Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Info: 605-673-4304

Email This Campground

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations, Cabins, Deluxe cabins, Lodges

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 24, 2017
The only thing that we would find as a negative would be that some of the 50-amp pull-through sites were not level, and you should bring along (which we always do) extra leveling blocks. Bathhouse and laundry facilities were very clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful! We needed to make a reservation change before were arrived, and Roy went out of his way to accommodate us!
Sep 24, 2017
Exceptional service staff. Facility is well maintained. We had a marvelious time in the Custer ares.
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Friendly staff. Shaded sites. We will stay here again.
Sep 24, 2017
Very nice campground and conveniently located near several attractions.
Sep 23, 2017
We planned our trip around a tour to see the Black Hills and Mount Rushmore. Our stay at the Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA was wonderful. Beautiful park, clean restrooms/showers, very nice laundry facilities and friendly, helpful staff. The only negative comment would be that the park is on land that slopes, and quite a few of the sites slope as well. This made it a bit difficult to level the RV.
Sep 23, 2017
Nice park and realy central to so many things to see. We took the tour, due to no car, and it was well worth it. Custer state park is beautiful! We say Rushmore and Crazy Horse too. We left a day early and were please to get our payment for that day returned. Love KOA!
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA many times. Its best feature is the central location in the Black Hills. The sites for large vehicles are on a bald hill. The staff is friendly and helpful. The worst feature is the WIFI. It was HORRIBLE all week. I require WIFI that works. Can it be fixed?? As with most places in the BH, the cell phone was spotty. Nice rest room and shower building.
Sep 21, 2017
very quite, very clean, friendly. We hope to return.
Sep 20, 2017
The staff was extremely friendly. The sites were normal sites. The dump station was hard to pull up to and you need a longer hose that we have. Will stay there again if ever in the area.
Sep 20, 2017
A wonderful place.
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
The folks there were very helpful polite place was clean I liked it a lot thanks to the crew for letting us put up our tint to dry
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
We made reservation; are KOA Kard holders; arrived early (2PM); why were we assigned to the worst site? Water spigot messed up, un-level, overlooking neighbors trash/work pils, & worst of all near septic field!!! Septic gas was HORRIBLE! Both nights plenty of nice, suitable, empty sites. Don't be assigned to NW sites 50 and above. Staff were very kind, especially Roy.
Sep 18, 2017
Wonderful camp. Very nice people. Very clean. Perfect location for Black Hills touring.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
We enjoyed our stay the staff was helpful
Sep 17, 2017
Welcoming, helpful staff. Very clean. Convenient to many attractions. Would recommend.
Sep 17, 2017
We were disappointed when we arrived, the drive thru sites were way to close together! They did let us move to an end back in site which was way better. But very dusty & quite of bit of RV's going by as we were on the corner where they all had to pass. Very nice & friendly staff & clean restrooms. It just seemed like the grounds was lacking some maintenance, such as crushed rock spread out, etc.
Sep 17, 2017
Nice campground. Got questioned more than usual about our specific dog breed at check-in. We have a mix breed terrier dog, and a very well behaved and traveled dog, but that was apparently not quite satisfying the host. I was told that if it was a such-and-such terrier breed, I would be asked to leave. A little shocked now, I threw out the name Cairn Terrier, and that satisfied the host. Whew!
Sep 17, 2017
Extremely great KOA. We went to Devil's Tower KOA next and not only hugely costly, but run down. So with Custer/Mt Rushmore the "Camp standard" hard to like others
Sep 16, 2017
Sites were large and easy in and out. Staff was great to answer questions and help with ideas on what to do. It is centrally located so you can go in all directions to see all the sites.
Sep 16, 2017
So many places to see and lakes to explore. The 24-hour laundry facility was convenient to use after a long day of enjoying the scenery.
Sep 16, 2017
First of all, I am not Linda, I am Terri ( Herbert is correct). Our stay was wonderful as usual, we were warmly greeted and made to feel at home. Really enjoy the KOA Custer campground.
Sep 15, 2017
Owners and employees are all very friendly and helpful. And they recognize us as repeat campers!
Sep 14, 2017
Beautiful campgrounds in Custer, SD. Excellent staff. Level sites and clean campground. Convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and other attractions in the area. Quaint downtown area. Can't wait to go back.
Sep 14, 2017
Incredibly small sites. Could not put out my awning as it would hit the RV next to me. Not enough room to park truck and 5th wheel and be within my site.
Sep 14, 2017
Very beautiful my third time stay here would recommend you try sure you would like it. Staff is very friendly and helpful. :)
Sep 14, 2017
Loved the campground, clean facilities and staff very pleasant and willing to help
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Very pleased with the facilities and amenities. The restrooms and laundry facilities were very clean and welcoming. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 11, 2017
We opted to change our reservation from a tent space to a one room cabin since we weren't staying but one night. It was a very good location- close to the showers and dishwashing station. We had a campfire using wood we bought from the KOA- and it was delivered to us! There were no bugs and we had heat available in the cabin if we needed it. It was such a pretty place to stay with tall trees!
Sep 10, 2017
Nice staff. Safe park. Hilly park and simple sites. Great place to stay for access to area and interest points.
Sep 10, 2017
All good.
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
Nice big KOA. Campsites well off the highway so little to no traffic noise. People were very welcoming and very knowleable of the local attractions.
Sep 10, 2017
Great campground, and perfect location! Friendly staff and great customer service.
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Great WIFI, large Park I will be back
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Cody campsite we found the staff friendly and helpful the showers were clean and the pitch very nice
Sep 07, 2017
What a beautiful campground. Well located and so well maintained and the staff were extremely helpful. I highly recommend Custers KOA we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The dog park is pristine the sites had trees and grass. It felt like we were deep in the mountains. Loved the baby bunnies near the cabins. If your planning on visiting the Black Hills this is the campground you want to stay at.
Sep 06, 2017
As always when we stay at KOA Custer/Mt. Rushmore, the customer service is absolutely marvelous and efficient! The campground facilities are clean and well run. This KOA is the best!
Sep 06, 2017
Great campground, facilities very clean. Great location for all the sites around. Only complaint, as with most campgrounds, the wifi was very intermittent.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award