Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Info: 719-275-9308

Email This Campground

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 09, 2018
Nov 07, 2018
This is our family favorite campground! We first found it by accident more than 20 years ago and have enjoyed it every year since. We always have a great time when we visit. Thanks for everything!
Nov 01, 2018
The setting of this KOA is breathtaking - along the Arkansas River with river bluffs and snow-peaked mountains in the background. Campground needs lots of TLC. This campground could be awesome. Bathrooms and laundry are old and not kept clean. Desk and store area very uninviting. Don't even think about staying at Loma Linda Motel - horrible. KOA cabins looked pretty standard like any other KOA.
Oct 30, 2018
We always enjoy our stay at the Cotopaxi KOA. Great view and pleasant staff.
Oct 29, 2018
Our second visit. Great location and very family friendly. Cant rate them very high on customer service. Both visits felt chaotic and some staff less friendly then others.
Oct 29, 2018
Very nice poured concrete sitting area for each slot, with table and chairs, clean very nice park.
Oct 24, 2018
Campground was easily accessible from higway, good road signs. I was welcomed with coffee or hit cider. Sites were good size. Activities were going on that I participated in, had a lot of laughs with KOA team and other guests. I have already told friends about this location for next year.
Oct 21, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay at Cotapaxi KOA. Campgroun was very clean with things for our kids to do. Amy and Jim were very friendly and had fun activities planned in the evening that were family friendly. The site was centrally licated to sites we wanted to see and explore and we will definitely be back!
Oct 21, 2018
Great location
Oct 19, 2018
The owners were very nice and helpful. It was cold when I stayed two nights in the basic cabin. The punny heater in the cabin could not do the job. Sure glad I had enough blankets, or it would have been impossible to sleep. Nice place , and the third time I have stayed at this campground.
Oct 17, 2018
This was our second stay at the Cotopaxi KOA, it has become a family favorite! It's a beautiful setting along the river with great accommodations!
Oct 16, 2018
It’s nice to see owners actively taking pride in their campground and it shows in the appearance of the grounds. We come back every October.
Oct 15, 2018
Had a great time, hosts were very nice.
Oct 14, 2018
Office was not open as hours stated. Signs everywhere about water shortage yet they are watering grass; rinsing tie dye T-shirt’s with gallons and gallons of water, and an unattended disconnected hose was left on -dumping gallons into parking area. Owners were the most rude people I’ve ever dealt with at a KOA. It’s obvious they are not running a nice campground up to the typical KOA standar
Oct 13, 2018
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The site we had was spacious. We planned on a one night stay, and ended up staying three nights. It’s the half way point between local towns. Beautiful view. A lot of nice things to buy in the gift shop. It was cold outside, and the hot apple cider hit the spot.
Oct 12, 2018
Enjoyed our stay, cabin was warm, but need some work as several places need to be caulked. Nice big showers.
Oct 11, 2018
No cell service. No internet unless standing beside office. Track sand into motor home everytime go in. Dog park full of lawn tools and dog poop. Had to leave one day early, no refund.
Oct 09, 2018
As always, our favorite camping experience! See you soon for the last hurrah of the season!
Oct 07, 2018
Wonderful, caring, accommodating staff.
Oct 06, 2018
Oct 05, 2018
Location is great but disappointed with staff. Made reservation and paid deposit last December but when we checked in this September they charged us additional per night (because rates had increased?) and extra per night for our dog. In 20 yrs of staying at KOAs They have always honored the rate at the time of the reservation! After all -They used our money for 10 months.
Oct 03, 2018
Beautiful by the river but the WIFI was worthless.
Oct 03, 2018
Nice clean, freindly,
Oct 01, 2018
Oct 01, 2018
Very good stay and lots to do. No Wifi for streaming was the only down side.
Oct 01, 2018
Super nice camp hosts, very friendly and helpful. Very nice facility.
