Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Info: 719-275-9308

Email This Campground

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 18, 2018
May 16, 2018
Unfriendly staff, old & tired facility, stickers covering the dog park, poorly stocked camping supplies in the store, campground sits directly next to the highway (not much they can do about that). KOA's are the only campgrounds we use, and have never run across staff that wasn't friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. This was a first for us.
May 15, 2018
Great stay!!!
May 15, 2018
Love the view! Enjoy walking the path to the river. Becky is always so helpful with reservations and such a joy to talk to!!! I also got to meet Amy, who runs the ceramic shop. Such a nice lady. This is my favorite camping spot!
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
it's a really nice park overall, needs some TLC. We are used to kampground hosts driving thru, conversing with guests, and monitoring vehicles etc. There were a lot of non-camping vehicles and traffic... and the quiet-time was not observed by several campers. The staff are friendly, but not too "out and about"
May 14, 2018
EXCELLENT VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE AND THE BEST CAMPGROUND BETWEEN BEUNA VISTA AND CANON CITY
May 14, 2018
Staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Was amazed at everything they stock in their store. Very clean and well-maintained campground.
May 14, 2018
We enjoyed our stay, very peaceful and beautiful. People are very friendly
May 14, 2018
We love this koa its very mellow and we always have a good time.
May 11, 2018
Early in the season so it was not crowded. Very restful. Fishing could have been better but the river was sort of "murky".
May 09, 2018
May 08, 2018
The goat heads were terrible and the dog park was not usable. The Wi Fi did not work and the main office seemed to be closed more than it was open. Bathrooms were clean but in disrepair with loose insulation hanging out around the air vent. The weather was perfect and the Arkansas River was full of fish. The canyon was especially beautiful. Lots were flat, fire pits nice and concrete slab a plus.
May 07, 2018
Awesome staff, clean and just a great all around experience.
May 07, 2018
enjoyed our stay, our only complaints are minor. I though I had reserved a patio spot, but didn't have one. The sewer connectionswas above my black/grey outlets, so I had no flow. I noticed most other sites would have worked better for us. I should have asked to move. But I would stay here again.
May 07, 2018
Great place to unwind! Kind and friendly staff!
May 04, 2018
It was good. The rv sites are just so close together, that is the only complaint we have! Will go back again once it’s official summer season with the pool open.
May 03, 2018
Such fun camping next to our adult son and his family in such a beautiful location where you really can catch fish!
May 01, 2018
Great place.
May 01, 2018
I paid to play miniature golf and course was not fit for play. Very dirty with limbs and tree droppings all over couldn't even putt without hitting something. There was also an Ice Cream Social and Anniversary Cake, when we got there you were charging for Ice Cream. Don't advertise Ice Cream Social without putting how much it costs on the flyer.
May 01, 2018
Always clean campsites, restrooms and showers. The owners are great people concerned about the camp and campers .
May 01, 2018
We had a great stay and look forward to returning a couple more times this year. Love the area and setting.
Apr 30, 2018
The place needed to be cleaned up. The golf course and playground had spider webs and leaves everywhere. Pool wasn't open yet but was a mess.Benches had nails that were sticking out. The place would be be great with clean up, new paint and some TLC. The price to play golf too expensive $2, cake and ice cream for celebration was .75 which should have been free. Nice friendly staff.
Apr 30, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
It seems to me that the owners/staff are very interested in the campers up to and until the site fee is paid. Any problems after that, you're on your own. We had to move from a water/electric site, to a tent site, just to avoid the noise, foot traffic, drunks, and chaos. Sadly, I had enjoyed this campground since the early 80's. Oh well, I guess it's time for a change.
Apr 30, 2018
Was very nice we only stayed one night but was a pleasant stay!
Apr 29, 2018
Great week. We stayed a week for second year. Fishing the Arkansas each year ere the snow melt. Have a new dog park but not much grass yet.
Apr 29, 2018
Apr 27, 2018
We had a great time. Only improvement was that we felt that the restroom closer to us should have been open. It’s a long walk from the nice sites, 71-74 to walk all the way to the front restroom. Having the closer restroom would have been much more convenient. If the camp is open, the restrooms should be.
Apr 25, 2018
Apr 23, 2018
The campground is over-run with "goat-Head" stickers which made it difficult and a continual process of clearing our dog's feet, and picking them out of our carpeting. The restrooms/showers were impeccable in cleanliness, and the park is for the most part well kept. The spaces are actually very tight together.. but we will attempt one more stay to see if it's a keeper. Check out is too early.
Apr 13, 2018
Apr 13, 2018
Not suitable for dogs. Goathead burrs in the dog park. Don't like the $6 fee for my to dogs. Got charged for full hookup. After paying I was told water was not available. Will not return to this campground.
Apr 09, 2018
Great quiet place to stay, close to the river. Would be helpful to have a space number emailed to me when the office has limited hours. Trying to find out what space to park in took way too long!
Oct 30, 2017
We stayed during the Haunted Halloween Weekend. The effort put forth by the staff was fantastic! The Halloween activities were fun, I still have purple fingers from the tie-dye craft, the potluck was delicious! Stayed in our favorite spot, 74. Fantastic weekend!!
Oct 30, 2017
We had a very nice stay, all the entertainment you had for the kids for Halloween was just great, you guys did so much, everything was outstanding, thanks so much for all you did.
Oct 23, 2017
Love, love this place!!! We come 1-2 times a year. Only complaint was too many stickers in the dog park. Otherwise, perfect!!
Oct 23, 2017
Was great as always
Oct 20, 2017
Nice campground but with zero cell coverage badly in need of Wi-Fi
Oct 19, 2017
We did not have a reservation, When we pulled in, the office was closed with a sign posted, person needing to check us in was at her #2 campsite and we could come there to see about a campsite. A lady came from the motel and advised she would let Shirley know we were there. We waited a few minutes and she arrived, checked us in. End of season, does not mean end of service.
Oct 16, 2017
We had a great time. We were in lot 71 which has a small view of the river and you can hear the water rolling across the rocks. It made for a very relaxing stay and put me right to sleep at night. The camp site is far from city life which is what we want when we are camping. The main facilities were clean and kept warm for showers. Everyone was friendly.
Oct 16, 2017
Another great time at this KOA. Relaxing and beautiful.
Oct 12, 2017
The stay was just ok...although did like our site right next to the river....it was a challenge to get to the river's edge....the site did not have sewer hook ups but maybe they are in the plans... It wasn't the same KOA that we are used to...we had to find out site our-self (no maps). The place could use a bit of a face lift! No internet or cell. I think I may rethink about staying again.
Oct 11, 2017
We stayed 1 night in a 32 foot Class C with our two dogs. We planned on staying 2 nights because we had stayed there 25 years ago and were very impressed. Unfortunately, we were a little disappointed in perceived lack of maintenance and upkeep. Because the surrounding area is absolutely beautiful, we hope that more attention will be given to the campground to match the ambiance of the area.
Oct 10, 2017
Wonderful KOA.
Oct 10, 2017
I love the campsite but thereâs not access to the To the Arkansas River for the handicap
Oct 09, 2017
Oct 07, 2017
Nice campground. Close to home. Good for a late season getaway.
Oct 06, 2017
Great location on the river... goat head weeds got in my dogs feet. After dark highway 50 traffic almost stopped very quite. Nice dog runs,nice sites. Already recommended
Oct 04, 2017
Stayed one night...had fun with friends...Well cared for property; clean bathrooms...quiet...enjoyed very much...Other guests seemed happy too!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals