Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 15, 2017
Owners and employees are all very friendly and helpful. And they recognize us as repeat campers!
Sep 14, 2017
Beautiful campgrounds in Custer, SD. Excellent staff. Level sites and clean campground. Convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park and other attractions in the area. Quaint downtown area. Can't wait to go back.
Sep 14, 2017
Incredibly small sites. Could not put out my awning as it would hit the RV next to me. Not enough room to park truck and 5th wheel and be within my site.
Sep 14, 2017
Very beautiful my third time stay here would recommend you try sure you would like it. Staff is very friendly and helpful. :)
Sep 14, 2017
Loved the campground, clean facilities and staff very pleasant and willing to help
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Very pleased with the facilities and amenities. The restrooms and laundry facilities were very clean and welcoming. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Sep 11, 2017
We opted to change our reservation from a tent space to a one room cabin since we weren't staying but one night. It was a very good location- close to the showers and dishwashing station. We had a campfire using wood we bought from the KOA- and it was delivered to us! There were no bugs and we had heat available in the cabin if we needed it. It was such a pretty place to stay with tall trees!
Sep 10, 2017
Nice staff. Safe park. Hilly park and simple sites. Great place to stay for access to area and interest points.
Sep 10, 2017
All good.
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 10, 2017
Nice big KOA. Campsites well off the highway so little to no traffic noise. People were very welcoming and very knowleable of the local attractions.
Sep 10, 2017
Great campground, and perfect location! Friendly staff and great customer service.
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 08, 2017
Great WIFI, large Park I will be back
Sep 08, 2017
Sep 07, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Cody campsite we found the staff friendly and helpful the showers were clean and the pitch very nice
Sep 07, 2017
What a beautiful campground. Well located and so well maintained and the staff were extremely helpful. I highly recommend Custers KOA we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The dog park is pristine the sites had trees and grass. It felt like we were deep in the mountains. Loved the baby bunnies near the cabins. If your planning on visiting the Black Hills this is the campground you want to stay at.
Sep 06, 2017
As always when we stay at KOA Custer/Mt. Rushmore, the customer service is absolutely marvelous and efficient! The campground facilities are clean and well run. This KOA is the best!
Sep 06, 2017
Great campground, facilities very clean. Great location for all the sites around. Only complaint, as with most campgrounds, the wifi was very intermittent.
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Bathrooms and showers were amazing!!!! Could use a bigger campsite. Maybe not so close together. Otherwise the kids activities were awesome as well. We had a great time.
Sep 06, 2017
A welcome site after traveling 12 hrs from Minnesota! Clean and accessable with friendly service.
Sep 06, 2017
Great spot , beautiful views
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 06, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
We had a great experience. It was well kempt and clean. The only issues we had we're young kids running through our camp chasing rabbits.
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Staff was friendly but campground/store didn't seem to really compare to most other KOA's I have stayed at. That said, the location was great for a home base for exploring the Custer area.
Sep 03, 2017
Our stay was great, was happy with the facilities, very kid friendly.
Sep 03, 2017
When I planned our trip I wanted to stay in a teepee but they were all booked up so my next best was a camping cabin. It was really nice. It had plenty of room and was warm enough. Close enough to the bathroom. It was a great experience. Wish we could have stayed for a few days,
Sep 03, 2017
Very nice showers and staff. Centrally located for what we needed
Sep 02, 2017
So very quiet and peaceful, couldn't have asked for a better more relaxing place to stay in the Black Hills.
Sep 02, 2017
Showers were the cleanest I've ever seen at a KOA. The water pressure was great!
Sep 02, 2017
Friendly staff. Clean showers and bathrooms. Took some breakfast to go the day we left. It was cooked by KOA staff was very good . I say they get a gold star.
Sep 02, 2017
Lovely and the wifi worked!!
Sep 01, 2017
This KOA was not very well maintained. We were told when we checked in that we had a nice spot near the restrooms/laundry. The view from our site was literally the restroom building and we were in a 40ft motorhome and did not need to use them. There was a hole in the front of our pull thru site with picnic tables "guarding it". We should have stayed at the Mount Rushmore KOA at Palmer Gulch!
Sep 01, 2017
We enjoyed our stay it was a nice and clean. We were close to a lot of attractions.
Sep 01, 2017
It was wonderfull. Very clean and relaxing
Sep 01, 2017
Very nice people that work there and it was quite!
Sep 01, 2017
Love Love the restrooms and showers! Beautifully done. Thanks for the stay!
Aug 31, 2017
We liked this campground very much. Friendly and very accommodating staff, clean and quiet campground all around. Looking forward to coming back!
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
good location friendly staff
Aug 30, 2017
Staff were excellent. The site initially assigned by reservation was not quite a fit for our unit. They quickly re-assigned a new, better site for us...that is service!!! The camp itself was quiet both from traffic noise and internally. Some or the sites are a bit hilly so make sure you ask about how that would impact on your situation....would definitely stay again.
Aug 30, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award