Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Info: 719-275-9308

Email This Campground

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 22, 2018
Nice campground in a great setting but there have been incidents with dog bites both times we have been there. How about some enforcement of your leash rules!
Sep 20, 2018
We love the Arkansas river.We realize our stay was right after the holiday,camp sight had a bag full of trash left in the fire pit,we took to the trash dumpster. the front desk told us if we need anything, go to sight #3. While doing laundry in a very dirty room, someone came to the door and asked about the front desk person, no answer at #3. I went to #4 and they showed up. almost lost a custome
Sep 19, 2018
Excellent Stay and very relaxing. Clean and well maintained. Charlie and Barbara are an asset to your business as well as the other employees of this KOA
Sep 19, 2018
Older facility, haphazard maintenance, understaffed. Doesn't show much pride in ownership or concern for customers after check-in Some sites were modern and nice while others were primitive and ill kept. Trees needed pruning. Pool was closed from lack of maintenance. Rented pavilion area dusty and dirty. No group area for camping. Mini golf not clean enough to use. Needs more effort from owners.
Sep 19, 2018
Nice park. A few things to note: sites 1-13 are 30' from busy highway. Lots of trucks, motorcycles and other traffic. Sites are a little tight for big rigs. Few 50 Amp full hookup sites. Park shows it's age, but is clean and well maintained. Nice concrete pads with tables and chairs. Sites next to river are mostly dry camping. There are cabins and a hotel for non-campers. I would stay here again.
Sep 19, 2018
Not big rig friendly, spaces small access and exit had low limbs from trees. No view of the river. The patios were great. People were good and easy to work with but the park seemed unkept. Not my KOA standards for sure will not stay there again
Sep 18, 2018
Love the views and the people that run it are all so friendly and really try to get to know you.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 17, 2018
had fun, great campsite, however need to update the website as the pool was closed and the website showed it open, that was the only reason we wanted to stay at this KOA.
Sep 17, 2018
Sep 16, 2018
No water the entire weekend (Fri - Sun), no showers, no working toilets, no offer of compensation of any kind other than two cases of bottles of water left it in the sun for anyone to grab if they were thirsty. I know they tried to get the situation resolved, but not an experience I'll soon forget.
Sep 14, 2018
Was asked to leave as our dogs were barking too much. We understood that but we had asked for a refund for the dinner tickets that we returned for a pig roast. Was not refunded $60 after we had been told we would receive it. We have stayed at this KOA many times and never had a problem before. We have always given a great review but we will never stay here again.
Sep 14, 2018
The store hours were short. The posted hours were 9:00 - 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 - 5:00 pm. I think the store hours should be more than 4 hours per day. The level of assistance from the campsite staff was minimal. The water was not working 2 out of 4 days of my stay (no working toilet, washing machine, shower, faucets). The campground setting is beautiful but my experience wasn't good.
Sep 13, 2018
Stayed 9/6-9/9/18. On 9/7 water pump went out in campground. We stayed not knowing if we left we could get a refund. When asked if we could be compensated for lack of water for almost 2 days we were given a credit of $19. 11!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not good enough. Had we known this we would of left. We could not enjoy without a shower for 2 days!!
Sep 13, 2018
The pump went out and we had no water during our stay. We were not offered any compensation for our inconvenience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry our well motor went down & no one would fix until Monday. We did credit in full all those who left and discounted those who chose to stay. Drinking water and porta potties were provided. Again, we regret the inconvenience.
Sep 12, 2018
Under the circumstances with the water, still our favorite place to camp! Close to home, but away from the city. Thanks for keeping us informed & helping with our awning when we needed help!
Sep 12, 2018
Nice rustic Campground. Unfortunately no Wi-fi no cell signal and lots of bugs, it is by the river.
Sep 10, 2018
Loved our spot, it was perfect. Staff was very friendly. Will definitely come back
Sep 10, 2018
Ck your email for a complete description of our stay.
Sep 10, 2018
no water bathrooms or showers for the whole weekend total bummer
Sep 10, 2018
Sep 10, 2018
Arrived on Friday about 6. The water supply quit. We had no water for our stay. Was not good. restrooms became clogged, messy etc. They had no backup plan or made an effort to bring in an alternate source. Many people were very unhappy. Was told we may get a rebate but no promise. Will see.
Sep 10, 2018
Very nice campground. Unfortunately the water pump for the whole campground went out Friday night. It remained broken the whole weekend. Rather than bringing in portable toilets they allowed guests to use the restrooms and put toilet paper in trash cans. The feces built up in the toilets...really disgusting. A partial refund of the camp fee would have been appreciated.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Porta Potties WERE brought in, free water provided and credits are in process now. It's going to take a few days.
Sep 07, 2018
This was a good mid point for all our activities. Not far too the Collegiates, rafting Royal Gorge, or visiting Salida or Canon City. We were there for 6 nights around Labor Day and river level was very low so you could even tube the river. Staff was very helpful and courteous. There were all kinds of activities. Our site backed up to hwy 50, but it was very quite at night.
