Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Info: 605-673-4304

Email This Campground

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations, Cabins, Deluxe cabins, Lodges

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 18, 2018
May 18, 2018
May 17, 2018
May 16, 2018
The sites are tightly spaced and not flat. The owner became very rude and insulting when I asked to move (and pay extra) for another site. Wish I had chosen another campground as it has been by far the worst of our RV road trip thus far. Definitely will not be staying there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. However, no owner or manager spoke with you at any time during your stay. A review of the security footage of your registration reveals a situation quite different from that you described. Safe travels.
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
The camp hosts were wonderful. This was our first time out (newbie) with a travel trailer. They showed us how close to pull up to hook ups etc. Restrooms and showers were spotless.
May 15, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful couldn’t ask for a nicer place to stay
May 13, 2018
May 13, 2018
May 13, 2018
Great stay has all you need is there nice and clean
May 12, 2018
we enjoyed our stay, was close to the events we wanted to see. The cabin was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful.
May 11, 2018
May 11, 2018
Excellent customer service! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Only problem was there was no cable and the WiFi service was not reliable. We were never able to watch tv in the evening.
May 11, 2018
Everyone very helpful and nice. Beautiful facility
May 10, 2018
Great tourist information provided by Roy.
May 09, 2018
May 08, 2018
Enjoyed every minute!
May 08, 2018
My son and I were traveling from Alaska when we needed to rest. We seen the cabins so we stopped. We were met by a great staff that met our needs.
May 08, 2018
First site was too unlevel for my coach but second site was more level and fine.
May 07, 2018
Nice place and friendly people.
May 07, 2018
Great staff close to mount Rushmore but not so close you're crowded. Highly recommended
May 06, 2018
This is a very nice, clean RV park. We were greeted with very friendly hosts. The restrooms were nice and clean. There This is a nice and clean RV park. The people working there went out of their way to be friendly. We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area.
May 05, 2018
Super nice people!
Oct 31, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here. Great hosts and beautiful weather and country.
Oct 26, 2017
Oct 22, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 06, 2017
It was dark when we began setting up so we couldn't see how pretty the campground was until morning although our site was a bit grown up with weeds and we were backed up to two houses so it was a little awkward but the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Oct 04, 2017
Very friendly and helpful folks
Oct 03, 2017
Very quiet place to stay.
Oct 02, 2017
very nice campground...starting to get too expensive for those campers who are retired and on fixed income.
Oct 02, 2017
We arranged to take a Golden Circle Tour bus arranged through the campground to the Buffalo Roundup. It was terrible. The staff of the vans were so confused they were late, couldn't find their van, and stated they shouldn't drive in the dark. The $90 expense was a waste. A refund would be in order. KOA has been good other places-this was a disappointment. The campground
Oct 02, 2017
We had a wonderful stay. Great staff. Very accommodating . It's a long trip, but I would go back any time I'm in the area.
Oct 02, 2017
Beautiful area! The cabin was clean and the staff was very helpful!!!! I will definitely be back!!
Oct 02, 2017
It was centrally located for the areas we were visiting. The owners were very helpful in recommending great places to eat and they help with filling our propane bottles.
Oct 02, 2017
This campground was great to stay at! Wonderful accommodations and friendly staff. Clean restrooms/showers, and a good atmosphere. Only tiny thing is that our space for our tent was a little small, so our tent spilled over the sides a bit - but otherwise, would definitely recommend this site!
Oct 01, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
Clean cabins,clean restrooms, friendly helpful staff. Not too far out of the way and not right in the middle of everything.
Oct 01, 2017
Electrical and water are great! Easy access roomy . Plenty of deer and rabbits
Oct 01, 2017
Great dog park. Good location. Surprised no recycling at dump site. We brought ours home. Clean washrooms. Maybe need to add more lighting along roadsides for folks leaving early am in fall
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Nice and quiet
Sep 29, 2017
very nice and qiet place
Sep 27, 2017
Nice place. Some sites were no level. Good bathrooms.
Sep 27, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Space was very uneven/partly on a hill slop. Restroom was was clean and well lighted. Expensive for only power and water. We will pass on this KOA next time we are in the area.
Sep 25, 2017
The staff at office was very unfriendly went into store twice and not once was did the front clerk say Hi, also no coffee was ever made when we went to get some. The outside help was very rude. Felt like all his job was to patrol camp ground like a prison guard. We will not stay at this koa again we will be booking our next outing with the camp grounds next door Beaver Lake camp ground.
Sep 25, 2017
Reserved one of the two room cabins on our way through the Black Hills. Reasonable price, friendly staff, cheap firewood, and comfortable beds. Was an off-season stay, so it was also nice and quiet.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award