Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Even though our stay here was brief, we were impressed with the camp. Front desk workers were accommodating and very friendly. Oh and the bunnies were a joy to watch. Enjoyed our stay?
Aug 29, 2017
friendly staff - very helpful.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Very nice campground, staff is great. Nice location to everything in the Black Hills area.
Aug 28, 2017
We had a marvelous time.
Aug 28, 2017
The staff was great. Especially Roy. He was on top of everything we needed. The campground was a little congested but liked that it was centrally located to attractions
Aug 28, 2017
Nice clean bathrooms. Lacks shade.
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Excellent view and washroom /shower.
Aug 26, 2017
the showers were nice,but the people manning the store were cranky & short with us during normal check-in The person guiding us to our campsite had us hanging over a steep drop-off by 4 feet.Once he left we moved our pop-up forward 4 feet and felt much safer. The sites on the side where we stayed were EXTREMELY close ...the next camper & sewer hook up were RIGHT NEXT to our picnic table! EWWW!
Aug 26, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Very friendly staff. Nice quite campground
Aug 25, 2017
Stayed three nights. Campground was convenient to attractions, bathrooms clean, staff very friendly.
Aug 25, 2017
Less than wonderful Wifi. Otherwise nice site with a view.
Aug 25, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
This is the second time we have stayed here, and we love it. :) Can't wait to come back again!!
Aug 25, 2017
Both my husband and I thought of your bathrooms as the Taj Mahal of campground bathrooms. THANK YOU for investing in them the way you have! They were a very welcome change of pace from the showers we were used to on our road trip! :) I assumed your cabins were higher priced than some other KOA's based solely on location, but I see it is because you truly invest in the details of your property!
Aug 24, 2017
Lady at office very friendly after that went downhill, the person that escorted us to site wasn't as friendly & the sites are so close you can't breath, not level, seems they want to make money instead of taking care of customers and campground.
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 24, 2017
We had a great stay at the KAO in Custer, SD. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the minute we arrived to the time we left. The sites were beautiful and well kept. Very family oriented and will definitely be coming back.
Aug 24, 2017
Amy was very nice and helpful! The hot tub was blissful after a long day on the road!!! Clean campsite, clean facilities.
Aug 23, 2017
WoW! We LOVED our stay here! This was our favorite KOA of our two week trip. The grounds were immaculate, the staff was extremely friendly, and you can see how much they really care about the place through all of the upgrades as well. Very nice amenities as well. We'll be back for sure!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
All employees have the same great attitude. No complaints to speak of. Keep up the work and I will keep coming back!
Aug 23, 2017
Very nice campsites. Clean bathrooms & showers. Daughter loved the jumping pillow.
Aug 22, 2017
Staff is rude, sites are cramped and unlevel. Manager is short and abrasive. They do not deliver what they offer.
Aug 22, 2017
We've been on the road for 7000 miles this trip and generally KOA's are fun and clean and yours is as well but there are a few things I would recommend to enhance a campers experience. Where we stayed, the sites were so tightly packed in that neighbors sewer hole was literally under my picnic table so when he dumped his sewer while I ate my breakfast I had to abandon my food and run to the street
Aug 22, 2017
The campground itself and the bathroom/showers are clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. It is far enough off the highway not to bother campers with road noise. We stayed there one other time, and will stay at the campground again in the future.
Aug 22, 2017
stayed at your campground as home base to see several sites in the area. Custer was a good central place for the visits we had to make and also was available at the time we needed it. We were helped getting in and parking in our spot by employees, who were kind and helpful and explained where everything was located in the park.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Wonderful facility
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Staff was great and very helpful, we had a back in site that was a double wide but still felt like we were on top of the neighbor. campground is very clean.
Aug 21, 2017
we stayed with our kids and another family with there kids ! it was a great base camp to explore the area, very clean and quiet great for family and adults as well ! thank you for a fun time. P.S. we are from Minnesota
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Very clean and updated restrooms and laundry area. Highly recommend!
Aug 21, 2017
Just needed a place to stay on our way to Yellowstone after touring the Badlands, and Mt. Rushmore and this place fit in perfectly with our plans. Very nice people and clean place to stay.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Good location to most attractions. Small sites but no an issue. Helpful staff.
Aug 20, 2017
We had a fantastic time and are very happy with our choice to stay at your campground!! Super friendly/helpful staff! We would definitely stay again if we were traveling that direction. Thank you!!
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Great place to stay in the Hills!
Aug 18, 2017
Was a fantastic vacatiom. The camp sites very clean and the personal working there very friemdly an helpful. Super job to all the staff and thank you.
Aug 18, 2017
We have a 17" camper and a Toyota Tacoma, the site we had was way too small. All the other sites, including the tent sites were much larger. Most of the staff was very friendly but on the last night a man I hadn't seen before was very confrontational with me, unfortunately I didn't get his name.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Very close to all the major attractions in the area. Very friendly staff. Sites are very close together, but still a great base for exploring the area
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award