Sep 06, 2018
We always enjoy this KOA . We enjoy the short hikes near the river , ceramics , the hay ride , ice cream social , dog park and the little store for that one thing you forgot to pack. However this was the first time our grandson forgot his goggles at the pool and when he went back they were gone . It’s very disappointing that parents would allow their child to keep something that wasn’t their
Sep 06, 2018
Great location. Great hosts. Terrible WiFi.
Sep 05, 2018
The Arkansas was as down in water level as I have ever seen it. We have been coming to Cotopaxi KOA since 1990's. This was the 8th Annual Family trip my Family has been there and we want to continue as long as Cyndi and I are able.
Sep 05, 2018
Bathrooms were constantly dirty and trash was overflowing. Staff was friendly.
Sep 05, 2018
where to start? This should not even be a KOA! Worst ever. no supervision by office, people walking around with beer in hand, noise, pot smoking, laundry rm filthy, spaces too small, big rocks by sites, sites crammed in, if ever a fire, could not get out, parking on road, can't get thru, underage driving on grounds. Lightening storm, kids still in pool! dog park full of stickers! Bad, bad, bad
Sep 05, 2018
Nice campground. Clean bathrooms. Friendly staff. Right on the river. Beautiful scenery. Quit and peaceful.
Sep 05, 2018
Camp site was too small and parking for tow vehicle was terrible. Got woke up early in the morning by another camper who couldn't get out of the space he was put in until I moved my vehicle. No T.V available. No cell service and internet service was severely lacking when available for 2 hours on and 8 hours off.
Sep 05, 2018
We were given the wrong site. Several hours later after we had everything setup and had just sat down to eat dinner, we were forced to pack everything up and move to a different site across the campground. The neighboring sites remained empty all weekend and the other family could have easily taken one of those. Instead we had to shorten dinner, waste an bundle of wood, and move in the dark.
Sep 04, 2018
Sep 04, 2018
The owner was extremely rude and aggressive. The facilities were ok. The owner Amy was threatening and agitated with our group over water misters on a dead tree limb. Even though she allowed hummingbird feeders sold by the KOA to be hung in trees, our misters were enough to apparently warrant a useles call to 911. I will never go to this location EVER AGAIN.
Sep 04, 2018
Other than the camp owner making the initial contact feel very unwelcome (Aimee) who seemed to be on a power trip as we had not read the RULES by us attempting to hang a water mister system from dead tree limbs and stating to our group of 12 campers as (YOU PEOPLE) and realy losing her cool. It was partially made up by the husband and the other workers there were friendly. I would not stay here.
Sep 04, 2018
Overall the facilities are a bit run down but still a good place for the kids. On busy weekends the staff really needs to look into cleaning the restrooms and showers more than once a day. Trash was always full and mud all over the floors.
Sep 04, 2018
We absolutely loved our deluxe tent site right on the river--we'll definitely be back
Sep 04, 2018
My family has been going there for years and have noticed the last few years that it has not been as good as it used to be. The staff is friendly but the cleanliness of the bathrooms was poor, as well as the pool. I could not believe the amount of flies at the campground, it was really bad. I could see if we left food out or trash , but that was not the case. Place needs upgrades and cleaning.
Sep 04, 2018
Been there many times and never experienced the problem with flies like this past trip...way to many flies.
Sep 04, 2018
The campsites were not level and it went downhill a lot.. Our hit ch from the car dolly just about dragged on the ground when we pulled in a pull through. The site is long, but we had to unhitch the car dolly since the electric was in the beginning of the site. If the sites were level it would be a better campground. When we ask for a pull through site, we don't want to unhitch anything.
Sep 03, 2018
Wonderful area next to a river inbetween 2 canyons, amazing view and sounds from the river. I liked that it was a less populated area so more of the camping feel. Def. Would go again.
Sep 02, 2018
A beautiful place to stay with lots of fun things to do! I love that it’s on the Arkansas river!The playground and the giant slide are so awesome! I really enjoyed the campground being so close to the Royal Gorge! It’s such a beautiful area and campground! I stayed up n my motorhome but the cabins are beautiful also! The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean
Sep 02, 2018
The campgrounds are clean & well maintained. Man who checked us in was a bit unfriendly which I usually overlook. However, affter inspecting our site we found a preference a few spaces away for our tent setup. Since the entire tent section was unoccupied we asked if we could take a different site. The same man told us they were all booked and could not change. The 3 sites next to us remained empty
Sep 02, 2018
Had such a great time! Perfect campground right along the Arkansas River. And very unique for a campground-The Art Shed! Planned crafts and activities every weekend. Great staff, too!
Sep 01, 2018
Friendly staff, nice sites beside the Arkansas River. Seeing the big horn sheep was great.
Aug 29, 2018
We had a great stay, the site is beautiful!
Aug 28, 2018
Great campground. Very friendly staff. The views are fantastic!
Aug 27, 2018
Wonderful time as always!! We enjoy staying in tbe cabin and the friendly staff.
Aug 27, 2018
Aug 27, 2018
Great as always. Owners and workers friendly and had great activities planned as always! �
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals