Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2017
Awesome! Very clean, nice shower/bathrooms Very nice pool. Very nice people. We will be back!!
Jul 24, 2017
Great AM staff very helpful and kind. Loved watching the kids bounce around and interact with each other on the huge bounce pillow. Plan on staying here in Sept.so I can catch what I missed this time.
Jul 23, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and family friendly!
Jul 23, 2017
I had 0 place to place a single chair it was so steep.This place was not for me and I love KOA's
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
We had an excellent double site so were able to be with our daughter's family. It was also very private and we had trees behind us, very nice. Very centrally located for all our site-seeing and a good place to rest at the end of the day. Good showers and clean laundry facility. Helpful, friendly staff.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Staff was informative and campground very clean.
Jul 22, 2017
You need to widen your roads in the campground because when I was hooking up my camper I had to rush because there was another camper trying to get by me
Jul 22, 2017
Wonderfully clean and well kept showers and toilets. Swimming pool is in dire need of shade/awning.
Jul 22, 2017
Very Friendly staff. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked.
Jul 22, 2017
The campground is clean and the folks are friendly. Easy access to all the attractions.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
Staff was very helpful about local attractions. Breakfasts were very tasty.
Jul 21, 2017
This campground was the best! Very clean bathrooms and showers. My kids loved the jump pad and pool. What a great place! This was our 1st time camping at a KOA and we would definitely come again.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
We had a great time at your campground.
Jul 21, 2017
I made reservations for 10 night stay, on line several months prior to trip. We were camping with a large group, which I noted in my reservations, yet when we arrived I was not at all near my friends, and when we asked for relocation, they offered us a refund, rather then try to accommodate! The camp bathrooms are the redeeming factor.. The staff not at all pleasant, esp.to Lg, long staying group

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Each of your group made their own separate reservation, not as a group. The friends you speak of requested a 50 amp pull through via calling the park while you chose a 30 amp back in on line. These sites do not co-exist near each other in our park. On you arrival, as you are aware, the park was full for your stay and no changes could be made. Your attitude toward our staff explains the rest.
Jul 20, 2017
we have never stayed here before. Usually we stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA, this was closer to our activities planned the next day. The husband and wife owners were very nice. It was a very clean facility. They were very good at recommending restaurants. Location was good for activities around Custer. The KOA itself was very peaceful and quiet despite all the activity.
Jul 19, 2017
It was very hot and our camping cabin did not have air conditioning. I requested a fan and at first I wasn't sure they took me seriously.I assured them I was serious. Later they delivered a fan to our cabin. The office, store, and sink for doing dishes were all close to our cabin.
Jul 19, 2017
What a fun time we had.
Jul 18, 2017
The cabin was cozy and the bathrooms were clean and very nice! Great place to stay. Staff was super friendly!
Jul 18, 2017
Site not level.
Jul 17, 2017
Very clean, informative and helpful staff. Thank You!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
They need more 50amp sites.
Jul 17, 2017
The workers were very helpful and pleasant.
Jul 17, 2017
Our family has always camped on BLM, or at state parks. This was our first KOA experience. It was very family friendly, clean and reasonably priced. We would visit a KOA again.
Jul 16, 2017
Was able to buy things we forgot including food.
Jul 16, 2017
Very helpful and pleasant staff
Jul 16, 2017
The Location Was Great But Campground Offered No Activities And Had Little Amenities To offer. Customer service was adequate but people in our group had a poor experience with front desk. We wouldn't come back especially since the camp next door is less money with an a LA care pool slide.
Jul 16, 2017
Very quiet. Staff was friendly. Escorted us to site. Tight u-turn to get to site with toad.
Jul 15, 2017
Beautiful place in the Black Hills.
Jul 15, 2017
Great location, very good amenities. Would stay here again in a heartbeat
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
Great park and location. Staff was friendly and helpful giving us directions of where to go and how to get there. One drawback, our sewer was uphill.
Jul 14, 2017
Very friendly staff. Don't use Google maps to find this place. It will get you lost.
Jul 14, 2017
Fun for kids & centrally located for all the Black Hill must sees.
Jul 14, 2017
The campground was clean all around and quiet. The only problem was my six year old was able to reach the soap on the back wall and the one next to the sink was also empty. The staff was friendly and engaged with my kids questions and conversations. Thank you
Jul 14, 2017
Stayed for two days while sightseeing in the area. Campground was clean and neat.The staff was very friendly. Sites are not very level.
Jul 13, 2017
The campsite itself was terrible it was like a gravel parking lot it was so small and close if we were to actually light a campfire it would've caught our camper on fire. the jumping pillow and the pool and the restrooms were all very nice but the campsite itself ruined the stay for us we left early canceled our additional two nights of reservations.
Jul 13, 2017
Very comfortable cabin, clean washrooms, and friendly people.
Jul 13, 2017
We really enjoyed this campground. Very convenient to so many attractions.
Jul 13, 2017
We loved the area and the campground was nice and clean. The kids loved the pillow jump!
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
Fun campground. Clean bathrooms, friendly folks!!!
Jul 12, 2017
Cabins are very close together and felt cramped. Appreciated the good communication from staff about incoming storm and the firewood delivery direct to the site.
Jul 12, 2017
Cabins and showers/bathrooms we're very clean. Anything we forgot we found at the camp store. The kids loved the jumping pillow. Will return again if we come back to the black hills.
Jul 12, 2017
One of the best campgrounds we've kamped at.
Jul 12, 2017
Our stay was really nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only wish would be more shaded areas for tents.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award