Cotopaxi / Arkansas River KOA

Open April 6 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Reserve: 800-562-2686

Info: 719-275-9308

Info: 719-275-9308

Email This Campground

21435 US Highway 50

Cotopaxi, CO 81223

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2018
It was a family trip with my 3 daughters & their families. It was a great trip & we loved the campsites & cabins that we rented for our weekend.
Jul 19, 2018
Not what we expected, feel that for those who are river rafting an excellent stay. Restrooms need a little updating.
Jul 19, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
We stayed at the Deluxe Tent Site 503. Oh my goodness is all I have to say as the scenery was breathtaking! Showers warm and clean! Kids enjoyed the pool! The general store was cute and convenient! Thanks for a memorable stay!
Jul 18, 2018
This place was a dump! The staff at the front desk/store were rude. The playground was out dated & the equipment had "caution" tape on it, so the kids could not even play on it. There was only one dumpster & it was OVERFLOWING all 3 days we stayed. The dump station was overflowing & staff told us to poke a stick in it to get it to go down and the water hose at the dump station didn't work.
Jul 18, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
Very nice staff. The campground was very well maintained and in a great location.
Jul 18, 2018
Great staff. So helpful.
Jul 17, 2018
Only stayed 2 nights, but it was very relaxing. Most of the campers were friendly and the staff was courteous and helpful.
Jul 17, 2018
LOVE this KOA!!! I’ve stayed here spring, summer & fall, it never disappoints! Jim & Amy are wonderful hosts, Shirley in the office is great! The hayride &ice cream social are so fun, the pool is perfect, the setting with the trees and the river.....superb! The motel option is very nice as well! This is where I go for fun with my granddaughters & also for quiet alone time! I’ll be back!
Jul 17, 2018
Very clean campground. Great customer service. The location is amazing, on Arkansas River with beautiful Mountain View.
Jul 16, 2018
I didn’t enjoy our stay at this campground and I wouldn’t recommend it! The campground needs lots of maintenance. Chairs are broken in the pool area. Our Grandson sat on one of the benches by the front office and ended up with several splinters in his pants. The sights are so close together you have no privacy at all. The picnic table needed to be replaced. Glad we only booked one night!
Jul 16, 2018
We love this campground and will definitely be back!
Jul 16, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
Great location... The drive from buena vista into cotopaxi was beautiful... Being along the River was awesome... Tent sites are alittle snug but there's so much to do you wont be at your site until bedtime... Thanks for a great weekend..
Jul 16, 2018
reason for low rating, campground itself great getaway, the staff, different story, went 200 miles of our way to stay specifically at tent spot #500, reserved paid for in advance. Becky relocated us to 501, without our consent, some other couples tent would not fit in 501, put them in our reserved paid spot. TOTALLY UNSATISFACTORY! Becky should be cleaning bathrooms, RESERVED means nothing here.
Jul 16, 2018
Cotapaxi KOA is our favorite KOA to stay at. We love the art time, the staff are always super nice, and the the lay out of the park, the tenting right on the river, is just such a "getaway" from the city. We will return.
Jul 14, 2018
Our first time to tent camp and we had seen this campground 15 years ago when we stayed in Salida and thought it would be a nice one for when we would camp. At first we thought it was a different one due to all the shrubbery that had grown but really enjoyed or stay. Everything was so nicely kept and the bathrooms were superbly clean! All the campers and the hosts were very nice! Thank you!
Jul 14, 2018
We’ve been coming to this campground for over 15 years, multiple times every year. Great fun for family. Sometimes we rent a cabin but mostly we tent. Always clean camp areas.
Jul 14, 2018
Wonderful campground with an unbeatable backdrop and great proximity to all that Colorado has to offer! Staff was fantastic!
Jul 13, 2018
Nice people, nice little campground
Jul 12, 2018
Hoped to have more shade and an easier trail to the river.
Jul 12, 2018
Needs a little work...tree trimming...Just general maintenance. Employees shouldn't drive golf carts through empty spaces.. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very windy the days we were there. No internet service and cell service is very spotty.
Jul 12, 2018