Sep 28, 2018
The office was open only certain hours, the sites do not accommodate larger RV. You will drag when you leave a site
Sep 28, 2018
Had a lovely tent site. Then a cabin. There was hardly anyone else there. Nice staff and owners. I thought it was a beautiful spot. I would not liked it crowded. Appreciated the absence of spot lights and flood lights like are at so many other KOA. I found the restrooms and the diswashing sink quite grimy. I wish it had been cleaned better. The cabin floor needed swept before my stay.
Sep 28, 2018
Stayed one night. The campground was clean and don't have any complaints.
Sep 26, 2018
As always our stay was perfect. Thanks to our "Cotopaxi family"!
Sep 26, 2018
The staff is very nice and accommodating. The campground is well maintained with wonderful trails. The drive to the campground is well worth it being so far from city life. The cabins are cozy. There are great tent sites. The river is not as accessable as it seems on the maps and the dog park isn't grassy so the dogs paws got lots of stickers in them. But I would definitely go back again.
Sep 26, 2018
The Koa at Cotopaxi is owned and operated by the rudest filthy mouth owner I have encounter in my 71 years on the planet. The owners are more suited to own a bar on skid row not a family campground full of decent people. This park books sites for big rigs and absoluty can not accommodate them. But the rudnest of the owners is the only thing l'll remember.
Sep 25, 2018
Great location. Facility well maintained. Shirley was great
Sep 25, 2018
Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would change is the ability to get messages through. Since there is no cellphone service...it would be nice if there was another option. Otherwise.. an awesome stay. Thanks so much!
Sep 25, 2018
Really liked the campground and its location. Only minor complaints: tree limb in campsite was low and a danger and wifi service was useless.
Sep 25, 2018
Mostly our stay was great. But, dog park is dangerously neglected! Please clean out the burrs! All over our poor dog and tracked into rv, ended up not going in it was so bad. Also, no water to clean out hose or tank after dumping. Not fun driving with uncleaned hose. Otherwise, spaces are lovely and time was good!
Sep 25, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Camp host very nice and helpful. No water when we arrived, but bottled water was offered and repair to pump was completed by end of day. Campground was very near highway- noisy during the day, but thankfully traffic was significantly reduced at night.
Sep 24, 2018
This was our first stay at the Cotopaxi campground. Beautiful camping area, near the Arkansas River. Nice facility, staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Would stay there again and recommend it to our friends.
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
Sep 24, 2018
It was a great stay. Just wish we could of gotten to the river easier.
Sep 22, 2018
Nice campground in a great setting but there have been incidents with dog bites both times we have been there. How about some enforcement of your leash rules!
Sep 20, 2018
We love the Arkansas river.We realize our stay was right after the holiday,camp sight had a bag full of trash left in the fire pit,we took to the trash dumpster. the front desk told us if we need anything, go to sight #3. While doing laundry in a very dirty room, someone came to the door and asked about the front desk person, no answer at #3. I went to #4 and they showed up. almost lost a custome
Sep 19, 2018
Excellent Stay and very relaxing. Clean and well maintained. Charlie and Barbara are an asset to your business as well as the other employees of this KOA
Sep 19, 2018
Older facility, haphazard maintenance, understaffed. Doesn't show much pride in ownership or concern for customers after check-in Some sites were modern and nice while others were primitive and ill kept. Trees needed pruning. Pool was closed from lack of maintenance. Rented pavilion area dusty and dirty. No group area for camping. Mini golf not clean enough to use. Needs more effort from owners.
Sep 19, 2018
Nice park. A few things to note: sites 1-13 are 30' from busy highway. Lots of trucks, motorcycles and other traffic. Sites are a little tight for big rigs. Few 50 Amp full hookup sites. Park shows it's age, but is clean and well maintained. Nice concrete pads with tables and chairs. Sites next to river are mostly dry camping. There are cabins and a hotel for non-campers. I would stay here again.
Sep 19, 2018
Not big rig friendly, spaces small access and exit had low limbs from trees. No view of the river. The patios were great. People were good and easy to work with but the park seemed unkept. Not my KOA standards for sure will not stay there again
Sep 18, 2018
Love the views and the people that run it are all so friendly and really try to get to know you.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals