It was such a pretty place to stay with tall trees!
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
As always when we stay at KOA Custer/Mt. Rushmore, the customer service is absolutely marvelous and efficient! The campground facilities are clean and well run. This KOA is the best!
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Our stay was great, was happy with the facilities, very kid friendly.
Sep 03, 2017
When I planned our trip I wanted to stay in a teepee but they were all booked up so my next best was a camping cabin. It was really nice. It had plenty of room and was warm enough. Close enough to the bathroom. It was a great experience. Wish we could have stayed for a few days,
Sep 02, 2017
Showers were the cleanest I've ever seen at a KOA. The water pressure was great!
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
Both my husband and I thought of your bathrooms as the Taj Mahal of campground bathrooms. THANK YOU for investing in them the way you have! They were a very welcome change of pace from the showers we were used to on our road trip! :) I assumed your cabins were higher priced than some other KOA's based solely on location, but I see it is because you truly invest in the details of your property!
Aug 23, 2017
WoW! We LOVED our stay here! This was our favorite KOA of our two week trip. The grounds were immaculate, the staff was extremely friendly, and you can see how much they really care about the place through all of the upgrades as well. Very nice amenities as well. We'll be back for sure!
Aug 23, 2017
All employees have the same great attitude. No complaints to speak of. Keep up the work and I will keep coming back!
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
we stayed with our kids and another family with there kids ! it was a great base camp to explore the area, very clean and quiet great for family and adults as well ! thank you for a fun time. P.S. we are from Minnesota
Aug 20, 2017
We had a fantastic time and are very happy with our choice to stay at your campground!! Super friendly/helpful staff! We would definitely stay again if we were traveling that direction. Thank you!!
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Great place to stay in the Hills!
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
The staff were very kind and helpful. Giving us ideas and directions on how to do things in the area for our short one day stay. The bathrooms were clean tidy and locked. Cabin was cozy and the fire pit and firewood were more than Adequate
Aug 16, 2017
Custer koa is outstanding all the way around But Rawlins, Wy Koa is terrible with customer service. The owner has a dog that he lets outside and when I say the barking is nonstop I really mean it. When we complained he (the owner) told us very rudely to "wear earplugs". We will never go there again , just because of his attitude. Dogs are not bad , it's the people that own them that are !
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
It was good. I liked how we had a privacy fence, LOVED the bathrooms! The only thing I disliked was the door, a couple of other ones I have stayed at have wireless key cards. I like these better as they are much more quiet at night when you are in and out for the bathroom in the middle of the night.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very good place ð
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Clean friendly very accommodating
Aug 07, 2017
Got there late and were pleased that they had everything ready for us. Good breakfast
Aug 07, 2017
After a long day of driving we were greeted by welcoming attitudes by all the staff when we checked in and found our cabin to be clean and perfect for our nights stop on our trip. Our grandchildren got to enjoy the large jump pillow and work off a lot of pent up energy.
Aug 05, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
We stayed in one of the cabins and were very pleased with how comfortable it was even though the outside temperature varied from hot to very cool. Beds were very comfortable, too. Showers/bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. The friendly staff also served an excellent breakfast each morning. Could not have asked for anything more in a campground.
Aug 02, 2017
We stayed a week and made this our base camp for multiple day excursions. By far, the friendliest and cleanest KOA we've experienced! The cabin was clean and in great shape. The facilities were modern and always kept up. The pool and moon jump were enjoyed by the kids daily. We'll definitely come back!
Aug 02, 2017
Very clean and neat! The whole family loved it!
Aug 02, 2017
Enjoyed it. Thought the cabins were overall great. Pool is a little small and water should be heated. Loved having an overhead fan. Wish you would be more flexible about a late check out especially when the campground is not all that busy. Like that you had a breakfast option. Consider having a mini fridge in each cabin.
Aug 01, 2017
Very friendly staff. Clean cabins and bathrooms. Family friendly.
Aug 01, 2017
Bathroom was clean. Kamping Kabins were clean. Park nicely equipped with area to wash dishes. Pool looked nice. They have a jumpy pad for kids. Located near Custer and Custer State Park. No highway noise. Staff friendly and accommodated our needs.
Jul 31, 2017
Awesome KOA to stay at! Everything about was awesome. Showers and bethrooms where very nice and looked pretty knew. The staff where always friendly and the location is great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
My son really enjoyed the kid friendly activities at this site. The cabins were clean and spacious.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award