I think I was the only site w/o any shade, it was terribly hot, no shade anytime of day/evening. the ground wasn't level so used my "legos" but they sank down in the sand/dirt and 4 out of 12 broke. The campground is very nice, clean, garbage needs to be picked up more often. Pool a life saver. Store well stocked but out of ice cream the time of our visit. Nice staff.
Jul 12, 2018
Very nice and relaxing. Loved it there!
Jul 12, 2018
We had a great time , unfortunately we had to leave early because our home in Prescott was struck by lighting. We are hoping to get a refund on the days that we could not use because of this emergency
Jul 12, 2018
Jul 11, 2018
Love it! Regularly camp at Cotopaxi.
Jul 11, 2018
Friendly staff, great pool (heated to a nice temp!). Campground seemed well maintained. Highway noise but not much they can do about that, otherwise no issues.
Jul 11, 2018
very thankful to have gotten a reservation for campsite, as area campgrounds were full. Wanted to stay with family member with them in a cabin/motel, but they said the motel there was not clean, smelled funny, and bed furniture was placed/jammed into room......So the family members were not able to stay at same campground for this reason which made driving to meet up with them inconvenient.
Jul 10, 2018
Tent Site 500 was one of the best tent sites. The patio with the screen and patio furniture was much appreciated! Could have put up more signs for the trail so people knew exactly where to go rather than to our camp. Very clean and the dog p/u station was very convenient!!! The view of the Arkansas River was great and the ease of excess to it was very easy. Great fishing spot as well! "13"
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 10, 2018
We had so much fun. My daughter loved the art activities. The scenery was well worth it and looking at the stars at night was amazing to look at.
Jul 10, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
Always great. Clean campsites
Jul 09, 2018
Great staff that is always very helpful.
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 09, 2018
My comments are too numerous for this venue. I will be writing a letter to not only the Cotopaxi KOA, but the overall franchise itself.
Jul 09, 2018
We usually stay at KOA campgrounds and they have been great, but not this one. The bathrooms and showers were filthy and drains plugged with water backing up in the shower stalls. Always out of toilet paper!
Jul 09, 2018
Jul 08, 2018
They need to be consistent with their rules. Employees living on the property need to have their dogs on a leash like guests
Jul 08, 2018
Okay stay. We changed our site, and they were very flexible about that. Lots of stickers which made it difficult to walk dogs, and the pictures online were misleading in terms of being on the river. It was quite a steep climb down to get to the water. The water didn't work at the dump station - a little frustrating. It could definitely use a facelift. It was very quiet, which was great.
Jul 08, 2018
We had a very bad experience with the manager. We were blowing the park's fuses in their box & for some reason that was our problem. The manager was very rude several times & told us he could refund & "go down the road" more than once. Not very professional!!! We were not the only ones having a problem with the power boxes. If your park can't accommodate on a hot day don't let so many in!!
Jul 08, 2018
Spaces are level but the surrounding area was not. The moment I stepped out of my travel trailer, I’m walking uphill. The space next to me had a concrete patio/sitting area. I would have appreciated having that space since I was staying for a week! In that same time, three other guests came and went - a little common sense please!?!?
Jul 08, 2018
Jul 07, 2018
Cutting services seem to the standard this season; very disappointed! Playground slide off limits to the kids; many power issues. Entire campground needs a major make over-hull. Probably will be our last visit �
Jul 06, 2018
Awesome people, clean, quiet park, great gift shop. No TV, Wi-Fi is iffy, and if you don't have AT&T you won't get phone service. That being said, it was by no means a deal breaker. I would absolutely go again!
Jul 06, 2018
Pool was clean and nice, bathrooms were clean. Minature golf was not included, had to pay extra. Camp sites were tiny and too close together. Your tent is 10 feet from other tents so you can hear every sound. Highway noise from semi trucks and dogs barking all night long. Playground is old and in poor condition. While the camp sites are near the river it's hard to get down to the water.
Jul 05, 2018
Beautiful, but very crowded. Glad they had space for us, but it felt tight. Very welcoming staff. Thanks!
Jul 05, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals