Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2017
Very clean and well maintained campground. The staff was very friendly. I would go back to this campground
Jul 11, 2017
Great place to stay! Close to everything and the staff was absolutely amazing!! And the bunnies were adorable!!
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
Quiet hours were not observed. We had kids running around at all hours next to us. We called about linking to the satellite service that was listed on your map, someone came over and said they couldn't help and left. Unsatisfactory on both of these accounts.
Jul 11, 2017
Enjoy this Koa. Staff very helpful. But we ask to make a local call and in this day & age, they had only one line for their business use and not for clients who travel from abroad with no cell phone, pity.
Jul 11, 2017
So clean. Close to Rushmore and Custer state park. Very friendly staff.
Jul 10, 2017
First time camping in a cabin and it was AMAZING!! If we're ever back in SD we'll be staying with you again!
Jul 10, 2017
The sites are to close together. You can't see any scenery .
Jul 10, 2017
Stayed three nights for our grandchildren to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wind Caves NP and Hot Srings mammoth dig. Park was perfect, with pool and bouncing pillow for the kids. Good facilities and helpful staff!! Thank you!!
Jul 10, 2017
The workers were very nice and the area was really clean. Very enjoyable and beautiful area. Thank you!
Jul 09, 2017
Clean restrooms but tiny muddy ugly sites. Would not stay here again. There is a KOA closer to to the entrance to Custer State Park that appears to be much nicer.
Jul 09, 2017
Very nice. Very pleasant people working there. Love the idea of them serving breakfast. The cost is very low and much worth it. Good food. Nice clean camp grounds.
Jul 09, 2017
Very happy with the staff and quality of the campground - staff also responded quickly to handle weather damage.
Jul 09, 2017
Nice campground pool closes early to due to chance of storm. Kids were sad and we were frustrated
Jul 09, 2017
Clean and well managed. Was full when we stayed here, yet quiet after hours. Very relaxing 4 days. Wouldn't hesitate to return. Thank you!!!
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Everything was great. Even the bathrooms and shower houses were super clean. No complaints. The guy driving around the campground in a golf cart acted like he hated his job (KOA police?), he was not very nice or friendly, but all the other staff was very hospitable. Thank you for the great stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the great comments. We take pride in our hospitality. As for the employee you mentioned, rest assured I will deal with the matter immediately. Again, thank you. Safe travels.
Jul 09, 2017
Nice friendly staff. I would like to see more grass.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the comments. As for grass, we want more too! We're working on it and we will have more when you come again. Safe travels.
Jul 08, 2017
Very nice camp ground, staff is great and friendly and helpful, the restrooms are clean.
Jul 08, 2017
The facilities were clean, lots of things to do for my kids. The staff was friendly and the cabin was adorable! We can't wait to try a KOA again, and we are planning to return to this location in the future!
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
Not the best kept KOA we have camped at and we have camped at many. Cluttered,restrooms could be cleaner and staff appeared to have a attitude on the negative side.
Jul 06, 2017
Over a 4 day stay, we were forced to move our trailer after one day - after being told we would not have to by campground representatives. So instead of enjoying the beautiful area of Custer, we sat around waiting for the other site we were to move into to vacate. It seems they could have figured out a reasonable solution, but didn't seem interested in trying to accommodate us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your original reservation was for 3 nights. Wanting to come in a day early, you made another reservation on line. Due to the park being full we could not move other campers to keep you in one site. Also, our staff assisted you in moving your belongings and got you moved by 10:30am. No one from this campground ever indicated you would be staying in the same site. Safe travels.
Jul 06, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff, clean bathrooms. Loved it!!
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
Beautiful campground staff very friendly and helpful. Very close to things we wanted to do Mt. Rushmore and Custer state park.
Jul 06, 2017
The KOA in Custer is friendly...helpful and clean...Love staying there..stayed at the one by Mt. Rushmore..dirty restrooms..to busy..awful food.vehicle got scratched up by careless employee..Custer Rules !
Jul 06, 2017
Staff were great and sufficiently addressed our dissatisfaction with the small crowded site. This campground is on the side of a hill so lots are fashioned w that consideration. Once we were moved, very satisfied.
Jul 06, 2017
Nice Campground, not overwhelmed with road noise at this site
Jul 05, 2017
This Kamp was convenient for all our sightseeing.
Jul 05, 2017
Campground was clean and the hosts and staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our kids loved the jumping pillow!
Jul 05, 2017
Everyone was very polite and helpful. We had such a good time.
Jul 05, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating us seemed to please them, facilities were all clean. We will definitely be back!
Jul 04, 2017
We had a great stay! Everything was so clean and nice. The kids had lots to do. It was the perfect location to explore the Black Hills. We'll be back!
Jul 04, 2017
Friendly staff.
Jul 04, 2017
The staff and camp did their best to deal with a terrible storm that came through right before we arrived, which took out some tents and the electricity...other than that there were no issues.
Jul 04, 2017
The wife wanted to goto church and I asked for 15 to 20 minutes grace time in case she didn't get back in time to make the 11:00 departure time. They wouldn't grant it.
Jul 03, 2017
Great KOA!! Only one complaint. We came at 9:29 for breakfast and were turned away.
Jul 03, 2017
Good location for Rushmore, Devils Tower and Wind Cave. Small and friendly. Everything you need.
Jul 03, 2017
Clean friendly staff had stayed before and would do it again. Close to all state parks lots of animals to see.
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 02, 2017
Wonderful place to stay and really great hosts.
Jul 02, 2017
Host's were nice and usually helpful. Our site was little more than a pull through stone "driveway." Knowing we would be there 5 nights we asked to be moved to a grassy back-in but they were unable to move us to that site. Don't understand scheduling as we watched campers come and go for a night at a time to back-in site. Campground is in a nice location.
Jul 02, 2017
The facilities and staff were very nice. This was our first ever stay at a KOA and made us want to stay at more.
Jul 02, 2017
Expensive
Jul 01, 2017
We absolutely enjoyed our stay! The staff was amazing to work with, especially accommodating our large group of family. We will definitely stay again some day.
Jul 01, 2017
Ho hum, nothing special Internet only worked in middle of night
Jul 01, 2017
Awesome campground!
Jun 30, 2017
Jun 30, 2017
No cable bad internet connection great people bad storm went through power was out for awhile loaned me had for my generator.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award